Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 104 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.4
  • Service 9.5
  • Value for money 8.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Julie K. from Canada
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Amazing hotel and friendly owners and staff
The hotel owners, a french couple, made you feel like part of the small family at Villaguna
Villaguna is on a non-touristy island Yao Noi. It was a great break from the totally touristy Railay Beach (which we liked too, but this was great for contrast). There are few resorts or tourists on Yao Noi compared to other southern destinations we visited which was very refreshing. We got to see how Thai people live (went on a bikeride part way around the island - btw, don't follow the beach signs just beyond the Pier as the road gets CRAZY and impossible to bike!! but around the island is very pleasant. The Villaguna villas (we stayed at a poolside one) was absolutely gorgeous and brand new. It was excessive to say the least, but we lapped up the luxury of it all. I can't even describe how lovely it was in the villa and also the view from the villa - over the pool and to the beach. AMAZING. All the staff here were friendly and helpful. They had bikes to rent a hobby cat that we took out one day, pool toys and blow ups to float on, and would organize any activity you wanted (we went into Krabi for an elephant ride on Christmas). The restaurant had good food and the staff were very attentive but brought us the wrong thing from time to time due to English difficulty - all forgiven as they are sooo friendly. It was a bit odd as there were so few people there however. We were often the only ones in the restaurant. There are only 9 pool villas and maybe four bigger villas with their own pool, so it is a very small place, and all the villas were not booked when we were there. This place should be visited and I would love to see it full as it was so wonderful!!! There is also a restaurant up the street - about 2 minute walk - that is good as well. They even had a Christmas Eve Turkey Dinner!!! Overall a very good experience.
Reviewed January 09, 2013

Tina G. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Luxurious, Quiet Vacation Spot
immaculate, clean design; beautiful and quiet setting; friendly and super helpful owners; private outdoor pool/lounge
Upon arrival to Villaguna, our amazing stay began with the friendly greeting by owners, Nadine and Ramoun. They were willing to assist with any of our needs while on the island, including a last minute motorbike rental and the disbatching of a longtail boat to take us to James Bond Island and lunch for the day. Their gardener wound up taking us as all other touring longtails were already out for the day...we were highly impressed with their motivation to provide this fun outing for us! Our stay at Villaguna went just as smoothly. Everything was in good working order; and complimentary water and tea was provided daily. The absolute best part of the villa however, was the private pool and outdoor lounge area, which includes a wet bar. This provided a fantastic venue to host our friends (12) who were staying at a resort up the road. Which comparibly, we got the best deal by a landslide. Our friends all booked at the resort as it was the venue for the wedding which brought us to the island. Although their rooms were lovely, all but one lacked AC. For the same price they each paid for a 1 bedroom non-AC, we split the cost with another couple to rent the Eva Villa which included AC and the pool (did i mention this pool was amazing?). Needless to say, we were the envy of the group and our friends visited...often! :)
Reviewed December 08, 2012

Aline H. from Switzerland
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in November 2012
Deluxe Suite, but NOT ON THE BEACH !
Quality of furniture and good isolation, beautiful swimming-pool.
View on the sea when the pick-up of the restaurant's staff is not there. Road with traffic between bungalows and small beach. Quality of breakfast, food and service very poor - restaurant under separate management. Noise of restaurant's kitchen on bungalows' side. Only TV 5 Monde, and no BBC or Italian channels on TV. Currency change only available a few miles away from hotel.
Reviewed December 01, 2012

Anders P. from Sweden
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Nice hotel
Good location
Very nice location. Quite and nice area. Good food. Friendly staff. However a bit expensive, not value for money.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Nickolaos A. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Amazing rooms
Great Hotel
Lets get one thing straight .... this hotel is not on Phuket it is on another island 20 mins on a speedboat away. So if you want all the shopping and nightlife that Phuket delivers this hotel is not for you. If you are looking for a very romantic place, with a sensational view and rooms that have been unbelievably set up and decorated and will make you feel amorous then yes this is the place for you. The pool is also fantastic. This hotel is what it is ... don't believe the two or three rubbish reports ... there are just some people that cannot be pleased. This is an amazing hotel if it is what you are after. If this is what you are after well then you could not choose better. Owners are just great people too. Thanks for the great time!
Reviewed November 04, 2012

Isabelle T. from Germany
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Beautiful resort with lovely staff!
Small and cute, perfect location next to the beach, friendly staff, outdoor-shower, luxury bungalows
This resort is on Koh Yah Noi island and a perfect get-away from a stressy life. The hotel staff is really, really friendly and helpful and will organize everything you might need! (snorcelling, massage, mani&pedi, dinner on various location, boat trips, rental scooter...) Furthermore the furniture and the bungalow itself is high-class and leaves nothing to critize... there's even a kitchenette! Of course it has an AC as well as a free Wi-Fi. The area itself offers a beautiful view of the beach and the islands sourrounding Koh Yah Noi and the pool and garden area (with a pond)are very clean and nice. I really can recommend this hotel! We had a lovely stay! Thanks
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Si C. from Macau
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
What a incredible experience and nice hotel
Nice view, nice people, nice food, but a little bit far away from the Phuket city
This is an excellent experience over my past travel in Phuket! A little bit far from the Phuket city, it will take around 1 hour car drive from Phuket airport to get to the port and half hour speed boat 1 hour ferry to the paradise island - Koh Yao Noi! Even the access is quite not easy, but the villa location is just deserve for a long waiting! Once we arrived the villa, the excellent view: blue sea, beautiful small islands, green terrence...its so beautiful that you don't know where to look at! A very warm welcoming from Ms Nadine and her husband - the owner of the villa, she is very nice and very attentive! you just feel so confort and pieace to have like family chat! The villa that we lived is Villa Baya, only one in the whole resort, actually for us with the best view, coz you can see at the same time the endless blue sea, large green terrence & a small lotus pond! the private pool size is excellent for 2 persons only, the photos that you can see through the website is just the same that i saw for real! Kitchen equitment is full! and since the island only get around 7 restaurant, therefore, if you choose long stay, its better for you to buy something in the local market and cooked in your villa! Yet, Villaguna has also contain a very good thai food restaurant which the taste is so local and so tasty, and there is another litte coffee shop just next the the restaurant and is just unbelievably good! chef has different daily cake depends on the freshness of the ingreditance. coffee from brazil, so gooood! you can order a take away cake order before you leave the island and definitely worth to do so! Someone has to be mentioned is the villa manager Mr Non - nice, friendly, efficient! so regret to just stay there for 3 nights, definitely come back in a short time!
Reviewed October 22, 2012

sven W. from Germany
Families with young children
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
everything absolutly perfect
beautifull big luxery villa with own pool and perfect sea view on a nice island
we loved it very much and wanted to stay weeks longer. after 4 times holiday in thailand this was the very best accomodation we ever had. everything startet from welcome by nadine, the villa, the view, the staff, the restaurant and the island was lovely.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

di Y. from China
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
lovely hotel with fantastic seaview
full equipment and good service
very enjoy and relax, a small island which can help you to find the inner peace
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Jamal A. from Kuwait
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in August 2012
nice and peaceful hotel
peaceful and quite
the hotel is located in an island. Beautiful spacious rooms with excellent facilities. isolated hotel and excellent for relaxation and honey mooners. only one resturant but good food. nice land scape and directly located on the beach. nice size swiming pool. good for poeple who seek relaxation and quite time. beatiful island with beatiful near by islands to visit.
Reviewed October 11, 2012