Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 1198 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1198 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.7

mark P. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
Needs a few things sorting but otherwise very good
Room View Breakfast
Whenever i stay there's always been small ants in and around the kettle area, above the fridge in every room. But rooms are great, breakfast is brilliant. But it could do with a good evening restaurant. The outdoor one (not cafe) is like staying at someone's house under a cheap canopy. Why not use the restaurant that is only in use for breakfast? It's a nice room. Also I sent an email about how we would check in. Got no replies either direct or through Agoda. Staff need to acknowledge customer emails. I had to ring up from UK!
Reviewed February 04, 2016

Chase R. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Overall very good but...
I have stayed at the Waterfront Insular a number of times since 2009 so I obviously like it. The restaurants are good, staff delightful, big rooms with nice balconies, and the grounds and swimming pool very good with a delightful ambience. A great retreat from the city and I expect to go back. That said, I'll list the few things I'd like to see fixed. The bathrooms have tubs with the shower within, I estimate the shower head to be about 5ft 8 in above the bottom of the tub. This is a problem for someone taller than that and for me, at 6 ft 4 in, its a real pain. Add to that that the water pressure is not great and even worse when generators are in use and I have to do contortions with my arm up the side of the wall to rinse my body and bend way down to get my head wet. The water pressure problem also effects the sink where you'll often get an explosion of water due to an air bubble when you turn on the sink getting your clothes all wet. One other thing that has always been a problem, the shower curtain does not stop the water from running down outside the tub to the floor and the floor drain is not the lowest spot on the floor so you get quite a substantial puddle that doesn't go away over night - ridiculous. Normally I wouldn't care about this in inexpensive stay overnight hotels but its supposed to be a 4 star hotel. Be careful in the bar, San Miguel beers average about P120 per bottle. When you consider that you can buy the same beer by the case of 24 for about P20 per bottle, the price is steep. Western guests used to much higher prices may not mind but I've lived here a while. Add to that the fact that the bulk of the bar staff were college students on OJT and not being paid and the price is high. We discovered the price when my wife and I noticed there were no patrons and wondered why. Hmmmm. All things considered, I expect to go back, the good far outweighs the bad.
Reviewed February 03, 2016

glenn S. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2015
value for money
nice clean and spacious rooms, very courteous staff,
surprised to see big sized rooms, staff service is very good and very courteous , however the food need improvement.
Reviewed February 02, 2016

Catherine R. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2016
Polite & helpful staff
Pros-Polite & helpful staff, spacious room, large outdoor area Cons- hard bed, there was a function/event at the garden area at night & the noise can be heard from the room, they should only allow function/events during day time & not evening when everyone wants a good sleep,a bit far from the city area
Reviewed February 01, 2016

MARITA C. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Blackout Problems
Had several blackouts during our stay & even the water supply was affected.
It was comfortable & very nice ambiance. Just can't swim on their beach.... It's not swimmable.
Reviewed January 22, 2016

Ma.Corazon O. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2016
very good
food, staff, room
very good
Reviewed January 06, 2016

Francis V. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2015
Waterfront Inslular Hotel Davao
Location, Food and Staff
Had a great time bonding with the family. The pool is a great area for children.
Reviewed January 06, 2016

Edna A. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed one night in December 2015
Nice and clean hotel
The staff are courteous. Nice and clean. The rooms are big!
Reviewed January 05, 2016

Duarne B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Great staff and location but...
The staff were great, very accomodating and friendly. The Cafe Uno was well priced and had a great selection of quality of food. Pool area was tidy and very comfortable.
Overall our staff was very relaxing and we enjoyed the stay, but the room was old and not kept very well. The concierge was very helpful and accommodating though at our initial arrival. However the front desk staff were a little slow to check us in and left us waiting for about 10 minutes after arriving despite having a single group to check in and having 2 staff at the desk. Once we arrived at our room we were greeted to a screen door that fell off the rails when we tried to go out to our balcony and when we raised that to housekeeping they said they would have maintenance look at it but that did not happen unfortunately. The bathroom had a very poor finish on the floors and walls and fittings, there was a large crack in the basin that did not leak but very noticeable. The polished wooden floors in the room were very worn and need to be recovered soon as they have worn through the varnish some time ago. The bed was very comfortable and the housekeeping staff did a good job giving a general clean of the room. Although it was evident that the room had not had a serious cleaning top to bottom for some time with the dirt and grime that was in the cabinet holding the bar fridge. The rooms Air Conditioning did not operate properly and despite having a temperate adjustment it never actually got close to the temperature we set. The redeeming part of our stay though was the staff and the food that was provided. Simply put the staff are so friendly and helpful and are an asset to the Resort. The food that Cafe Uno offer to the guests is also fantastic and is very special, the Christmas Buffet in particular was delicious and was a great experience :) They have a great location, great staff, great food, great ambience but are let down by the rooms in my opinion.
Reviewed January 05, 2016

dahlia S. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed one night in December 2015
Best
Good ambiance, huge room, nice place
The best!
Reviewed January 04, 2016