My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tropical Resort

62 Kata Road, Tambol Karon, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Chanalai Romantica Resort

Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Reception Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/Terrace Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Line Buffet Tropical Resort Phuket - Meeting Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages
Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room
Hotel Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 65
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
784 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (784)
Sort by:
Bonnie R. Couples Canada, January 17, 2010
Great resort!!!

We liked everything about the resort. We did not have breakfast there so can't comment on that.
9.7
We thoroughly enjoyed this resort. We were very luck in that we were upgraded to a pool access room. It was a little different decor than most we have stayed in but we warmed up to it very quickly. We were at the far end of the hotel so had a lot of privacy. The staff here were excellent. More than willing to help you out if you had any questions at all. We will definitely stay here again.
Travel tip: There are many great restaurants nearby as well as shopping.
Karen L. Couples Australia, January 6, 2010
Clean, good location and friendly staff

Good location, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, great pool.
9
The location is prime - it's not too far from central Kata which provides you with restaurants and shopping, it's also not too far from Karon beach. We actually walked back from Karon. The room is clean, spacious and the bathroom is clean. The bathtub is new and I love how you could still watch TV while brushing your teeth at the sink. All rooms face the pool, so that's not a problem. The pool there is fantastic with a full-body jacuzzi. Water temperature is just right too. The staff are helpful and always smiling. Overall, the hotel is clean and new, including the rooms.
Restaurant Tip: There are a number of good seafood restaurants round the corner and within walking distance. Mama's and Mali are two of the restaurants we dined at while we were at Kata. Lobsters are around 180 baht per 100 grams and the oysters, which were HUGE and absolutely fresh, were around 25-30 baht each.
Izwan A. Couples Malaysia, January 6, 2010
Memorable Experience

Room Feature was beautiful, minibar is cheap, great staff.
10
The hotel & room feature is beautiful. I got the room with pool access. They decorate our room bed with flowers & swan towels. The minibar was cheap & it cost the same for all beer brands. It was the same price if you buy at the minimart. The bathtub was big enough to fit 2 person. The staff was friendly & had no problem assist us with our request.
Restaurant Tip: Along the street, there is a lots of restaurant from thai food to Italian pizzas. Try Coco Palm Restaurant, you'll enjoy the food plus view of the beach.
Stanley C. Solo travelers Canada, January 5, 2010
Pretty nice place

Room was very clean and looked fantastic staff was helpful beautiful pool area close to the beach
7.7
The hotel was very nice. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The balcony faced the pool and was a very nice place to have breakfast. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was located about 4 minutes away from kata beach. And the staff was very helpful with booking tours or answering questions.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Kata is a very nice area, but if you are looking for more or a party atmosphere, I would recommend patong beach
Kathryn F. Couples United States of America, January 2, 2010
chic, convenient hotel...but avoid on NYE

great pool; big rooms with great floor plan; nice shower & bath
7
We booked the Tropical Resort for our first 2 nights in Kata -- which happened to be New Years Eve and New Years Day. The hotel itself was great, but we were forced to pay for a "compulsory dinner" on NYE that was awful. It cost us more than the hotel stay and we were very disappointed. We were shuttled to a different hotel for the dinner; alcohol wasn't included; buffet was bad; entertainment was not good... the only positive was that the people we were seated with were cool. we left after about an hour and a half. the hotel itself is very nice -- chic, convenient to restaurants and the beach, a nice pool... but we were so frustrated that we were forced into the dinner that it definitely tainted the experience. If we hadn't had to do the dinner we would have been very pleased.
Neil M. Couples Australia, January 2, 2010
Awesome hotel

Pool lovers paradise
9
After staying in a basic bungalow for 4 days this place was like a mirage!! the pool is fantastic, the room is modern and has a fab open plan feel - very chic. there is everything you need in the room including dvd player, flat screen t.v. and all the mod cons. Shower is awesome and the only thing against the place is thats its so good, you may never want to leave the hotel. would definitely stay here again if i found myself in Kata.
Hotel Feature Tip: the bottom rooms all open out onto the pool. but are the least private.
Mohammed A. Couples Singapore, January 1, 2010
Good hotel

The rooms are clean, quite a new hotel.
8.3
When i arrived at this hotel, you can spot it easily by its unique white colour dome shaped exterior. However i feel that the lobby is too small as it is held under this dome shaped structure. Not very professional. However i feel the rooms are new and clean. A good stay for a couple except that there is not really a view. I might consider coming again to this hotel for my next trip to Phuket.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Just a short 5 mins walk to the beach.
Patrick P. Couples Ireland, December 30, 2009
What a Beauty!

The Breakfast. Close to the beach. Bedroom that opened to the pool. Towels for pool and beach Close to restaurants and shops.
9
Having a room that opened onto the swimming pool. We were also very lucky to have a corner room that was private entrance to the pool. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of food. Towels were provided for the pool and beach (good) The beach and town are a stroll away. the bedrooms are amazing
Hotel Feature Tip: A ground floor room that opens to the pool is very nice.
Jarkko R. Couples Finland, December 30, 2009
Nice place

- pool with colorful led lights - good service with smiling faces - very nice and clean room - good breakfast
9.3
- pool with colorful led lights - good service with smiling faces - very nice and clean room - good breakfast In general good place and value for your money. Located nicely in center part of Kata beach -> so close to Kata both ends on walkable range. front desk service was nice and humoristic
Ramesh G. Families with young children Malaysia, December 22, 2009
Tropical Garden

Proximity to beach and eateries, conveniences. Good location. Nice view from balcony.
3.3
Our stay at Tropical garden resort was due to a miscommunication. We had booked into the Tropical Resort until we were told at the last minute that Tropical Resort doesn't allow children below 16. So we were given a deluxe seaview in Tropical Garden. The room was ancient and we walked into a room with dead insects stuck to the walls and upholstery. It's ok for couples or youngsters roughing it out in a tropical rainforest type setting, not so great when you have two toddlers with dust triggered allergies. The airconditioner sounded like a diesel power generator through the night, waking us up often. The staff were friendly but rarely understood what we were trying to say. It was hard to ask for simple things like vegetarian food or even a slice of cheese. Their entire breakfast buffet for 4 days in a row was the same exact spread. The worst complaint though was the difficulty in getting up to our room. There was always a lift breakdown and even if they were all working, there was no way to go up without climbing at least 4 flights of stairs (we were on a hill slope on the 4th floor). This really took a toll on my pregnant wife and two toddlers returning from our daily beach excursions. When complaining to the staff, they were reluctant to offer help or apology. Prices for tours and taxi's through the hotel were often marked up too high.
Restaurant Tip: There are some very good restaurants nearby; we liked Mom Tri's on the way to Kata Noi, Oasis and Outdoor cafe. All of the Mom tri's franchise restaurants seemed to have great food and even better, very intelligent staff.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tropical Resort PhuketTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Guest RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - ReceptionTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/TerraceTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Line BuffetTropical Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Tropical Resort, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B02