My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tropical Resort

62 Kata Road, Tambol Karon, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Chanalai Romantica Resort

Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Reception Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/Terrace Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Line Buffet Tropical Resort Phuket - Meeting Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages
Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room
Hotel Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 65
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
784 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (784)
Sort by:
Lorraine F. Couples Australia, June 5, 2010
review of tropical kata beach

clean modern room good breakfast selection having a bath balcony overlooking pool
9.7
we were very happy with our stay here,the room was cleaned every day with clean towels etc,staff were very pleasant and cooperative, couldn't do enough for us and we will come back again also price was good value for money
Travel tip: good restaurants in the same area, taxi out the front and walking distance to the beach
Richard F. Solo travelers United States of America, June 2, 2010
Nice room

Great location, comfortable room, beautiful pool
9.3
I really enjoyed the room at this hotel, very comfortable with good aircon and great ambient lighting. The layout of the room is different from most hotels and has an open bathroom area with an enclosed shower and toilet. The large balconies face south and overlook the pool and an eating area so if you want a seaview and privacy this balcony is not for you.
Andrea A. Couples United States of America, May 25, 2010
Tropical Resort- A little gem

Very large rooms with walk-in rainwater showers and a separate bath that someone over 6 feet can enjoy! The hotel is pretty new and clean. Great pool and big balcony. Convenient location.
10
This hotel is a little gem. Great value for the money! The pool is partly shaded which kept it cooler than the sea and was very refreshing after a day at the beach. The breakfast was good and they even had an omelet station so you could vary your breakfast every morning. The location was very central. A quick walk north and you and are amongst the loud music or if you prefer a quick walk south for the quieter vibe. Kata Beach was great, soft sand and clear water with gentle waves. I would definitely stay here again.
Hotel Feature Tip: Tropical Resort is pretty new and the taxi's kept trying to take us to Tropical Garden which is further south down the beach. Tropical Resort's sign is low on the street, but not hard to see if you are paying attention.
Sorinee C. Couples Thailand, May 6, 2010
Tropical Resort @Phuket

the place was wonderful, my room was good as I ever expected
8
If you want to feel diff. n out for relax from the city mood, here is one of the perfect place to lay our back. I love the design of the room; sexy bath n seperated shower n toilet. Sizing of the room is perfect (I took the deluxe.) But one thing, I don't like is their staffs, they are really not professional; I was expecting nice, neat and perfect hotel talk and how they dress but they are absolutly not when I got there. I inform them that I will check-in in late hours coz my flight was in the evening but when I got there the few people that were there were people who talking to me like this; Hotel Staff (HS): Hi! (and look at me with confusing face) Me : Plz, I would like to check in, I inform you guys before that I will be here in late hour. HS : Are you sure you book it? coz all guesses are here and check-in already. Me : Would you like to check for me? or Any info. you want from me to confirm the booking? Are you sure all guesses are here? HS : Yes, I'm sure, ALL GUESSES ARE HERE! ME : Would you check for me? .... and so on... I think those conversations are not suppose to happened to me. MAYBE I'M THAI AND THEY DON'T LIKE ME TO STAY IN THIER HOTEL.
Shopping Tip: Lots of good massage places here, fish spa, Thai, oil massage were so good here.
Jill R. Couples United Kingdom, May 3, 2010
Good hotel

great swimming pool, good sized and good designed rooms,location,price
8.7
Well located hotel which is five mintues walk to the beach,although we did really enjoy the amazing swimming pool, the rooms are nice and nicely done out and we loved the glass wall between the bed and bathroom, we stayed longer here as we really enjoyed it here compared to patong, and the manager was really helpful in changing are flight tickets, overall we thought this was an excellent hotel for the price..
Restaurant Tip: try the boat house great food.
Grace M. Couples Philippines, April 29, 2010
Tropical Resort - Kata Beach experience

- close to Kata Beach - quiet place, ideal for honeymooners - neat rooms, nice interiors - friendly staff
9.3
The hotel is very ideal for honeymooners. The atmosphere is calm & relaxing. I like the room. Its neat, pleasant & bright. The breakfast provided by the hotel is also satisfying. Hotel staff is friendly & helpful. I booked for 1 night at the pool access room & downgrade to 2 nights at the pool view deluxe room. To my delight, the hotel staff allowed me to stay in the pool access room for my whole stay in their hotel. Their courtesy is much appreciated! I will consider staying in this hotel again. I just hope they will provide Spa Service in the near future. This will definitely be an added advantage to them.
Sophia H. Groups Malaysia, April 24, 2010
Overall good

nice lap pool, good location
6
The location is good, 5mins walk to Kata beach and restaurants. Good size lap pool and balcony. The bed is quite comfortable, nice bath tub. But lots of ants and bad quality of the fittings. The ground floor with direct access to pool is cool but unfortunately we stayed at 2nd floor. Overall is still ok.
Restaurant Tip: The two chefs restaurant, lobster is good.
Jon H. Groups Sweden, April 19, 2010
Tropcial resort at Kata beach

Rooms are nice and clean with big shower and bath. Bed was ok. Pool area is very nice with a bar.
6
The Tropical resort on Kata beach is a pretty nice hotel located about 15 minutes from Kata beach. Kata beach is very family orientated and slow so don't plan to stay longer than two days if you're a few guys travelling, you will grow bored.
Restaurant Tip: The Reggae bar at Kata beach is a nice laidback bar to spend an evening at.
Emery H. Solo travelers Canada, April 17, 2010
Topical Resort Phuket: Review

-Friendly staff. -Cleanliness
7
I stayed in the Tropical Resort Hotel over the Sonkran Holliday. It was quite busy. I requested a mid-floor room and was given a ground floor room - possibly because it was busy. On the positive side, the staff was helpfull and friendly. On the negative side, I felt that, having payed my money, I was placed and dealt with at the hotels convenience. My room was tucked away in the bck next to the combined exercise-internet room. At the Sonkran Dinner that you were obliged to pay for (possibly a good thing since nothing else was open that day), I was assigned a table in a remote corner next to a fan. I could have complained, but I didn't come to complain and argue. The rooms were kept clean and the costs were reasonable. I rate the Tropical Resort as a standard 3 star. I wouldn't call it excellent value for money, but it's reasonable and one could do a lot worse.
Pauline C. Couples Canada, April 10, 2010
excellent value

- liked the staff who were very friendly and obliging - liked the cleanliness of the room itself and the hotel in general - liked the location of the hotel and the convenience of a short walk to the beach, restaurants, shops - liked the breakfast buffet and great coffee
9.3
i think the tropical resort is a good, clean, comfortable hotel - i haven't found a hotel that measures up to it in its price range - the staff are friendly and willing to help make the stay of their guests satisfactory. i would recommend the hotel to others. also, it's my belief the rating for the hotel should be a four star.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tropical Resort PhuketTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Guest RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - ReceptionTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/TerraceTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Line BuffetTropical Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Tropical Resort, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B03