or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Vien Dong Hotel

275 A Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, District 1 - Pham Ngu Lao / Tay Balo, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Lobby Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Lobby Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Interior Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Interior Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Coffee Shop/Cafe Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant
Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Entrance Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Meeting Room Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Meeting Room Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Meeting Room Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Meeting Room Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Fitness Room Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Fitness Room Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Fitness Room Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Fitness Room
Area: District 1 - Pham Ngu Lao / Tay Balo Number of Rooms: 100
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
864 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (864)
Sort by:
Mark C. Couples United States of America, August 16, 2012
Do not stay at this hotel. Many problems!

None
2
I had the worst experience I have ever had at any hotel in my entire life. The hotel has a policy, as some others in Saigon, that a vietnamese woman may not stay overnight with a non-vietnamese man without a marriage certificate in hand. This so-called law is not enforced in Saigon or elsewhere in Vietnam as I have stayed at many hotels in Vietnam with no issues in the past. I checked in on the first day of my stay at 1AM and the reception clerk was literally sleeping on the floor behind the desk. I then went to my room only to find it had a very strong mold or mildew odor which it turned out the entire hotel had with the exception of the lobby. I was tired and stayed put for the evening and my fiance was to join me the next day. She arrived and attempted to come to my room with her bag the guard at the front door blocked her access. I came to the lobby to enquire with the Manager what the problem was and he showed me the "hotel policy" which stated she could not stay the night. We had no problem with that and just wanted to spend some time together but the manager would not allow my fiance to even get on the elevator to the restaurant or my room which was extremely unprofessional and rude. We argued with him and he would not relent so I left the hotel for another hotel immediately
Wen W. Business travelers Singapore, August 16, 2012
Nice Hotel

Clean and safe
9
Hotel is located in a very convenient location. Alot of amenities in the vacinity. Hotel staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms are very clean and well designed.
Catherine H. Couples United Kingdom, August 15, 2012
Lovely hotel with attentive staff

Location, Very Clean, comfy beds, very quiet
9.7
The Vien Dong is well placed for the backpacker area, but far enough to not be kept awake! Great street vendors close by and lots of travel agents/tour operators
Restaurant Tip: Hung nhat
David B. Solo travelers Australia, August 15, 2012
Best view (with a sticky door)

Right by the park. Friendly staff. Small but convenient bar. Great breakfast.
9
Booking in was a breeze, more so than closing the door to the room, which shut with a bang. But the view of the park more than made up for that. Much better than a view of another building's walls! I vowed I would never stay in a hotel that had no windows again & it was so relaxing to wake up to a view of trees. For those interested, it is right in the traveller's area & within staggering distance of a lot of watering holes with some great rates for an icy green Saigon beer.
Manius M. Families with young children Indonesia, August 15, 2012
Great Hotel

Helpful staffs
8
The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable. The Air condition, water heater all worked well.The location is near to travel agents in De Tham street. It's easy to get taxis.There is green park in front of the hotel where we can exercise in the morning or relax.The staffs were helpful.My children left something in the lobby sofa in the morning when we went out, it was safely kept for us.The breakfast was delicious.
Brenda L. Business travelers Singapore, August 14, 2012
Relatively comfortable hotel

Room is spacious, Restaurant surprising big, lobby area has a lot of sitting areas, good for business people to meet with their business counterparts.
6.7
Location was not really convenient. Had to take cab most of the time. I like the spaciousness of the hotel. The fact that the hotel provided free wi-fi, it is a plus point. The Bellboys were rather attentive and helpful. However, the reception has poor customer service & throughout the stay I had never seen a single smile on their faces. Though the hotel was well equipped but I was surprised that they didn't provide the basic necessity such as tissue paper. I love the big bathtub but the towels were rather small & old and coarse to the feel, almost like floor rugs. One evening I was delighted to see that the hotel provided some light entertainment by having 3 ladies to dance to some lovely music. I was with my business partner & another local Vietnamese & we showed our support by applauding after every dance. However, at the end of the show I was appalled & disgusted that these 3 'lovely' ladies' behaviour showed a biased towards Asian because though we were sitting in front & within their reach, they chosed to go around us and passed us by to give their attention to the caucasians sitting behind us.
Travel tip: When bargaining, always show the calculators, else risk being rip off.
Niravesh S. Groups Thailand, August 13, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

Near all the entertainment places, and shopping market, its kinda mini khaosan road in Thailand
8.3
good room n services. near bin thah market, and night market walking streets type. bargain is possible, need not worry. careful of people, especially at night. try not to walk alone or in dark places. many good restaurant around. money exchange is highly recommend to do it at gold shop. better rate than money exchange shop. wise idea to check 2-3 places before doing exchange.
Nightlife Tip: Careful of people around, when walking at night.
Linus J. Couples Philippines, August 12, 2012
Clean Rooms

The open space in the middle of the building makes the guest feel more safer in case of emergency
8
this is a good choice within pham ngu lao area,i've tried almost all the hotels in this area but this hotel has met my expectations.
Chee K. Couples Singapore, August 12, 2012
Poor service but huge room

Huge room, great variety of breakfast
5.7
A pretty average hotel with poor service. Staffs are not helpful yet demanding for tip. Small is ok but is spacious. Location is near backpackers area with bars and pubs to chill. Not to mention the lift is faulty as well. Basically not a good experience.
Ma C. Groups Philippines, August 11, 2012
convenient location and friendly staff

located centrally and serves early breakfast
9
i stayed in vien dong hotel with my friend for 4nights. we got a superior room with twin beds. the room is clean, not so spacious but very basic. the location is within walking distance to many restaurants and near some of the touris spots as well. the breakfast is very nice and they have different varieties everyday. the breakfast is served as early as 6am so it is good for people going for early tour. overall, i'm quite happy with my stay in this hotel and i will probably stay here again if i come back to hcmc.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Vien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh CityVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbyVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbyVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - InteriorVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - InteriorVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Coffee Shop/CafeVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - EntranceVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Meeting RoomVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Meeting RoomVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Meeting RoomVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Meeting RoomVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Fitness RoomVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Fitness RoomVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Fitness RoomVien Dong Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Fitness Room

Customer Reviews - Vien Dong Hotel, Ho Chi Minh City

AS-AGWEB-3C07