My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tropical Resort

62 Kata Road, Tambol Karon, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Chanalai Romantica Resort

Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Reception Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/Terrace Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Line Buffet Tropical Resort Phuket - Meeting Room Tropical Resort Phuket - Swimming Pool Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages
Tropical Resort Phuket - Food and Beverages Tropical Resort Phuket - Restaurant Tropical Resort Phuket - Surroundings Tropical Resort Phuket - Hotel Interior Tropical Resort Phuket - Bathroom Tropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room
Hotel Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 65
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
783 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (783)
Sort by:
Meagan R. Couples New Zealand, July 31, 2013
Great room great bath good size close to everythin

The bathroom, the pool, the location
10
Enjoyable, great value for money, great room. Very clean
Catherine W. Solo travelers Australia, July 31, 2013
Nice clean, big rooms but rude staff

Adjoining rooms, big bed and clean
6.3
Overall Tropical Resort was an ok stay. The Deluxe rooms are spacious and well kept but quite dark. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is a first time visitor to Thailand or Kata as the staff are not very knowledgable or helpful. I think that majority of them don't speak English which can be hard if you are trying to find out local information. I did on one occasion ask a staff member at the front desk if she could call to make a reservation for me at a local restaurant, she replied she did not have their details. After I gave her the details she still would not make the local call for me which meant I had to call on my mobile on international rates. So, if you know your way around Kata/Phuket and want a well priced and clean room and don't mind getting really bad service, here's your place.
Peter K. Couples Australia, July 30, 2013
pleasant beach, night life and shopping stay

beac, pool, night life
7.7
We miscalculated our stay and the staff were very accommodating in allowing us to stay on longer utilising the same room. Were happy to offer advice about the area as well. Enjoyed the pool
Dean B. Groups Australia, July 29, 2013
Hoteel is ok for the money, Can do better

pool, close to resteraunts, quite
5
Price in my opinion is too pricey for what you get, internet is extremely slow,
Peter K. Couples Australia, July 25, 2013
Relaxing beach holiday

Proximity to beach, night life and restaurants
8
It was great to be able to relax in the pool after a hard day shopping or sight seeing. The staff were very helpful sometimes under trying circumstances.
John H. Couples New Zealand, July 24, 2013
unbeatable value for money

very clean. easy access to a beautiful beach. large room with a comfortable bed
8.3
we stayed 19 nights and would stay there again ,really enjoyable . Thanks to Agoda we got a unbeatable deal , the bed was super comfortable ,and the breakfasts were very nice , didn't need lunch. Staff were always cleaning, polishing and scrubbing so the hotel was super clean. After 19 days there we were happy enough to want to stay there again . Only one very small negative was that the wi-fi was anything but fast ,other than that very very pleased with Tropical resort and Agoda.
Alan J. Couples Australia, July 21, 2013
easy going restfull hotel with all the emenities

Great location smaller hotel close to local restaraunts
7
great smaller hotel good size room well proportioned bathroom, good storage for clothes
Michael F. Solo travelers Australia, July 20, 2013
Ok.

Location, rooms , lift .
6.3
Poor English skills staff, not always friendly
Ketsirin S. Business travelers Thailand, July 14, 2013
nice bedroom , swimming pool and beautiful beach.

closed to the beach , wonderful swimming pool and nice room with comfortable bed and baht room.
7.3
very good i like the location of the hotel very much it's very closed to the beach just 5 mins by walk. but i not recommend about breakfast , not aroy, need to improve.
William G. Couples United States of America, July 13, 2013
Thai style room meets pool and ocean access.

Pool access room; soft bed; overhead rain shower.
9.3
Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe pool access room. Older thai style décor, but very comfortable. Staff is very friendly, some speak "ok" English some do not. Has a very large, fresh water, non-heated pool, of course your in Thailand so I suspect most pools are not heated. Room mattress was soft, but remember traditional thai people grew up sleeping on floors, so they sleep on hard mattresses and a lot of hotels offer that type of mattress, so be sure to ask the hotel for a soft mattress in advance. Room service starts early in the morning, so be sure to hang your "Do Not Disturb" sign the night before if you don't want to be disturbed from your sleep. Local bus system runs every 1/2 hour in front of the hotel on Kata Road and costs 20 baht one-way to the next beach over from Kata, like Karon or Patong beach. We rented a Hondamatic motor bike for the four days we visited and costs 250 baht per day 24 hour rental. Helmets provided. We rented the motor bides from the BluEco Hotel our previous hotel were we stayed. We always ate outside and did not purchase hotel meals. Many street food venders outside the hotel and 7-Eleven has warmed up food ready to eat; spaghetti, chicken, local pastries, etc... Beach is an easy 5 minute walk or 2 minutes by motorbike. Beach lounge chair rental is 100 baht per person or 200 per couple for two chairs. Rip currents are on all beaches, please beware of lifeguard flags as where to swim. Overhead rain shower in shower, wife loved the bath to soak and relax. LCD TV didn't have a lot of channels to choose from, maybe around 25 or so. They rely on satellite dish. There is a DVD player in room as well if you have a movie or two. Overall nice stay, easy access to everything. Pool was so nice to dip in after a being hot. I would stay again. Tip: Time-share scammers riding motorbikes along Kata and other city roads will stop you point blank on the road and say "Hi" I have a great prize for you, all you have to do is take these

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tropical Resort PhuketTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - Guest RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - ReceptionTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Balcony/TerraceTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Line BuffetTropical Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomTropical Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesTropical Resort Phuket - RestaurantTropical Resort Phuket - SurroundingsTropical Resort Phuket - Hotel InteriorTropical Resort Phuket - BathroomTropical Resort Phuket - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Tropical Resort, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B03