or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tropical Resort

62 Kata Road, Tambol Karon, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Chanalai Romantica Resort

Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Reception Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/Terrace Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Line Buffet Tropical Resort Phuket - Meeting Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages
Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room
Hotel Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 65
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
780 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (780)
Sort by:
Stanley C. Solo travelers Canada, January 5, 2010
Pretty nice place

Room was very clean and looked fantastic staff was helpful beautiful pool area close to the beach
7.7
The hotel was very nice. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The balcony faced the pool and was a very nice place to have breakfast. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was located about 4 minutes away from kata beach. And the staff was very helpful with booking tours or answering questions.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Kata is a very nice area, but if you are looking for more or a party atmosphere, I would recommend patong beach
Kathryn F. Couples United States of America, January 2, 2010
chic, convenient hotel...but avoid on NYE

great pool; big rooms with great floor plan; nice shower & bath
7
We booked the Tropical Resort for our first 2 nights in Kata -- which happened to be New Years Eve and New Years Day. The hotel itself was great, but we were forced to pay for a "compulsory dinner" on NYE that was awful. It cost us more than the hotel stay and we were very disappointed. We were shuttled to a different hotel for the dinner; alcohol wasn't included; buffet was bad; entertainment was not good... the only positive was that the people we were seated with were cool. we left after about an hour and a half. the hotel itself is very nice -- chic, convenient to restaurants and the beach, a nice pool... but we were so frustrated that we were forced into the dinner that it definitely tainted the experience. If we hadn't had to do the dinner we would have been very pleased.
Neil M. Couples Australia, January 2, 2010
Awesome hotel

Pool lovers paradise
9
After staying in a basic bungalow for 4 days this place was like a mirage!! the pool is fantastic, the room is modern and has a fab open plan feel - very chic. there is everything you need in the room including dvd player, flat screen t.v. and all the mod cons. Shower is awesome and the only thing against the place is thats its so good, you may never want to leave the hotel. would definitely stay here again if i found myself in Kata.
Hotel Feature Tip: the bottom rooms all open out onto the pool. but are the least private.
Mohammed A. Couples Singapore, January 1, 2010
Good hotel

The rooms are clean, quite a new hotel.
8.3
When i arrived at this hotel, you can spot it easily by its unique white colour dome shaped exterior. However i feel that the lobby is too small as it is held under this dome shaped structure. Not very professional. However i feel the rooms are new and clean. A good stay for a couple except that there is not really a view. I might consider coming again to this hotel for my next trip to Phuket.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Just a short 5 mins walk to the beach.
Patrick P. Couples Ireland, December 30, 2009
What a Beauty!

The Breakfast. Close to the beach. Bedroom that opened to the pool. Towels for pool and beach Close to restaurants and shops.
9
Having a room that opened onto the swimming pool. We were also very lucky to have a corner room that was private entrance to the pool. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of food. Towels were provided for the pool and beach (good) The beach and town are a stroll away. the bedrooms are amazing
Hotel Feature Tip: A ground floor room that opens to the pool is very nice.
Jarkko R. Couples Finland, December 30, 2009
Nice place

- pool with colorful led lights - good service with smiling faces - very nice and clean room - good breakfast
9.3
- pool with colorful led lights - good service with smiling faces - very nice and clean room - good breakfast In general good place and value for your money. Located nicely in center part of Kata beach -> so close to Kata both ends on walkable range. front desk service was nice and humoristic
Ramesh G. Families with young children Malaysia, December 22, 2009
Tropical Garden

Proximity to beach and eateries, conveniences. Good location. Nice view from balcony.
3.3
Our stay at Tropical garden resort was due to a miscommunication. We had booked into the Tropical Resort until we were told at the last minute that Tropical Resort doesn't allow children below 16. So we were given a deluxe seaview in Tropical Garden. The room was ancient and we walked into a room with dead insects stuck to the walls and upholstery. It's ok for couples or youngsters roughing it out in a tropical rainforest type setting, not so great when you have two toddlers with dust triggered allergies. The airconditioner sounded like a diesel power generator through the night, waking us up often. The staff were friendly but rarely understood what we were trying to say. It was hard to ask for simple things like vegetarian food or even a slice of cheese. Their entire breakfast buffet for 4 days in a row was the same exact spread. The worst complaint though was the difficulty in getting up to our room. There was always a lift breakdown and even if they were all working, there was no way to go up without climbing at least 4 flights of stairs (we were on a hill slope on the 4th floor). This really took a toll on my pregnant wife and two toddlers returning from our daily beach excursions. When complaining to the staff, they were reluctant to offer help or apology. Prices for tours and taxi's through the hotel were often marked up too high.
Restaurant Tip: There are some very good restaurants nearby; we liked Mom Tri's on the way to Kata Noi, Oasis and Outdoor cafe. All of the Mom tri's franchise restaurants seemed to have great food and even better, very intelligent staff.
Lisa T. Couples Australia, December 19, 2009
Tropical Resort

New and clean, can walk to the beach, breakfast is pretty good, the room is nicely decorated and modern, pool is also nice
6.7
The hotel is pretty and has a exotic/persian type theme to it. The room is a infusion of persian decoration and modern features. The bathroom area and bedroom are seperated by a glass panel which is a pretty modern feature. The bed was very large and comfortable. We had pool-access which was good for easy access back to our room. The breakfast is decent and the hotel is located not far from the beach (just a short walk) + also near a 7-11.
Travel tip: The hotel has a persian theme to it where the rooms are decorated in this style but with a modern twist. The bedroom and bathroom area are seperated by a glass panel which is a very modern design at present. The beds are large and comfortable and the shower has a large shower head with good water pressure. The hotel is located near the beach and a 7-11, there are quite a few restaurants around the hotel but located quite far from the hussle and bustle of the touristy spots like patong - so its good for people who want to get a little further away from the touristy areas. The breakfast is decent with a range of thai and western foods available.
Vivian H. Couples Malaysia, December 18, 2009
Nice resort in a great location

Location - near to beach and amenities. Still new and clean. Large room. Great bathroom with powerful shower.
7
Decided to book this hotel after reading the reviews in this website. And I have to say, the hotel lives up to its reputation. Maybe because it is still new. So overall the hotel is still very well kept and clean. I was surprise at how big the room is and I have to say it is worth the price paid. All rooms face the long, narrow pool. The modern, open bath ensuites in the room is a nice touch. Best is the hotel is just a short walk to the beach, just round the corner of Club Med. Since I opted for room without breakfast, I couldn't comment on the breakfast spread.
Michael S. Couples United States of America, December 12, 2009
Nice beach hotel

Cute botique hotel near the beach and shopping
10
The Tropical Resort is great place to stay in Phuket if you are looking for a beach that is not to crowded (ie. Patong) but still has a decent amount of shopping, restaurants and activities. The hotel is conveniently located right next the market and plenty of dining options. The breakfast is a hearty buffet. The rooms are modern and clean with a huge soaker tub and a separate, enormous shower. The balconies are very large with chairs for sunbathing if you desire. The staff was very helpful and attentive to our needs.
Hotel Feature Tip: Make sure to tell your taxi that you are going to the 'Tropical Hotel' not the 'Tropical Garden Hotel.' Tell the driver it is just behind Club Med.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tropical Resort PhuketTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Guest RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - ReceptionTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/TerraceTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Line BuffetTropical Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Tropical Resort, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3C08