Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Velassaru Maldives Resort

Velassaru Island, South Male Atoll, Maldives Islands, Maldives (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Laguna Maldives Hotel
Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Fitness Room Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - Bedroom Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - Bedroom Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - Exterior Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa - Bedroom Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa - Bathroom Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa with Pool - Bedroom Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa with Pool - Pool Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Floor Plans Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Island Aerial View Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool Overview Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Arrival Jetty View Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa Overview Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Water Villa Overview Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Overview Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - View
Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach View Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach View Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Sandbank Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Swimming Pool Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool Overview Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool at Sunset Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool at Night Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool at Night Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool View
Area: South Male Atoll Number of Rooms: 129

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

9.0

based on
522 reviews

348 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
9.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.4
Room Comfort/Standard
9.4
Food/Dining
8.2
All reviews (522)
Sort by:
Bettina A. Couples Australia, November 9, 2014
Weekend Away

Location, Rooms and Staff
9.7
Absolutely Fabulous … We had a beautiful Villa on the Beach with a private pool and there is nothing I would change ...
Report this review
Sandra T. Couples Singapore, November 3, 2014
Fantastic stay ... Wonderful staff

Cleanliness, Food and Staff
10
4 of us stayed at the Velassaru for 3 nights in 2 deluxe bungalows on the sunrise facing side of the island. It really was the perfect luxury vacation from start to finish. The staff were friendly and welcoming from start to end. The bungalows were well equipped and there was always a sense that they go the extra mile. On the first night we ate at Etesian Restaurant. The food was Mediterranean and we learnt that a new Italian chef had just started work there. The ambience is romantic with softly lit tables. On the second night we ate at Sand, the seafood restaurant where the catch of the day was delightfully fresh. We were thrilled at how authentic the Indonesian fried rice which accompanied our main course was, and were happy when we learnt that the sous chef, Alvin who prepared it is from Singapore. On the third night, we ate at Teppanyaki, a lovely restaurant built over the water. The lights from Male twinkled in the distance and all four of us pretty much agreed that the food was exquisite. Who can forget the showmanship of the chef as he seared the beef tenderloin and scallops to perfection. The wine list at the Velassaru is impressive and worthy of fine dining in a major capital city. What a treat to have such a selection in this turquoise paradise. Activities wise, snorkels and fins were provided for free for the duration of our stay and renting kayaks to go round the island was fairly easy. My only advice is 3 nights was probably too short and I can see why some would spend an entire week at Velassaru.
Report this review
Irene T. Groups Indonesia, October 30, 2014
Great resort for a return visit and relaxing place

Water villa, staff performance, swimming at the beach
9
We were very pleased by the staff's welcome to our return visit. They made certain that they knew it was our second visit. Our last day/night at the resort was an amazing one because of the staff's effort to make the visit more enjoyable. We enjoyed the water villa tremendously.
Report this review
Peggy L. Couples Singapore, October 26, 2014
Need much improvement on customer service

The room was very comfortable and the surroundings of the resort was very well maintain
8
We read a lot of good review about Velassaru before deciding on the resort. I had been to other resorts in Maldives and most of the staff were friendly and smiling. I was surprised that the service staff at the resort were not very forthcoming and friendly despite my husband and I always making the first move to greet and smile. This is certainly what we expect of Maldivian hospitality. The level of English of the operator was also questionable. I called to check if there was any message for me after seeing the blinking message light on the phone. I was informed that it was normal to have message light blinking! ? After insisting that she checked if there's any message she responded that she would call me later. We received no call all the way till check out. Availability of meal plans at the resort was also not well communicated. When we went to Vela restaurant to have our lunch while waiting for our room to be ready, they were shocked by the response a staff gave us. Almost everything we asked he wasn't sure and the excuse he gave was he was new. If he was indeed new to the job, the least he could do was to check for us. Overall I would say that much could be improved on the standard of service. Would like to compliment the masseurs for the wonderful massage and Kim for assisting us in reservation for dinner. The room manager from Indonesia ( sorry forgotten his name) was also very professional in handling customers.
Report this review
Haifa H. Families with young children Maldives, October 25, 2014
Awsome place
9
Superb
Report this review
Peng J. Families with young children Taiwan, October 22, 2014
A romantic resort

Staffs are helpful and friendly, rooms r comfortable and beautifu, the swimming pool is great
9.7
Highly recommended just food is normal :)
Report this review
Eric F. Families with young children United States of America, October 21, 2014
Nice Place near Male, would recommend.

