My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

West Side YMCA Hostel

5 West 63rd Street, Central Park - Upper West Side, New York (NY), United States 10023 (Show on map)

Book now!

West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Bathroom West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Entrance West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest Room West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest Room West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest Room West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest Room West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest Room West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest Room West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest Room West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest Room West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest Room West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest Room West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Hotel Interior West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Bathroom West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Bathroom West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Hotel Exterior
West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Hotel Exterior West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Hotel Exterior West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Hotel Exterior West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Fitness Center West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Reception West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Reception West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Business Center
Hotel Area: Central Park - Upper West Side Number of Rooms: 350

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.6

based on
138 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
6.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
5.8
Room Comfort/Standard
6.0
Food/Dining
4.8
All reviews (138)
Sort by:
Doris S. Groups Austria, December 30, 2013
sightseeing in ny

location, value for money
7.3
the room was larger as we expected there were new towels every day the location of the hostel was perfect for sightseeing the wirefire didn't really work
Thomas S. Couples Germany, December 16, 2013
It was a poor choice! Will never do it again!

Location was the only thing, however once you explore NYC and realize how fast the metro is, you would definitely stay somewhere better. It was freezing, dirty, noisy, TV was not working, roaches
4.7
Heater did not work properly, thin blankets, half of the window covered with board, got sick by minus 9C. Toilets absolutely dirty, no toilet paper and tissues on some days. TV did not work, such a massive thing in that small room was useless and took heaps of space, just get rid of it.
Amber C. Solo travelers Taiwan, December 15, 2013
Can't take shower in the Winter if you stay here!

location, budget, safe
4.3
I stayed here for three nights in the 20F winter time, and the shower is basiclly not working, water in the shower room is very very cold! even I told staff many times but it still not been improved! I couldn't take shower for three nights!! if you are going to stay in YMCA, don't go in the winter! if you are only budget concern and don't care any other things, then just go!
Ulyses C. Solo travelers Singapore, November 29, 2013
Best Value in Upper Wset Side budget Hotel

Location Location Location
7.3
Its modest and clean enough for the excellent value. Its not a luxury hotel for sure. Super near 59th subway or Columbus Circle. Has a Duane Reade supermarket across its road on the right. Sandwiched between Lincoln Center and Central Park.
Ulyses C. Solo travelers Singapore, November 26, 2013
Cheap for NY

Price, Cleanliness, Location
8
Location Location Location. This is one of the cheapest stays we had in NYC that is super well located, centrally located There a Dwayne Reade supermarket across and 5 minutes to Columbus Circle Subways. Room is basic and bathroom is renovated.
Josephine A. Couples Canada, November 19, 2013
budget bunk experience on 9th floor

location
5.7
After I requested a room change, the room was bearable on the 9th floor, but not pleasurable. I understand that other floors have better rooms. Apparently renovation is ongoing on other floors.
Larry A. Business travelers United States of America, November 13, 2013
No frills economy hotel

Very affordable, great location, use of the gym and steam room
7
Very good overall. Clean, safe, no frills. great location near subway at Lincoln circle.
Amanda D. Solo travelers United States of America, November 4, 2013
Great Value!!

The YMCA is located next to Central Park, near the subway, and it was quiet!
8
My stay was great! I came for the NY Marathon and the location was everything I could ask for. Yes it was a sparse room, but it had a bed - comfortable; TV; enough outlets; and it was secure for a single female traveler. I never felt uncomfortable and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again!
Suzanna D. Couples United Kingdom, October 20, 2013
You pay for the location!

Great location right next to Central Park and 20 minutes walk from Times Square, pleasant communal area, friendly staff.
7.3
This hostel is friendly and clean but amenities are basic and the main attraction is the location you get for a great price. We found the beds to be uncomfortable and the room (we had a bunk) was very small but the bedding and towels provided were spotlessly clean. The shared bathrooms are adequate but you can't take your clothes/towel into the shower cubicle without them getting wet so you have to leave everything outside. They were small but clean and the showers were good. I didn't have to queue but it's worth getting up early. It was a bit noisy through the night as people came home late but there is a friendly atmosphere. I would stay here again for the price but be prepared for the basic nature of this hostel. I would recommend to people on a budget.
Sai M. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 13, 2013
Super value for money

value for money, great location, good customer service
7.7
The location is great. Very near to Central park and subway station. The room is not fantastic but considered good with this price tag. There is no en-suite bathroom, however the public bathroom can only be accessed by room key card and only one person can enter the bathroom at one time.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY)West Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - BathroomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - EntranceWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest RoomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest RoomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest RoomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest RoomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest RoomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest RoomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest RoomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest RoomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest RoomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Guest RoomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Hotel InteriorWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - BathroomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - BathroomWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Hotel ExteriorWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Hotel ExteriorWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Hotel ExteriorWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Hotel ExteriorWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Fitness CenterWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - ReceptionWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - ReceptionWest Side YMCA Hostel New York (NY) - Business Center


AS-AGWEB-3B04