or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Wellesley Boutique Hotel

2-8 Maginnity Street, Wellington Central, Wellington, New Zealand 6011 (Show on map)

Book now!

Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Exterior Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Suite Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Interior Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Lobby Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Ballroom Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Exterior Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Ballroom Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Bathroom Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Reception Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - 4th floor hallway Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Classic Suite Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Bathroom Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Deluxe Bathroom Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Bathroom Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room
Area: Wellington Central Number of Rooms: 13
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

based on
52 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (52)
Sort by:
Sandra R. Couples Canada, January 2, 2014
Easy place to stay

Location location
8.3
The Wellesley was a fine hotel it was not busy when we stayed there. The dining room was not open nor was there a bar so we had to venture out on a very stormy afternoon
Ruth W. Couples New Zealand, January 1, 2014
Historic hotel in the dead centre of town

Large rooms, friendly staff, central location
6.3
The hotel itself is quiet - in fact it felt like we were the only ones staying there. But the air-conditioning plant of the building opposite is incredibly noisy. As the Welsley itself does not have air-conditioning you need to open the windows.... and let the noise in. There was also major construction going on in the adjacent building, drilling at 8am on your annual holiday isn't great.
Noelle C. Couples Ireland, December 29, 2013
Beautiful and charming hotel

The decor, the staff and the location
9.3
My boyfriend and I arrived outside of the reception hours where we were greeted with a friendly night porter; she was very polite and friendly. What struck me initially was the character of the building, it is not your typical chic hotel, but more rustic and unique. I loved the interior of the reception and foyer area. There was a lovely Christmas tree and the room looked like you own private sitting room. The lift was a nice touch too, with the big wooden door and vintage style automatic gate. Our room was cosy with a large bathroom. It was vey luxurious for the price we paid in my opinion. Two sinks each and a big bath tub. The added bonus was the free internet dockets we received. The night porter kindly booked us our taxi for the next morning and was more than happy to take any of our questions. I was sorry we only could spend one night here. I whole heartedly recommend this hotel although my stay was short. I did not get a chance to try the food, but I think it would live up to the same standards.
Peter R. Couples United Kingdom, December 9, 2013
Another brief night-stop.

Twin beds much more comfortable. Car parking sorted out. Good staff support
5.7
This stay was an order of magnitude better than our stay on December 1st/2nd.We had changed our room request to that for a twin bed room and this had been accomplished. The staff, such as there were of them, enabled us to park in the right place at minimal cost. But the lack of an evening open restaurant meant that we had to wander about the city looking for a suitable venue. In the question above about 'What would I recommend Wellington for?' I have ticked 'shopping' because none of the other options apply and we didn't spend enough time in that city deliberately, as it is so windy, to make a better informed choice.
Peter R. Couples United Kingdom, December 2, 2013
Brief night-stop only on our way to the S.Island.

Not far from the inter-island ferry terminal. Quite easy to locate. Good breakfast
4.7
We were guided to stay at the Wellesley by contacts this hotel has with the RAF Club in London who provided us with an introduction. It was also recommended by an ex RAF officer who had stayed there. Our main concerns were that were few staff on duty - none at night that we could see - and that there was no restaurant facilities except at breakfast time. The car parking arangements were most confusing and we were very confused in trying to locate where we should have parked in the face of one-way street signage and that there were two car parks with the same name within a quarter of a mile.
Adam M. Solo travelers United States of America, August 10, 2013
A historical hotel

Comfortable bed, interesting architecture, good location
7.7
I liked the hotel overall but I was a bit disappointed. It seemed a bit rundown. There was construction happening in the building next door which started at 7am and lasted all day. While the construction wasn't the fault of the hotel, it was unpleasant and it would have been nice to have been offered a discount of some sort. The room I stayed in was a bit on the small side, which is fine if you're out sightseeing or doing business. The toilet in my room was a bit unreliable and you had to press several times to get it to flush properly. The building was really nice overall - great architecture - and the staff was very helpful. I liked staying in a historical building, but it would be nice if they were to remodel a bit.
Michael M. Couples United Kingdom, July 20, 2013
old world hotel

dining room history location
7
it was a lovely old hotel but found the fact that the masons had the run of it a bit disconcerting. I felt quite uncomfortable
Guy B. Couples New Zealand, July 19, 2013
Great hotel and staff let down by small things

Location, staff, character
8
Hotel was charming and different from the usual motel options for same price point. It had real character and staff were attentive and knowledgeable. We stayed in an executive room which was good value..his/hers vanities, separate shower and bath, comfy bed and sofa. Clock radio etc in room very dusty which caused much sneezing. This and some ripped wallpaper let it down a bit. Great location and quaint little bar made it a good choice. Would ask for a room away from old style gated-door elevator however as this was quite noisy at night.
Russell W. Business travelers United Kingdom, July 5, 2013
all that one could have hoped for

central location, quiet, stylish
9
The Wellesley Boutique Hotel is a gem of a place. Beautifully restored to give its 19th century feel, the hotel has real 'old world' charm and character, without compromising on efficiency and cleanliness. The staff were unfailingly helpful. Although there was building work going on in the vicinity, the noise wasn't too disturbing. I found my room comfortable and will all the facilities I could have wished for. Would definitely return.
Leonora H. Couples New Zealand, March 22, 2013
Great location in CBD, charming boutique hotel

Friendly staff, unique feel of boutique hotel, great central location
7
We had a good stay; it wasn't as good as our previous stay, as we were in a smaller room and it was not as clean as we would have liked. But the staff is friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat. I would stay again,

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Wellesley Boutique Hotel WellingtonWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - ExteriorWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Suite RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - InteriorWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - LobbyWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - BallroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - ExteriorWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - BallroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - BathroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - ReceptionWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - 4th floor hallwayWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Classic SuiteWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - BathroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Deluxe BathroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - BathroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B01