arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.5
Based on 81 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 81 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Staff Performance 9.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.6

Ali W.
New Zealand
April 15, 2015
A Birthday Treat.
Staff..Location..Bathroom.
We chose WBH encouraged by the advertising on agoda.com. Looking for a medium priced birthday treat, we were able to book an appropriate room. My initial impression of 'front of house' was a busy, customer focused staff member, keen to show his clients to their rooms personally. Though this meant we had to wait briefly to check in..sharing in the historical journey of the hotel while taking a ride in the original lift, was worth the wait. The room was outstanding. Furnishings and interior design perfect. The bathroom, with double shower and double basins, plus a bath, incredible. The hotels location allowed us to walk into town within a few minutes and metered parking was available directly outside, with a parking token on offer for $25 (24 hours), within walking distance. Definately happy to return.

Dale H.
Australia
March 01, 2015
Charm and comfort
Comfort, decor, history
Loved the old-style decor and history of this hotel. Beautiful spacious bedroom and bathroom, supreme furnishings, charming old lift, gracious staff. I found a book in the lounge detailing the history of it as a men's club prior to becoming a hotel. Fascinating to me as a reminder of another social era. Reminded me of the style of the Fairmont hotels.

Kristopher M.
United States
February 20, 2015
Great location heritage property
location, design, character
the hotel has a lot of history and is located close to the action at the center of the city. The room was a little cramped and opened to a light well, and the A/C wasn't working very well so the room stayed pretty warm. Other than that, it was an enjoyable stay.

julia C.
United Kingdom
January 24, 2015
Lovely hotel!
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were beautifully furnishes with genuine old-style character and everything worked! This hotel was full of character and I would highly recommend it
Really enjoyed staying here. It's minutes from the harbour and from the shops so very convenient But what makes it style out is the beautiful old style character and the immaculate refurbishment of this one-time gentlemen's club

Benjamin T.
Singapore
December 16, 2014
Has character....
Definitely a slice of Wellington history. Interesting to read about the freemasons who own the building. excellent and friendly staff.

VALERIE W.
United Kingdom
November 21, 2014
AWESOME STAY
Rooms, Staff, Locarion
We had an awesome time. The Hotel is well located. The staff went over and above what you would expect. The rooms were made up every day if required. Brilliant place to stay

David B.
New Zealand
September 07, 2014
Great little hotel with friendly, helpful staff
'Character', quiet cafe/bar, location
Only let down by a poorly made flat white and a less than stellar eggs benedict.

Anthony T.
New Zealand
August 30, 2014
Wellesly Hotel
Location, location, location
Just OK. Staff was good. Pigeons are nesting and noisy. The lift requires some muscle to operate. Hotel is tired and worn. The sooner the owner can get control of the whole premise, and revitalise a la the Windsor in Melbourne the better. Location is just great, and with the good café/dining opportunities very close by, the refurbish should forget about too much in the way of catering facilities.

Gordon W.
Australia
July 27, 2014
Great secret hotel, staff are great very attentive
Location, staff and food.
Fantastic

Melissa T.
United States
July 16, 2014
Beautiful hotel, superb staff
friendly staff, room size and character
This is a truly unique hotel right in the heart of the city. You can walk to loads of good restaurants and pubs. The rooms are not only large but they have excellent character. The high ceilings, furnishings, and artwork result in a luxurious experience. The best part was the staff. They were friendly and went above and beyond to answer our questions and make sure we felt comfortable.