Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 1188 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1188 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.7

Nicholas R. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great hotel on waterfront
Nice outlook and pool area
enjoyed the hotel only issue was lack of wifi in room and loby
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Christina C. from Philippines
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Beautiful Resort in a City
Room has veranda overlooking the pool or garden.
Lovely resort but quite busy during weekends. The room comes with free buffet breakfast. They offer good food. Not much entertainment in the resort. You cannot use the beach for swimming.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Christina C. from Philippines
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Good location for Wedding and parties
A nice resort in the city
The hotel offers good buffet breakfast. Pool is clean and nice. Downside - you cannot use the beach for swimming.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Levent A. from Turkey
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
Great location but small rooms
best features of the hotel
Pros (best features of the hotel I like this hotel Location and good kithchen
Reviewed January 23, 2013

GEORGE R. from United States
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in January 2013
great location and nice rooms, great hospitality
had a pool, nice large selection for breakfast
all around a nice place to stay considering all the other hotels around it, they need to fix the pool lights hanging out of holes and we had to keep asking for new hand towels for the bathroom, they kept forgetting to giving them to us.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ernesto Q. from Philippines
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Location
nice ambiance, great location, friendly staff, good food, location & big rooms.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Rick G. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
Older beachside hotel, but very beautiful.
Excellent pool area. Five different dining options.
Excellent staff. So very friendly and helpful. Truly beautiful surrounds. Immaculate grounds and buildings. Very peaceful and unhurried. The rooms were fantastic, very nicely appointed. Food was beyond excellent. The selection changed each day and the option of getting freshly cooked eggs or omlettes were greatly appreciated. Must try the Mole and Adobo. Very nice. For an unforgettable evening, walk out to the jetty and eat at the Pirata Bar. Again excellent food, excellent service and a wonderful night view of Samal Island and Davao City.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

JERRYGWEN C. from Philippines
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great location but small room
Name of the hotel
Breakfast has limited choices , room service is very slow
Reviewed January 21, 2013

yolanda M. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Great location but far from the city
Quite and peace ,service is good
It was really great to visit this hotel after 26 years ,we arrived late night with my best friend ,the hotel is old ,some part has been fix ,but still you can see the oldness of the hotel, they give as room far from the lobby ( building B room 310) so we need to walk to the open alley and that was so scary ,i ask them to change as a room near by the lobby at first they said it was full ,so we went out for dinner ,when we came back i ask again ,and this nice guy said ok ,so it was late night already so i told them that we transfer in the morning , so i wake up early in the morning to pack our things i open the curtain i realized that the room location was not that bad ,view was great ,i love the coconut tree in front of the balcony and the green at clean grass in front of our room ,food is great all i am expected for a pilipino food or davao food like bibingka or puto ,people in the restaurant are very nice ,my friend and i might be coming back with our children sooner.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Daniel Z. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
One of the worst hotel experiences ever
Staff messed up everything possible. Poor Service.
Just about everything that could go wrong with a hotel stay was my experience at Waterfront Insular. First of all, after a long flight, i had to wait nearly 30 minutes for an available room despite it being booked well ahead of time, and arriving 45 minutes after the check in time. The weather being very hot, I would have appreciated a complimentary drink or glass of water, but this was not offered. I was also told, the room had 2 twin beds and I asked if this was what I had booked, and was told that it was. Checking my booking once arriving to the room, I realised it was not as I had thought. So was not too pleased at being given the wrong room, then lied to and said that it was because i had booked it when it wasnt. The porter carrying the bags was not very friendly either. Unsatisfied with twin single beds, i complained to the front desk, who then moved me to another room. That was fine, Until I noticed the wet patch on the bed and realised the ceiling was leaking due to rain. After complaining again, I was moved to another room, which appeared to have a double bed and no leaking ceiling, so thought everything was fine until, realising the internet didnt work, then given no clear answer as to how long it would take to fix, just that maintenance work was being carried out. After visiting the restaurant within the complex, the messed up the order several times. Tried to order room service at 2am, it took them 90 minutes to make 2 simple dishes, when I was told it would be ready in 20-25 minutes, and they rang after 1 hour to say one of the drinks ordered was not available. Despite having very nice surroundings and a nice waterfront location. The staff do a fantastic job of messing up the simplest of tasks. Would not visit this hotel again, the service was horrible, especially considering it is by no means a cheap hotel.
Reviewed January 16, 2013