arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 116 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 116 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.8

Rosie C.
New Zealand
January 04, 2015
Great location
Location,free parking,spacious room
We enjoyed our stay and found the location brilliant. What let us down was the lack of attention to detail in the bathroom.the cleaning was not up to hotel standard especially of a 4 star. There were previous guest hairs throughout the bathroom which was not acceptable. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

YUEN T.
Hong Kong
October 26, 2014
Room condition
good location,
Old furniture, poor utility. The security is very loose, no one know I enter the hotel at night. Easily to have stranger break in

Wayne W.
New Zealand
October 02, 2014
tired travellers
location
We had a 5am start to our flight to Wellington - arrived about 8.30am - we are both over 67 years old and my wife has had two hip replacements. We were told our room would not be ready until 2pm - we went for a short walk and came back at midday - room still not ready - we were both very tired and my wife tired of walking - no concessions or offers of hot drinks - wait in the lounge- staff too busy to bother about us. We were told 'We are very busy' Would have been nice to be told 'We will make you room a priority but have a coofe, here is the paper' or something. We felt like we were just a nuisance to busy staff- we actually help to pay their wage!!Not very welcoming...Don't think we would stay here again.

Marsha A.
New Zealand
September 19, 2014
Awesome
Location, friendly and comfortable
Very good and relaxing

Ruth W.
New Zealand
September 16, 2014
Complete satisfaction
Locality - comfort - helpful staff
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - would certainly return another time. Thank you.

Iain B.
New Zealand
September 12, 2014
Great stay
The size of the room and bathroom was fantastic. The staff were great and especially attentive at breakfast and the location and price were second to none
The hotel was great and fantastic value for money. Really attentive staff, good sized room including the bathroom, awesome breakfast - all in all a really good stay. We will return there

Bruce M.
New Zealand
September 10, 2014
Stay at West Plaza
Location, Room Comfort,Hotel Cleanliness
Overall, very good

Philip R.
New Zealand
July 17, 2014
Worst experience of any Hotel in my life
Location
Stayed during the Sevens Tournament in February. The hotel location is good. The rooms are ok. Now pretty old and worn out but not expensive. Back alley entrance dangerous at night with no security for guests. Second night was good BUT wait, at 06:45 on the Saturday morning my wife and I were lying in bed when the door BURST open and this chap came in yelling "wakey, wakey, get out of bed!". If it wasn’t such a serious breach of my security and privacy it would have been laughable. If my wife had been on her own it would have been a matter for the Police. The chap had been given our room key by the hotel reception because he had asked for a key to his brother’s room who happened to have the same surname as me. In other hotels I have stayed at around the world, our room key would NEVER have been given out without first contacting the room for authorisation or the production of ID showing you were the room guest. I raised the issue with the weekend manager who initially seemed to take it all very seriously. Later in the day the manager told me a string of lies about what & why. He did not realise that I had run into the chap and his brother during the day and got the truth about how it had all unfolded. They had not asked the chap for ID and he was not a guest. No compensation was offered despite the manager assuring me we would be well compensated for the breach of our personal security. The manager also told us that systems had now been changed and it could not happen again. We tested this and sent our mate off to see if he could get our room key. He returned two minutes latter with key in hand. So as you have just read this hotel treats your personal security and privacy as some sort of joke. Hotel management treat you as an inferior when you complain and General management lie in response to reviews and are too weak to contact me directly. I left it several months before reviewing to allow them to contact me to make amends. They never did.

Glenda W.
New Zealand
July 15, 2014
Comfortable, clean, central, and well equipped.
Centrally located in the city, comfortable room, friendly staff.
Very Good - the only negative thing we noticed was we could hear quite a lot of city noise during the night.

Kenneth L.
Australia
July 05, 2014
Value for money Centrally located
Centraly located, value for money and friendly staff
The hotel is centrally located to all shopping, restaurant's and attractions. The Hotel itself requires a refurb. Staff are friendly and helpful.