or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Urban Chic Hotel

172 Long Street, Corner of Long & Pepper Street, City Bowl, Cape Town, South Africa (Show on map)

Book now!

Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Twin basin’s in our twin rooms Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Bathroom Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Twin room bathroom Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Interior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Superior King Room at night Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Superior/Luxury King room Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Superior/Luxury King room Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Interior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Interior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Interior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Interior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - The exterior of the hotel at night
Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Staircase in the lobby Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - The Gallery Cafe Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Reception Desk Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - View from the Hotel Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Surroundings Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Reception Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Reception Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Nearby Attraction Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Exterior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - View Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room
Area: City Bowl Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
17 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.7
Food/Dining
6.2
Solo travelers (17)
Sort by:
Chye L. Solo travelers Singapore, September 19, 2014
A good hotel other than the location

A variety of breakfast choices, room cleanliness, friendly staff
7.3
Overall, I enjoyed staying at the hotel. The room was clean and spacious for one person, with an open tub. The Internet connection was decent, but the television wasn't working. Unlike many other hotels, the breakfast choices were from a menu which you could pick from, so you can have a different breakfast everyday instead of eating the same things from a buffet line. On the downside, it can really get loud at night and into the morning (up to 4am), especially on the weekends. Fortunately, I am able to sleep even with loud noises, so that wasn't a problem for me. But if noise is a problem for you, I won't recommend staying here. There are plenty of restaurants and bars around the hotel along Long St, so having dinner nearby after sunset is not a problem, although you do have people coming up to you to ask for money. The immediate area is heavily patrolled by security personnel, so safety is not a huge concern. Parking is at the adjacent building along Pepper St, and if you're alone, you might have to park your car somewhere nearby (or right in front of the garage) and go request for the receptionist to open the garage door for you. This isn't a problem, except that you might have to pay the "minder" along the street while your car is parked. Although the hotel only has 10 parking spaces reserved in the building, this is usually not a problem since the hotel is small and not every guest will have a car.
Andries J. Solo travelers South Africa, July 22, 2014
Not so Chic

Location, views, great room
7
Hotel staff member when I booked the room were not very helpful. Seemed lazy and not really willing to do a bit extra. Hotel seemed deserted. No one offered to take my luggage to my room. The rooms itself are chic indeed and very spacious. Nice view of the city and streets below including a breathtaking view of table mountain. Staff in the morning were completely the opposite of the evening. Very accommodating and friendly. Note: this hotel makes a photocopy of both sides of your credit card. Do NOT allow this. Also, ask for a receipt for the deposit you have to pay. Otherwise I can recommend this hotel if you must stay in the city. Close to all whats happening in Cape Town.
Rhasheeda R. Solo travelers South Africa, June 12, 2014
Pleasant , loud music from outside was too much

Room size very spacious, modern and cosy during winter time,staff always friendly and helpfull,breakfast nice and big portions
7.3
Pleasant , will book this hotel again,but a room on higher floor and mountain facing
Kajel P. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 22, 2014
Great hotel right in the heart of the city.

Good location, accomodating staff and a confortable room with all the amenities
7.7
Very nice and the staff made it an enjoyable stay. Good excursions from the hotel
Peter D. Solo travelers Australia, March 2, 2014
great central location and cheap

location, affordability, wi-fi
8
I pleasantly enjoyed my stay at this hotel, location was a plus for those whom like to go out at night, the noise was not that bad at all.
David E. Solo travelers Australia, February 11, 2014
A little disappointing

Location, Good Reception & Bar Staff, Well priced
7.3
Disappointing because a few things let the place down. At the time I did not take up problems with television reception or the safe being inoperable. This was to my cost later as US$50 and possibly some rand was taken from my backpack on my last night. By the time I noticed it there was no time to pursue this with management to seek resolution however I know it happened as I kept the currencies separated and in order of denomination. While the hotel met my needs and was ideal for my budget I will not stay there again and will not recommend anyone staying there
Joao D. Solo travelers South Africa, November 24, 2013
Hip hotel in a hip city

Comfort, views,great staff
8.7
All great, really enjoyable stay, its where we wanted to be for the night-life and rowdy Long street, for folks that require peaceful environment , this will not do. Very easily reached from any freeway or road into or around the city and walking distance to a great deal of tourist attractions. Great staff.
Gilliane S. Solo travelers Netherlands, October 19, 2013
Comfortable and enjoyable

location, spacious room including bathroom and friendly staff
8
Stay was quite enjoyable, but if you want to rest, request a room not facing the street. During the week and the weekend Longstreet is quite busy and super noisy and Urban Chic is opposite a very busy cafe not plays music loud until late, you can throw ur own party in you room. 2 negative points of Urban Chic: The rooms are not soundproofed. You hear clearly all the noise from the streets and also from within the hotel. And when the kitchen is open the scents of oil travel up thru the vents and you smell cooking in your room.
Thomas P. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 18, 2013
Very centrally located on Long Street but loud

Location, Large Room and luxurious bathroom. Friendly Staff
7.3
The stay at Urban Chic hotel was fine but as it is located so centrally on Long Street you have to be aware that the bars and clubs run almost every night until 5am. This likely will mean you won't be able to get to sleep because all the bars and clubs play loud music and the noise in the streets below is enough to keep you awake on its own. The internet was free but so so slow. The staff were friendly and the free cake and tea in the afternoon is a nice touch but breakfast isn't much to recommend.
William D. Solo travelers United States of America, January 22, 2013
A pleasant surprise

Good service, nice rooms, nicely furnished, in the the center of Cape Town's night life.
9
The rooms are very nice with nice furniture and a very cool bathroom. It was clean and everything worked. The staff was very helpful. Each room is different with some smaller than others. The room includes breakfast which was acceptable but a bit limited when staying for more that 3 days and eating the same thing over and over. The rooms to not have a kitchen. They advertise a balcony but they are nothing more than glass doors that open. It was still nice to open to see the street below but nothing to walk out on. The hotel is located on Long Street which is loud at night (until 2am) and can be unsafe, especially on weekends. It is where all the bars are for tourists. The Bourbon street of Cape Town. But there is security everywhere and Cape Town prides itself on protecting it's visitors. I was very glad that they also had indoor parking. I felt safe enough and the hotel bar there is great for people watching. There's just a lot of pick pockets, beggars hanging around. I'm a night person so it was a great place to stay.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Urban Chic Hotel Cape TownUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Twin basin’s in our twin roomsUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - BathroomUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Twin room bathroomUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Interior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Superior King Room at nightUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Superior/Luxury King roomUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Superior/Luxury King roomUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Interior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Interior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Interior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Interior Urban Chic Hotel Cape Town - The exterior of the hotel at nightUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Staircase in the lobbyUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - The Gallery CafeUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Reception DeskUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - View from the HotelUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - SurroundingsUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - ReceptionUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - ReceptionUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Nearby AttractionUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - ExteriorUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - ViewUrban Chic Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3A03