My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tropical Resort

62 Kata Road, Tambol Karon, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Chanalai Romantica Resort

Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Reception Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/Terrace Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Line Buffet Tropical Resort Phuket - Meeting Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages
Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room
Hotel Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 65
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
777 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (777)
Sort by:
James E. Couples United Kingdom, January 21, 2012
lovely hotel, great location

spacious rooms,good air-con,great pool,very convienent for restaurants & bars,beach 10 mins walk.
8.3
myself & my wife really enjoyed our hol here,staff were friendly & helpfull.Spacious rooms, comfy bed ,good shower, pool was great and all resort amemities within a short walk
Hotel Feature Tip: deluxe rooms with pool access excellent
Greg M. Couples Canada, January 17, 2012
Great Stay

friendly staff, good breakfast, close to Kata Beach
7.7
our stary was absolutely fantastic..the resort staff were very friendly and helpful.. two things that need addressing: 1. wifi access -- in today's age, it should be complimentary. 2. mattress -- very old and in very poor shape, requires replacement
Restaurant Tip: stay away from the perceived 'trendy' spots and the 'two can dine for xxx' places..walk around, find local restaurents as they are much more economical, the food is fantastic -- my wife and I would order 3-4 dishes and share -- more than enough food!
Marion G. Couples France, January 17, 2012
As the lady said "Go elsewhere"

none
2
landing at 1.30am learning that internet is 3 dollars/ hour discovering the most run-down furniture you have ever seen for a 4 stars resort in the whole lifetime of traveling across the globe getting two single bed instead of a double bed [so 4 nights sleeping separatly from your husband - how nice -] laying your head on a pillow with a giant stain laying your body on sheets with giant yellow/ orange stains taking a shower where years of molds have settled being unable to use your safe because it is locked being unable to make tea and coffee because the tea kettle is dirty of coffee stains and mildew not getting up because they forgot the wake-up call being unable to eat anything at the 6$/ person breakfast because everything is baked or pork based and you are vegetarian going to complain about the issues you face: - but both receptionists do no speak english - the manager did not come today at 9am as she was supposed to - being told if you don't like it - go elsewhere - [yes, it is true] - having to receive help from the tour lady who is the only who speaks english and who didn't make fun of us - having to explain to the receptionist that if i pay for a hotel and if there is a stain on my pillow - she must say on the behalf of the hotel that she is sorry and to stop giving me an attitude! this was very bad but she said "let's change room"- a terrible customer service! - all rooms are this way- once we saw the other room, it was worse, more broken down furnitures, stains and smells so we decided to keep ours as is. - the housekeeper came and changed sheets/ the kettle but the new sheets she put were dirty as well, so she kept trying to find some that were clean and after 4 tries she finally was able to give us a decent set of sheets! avoid the tropical resort, give credit to what the receptionist said :"if you didn't like the stain on your pillow go elsewhere"
Lauren B. Solo travelers South Africa, January 13, 2012
Russia by the sea

lovely room
7
If you're russian, this hotel is for you! Lovely rooms, very large and clean. Nice pool area but small. Not much english spoken and staff look like they need a holiday. The pool staff act as if they are doing you a favour. Breakfast ok, no complaints. The tour lady is great and very friendly.
Brett H. Business travelers United States of America, January 6, 2012
second time back...nice amenities, unique rooms

swim up pool!
6.3
after seeing my friend's room last time we were there, I had to book my next trip at the Tropical Resort... A bit expensive for Thailand, but the view from the balcony to the pool below is great. Also has towels to take to beach, on site bar, restaurant and massage.
Hotel Feature Tip: Don't let them try to switch you to their sister hotel The Tropical Garden Resort...not the same!
Emoke B. Couples Slovakia, January 6, 2012
A real disappointment

Nice enough rooms, 10 minutes walk to the beach.
4.3
Unhelpful and rude staff, poor service, disappointing food. The bed was uncomfortable, you could feel every single spring of the mattress between your ribs. The hotel is on a busy street. The pool closes at 7pm, massage between 10am and 6pm provided that the messuses don't wonder off and forget to come back. The massage is not exactly relaxing with the full view and noise of the street traffic as well as the screaming crowd in the pool. The hotel couldn't/wouldn't book us a taxi to take us to the airport the next morning. They told us that all taxis were booked and we should go find one on the street (there weren't any).
Tian T. Solo travelers China, January 6, 2012
average hotel

small
4
very unexpectable, small, bad location, noisy, i dunt know why i shall write so many about a unsatisfying hotel....
Emoke B. Couples Slovakia, January 4, 2012
Nice enough hotel with poor service

10 minutes stroll to the beach, nice pool
5
The rooms are spacious but the bed was very uncomfortable. The pool closes at 7pm. Spa and massage treatments are offered by the pool with the full view of the street traffic, noise and frolicking pool crowd. Disappointing food. Staff was rude and unhelpful throughout our stay. On the last day, they wouldn't book us a taxi to take us to the airport the next morning. We were told to get one on the street- there weren't any.
Jason P. Families with older children New Zealand, December 31, 2011
It was ok.

Stores of all kinds were walking distance
5.3
nothing to rave about compared to previous beach front stays in previous. club med in front blocks ideal beach views and access. due to the timing, prices were through the roof and the service rendered just did not match. breakfast was fine, staff were ok. the charges for an extra bed plonked right next to the only double in the room was excessive.
Michael S. Solo travelers United States of America, December 30, 2011
Overpriced hotel with unfriendly unhelpful staff

The pool is OK, but still not worth the money
2
First of all, I stayed here over the Christmas holiday and they added a $100 charge for a Christmas dinner and show. That should have stopped me from reserving this hotel, however I booked it anyway. My flight was late and the dinner was cold and awful as was the show. The staff was completely unhelpful and not nice at all. The room was OK, but no real view of anything, the bathroom mirror is not over the sink and the shower not comfortable. Plus the shower smelled bad. Don't here!!! Everything is overpriced, the breakfast (which is not good), internet access charges, laundry, everything!!!! Very poor value for the money. I would not stay here again!!!
Hotel Feature Tip: Don't stay here. It's overpriced, the staff can't speak english and they try to charge for everything.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tropical Resort PhuketTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Guest RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - ReceptionTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/TerraceTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Line BuffetTropical Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Tropical Resort, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B01