Location near Male, beautiful beach, somewhat well price for Maldives
8.7
We stayed here for 2 days before heading to the Park Hyatt. It was very nice. We did not expect it to be so nice as it was so close to Male and the price is "affordable" by Maldives standards. The beach villa was great, the beach was very nice, great food, and perfect for snorkeling with kids. Our 5 year old daughter played on the beach and snorkeled all day, she really had a good time. We didn't have time for the resort pool, which is pretty nice, infinity, etc… I summary, it was better than expected and the staff was superb, great service. Would go back for sure.
Report this review
Carla A. Couples Philippines, October 19, 2014
Pristine!

Cleanliness; very reliable and friendly staff; value for money
10
They didn't just simply deliver... they've exceeded our expectations. The room is same as what's on the website. The place is well maintained. Everyone was very friendly. We loved our stay in the water villa. We enjoyed the 'Satay Dinner'. I was really amazed that they really took note of the our food restrictions and changed the menu accordingly. We had a grand time!
Report this review
Mun T. Couples Singapore, October 17, 2014
Can be best & perfect but still lacking in service

Complete and power packed facilities , sports equipment, excursions technology . Resort facilities, restaurants, equipment was perfect.
10
We resort hopped for 10days, really regretted not keeping at least 2 days on Velassaru Resort Maldives! One day was just too short for us. Moving stuff was a hassle.. There are some things loved abt Velassaru, I loved the Locctiane range of shampoo n bath supplies, my husband loved the facilities of the overwater villa wif plunge pool. We had such a great time there. Only disappointed that it was my husband birthday during our stay. E guy whom I spoke to when I dailed 0 had promised me to book us on 9pm on Japanese Teppanyaki and inform someone to help served the birthday cake there. Wanted to give my husband a surprise! However , we reached at 9pm sharp but restaurant was still full. At 9.40 we finally gave up due to terrible hunger and we chose to eat at the main restaurant which cost usd$75+++ per pax. Plus a drink each cost us USD220 for the meal. E good was good, but the waiter/waitress started to come to my table and ask us to get our food fast as they will b clearing the food stations by 10pm!!! we just started eating only. In the end we left the restaurant at 10.05pm , half-fulled, and drank ourselves silly in the room wif a bottle of Champagne and wine given complimentary to us. It's one day b4 my husband birthday. And they gave us impeccable service n we felt overwhelmly-welcomed! Was super disappointed wif Velassaru at a further extend when the cake wasn't sent to restaurant nor our room since Teppanyaki was full till.....!!! Will definitely spend longer days with Velassaru our next trip but if I have a higher budget and want to feel pampered and deserving.
Report this review
Sarah C. Solo travelers Australia, September 30, 2014
Beautiful location; great staff

Staff friendliness, location, relaxed atmosphere
8.3
Was a magical experience to see such a beautiful part of the world, coupled with great staff and thoughtfulness. Wifi not so good and food over priced for mediocre quality, but that was expected. If only the activities were cheaper, the overall experience would have been even better!
Report this review
Previous page 71 - 80 of 348 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - View Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Fitness RoomVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - BedroomVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - BedroomVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - ExteriorVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa - BedroomVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa - BathroomVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa with Pool - BedroomVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa with Pool - PoolVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Floor PlansVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Island Aerial ViewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool OverviewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Arrival Jetty ViewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa OverviewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Water Villa OverviewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach OverviewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - ViewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - BeachVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach ViewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach ViewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - SandbankVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Swimming PoolVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool OverviewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity PoolVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity PoolVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool at SunsetVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool at NightVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool at NightVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Infinity Pool ViewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Water Villa ExteriorVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa ExteriorVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Renewal of Vows CeremonyVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Renewal of VowsVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Satay Dig-in DinnerVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Breakfast in the LagoonVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Island EscapeVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Dhoni at Sunset Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Romantic DinnerVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Cinema Under the StarsVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - BBQ DinnerVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Full Moon Beach PartyVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Chill BarVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Chill Bar at SunsetVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Fen BarVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Fen Bar EveningVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Fen Bar at EveningVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Turquoise RestaurantVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Breakfast in TurquoiseVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Sand Private PavilionVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Dining at SandVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Sand RestaurantVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Etesian DiningVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Etesian Wine CellarVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Etesian RestaurantVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Teppanyaki Live Cooking Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Teppanyaki at SunsetVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Teppanyaki RestaurantVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Vela Breakfast BuffetVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Vela RestaurantVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Beach ViewVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - YogaVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Diving TripVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - SnorkelingVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Catamaran Sailing Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - WindsurfingVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - KayakingVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Jets Ski Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - WakeboardVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Diving in the Lagoon Velassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Local Dance - BoduberuVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Dolphin CruiseVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - LibraryVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Spa ExteriorVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - SpaVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Hydropool at SpaVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Spa FootwashVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands -  Water Bungalow with Pool BedroomVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands -  Water Bungalow with PoolVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands -  Water Villa BedroomVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands -  Water Villa DeckVelassaru Maldives Resort Maldives Islands - Water Villa with Pool


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07