Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Villa Mayurana

Mayurana Estate, Ahangama, Galle, Koggala Lake, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Suite Room Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Yellow Suite Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Bathroom Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Jacuzzi Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Villa Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Swimming Pool By Day Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Pool Side Service Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Lounge Area Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - The Villa Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Interior Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Villa Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Villa Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Exterior Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Rice Paddies and Cinnamon Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Poolside by Sunset Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Infinity Swimming Pool
Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Lobby Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Dining Room Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Villa Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Restaurant Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Outdoor Dining Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Restaurant Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Outdoor Dining Villa Mayurana Unawatuna -  Outdoor Dining Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Food and Beverages Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - The Pavilion Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Massage House Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Massage House
Area: Koggala Lake Number of Rooms: 3

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
62 reviews

51 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (62)
Sort by:
Rohan D. Couples United Kingdom, November 8, 2015
Cinnamon Paradise

Attitude of the staff, Peaceful and Sarene, Herbal massages
Our four nights at Villa Mayurana was a worthwhile and memorable experience. Our very special 'Thanks' to Monoj for his wonderful service during our stay and not forgetting Sarath for the best ever Ayuverda Massages. We will definitely be back there next year.
Report this review
Lisa M. Couples United Kingdom, October 27, 2015
An oasis of peace

Stunning location
Report this review
Yvonne W. Couples Netherlands, October 15, 2015
A wonderful place

The views from all sides, the rooms and excellent staff.
We had an absolute amazing time at Villa Mayurana. We were warmly greeted and in every way the staff were so obliging and helpful. The place wonderful, defiantly a place you want to stay much longer and enjoy the luxury and privacy. The rooms are spacious and over the top with a stunning view. The boutique design and the whole idea behind it is super.
Report this review
E D. Couples United Kingdom, October 2, 2015

View/surroundings, dining/food, luxurious comforts/decor.
Villa Mayurana is an exquisite place to stay whilst visiting Sri Lanka. The building, decor, furniture and fabrics are bespoke or antique and are all in keeping with the local culture. It is a peaceful, calm and beautiful place to get away from it all. The owner of the villa is a great host and his staff are consistently professional, polite with nothing ever being a problem to them. Everything is onsite - elegant dining, spa, gym, pool, yoga and a laundry facility if you want it. Whoever stays at the Villa Mayurana respects each other's privacy and quiet. The surroundings/view and bird life are breath-taking. High on a cinnamon hill, your outlook is coconut palms, cinnamon trees the Koggala Lake as well as extraordinary flora and fauna. Peacocks regularly strut by whilst you sit and relax by the pool or they peer down on you from the roof tops. We believe this estate is ideal for couples, friends and families. More importantly, if you are a single person wishing to stay in a safe and beautiful environment - this would be an ideal place to be. We would recommend the Villa Mayurana without hesitation and hope to return one day. One of my lasting memories is a blue sky, looking out over the hills and listening to the whistling tune of the bread van as it winds its way through the little streets below :-)
Report this review
Thomas S. Couples Germany, June 23, 2015
Beautiful Villa and Garden ,best food and wellness

The rooms and attached veranda are specious and comfortable.The food and the service have been excellent. The Cinnamon Experience is a highlight of Villa Mayurana
We stayed all together 5 nights in the beautiful Villa Mayurana. The attentive staff did let us feel home. We enjoyed the big infinity pool and the beautiful designed lounge to relax from all our stress we had before. The masseur is experienced and professional, so that we took daily one of the offered massages in the spa of the Villa. The best of all was the food and the service. Attentive and friendly staff served best quality of Western or local food. A really place for fine dining ! While the Cinnamon Experience which we booked during our stay we learned a lot about the history, the technology and the medical benefits of Cinnamon and the running plantation of the Villa Mayurana. We will definitely come back !
Report this review
Paul B. Couples United Kingdom, May 4, 2015

The staff, the swimming pool and the word class facilities
My Partner and I stayed at The Villa Mayurana for three days and we had a wonderful time. I have been fortunate to stay in a number of top hotels across the world and the quality of service and luxurious experience of the Villa Mayurana is second to none. The swimming pool is simply breath taking, the views are unbelievable. The owner of the complex Thomas ensured that our stay was perfect due to his attention to detail and kind friendly attitude. Thomas is a very honest hardworking man who organised all of our transport and all of our billing without any hassle or issue. The staff in the complex are very attentive and are lovely people who made a great effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Sri Lanka. The food was amazing especially the breakfast. The hotel also has a great gymnasium which is well air conditioned and equipped. The rooms are fantastic with excellent air conditioning and stunning bathrooms. Please ensure you take the opportunity to sit in the hot tub and look over the mountains it really is a unique experience. I am looking forward to getting back here very soon. This is world class hospitality by world class staff. Thank you to Thomas and your team.
Report this review
Paul M. Couples United Kingdom, April 29, 2015
The best place we've ever stayed

