Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Wo Jia Lodge

No 17 Main Bazaar, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 117 reviews

72 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.4
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (117)
Sort by:
Nuria B. Couples Spain, May 27, 2016
awful bathroom and shower
3.3
the shared bathrooms and showers are broken, always there is water in the toilet floor, the rope to flush is broken and no place in the washrooms to clean the face or tooth.
Tanya H. Business travelers Malaysia, May 11, 2016
Disgustingly Dirty, Not Kidding.
2
Dirty bedroom. Smelly blanket. Disgusting bathroom. Shower water flow drip, drip, drip. Internet/Wifi does not work at all. Cancelled my booking & got a refund.
Sariman A. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 14, 2016
Working
6.3
Have a meeting in kuchinh
Anita D. Solo travelers India, December 8, 2015
Great Location, bad stay experience

location!
4.7
I booked this hotel because it was on the waterfront and provided an economical single room. Thankfully I was visiting bako and the other national parks so I wasn't in the room a lot because it was quite lacking due to the following experiences: 1. The one toilet on my floor had water pouring from the tank on the roof and the flush was overflowing (which was broken and to be used the piston had to be manually pulled by putting your hand inside the flush tank). 2. There was a waste paper basket outside my room that wasn't cleared in the 3 days I was there. Within the room, all the corners and the light fixtures were full of cobwebs and grime. There were blood stains on the sheets. 3. They say breakfast is provided and there are kitchen facilities, which is true enough. However on the first day when I went down there was food lying partially covered on the table with half drunk cups of coffee and every spoon had been used. The bread had been kept in the fridge and was clearly stale. 4. The first staff I encountered were decidedly stone faced. While the reception area provided a great view of the water front I couldn't enjoy it since the receptionist and another staff member where busy canoodling on the sofa on day 1, watching TV. On day 2 and 3 I encountered a much more professional staff member manning the reception who seemed professional and around him there was no such behaviour. This also meant that when I came down for breakfast the next morning he was there and put on the lights for me (the table was clean and all cutlery in the right place!). All in all, I feel this place may have once been really awesome (there are signs of it in the reception area) but now is clearly not taken care of. It could perhaps just be staff negligence but it made for quite an uncomfortable and disappointing stay especially when I have been to so many budget places that have managed to get the comfort right at economical prices.
Jun R. Couples Malaysia, November 12, 2015
Friendly Staff
5
Very good staff
Jessie D. Solo travelers Netherlands, October 25, 2015
Absolutely worth it

Staff, location and price
8.7
Verry good, recomandable!
Nur S. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 18, 2015
Quaint Lodge By The Kuching Waterfront

Comfortable Rooms. Strategic Location. Friendly Staff
7.7
In general, the Lodge is fantastic as a budget short-stay accommodation. While everything's well and dandy, I do think the Lodge needs to upgrade its' bathroom facilities. The 2nd floor facilities were left with no water due to low pressure and high usage from the facilities on the 1st floor, and there were no hot water at all!
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, August 11, 2015
Location and Value make a Winner !

Location, Value, Friendliness
8
Location is prime ! Value is quite good! Staff are friendly-- whether it's giving directions to near-by National Park and Tourism offices, advising which buss to take to the weekend market across the river, or directions for Top Spot, a local seafood ( and veggies and fruits) food court. The value is Good. The beds are comfortable, the toilets and showers are cleaned somewhat regularly. The 'breakfast' is bread, PNB, Kaya; coffee and tea are always available. Local food vendors, food courts, cafes, restaurants, souvenir vendors, and a shopping mall are all within close walking distance. Wo Jia Lodge is a good choice for fellow budget travelers.
Ken H. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 8, 2015
Unpleasant

Location, price
4.7
Rat running around in the common area, limited socket plugs, dirty toilet.
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, July 31, 2015
Location, Staff Friendliness, and Cleanliness are

Location, Value, Cleanliness
8.3
Wo Jia Lodge has a great central location, close to restaurants, cafes, convenience stores, and shopping. The Tourism and National Parks offices are within walking distance, as are the Post Office, several Museums, and Temples. There are local food and souvenir vendors along Main Bazaar, Jalan India and Gambir, and around the bus terminal, all within walking distance. The local and regional buses are great for visiting the Parks, shopping mall, and cinemas, and weekend market (across the river). The rooms at Wo Jia Lodge are small yet of a comfortable size. The downfall is that the walls are definitely paper-thin ! The toilets and showers are cleaned regularly, the bed linens are fresh and clean. The beds are comfortable! There are dorm rooms, twins, doubles, and a family room. The staff are friendly, and readily give directions to the local sights. If anything in the Lodge needs tending (fresh toilet paper, burned light bulb), the staff do respond in a timely manner. I recommend Wo Jia Lodge to fellow budget travelers.
1 - 10 of 72 reviews Next page
Wo Jia Lodge KuchingWo Jia Lodge Kuching - QueenWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Double or TwinWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Double or TwinWo Jia Lodge Kuching - FamilyWo Jia Lodge Kuching - FamilyWo Jia Lodge Kuching - DormitoryWo Jia Lodge Kuching - DormitoryWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Bathroom Wo Jia Lodge Kuching - Guest LoungeWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Guest Lounge Overlooking WaterfrontWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Guest Lounge Overlooking WaterfrontWo Jia Lodge Kuching - InteriorWo Jia Lodge Kuching - InteriorWo Jia Lodge Kuching - InteriorWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Breakfast & Dining AreaWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Breakfast & Dining AreaWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Smoking Zone Balcony at 1st FloorWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Smoking Zone Balcony at 1st FloorWo Jia Lodge Kuching - 2nd Floor Balcony & Air WellWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Kitchen


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05