or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Viceroy Hotel

17 Gandhi Road, Gandhi Road, Darjeeling, India 734101 (Show on map)

Book now!

Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Attic Premium Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Executive Room Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Executive Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Sun Deck Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Attic Premium Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Sun Deck Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Executive Room Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Executive Room Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Hot Tub Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Hotel Exterior Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Pool Table Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Attrium Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Lobby Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Executive Room Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Conference Room Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Restaurant
Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Attic Premium Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Restaurant Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Lobby Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Living Area Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Bathroom Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Meeting Room Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Hotel Exterior
Hotel Area: Gandhi Road Number of Rooms: 40

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
12 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
8.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (12)
Sort by:
Sugato T. Couples India, April 8, 2014
Worth every buck...

The premium attic room was fantastic, The location , Free Wi fi
8.3
I booked the premium attic room and was pleasantly surprised when I stepped in. Replete with wooden floorings and fittings, it had an old world charm to it. My room had 2 floors which made it even more special. The sun deck gave magnificent views of the city. Highly recommended if you are prepared to spend a little.
Abhishek G. Couples India, December 13, 2013
Great stay.. Highly recommended

Location, Cleanliness, friendly Staff
8.7
The stay was great. The service was really good and it is recommended to book the hotel room with dinner and breakfast. The food was worth and had a good variety.
Hugh D. Couples United Kingdom, November 16, 2013
Centrally located, welcoming and friendly staff

Staff, service and food.
8.3
This is a lovely hotel to stay in. I would suggest the following improvements: a. Heating in the foyer/reception and bed rooms. b. Wi-Fi availability in the rooms.
Jill G. Couples Australia, October 22, 2013
comfortable hotel in cental location

comfortable room, good restaurant, friendly staff
8
Moved to the Viceroy after cold night at previous hotel. Viceroy was airy and comfortable with lift access to rooms. Dinner and breakfast included were good. Staff supplied hot water bottle on request.
Paula P. Solo travelers United States of America, October 12, 2013
Welcoming hotel, superior view of Kanchenjunga

View from rooftop deck, excellent dinner buffet, welcoming staff
9.3
PLEASE NOTE: PLEASE ONLY USE PR AS MY NAME WHEN POSTING THIS REVIEW! AND I AM FROM PENNSYLVANIA, USA. I DO NOT WANT MY FULL NAME SHARED! THANK YOU! This was my second stay at the Viceroy and, after a change in plans, I returned for an additional, third week. I feel comfortable here and I love the view of Kanchenjunga, the third highest mountain in the world. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk to Chowrasta, the central plaza. The food is excellent. When there are sufficient guests, breakfast and dinner are buffets and offer a variety of Indian dishes and usually one pasta option for the less adventurous eaters. The hotel is clean and the lobby offers free wireless internet. Guests are greeted in a traditional, lovely way. The hotel's atrium style, classic photographs, and iron gated lift add character and beauty. The reception area closes by 10. The shower curtains don't keep the bathroom floor dry! Darjeeling is wonderful (tho not easily accessible: the airport is 3.5 hours drive, mostly uphill). You are in the "hill region," clearly in the Himalayans. The variety of religious groups means there is almost always a holiday celebration (adding great interest and also meaning some shops are closed on any given day). The market area, downhill, is fascinating. And the old colonial buildings further uphill provide a totally different architectural interest. (On the same level as the Viceroy, many are now hotels.) It is easy to meet wonderful people (local and international) in Darjeeling! I met many travelers right in the hotel dining room.
Hannah K. Couples Australia, October 11, 2013
Wake up with a view of the snowcapped Himalayas!

Friendly staff, sun deck, airport transfers.
6.3
Heritage style hotel in good location. Large window with amazing view from the bed! Shower not so good and hot water didn't run for a long time which was unpleasant in cold weather. Restaurant food (breakfast and dinner) mainly Indian. Friendly staff and drivers were great!
Sandip M. Families with young children India, May 22, 2013
Excellent staff, food, value for money.

Good location, near to mall, shopping place.Very friendly staff & excellent room service. Good view from Sundeck.
9.3
Excellent stay. Extended 1 more night stay in the same hotel
Michael D. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 22, 2013
Good value for money

Location, friendly staff and the food
9
The Viceroy hotel is in a prime location a short walk from the town centre and main shopping areas , and near to the Taxi ranks. The décor throughout has a grand colonial feel about it. The room was clean, quite spacious and nicely decorated. From the fourth floor our room had a panoramic view over Darjeeling and the surrounding mountains. The bathroom had a walk-in shower with its own water heater so you could have hot water 24hrs a day. The staff could not have been more courteous and helpful. At the time of our stay it was cold at night so we asked for hot water bottles which were delivered to our room by the always smiling bellboys at no extra charge. The meals in the hotel restaurant were always of a buffet style. They were basic, catering mainly for the Indian clientele, but did include a couple of European options. The standard was quite good, considering what else was on offer in Darjeeling which is certainly not a centre of haute cuisine. One minor drawback was that, although the wifi was free and worked well, you could only get connected in the lobby which was very cold to sit in. Not such a problem in the summer, I imagine. Also the mattress on the bed was hard and a bit uncomfortable. But I definitely recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay at a reasonable price.
Sudheer S. Couples India, November 8, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

warm welcome and reception
9
hotel viceroy, Darjeeling is centrally located..shopping is really a stone throw away.. the food / dining is fantastic.. the ambiance is wonderful.. the hotel would do better by providing a better heater..also the blankets could be better.the welcome was warm. the follow up for dining was good.. service at dining was fantastic
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: the cab service assisted by the hotel is wonderful and reasonably priced. would definitely commend to avail it.
Simon A. Couples United Kingdom, November 7, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

Good location, clean with attentive service
8.3
The hotel was nice although when we were in the dining room on our own it lacked ambiance, the service was attentive enough although perhaps we weren't always understood because the one time we had breakfast in the hotel we didn't received all that we'd ordered. Because we were the only people in the restaurant we felt we were being watched the whole time.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: We tried twice to arrange a trip to Tiger Hill via the hotel reception without success. To be fair the hotel might have been let down due to illness or whatever, but having had this experience and knowing what we know now about Darjeeling we'd be tempted to make our own arrangements.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Front ViewViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Attic PremiumViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Executive RoomViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - ExecutiveViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Sun DeckViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Attic PremiumViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Sun DeckViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Executive RoomViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Executive RoomViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Hot TubViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Hotel ExteriorViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Pool TableViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - AttriumViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - LobbyViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Executive RoomViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Conference RoomViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - RestaurantViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Attic PremiumViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - RestaurantViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - LobbyViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Living AreaViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - BathroomViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Meeting RoomViceroy Hotel Darjeeling - Hotel Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3C01