The Villa, The staff, The Peacefulness
Stayed here with my girlfriend at the end of April 2015. It was the best place we stayed in Sri Lanka by a long way and probably the best place we've ever stayed in. Beautiful villa with only 3 bedrooms so very very private and peaceful. Superb facilities including gym, hot tub, Pool and every meal is cooked just for you. Very friendly and attentive staff and the owner is a great guy too and will make sure that you have everything that you need. If you're coming to Sri Lanka, stay here.
Report this review
Hans B. Couples Germany, April 27, 2015
Beautiful spot

the facilities of the luxury retreat, a peaceful and friendly atmosphere, service minded staff
With our arrival we were very warmly welcomed by the owner, Mr. Thomas. The next surprise was the luxury design and furnishing of our yellow suite, especially of our bathroom. During the evening we enjoyed a delightful candlelight dinner in a peaceful atmosphere. The meal was well cooked for our German tongues and we were perfect treated by the friednly but reserved staff. The retreat overlooking the landscape with all its facilities, the quietness and the service minded staff was worth the money we paid. We will recommend the hotel tto all our friends and have to show up with our next visit to Sri Lanka.
Report this review
Suzanne E. Couples United Kingdom, April 24, 2015
Stunning location in a little slice of paradise

stunning scenary & location, friendly staff, serene
coming to the Villa after the long drive from colombo i did wonder before we arrived - would this be worth the journey - and as soon as we arrived and were greeted with cold cinnaomon towels... it was a clear yes. Thomas ( the owner) and his staff were so friendly and welcoming that we were able to totally relax. We were lucky enough to be the only couple here so had the place to ourselves and felt a little spoilt. The food is amazing here. There is a set menu in the room but when we arrived and each day we would have a conversation with the waiter about the food we liked to eat and every day something amazing and different arrived. Dont be afraid to ask for local food - i am not a fan of spicey foods but they toned it down for me and it was amazing. Thomas helped book a few excusrions for us, the tea plantation is well worth a visit ( about 10 mins away via tuk tuk) and the whale and dolphin watching was *amazing*. Again, all so easy to arrange and we felt like nothing was too much trouble for us. The pictures here are realistic - this place is like a little piece of heaven, with breath taking views. So far removed from the city life ( i live in Dubai) that its easy to switch off and just relax. I cant recommend Villa Mayurana enough, I have already been asked for their details for friends who are visiting sri lanka, I dont recommend everywhere quite so highly - i am a seasoned traveller but we will defiantely come back to Villa Mayurana.
Report this review
Alan A. Couples United Kingdom, March 21, 2015
You will need alternative dinner plans

Location, Tranquility, Swimming Pool
Location is fantastic, grounds are beautiful, very relaxing. Food was average and over priced ($12 for a basic cheese sandwich), due to location there is little alternative option. Staff mean well, but our dinner for two turned into a dinner for three as our waiter may as well pulled a seat up to the table to talk constantly with us. Jacuzzi was unfortunately out of order due to insect infestation.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 51 reviews Next page

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Villa Mayurana UnawatunaVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Suite RoomVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Yellow SuiteVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - BathroomVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - JacuzziVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - VillaVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Swimming Pool By DayVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Pool Side ServiceVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Lounge AreaVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - The VillaVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - InteriorVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - VillaVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - VillaVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - ExteriorVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Rice Paddies and CinnamonVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Poolside by SunsetVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Infinity Swimming PoolVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - LobbyVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Dining RoomVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - VillaVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - RestaurantVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Outdoor DiningVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - RestaurantVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Outdoor DiningVilla Mayurana Unawatuna -  Outdoor Dining Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Food and BeveragesVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - The PavilionVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Massage HouseVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Massage HouseVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Fully Equipped GymnasiumVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Fully Equipped GymnasiumVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - JacuzziVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Swimming PoolVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Swimming PoolVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Garden Villa Mayurana Unawatuna - Garden Side ViewVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Morning view of the mountainsVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Morning Misty MountainsVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - SurroundingsVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - SurroundingsVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - BeachVilla Mayurana Unawatuna - Beach

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.