Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao

Km. 7 Lanang, Lanang, Davao City, Philippines 8000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.9

based on
1108 reviews

833 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (1108)
Sort by:
Daniel Z. Solo travelers Australia, January 15, 2013
One of the worst hotel experiences ever

Staff messed up everything possible. Poor Service.
4
Just about everything that could go wrong with a hotel stay was my experience at Waterfront Insular. First of all, after a long flight, i had to wait nearly 30 minutes for an available room despite it being booked well ahead of time, and arriving 45 minutes after the check in time. The weather being very hot, I would have appreciated a complimentary drink or glass of water, but this was not offered. I was also told, the room had 2 twin beds and I asked if this was what I had booked, and was told that it was. Checking my booking once arriving to the room, I realised it was not as I had thought. So was not too pleased at being given the wrong room, then lied to and said that it was because i had booked it when it wasnt. The porter carrying the bags was not very friendly either. Unsatisfied with twin single beds, i complained to the front desk, who then moved me to another room. That was fine, Until I noticed the wet patch on the bed and realised the ceiling was leaking due to rain. After complaining again, I was moved to another room, which appeared to have a double bed and no leaking ceiling, so thought everything was fine until, realising the internet didnt work, then given no clear answer as to how long it would take to fix, just that maintenance work was being carried out. After visiting the restaurant within the complex, the messed up the order several times. Tried to order room service at 2am, it took them 90 minutes to make 2 simple dishes, when I was told it would be ready in 20-25 minutes, and they rang after 1 hour to say one of the drinks ordered was not available. Despite having very nice surroundings and a nice waterfront location. The staff do a fantastic job of messing up the simplest of tasks. Would not visit this hotel again, the service was horrible, especially considering it is by no means a cheap hotel.
Report this review
Yolanda M. Families with young children Philippines, January 15, 2013
Great location but far from the city

Quite and peace ,service is good
6.7
It was really great to visit this hotel after 26 years ,we arrived late night with my best friend ,the hotel is old ,some part has been fix ,but still you can see the oldness of the hotel, they give as room far from the lobby ( building B room 310) so we need to walk to the open alley and that was so scary ,i ask them to change as a room near by the lobby at first they said it was full ,so we went out for dinner ,when we came back i ask again ,and this nice guy said ok ,so it was late night already so i told them that we transfer in the morning , so i wake up early in the morning to pack our things i open the curtain i realized that the room location was not that bad ,view was great ,i love the coconut tree in front of the balcony and the green at clean grass in front of our room ,food is great all i am expected for a pilipino food or davao food like bibingka or puto ,people in the restaurant are very nice ,my friend and i might be coming back with our children sooner.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Try to visit Bluejaz the port is walking distance from the hotel which is so cheap or if you a budget try a day tour to pear farm
Report this review
Rick G. Families with older children Australia, January 12, 2013
Older beachside hotel, but very beautiful.

Excellent pool area. Five different dining options.
10
Excellent staff. So very friendly and helpful. Truly beautiful surrounds. Immaculate grounds and buildings. Very peaceful and unhurried. The rooms were fantastic, very nicely appointed. Food was beyond excellent. The selection changed each day and the option of getting freshly cooked eggs or omlettes were greatly appreciated. Must try the Mole and Adobo. Very nice. For an unforgettable evening, walk out to the jetty and eat at the Pirata Bar. Again excellent food, excellent service and a wonderful night view of Samal Island and Davao City.
Hotel Feature Tip: Really peaceful ambience. Able to relax for the first time in ages.
Report this review
Edward Y. Solo travelers Philippines, January 11, 2013
nice surroundings but substandard room

beach resort, good location, breakfast buffett
5.7
the bathroom had a detached doorknob which kept falling off. there is constant rattling noise from the centralized airconditioning. given the inconveniences, the room accommodation is definitely not worth USD100+ per night that i shelled out.
Report this review
Colin H. Couples United Kingdom, January 2, 2013
A good time.

Food, Rooms and Pool
8
Report this review
Chrischilear A. Couples Philippines, January 1, 2013
Superb despite of old hotel!

very nice view
8
Nice rooms, nice sea view and courteous staff. AAA
Report this review
Choy K. Couples Hong Kong, December 31, 2012
Good location and good service

The location is great and the room in the hotel is quite big. The custumer service was good and the good there was good.
8.3
It's a lovely stay generally.Big room although it's a bit basic. The staffs were so helpful and friendly.The location is great and the food was not bad.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The New SM mall there is huge and there are some nice restaurants. The water rafting in the Crocodile Park is fantastic.
Report this review
John C. Couples United Kingdom, December 30, 2012
Nice hotel, but getting s bit dated.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, the staff friendly, and the choice of restaurants was better than we expected.
8
The only down side to the hotel is that the smoking laws in Davao are extreme. If you have a table umberella down, you can smoke, if it is up, you can't. Very difficult to police this, but it's not the hotels fault. The fact that it is a "resort" tends to keep you isolated from the city, and Davao is a really nice, safe city, with many good restaurants and watering holes to enjoy. It's definately best to go to the city with someone who knows their way around, and we were lucky that our friends took the time to show us around else we would probably spent all of our time in the resort and missed the best of Davao. The hotel is only minutes from the small ferry transfer to Samal Island, which is a beautiful place to spend a day swimming, relaxing, and generally hanging out with friends.
Travel tip: Go to Coco's restaurant for great food at very affordable prices. 1/2 a side of ribs, a tenderloin steak with side dishes and drinks was less than $20US.
Report this review
Merlinda R. Couples United States of America, December 30, 2012
Great location

Beautiful and well kept gardens
7.7
i booked and paid for standard deluxe, and the hotel has overbooked, so we're glad to have been upgraded without additional cost. elevators would have been helpful for guests with joints problems and having difficulty climbing stairs.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: It's difficult to find your way around the city unless there is a guide and somebody to guide you to better restaurants with reasonable prices.
Report this review
Rudolf M. Couples Switzerland, December 29, 2012
Nice looking Hotel

Your Pictures on your Website
5.7
as we arrived in the dark it all looked very nice. we where made welcome and the receptionist informed use that in twin beds i did said i booked a double she replied they will put the beds together, very nice on your honeymoon. the porter took us to our room and was very nice and helpful he wanted to show us the view from the balcony but the sliding door came off the rails he apologised and said he will get it fixed. the next day i told the receptionist if they can’t fix door i will want to be moved to a other room and they moved us to a other room , the sliding door were the same and the tv did not work ,we could not use the safe it was broken and the hand basin in the bathroom had no plug so you can’t fill the basin. if the hotel / room maintainers be as good like the staff i would say it’s value for what i paid but not like that . i think they should spend more money on repair and maybe on no smoking signes . we would not go to any waterfront hotel after this experience nor would i recommended.
Report this review
Previous page 351 - 360 of 833 reviews Next page
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - FacadeWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Cafe UnoWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Pizzaiolo Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Junior SuiteWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Suite RoomWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Grand Agila BallroomWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Pizzaiolo RestaurantWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Meeting RoomWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Grand Agila BallroomWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Pirata BarWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Junior SuiteWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Pirata BarWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - La Parilla RestaurantWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - La Parilla RestaurantWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Pirata BarWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Business CenterWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Pool AquariusWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Suite RoomWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Executive SuiteWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - In-room DiningWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Twin RoomWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Living AreaWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Hotel WalkwayWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Pirata BarWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Hotel ExteriorWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Cafe UnoWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Vinta BarWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Hotel LobbyWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Pool AquariusWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Vinta BarWaterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City - Cafe Uno


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07