Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Villa Kayu Lama

Banjar Apuh, Desa Lodtunduh, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia 80571

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.4

based on 390 reviews

230 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.9
Location
7.1
Staff Performance
9.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.8
Room Comfort/Standard
9.2
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (390)
Sort by:
Gunawan S. Families with young children Indonesia, April 18, 2016
Perfect getaway!
6.7
Nice villa with beautiful surrounding.. Everything was perfect! Thankyou villa kayu lama
Report this review
Angelique R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 12, 2016
Very relaxing stay, comfortable villas, private an
5.3
We enjoyed our stay here!
Report this review
Kai M. Couples Hong Kong, March 11, 2016
Disappointed and poor experience
1.7
The experience in VKL is disappointing. The villa is old and dirty. The towels are torn and old, the bedsheets are with dirt. We found staff were concentrated on local TV program near reception with loud TV voice on. The breadfast is poor, unmatched with description. Only the pool is fine. For this price, you have many choices with better quality.
Report this review
Mun S. Couples Malaysia, February 26, 2016
Nice Room value for money

Room Pool , Comfortable bed , Suitable for couple
7.7
Good Comment 1- Nice Room Pool 2- Nice Room inner decoration ( suit to couple ) 3- Comfortable King size bed 4- Good breakfast serve Need to Improve 1- Experience Power failure / Black out
Report this review
Seyoung H. Couples South Korea, February 26, 2016
it was not too bad

private pool, size of room, open air shower
4.3
Not well operated in general
Report this review
Hasmukhray D. Families with older children Singapore, February 24, 2016
Enjjoyed, Very cooperative staff
6.3
Value for money with good transport facilities
Report this review
Chern H. Couples Malaysia, January 6, 2016
Great villa with private pool, value for money

Spacious villa with Private pool, very attentive staff, view of paddy field was great
9.7
Villa was really nice with private pool, staff made us felt at home. Best is to enjoy the whole villa entirely during our stay in Ubud. Highly recommend this place
Report this review
Joseph N. Families with young children Malaysia, December 8, 2015
First non-beach holiday

Surrounding, staff and cleanliness
9
We wanted the kids to have their first non beach holiday. We were a little worried at first that kids will be bored but the in-villa pool, the lovely birds and the koi fishes made it a very welcoming place. Kids were very happy and that was a good start. Staff were friendly and the professional Pak Mat, our guide for our stay planned the visits and tours very well. It was just nice and not too tiring for the kids. We did not dine much at the Villa except for the daily breakfast. The breakfast was excellent. Will certainly recommend this place.
Report this review
Carla S. Couples New Zealand, November 29, 2015
Beautiful villas tucked away in the rice fields

Friendly staff, beautiful surrounding fields and massive outdoor area/private pool
6.7
Our stay at Kayu Lama was lovely. The location was a little far from Ubud centre but the free shuttles and affordable transfers made it nice and easy to get around and back. The villa is particularly new, only 2-3 years old I believe and is boutique in size. The villas are tucked away amongst the beautiful rice paddy fields and is peaceful and quiet if you are wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle. You can spend all day in the large outdoor and private pool are and the staff and people were wonderfully friendly. The air conditioning was really weak however, it felt more like a fan, which made it uncomfortable at times but we never complained as we were hardly ever in our room during the day. I'm sure if we had said something they would have kindly fixed it for us. The food was also a little odd, I wish they had more vegetarian options and also including hot breads like croissants and rolls in their breakfast like most other places do. I truly believe that Kayu Lama has huge potential to be a 4 star boutique villa but isn't quite there yet. They need to really invest in a good chef and offer 4-star quality meals. We went out for lunch and dinner mainly because we wanted to explore other locations but we would have been more inclined to have days in if the food was up to scratch. In saying all this, the villas a clean and spacious and modern and the beds were very comfortable. I really did enjoy my time at Kayu Lama and hope to return there one day soon. I'm sure by then it'll be a solid 4-star. Regards to all of the wonderful people there who took care of us.
Report this review
Tong D. Couples Singapore, November 21, 2015
Unique location besides the rice fields!

Location, staff service and huge room/private pool!
9
Our stay was great and the service was top notch! We also had a customised tour arranged by the hotel and it was worth the money, including transfer back to our hotel at Legian. Kuddos to the staff and location is really nice. It is abit off from the Ubud centre so gotta take some taxi / shuttle buses to the places of interest
Report this review
1 - 10 of 230 reviews Next page
Villa Kayu Lama Bali - Two Bedroom Private Pool VillaVilla Kayu Lama Bali - InteriorVilla Kayu Lama Bali - InteriorVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ViewVilla Kayu Lama Bali - InteriorVilla Kayu Lama Bali - InteriorVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Swimming PoolVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ViewVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ViewVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ExteriorVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ExteriorVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ViewVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Swimming PoolVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Swimming PoolVilla Kayu Lama Bali - GardenVilla Kayu Lama Bali - LobbyVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ViewVilla Kayu Lama Bali - LobbyVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Guest RoomVilla Kayu Lama Bali - BathroomVilla Kayu Lama Bali - BathroomVilla Kayu Lama Bali - GardenVilla Kayu Lama Bali - LobbyVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Food and BeveragesVilla Kayu Lama Bali - BathroomVilla Kayu Lama Bali - BathroomVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Food and BeveragesVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Food and BeveragesVilla Kayu Lama Bali - BathroomVilla Kayu Lama Bali - VillaVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Food and BeveragesVilla Kayu Lama Bali - BathroomVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Food and BeveragesVilla Kayu Lama Bali - LobbyVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ReceptionVilla Kayu Lama Bali - BathroomVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Food and BeveragesVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Food and BeveragesVilla Kayu Lama Bali - VillaVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Food and BeveragesVilla Kayu Lama Bali - breakfastVilla Kayu Lama Bali - breakfastVilla Kayu Lama Bali - EntranceVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ExteriorVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ExteriorVilla Kayu Lama Bali - InteriorVilla Kayu Lama Bali - LobbyVilla Kayu Lama Bali - ReceptionVilla Kayu Lama Bali - LobbyVilla Kayu Lama Bali - GardenVilla Kayu Lama Bali - LobbyVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Food and BeveragesVilla Kayu Lama Bali - Food and BeveragesVilla Kayu Lama Bali - front officeVilla Kayu Lama Bali - front officeVilla Kayu Lama Bali - front office


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A01