Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Winner Hotel

5/13, Pyi Taung Su Road, Kalaw, Kalaw, Myanmar

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 20 reviews

13 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.2
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (20)
Sort by:
Kim R. Couples Netherlands, March 19, 2016
Good location
4.7
Stayed here one night, left the next day on a trek. Location is good, other than that our stay was average. Fine for one night.
Report this review
Melanie G. Couples Switzerland, March 15, 2016
cheap hotel
4.3
Nothing special about this hotel but its clean and cheap. The location is very good and the breakfast not bad.
Report this review
Anita V. Couples Finland, February 23, 2016
Ok hotel for one night stay
6
Staff was friedly and flexible. They arranged us a superior room instead of standard room for a same price beacause we had wished for a higher floor (which was good because the window in the basement room was blocked with junk). However, water pressure was really poor.
Report this review
John P. Couples United Kingdom, December 19, 2015
overpriced

location, hot water, friendly staff
6.7
As many hotels in Myanmar this hotel is overpriced for the quality of the facilities provides
Report this review
John K. Solo travelers United States of America, March 28, 2015
Decent Hotel in a Great Location

Location, Staff
7
Winner hotel is centrally located in Kalaw. The central market and several trekking offices, travel agents, restaurants, and beer stations are all within 2 minutes walk. The busses for Mandalay, Yangon, and Inle stop right in front of the hotel. The train station is about 10 minutes walk. The only downside of the location is the traffic noise from the main highway, which continues to some degree throughout the night. I booked room 301, a superior room with a window on the back corner of the building. The room was clean, but could use a coat of paint and a makeover. The bed was comfortable and the wood floors were nice. TV was very small but had a few English channels including Al Jazeera. Lighting in the room was adequate for reading, but just barely. There are two generations of lighting and switches, but only the new tube light above the doorway worked. The electrical issue needs attention. The bathroom was clean but also needed paint and a bit of mold removal. The light was a bit dim for shaving. Towels were old, stiff, and stained. Two small bottles of water were included the first day but were not restocked, in fact the room was not serviced between nights. Water is for sale in the lobby for market rate. There was a refrigerator and tea kettle in the room, with tea bags but no coffee. Wifi was really terrible, but it's hard to hold that against the hotel when this whole region has the same issue. Count on 75% of the time being able to send or receive email (don't even think of attaching a photo) and 10% of the time being able to access basic web content. Desk staff were friendly and very helpful and spoke very good English. Breakfast was adequate - choice of fried rice with eggs or toast with eggs, along with juice, coffee, and melon, served on the top floor with a beautiful view of town and the mountains beyond. Aside from the traffic noise this hotel was adequate for my needs.
Report this review
Khoa B. Solo travelers Netherlands, March 14, 2015
Convienent location

Location, large room, clean
9
The room was everything i was hoping for after a long busride from Yangon. We arrived at 4:00am (when its dark and cold) so it was nice that the hotel was right in front of the bus drop-off point. Even though i got there so early in the morning, i got a room right away without extra charge! It felt like having two nights for the price of one :)
Report this review
Suu Y. Groups Malaysia, January 12, 2015
very good very spacious

convenient location, very spacious room, good breakfast
8.3
our bus from bagan to Kalaw stopped right in front of Winner Hotel so the location is super convenient, the room is very very spacious, bathroom is spacious too and they have very good breakfast, we got to choose between toast, sausage & eggs and fried rice and egg and the breakfast was then freshly prepared. The staff is very nice too :)
Report this review
Jordi G. Groups Spain, November 7, 2014
Average hotel, amazing staff

Location and staff
9
We arrived to Kalaw at 1.30 a.m. in the morning. The bus from Nyaung Oo stopped in front of our hotel, so we decided to check if there was someone at the front desk. One guy was sleeping in the hall and, after telling him that we had a reservation for the following day, he let us crash at the back of the hotel, where they had some mattresses. Some hours later, one lady working at the front desk came and offered us some coffee and apologized for not being able to offer us a room, since they were fully booked and we had to wait until some customer had checked out. At 10 a.m. she gave us the key of our room, even though the check-in time was at 12 a.m.
Report this review
Thomas-Jos B. Solo travelers France, February 25, 2014
Normal hotel getting a bit old but correct

Centrally located, easy to find
7
This is not a hotel you would choose for staying several nights as it really has no charm. It's more a hotel for travelers that need to spend a night in Kalaw on their way. A bit pricey for what it is but this is due to the lack of hotel offers in Kalaw. Staff was nice though, and breakfast was regular. Very central in Kalaw.
Report this review
Antonio S. Solo travelers Spain, February 13, 2014
Clean and Very good to get treeking guide

Clean, good quality/price and very good to get treeking guide. The guide very kind and intresting travel
9
Kind,clean hotel. We had only one night and get a good guide for traveller
Report this review
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Winner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - RestaurantWinner Hotel Kalaw - Breakfast on Top FloorWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Superior DoubleWinner Hotel Kalaw - RestaurantWinner Hotel Kalaw - BallroomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - RestaurantWinner Hotel Kalaw - FacilitiesWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Meeting RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - ExteriorWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Coffee Shop/CafeWinner Hotel Kalaw - ReceptionWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - BathroomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest RoomWinner Hotel Kalaw - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A04