Back to hotel info

Excellent 9.0
Based on 111 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 111 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.3
  • Service 9.1
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 8.5
Sort by

Jon L.
Norway
February 03, 2015
Simply the best
Fantastic room, fabulous food and great service
The stay was utterly comfortable from arrival to departure. Among the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

Oi L.
Hong Kong
February 02, 2015
Supper
food, decoration, location

galam C.
Hong Kong
January 12, 2015
Very Nice Hotel, Worth Every Penny
Location, Decoration, Room Standard

jennifer S.
Australia
December 01, 2014
Very luxurious hotel but could do with some modern
Great position on the Bund , also very luxurious rooms and lovely swimming pool and gym facilities
Was a great hotel to stay at Very good location on the Bund and lovely swimming pool and gym facilities The restaurant service was not nearly up to scratch My mother and I went to eat at the hotels restaurants at 9 pm at night only to find that not a single one of the hotels restaurants would serve food at that time We resorted to in room dining which was an absolute disgrace We did complain and received a credit and apology from the manager but really this is totally unacceptable from a 5 star hotel Breakfast was ridiculously expensive so we chose to walk to the nearby 5 star western hotel and eat there which had a cafe and numerous restaurants to choose from I feel that a hotel of the standard of the Waldorf needs to modernise its approach to dining especially for westerners travelling to china As more food choices and dining Choices are needed if wanting to compete with other 5 star hotels as it would influence my choice of hotel for future stays

CHEUNG P.
Hong Kong
November 24, 2014
My most favorite hotel in Shanghai
nice view on the bund, comfortable room, good breakfast.
Overall very satisfactory. This was my second stay and the experience was even better than the previous time as the renovation work of the hotel has now been completed. If you like the bund I would recommend you to stay here.

Peter M.
United Kingdom
October 04, 2014
luxurious
i cant think of a single think that you might want in a room that it didn't have and of the best quality
We loved it. The location is fantastic and the staff make you feel like a king

Yiming Z.
China
September 28, 2014
Best hotel in shanghai in terms of facility
Environment and setting, room size, breakfast buffet
Second time visit for another 6 nights, reservation staff messed up with the payment and kept messing it up and nobody replied my email for 72 hours until I rang them up. Great recovery from their guest relation team and great service across the hotel. Breakfast buffet was absolutely fantastic.

De G.
United Kingdom
September 23, 2014
De Grendel wnes in Shanghai
old classic charm of yesteryear, location with beautiful view on and over the rive

Damien T.
Singapore
September 01, 2014
Outstanding in every way
Bed, staff and amenities
Best sleep I have ever enjoyed in a hotel. The bed and pillows are simply divine, as of the facilities in the room. Probably the most outstanding hotel I have ever experienced in my travels.

Thomas F.
United Kingdom
September 01, 2014
Good Stay - Excellent Location
Location, Staff, Room
Great location on the Bund, friendly and polite staff, clean and relaxing room with an amazing bed and good breakfast.