Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Wellesley on the Lake

100-102 Lake Terrace, Waipahihi Bay Area, Taupo, New Zealand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.8

based on
145 reviews

131 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (145)
Sort by:
Gabor S. Couples Hungary, January 14, 2016
Good location and good food

Good location and good food at the restaurant. The room wasn't the cleanest but the staff was helpful.
7.3
Report this review
Tam C. Couples Hong Kong, November 25, 2015
Nice view to Taupo Lake

facing the lake, facility and environment
6
Report this review
Albert L. Couples New Zealand, November 3, 2015
A mature couple

It was very quiet in an excellent location. You could have your meals there if you wanted to.
9
As a mature couple we appreciated the peace and quiet. It was in an excellent location and the lift made getting to our room very easy. The front staff were very polite and helpful. Would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends.
Report this review
Michelle N. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 25, 2015
Wellesley stay

Location cleanliness parking
8.7
For an overnight stay its fine but I wouldn't want to stay longer. The rooms are paper thin and we could hear all the thumping if people upstairs and each time a person in the neighbouring room had a shower or used the toilet. However, it was clean and functional. The restaurant albeit was a super fish restaurant ...sadly they didn't offer one vegetarian dish which would have helped but not essential
Report this review
Andiie M. Couples New Zealand, September 30, 2015
compact

friendly staff, clean, good parking
8.7
We were disappointed, in our choice. We had chosen a guest room.. with out realizing its very limited size. compact room with a bed taking up 98% of the space. bruised shins moving around the bed.. Very clean, awesome staff.. but had we known the size of the room.. we would of made other arrangements
Report this review
Martien K. Couples New Zealand, September 20, 2015
Weekend holiday

Location, relaxed, friendly staff
8
Stay was good. A bit casual on services outside of peak hours - had to go looking for someone Agoda booking agency put up a $70 special and then took standard rate off credit card. Not impressive
Report this review
Jessie S. Families with older children Malaysia, August 22, 2015
Not up to expectation for the money paid

The only plus for me was the location.
6.3
Out of 5 hotels we stayed in North Island, for our annual holiday - Wellesley is at the bottom of my list (and it was the most expensive!). It is an old property, which we didn't expect from looking at the property. There was no central heating but we were provided with a small portable heater and electric blanket on the beds. Beds were not comfortable and the flat pillows had seen better days. Cooking/coffee smells flows into our room every morning. Deco & carpet are dated. Wellesley is more a bed & breakfast rather than a hotel.
Report this review
Fabio R. Couples Brazil, June 4, 2015
Excelent location, tiny room

location
6.3
the stay was nice even though the room was sooo tinu you could barely stand around the bed. Check in staff was really good but the morning cleanin tram was a bit rude when banging (yap, no knocking) at 10am to let us know we had to check out
Report this review
Christopher F. Couples New Zealand, May 18, 2015
Over rated

location
4
staff seemed very unmotivated - room lacked amenities - tea bags were not topped up for second night - no air conditioning - as a place to sleep OK but tired and uninspiring - this was our second and probably last visit. Could hear people in other rooms snoring - they could also probably hear my coughing. a 2 star plus venue at most.
Report this review
Allison K. Couples United States of America, May 10, 2015
Cute room, great value

The value, the bed, the decor
9.7
Exceptional value for the quality of the room. Had a fun, cabin-like feel to it that added to our experience of lake taupo. The bed was also very big and comfortable. The room had a bathtub, which is always appreciated. The front desk person was a little spacey when we checked in, but that didn't affect our positive experience of the hotel. Highly recommend.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 131 reviews Next page
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Side View Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Lazy Trout Fish ShackWellesley on the Lake Taupo - Lazy Trout Fish ShackWellesley on the Lake Taupo - Bar Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Entrance Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Swimming pool and hot tubWellesley on the Lake Taupo - Fire Place Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Breakfast Room Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Outside Terrace Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Seating areaWellesley on the Lake Taupo - Entrance view from TerraceWellesley on the Lake Taupo - Swimming Pool and hot tubWellesley on the Lake Taupo - Covered balcony outside bar Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Lazy Trout Fish Shack & Cafe Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Bar area Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Breakfast Room Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Outside TerraceWellesley on the Lake Taupo - Lazy Trout Mascot Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Reception Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - View from Restaurant Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Entrance Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - RestaurantWellesley on the Lake Taupo - BathroomWellesley on the Lake Taupo - View Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - View Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Bed Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Lazy Trout Fish Shack & Cafe Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Entrance View Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Lazy Trout Fish Shack & Cafe Wellesley on the Lake Taupo - Meeting RoomWellesley on the Lake Taupo - Meeting Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C07