Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Wellesley Boutique Hotel

2-8 Maginnity Street, Wellington Central, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.4

based on
50 reviews

69 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
9.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
Couples (50)
Sort by:
May L. Couples New Zealand, November 22, 2015
Great Concert accomodation

Proximity of the hotel , it was very quiet , friendly staff
8.3
Our stay was very good close proximity to the stadium for the Elton John concert and close to the bus stops for Courtney place and to Cuba Street precinct as well as for Waterfront dining, the house bar on the Friday was very relaxed and friendly with a mix of house guests and the local office workers all up very nice and we were thankful that we could get accommodation via the Agoda website as Wellington accommodation was full when we had viewed Expedia and Tivago. Thanks and we will be back.
Report this review
Hsiao C. Couples Taiwan, September 4, 2015
A charming boutique hotel!

The deco, the staff, and the food
10
It was a lovely experience. I like how the old fashion style deco it is and the food at 1815 is just great! Also the staff are all very helpful!
Report this review
Sarah B. Couples Australia, June 18, 2015
Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Unique character, warm and friendly staff.
8.3
The location is incredibly convenient but should be noted that the parking can be a challenge in the area. The hotel will sell you a parking voucher for $25 / day. The free wifi is only 100mb / room, not per guest - which lasted us only a few minutes. The hotel is full of character but a lot of features are quite aged.
Report this review
Zhiping C. Couples Singapore, June 9, 2015
Old School style

Old school feel of the hotel, friendly front desk staff, near bluebridge terminal and railway station
9.3
Took a bit of effort to locate the hotel after coming off the bluebridge ferry. Was about a 10 minutes walk. A bit of a challenge tugging a wheeled luggage along the streets of Wellington but I will say the experience made up for it. Was welcomed warmly at the front desk who then brought us up to the room and introduced some unique features of the hotel. The room was well maintained and retained the whole atmosphere of the hotel. Comfortable and spacious enough for 2. We went on a train ride the next day and the relative proximity to the train station was another key reason why this hotel was chosen.
Report this review
Dan H. Couples Hong Kong, May 26, 2015
Good service and clean room

Nice and clean room with good service
9.3
Reception staff is very friendly and provided useful information about the Ferry and restaurant nearby. We enjoyed the seafood dinner in Crab Shack which is just 5-10 min from hotel. Rooms were looked exactly like the pictures in Agoda. The location of this boutique hotel is very good.
Report this review
Dan H. Couples Hong Kong, May 26, 2015
good location and friendly staff

good location and service
9.3
Nice service and well designed room made us have a good stay here. The location of Wellesley is very good. You can reach to Bluebridge Ferry very easily. It took just 3-5 min.
Report this review
Tim C. Couples United Kingdom, May 11, 2015
Decor very nice

Decor, friendly and helpful staff & handy location
9.3
Report this review
Christine S. Couples Australia, April 23, 2015
A comfortable hotel

Location, old world character, comfortable
8
Very enjoyable with old world charm, that is in a convenient location.
Report this review
Ali W. Couples New Zealand, April 11, 2015
A Birthday Treat.

Staff..Location..Bathroom.
9
We chose WBH encouraged by the advertising on agoda.com. Looking for a medium priced birthday treat, we were able to book an appropriate room. My initial impression of 'front of house' was a busy, customer focused staff member, keen to show his clients to their rooms personally. Though this meant we had to wait briefly to check in..sharing in the historical journey of the hotel while taking a ride in the original lift, was worth the wait. The room was outstanding. Furnishings and interior design perfect. The bathroom, with double shower and double basins, plus a bath, incredible. The hotels location allowed us to walk into town within a few minutes and metered parking was available directly outside, with a parking token on offer for $25 (24 hours), within walking distance. Definately happy to return.
Report this review
Dale H. Couples Australia, February 28, 2015
Charm and comfort

Comfort, decor, history
9
Loved the old-style decor and history of this hotel. Beautiful spacious bedroom and bathroom, supreme furnishings, charming old lift, gracious staff. I found a book in the lounge detailing the history of it as a men's club prior to becoming a hotel. Fascinating to me as a reminder of another social era. Reminded me of the style of the Fairmont hotels.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 76 reviews Next page
Wellesley Boutique Hotel WellingtonWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - ExteriorWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Suite RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - InteriorWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - LobbyWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - BallroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - ExteriorWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - BallroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - BathroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - ReceptionWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - 4th floor hallwayWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Classic SuiteWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - BathroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Deluxe BathroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - BathroomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest RoomWellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01