Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

South Ari Atoll, South Ari Atoll, Maldives Islands, Maldives

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.8

based on
1538 reviews

706 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.9
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (1538)
Sort by:
Gerardus J. Families with young children Netherlands, January 17, 2016
Amazing stay

Beautiful beach and reef, good food, nice staff
9.7
We went with 2 small kids of 3.5yo and 8 months. Quite the hassle getting everyone to the resort but it was all worth it once we arrived. Beautiful scenery, great beach and reef, just walk 5 minutes from your villa and you're among an array of colorful fishes. It is not a great place for small kids. We knew this before going to the resort, but we opted to stay here for its house reef and somewhat affordable prices. They make an effort to accommodate the kids but please do not expect something suitable for your young ones. - The "kids pool" is small without any imagination, and the accompanying bigger pool is 2 meters deep which makes it very difficult to swim with your kids except in the very shallow kids pool. There is a small playground adjacent though which my eldest enjoyed. Food is good, every day different and high standard. Staff performance has its flaws but very nice and courteous throughout our stay. We would go again in the future. This time without kids.
Report this review
Ka W. Couples Hong Kong, January 17, 2016
Excellent house reef and service

wonderful house reef, all inclusive package, many activities/night events
9.3
food is so-so. Others are very good
Report this review
Elise G. Couples Australia, January 7, 2016
Lovely stay

Adult Area, House Reef, Rooms
9.7
We enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a beach view villa. Outdoor bathroom is a nice touch, yes there are ants at nighttime but they go away. The food is plentiful however we aren't buffet eaters, so would prefer the option of Ala Carte included on the AIP or a discount at the Ala carte restaurant. We found the cocktails average but we aren't big drinkers. We do like our wine & that was a miss. The house wines offered were just not nice. The island is lovely, good gym set up, small range of activities & the house reef is excellent. We did the whale shark excursion & that was great. The seaplane to the island was good fun & took 25mins so worth the expense as the view is awesome. I would suggest going half board as you could have late breakfast & early dinner. If you are a drinker though AIP is for you as drinks are expensive. The activities are limited on AIP you get: 1 hour of kayaking each day, 1 hour of tennis (courts were shut out of order when we booked), 1 windsurfing lesson, 1 tennis lesson, and 1 hour badminton. I expected you just had free access all the time like other resorts. Bring your own snorkel, mask & fins if you have them as they are not included in AIP. My partner got ill on the trip & the Dr on the island was excellent & well priced. I was slightly disappointed thought with management as after talking with several staff about my partner being unwell, not able to eat, leave the room much or use activities for over 3 days no one thought to offer him something, approach him to say they were glad he was okay or even check to see if he was okay. Unfortunately this is not the first time we have had a illness on a trip at the Marriott we were offered a nice meal & massage so he ‘relaxed after the ordeal’. We missed the sunset cruise due to his illness and this was mentioned to staff but all we got was "that's a shame.' Overall I would say to come here as the price is fair, just don't have your expectations at 5* resort & you'll enjoy it
Report this review
Volker V. Couples Switzerland, December 22, 2015
Absolutely amazing!

Food / Diving centre / staff
9.3
We had a wonderful and relaxing stay. Everything was amazing, from the friendly staff member who took care that the beach in front of our bungalow is (very) neatly cleaned from leaves, to the absolutely fantastic food. Not to forget the very attentive staff. Another highlight was the house reef with sharks and morays and beautiful corals.
Report this review
Sylvia T. Couples Indonesia, November 30, 2015
Great food

Food, warm welcome, value for money
9
Report this review
Darin L. Couples Thailand, November 29, 2015
Well management

Coral reefs, staff, cleanliness
7.3
Overall is good. The food which was re cooked from leftover or the meal before are very dry.
Report this review
John D. Couples Australia, November 25, 2015
Amazing food and house reef

Selection of food at buffet, quality of villas, snorkelling on house reef
8.7
This was our second stay at Vilamendhoo in 2 years. It is a beautiful island and the service is fantastic from the check-in at the sea-plane lounge (we have a 2 hour wait for our sea plane but were provided a free meal and unlimited drinks and internet in the very comfortable lounge), through the resort check-in, restaurant service and tour guides. The house reef is excellent for snorkelling and the range of extra snorkelling tours are great and of good value. The spa (whilst a little pricey) is of excellent quality. Having a massage whilst looking down at the fish on the reef is worth the price of admission. The selection of buffet food is always amazing and there is something for everyone (including our vegetarian half). The villas are clean and very well maintained. My only constructive criticism is that some of the staff (typically the porters and room staff) can create an awkward atmosphere in hanging around waiting for tips. They will stand outside your room and make small talk until you effectively pay them or close the door in their face. My recommendation would be to institute a general tip collection service to be distributed amongst all staff including the porters and beach cleaners etc (you could even recommend a daily value per person). This would remove the problems associated with some staff. We are happy to tip good service and did so for our spa therapist and waiter. The only other recommendation would be to put a tide chart up at the dive shop so guests could check the tides times and plan their snorkelling. Other than this, it was a brilliant stay and we would strongly recommend for anyone to stay there.
Report this review
Rui P. Couples United States of America, November 19, 2015
amazing

room, snorkle, wild life
9.7
it was amazing, i did a lot of snorkeling and photo taking.
Report this review
Izumi S. Solo travelers Japan, November 8, 2015
Clean and good accommodation

Silence, Clear and fishy sea water, Water cottage is recommended
9
30 min from Male Sea plane terminal, flights are many and comfortable. Quite clear sea water and neat facility bring us of the rlaxization. Not so much expensive pricing even for water cottage. Foods are average and all the island we can walk with bear foot, quite clean beach and inland passages. Nice resort, may consider to come back again. For divers, very famous big game diving spots are a bit away here and we can enjoy reef and coral dive all the day.
Report this review
Ruth K. Couples Switzerland, November 5, 2015
perfect holiday

diving, food and drinks in the jacuzzi beach villa area, cleanliness
10
On our second stay we came with family. It was just as good as the first one and we'll certainly come again. Special thanks to the diving team !
Report this review
1 - 10 of 706 reviews Next page
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - ViewVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Duniye SpaVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - BeachVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Beach PicnicVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - BeachVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Beach Villa - ExteriorVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Beach Villa - InteriorVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Garden Room - InteriorVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Garden Room - ExteriorVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Jacuzzi Beach Villa - InteriorVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Jacuzzi Beach Villa - InteriorVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Jacuzzi Beach Villa - BathroomVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Jacuzzi Beach Villa - ExteriorVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Jacuzzi Water Villa - InteriorVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Jacuzzi Water Villa - InteriorVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Duniye SpaVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Duniye SpaVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Bonthi BarVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Sunset BarVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Sunset BarVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Sunset Bar PoolVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Asian Wok RestaurantVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Asian Wok RestaurantVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Ahima RestaurantVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Boashi Bar PoolVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Sunset Bar PoolVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Hammock by the beachVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Water SportsVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - WindsurfingVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - DivingVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - SnorkelingVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - ReceptionVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - DhoniVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Arrival JettyVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Floor PlansVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - BeachVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Romantic Beach DinnerVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Bonthi BarVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Funama RestaurantVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - CatamaranVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Gift ShopVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - BeachVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Boashi BarVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - SnorkelingVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Children’s PlaygroundVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Games RoomVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Swimming PoolVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Water SportsVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - KayakingVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - CatamaranVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Duniye SpaVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Duniye SpaVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Volley BallVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Football Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - BadmintonVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - GymVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Putting GreenVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Table TennisVilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives Islands - Tennis


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01