Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Wo Jia Lodge

No 17 Main Bazaar, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.8

based on 115 reviews

69 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.4
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (115)
Sort by:
Sariman A. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 14, 2016
Working
6.3
Have a meeting in kuchinh
Report this review
Anita D. Solo travelers India, December 8, 2015
Great Location, bad stay experience

location!
4.7
I booked this hotel because it was on the waterfront and provided an economical single room. Thankfully I was visiting bako and the other national parks so I wasn't in the room a lot because it was quite lacking due to the following experiences: 1. The one toilet on my floor had water pouring from the tank on the roof and the flush was overflowing (which was broken and to be used the piston had to be manually pulled by putting your hand inside the flush tank). 2. There was a waste paper basket outside my room that wasn't cleared in the 3 days I was there. Within the room, all the corners and the light fixtures were full of cobwebs and grime. There were blood stains on the sheets. 3. They say breakfast is provided and there are kitchen facilities, which is true enough. However on the first day when I went down there was food lying partially covered on the table with half drunk cups of coffee and every spoon had been used. The bread had been kept in the fridge and was clearly stale. 4. The first staff I encountered were decidedly stone faced. While the reception area provided a great view of the water front I couldn't enjoy it since the receptionist and another staff member where busy canoodling on the sofa on day 1, watching TV. On day 2 and 3 I encountered a much more professional staff member manning the reception who seemed professional and around him there was no such behaviour. This also meant that when I came down for breakfast the next morning he was there and put on the lights for me (the table was clean and all cutlery in the right place!). All in all, I feel this place may have once been really awesome (there are signs of it in the reception area) but now is clearly not taken care of. It could perhaps just be staff negligence but it made for quite an uncomfortable and disappointing stay especially when I have been to so many budget places that have managed to get the comfort right at economical prices.
Report this review
Jessie D. Solo travelers Netherlands, October 25, 2015
Absolutely worth it

Staff, location and price
8.7
Verry good, recomandable!
Report this review
Nur S. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 18, 2015
Quaint Lodge By The Kuching Waterfront

Comfortable Rooms. Strategic Location. Friendly Staff
7.7
In general, the Lodge is fantastic as a budget short-stay accommodation. While everything's well and dandy, I do think the Lodge needs to upgrade its' bathroom facilities. The 2nd floor facilities were left with no water due to low pressure and high usage from the facilities on the 1st floor, and there were no hot water at all!
Report this review
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, August 11, 2015
Location and Value make a Winner !

Location, Value, Friendliness
8
Location is prime ! Value is quite good! Staff are friendly-- whether it's giving directions to near-by National Park and Tourism offices, advising which buss to take to the weekend market across the river, or directions for Top Spot, a local seafood ( and veggies and fruits) food court. The value is Good. The beds are comfortable, the toilets and showers are cleaned somewhat regularly. The 'breakfast' is bread, PNB, Kaya; coffee and tea are always available. Local food vendors, food courts, cafes, restaurants, souvenir vendors, and a shopping mall are all within close walking distance. Wo Jia Lodge is a good choice for fellow budget travelers.
Report this review
Ken H. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 8, 2015
Unpleasant

Location, price
4.7
Rat running around in the common area, limited socket plugs, dirty toilet.
Report this review
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, July 31, 2015
Location, Staff Friendliness, and Cleanliness are

Location, Value, Cleanliness
8.3
Wo Jia Lodge has a great central location, close to restaurants, cafes, convenience stores, and shopping. The Tourism and National Parks offices are within walking distance, as are the Post Office, several Museums, and Temples. There are local food and souvenir vendors along Main Bazaar, Jalan India and Gambir, and around the bus terminal, all within walking distance. The local and regional buses are great for visiting the Parks, shopping mall, and cinemas, and weekend market (across the river). The rooms at Wo Jia Lodge are small yet of a comfortable size. The downfall is that the walls are definitely paper-thin ! The toilets and showers are cleaned regularly, the bed linens are fresh and clean. The beds are comfortable! There are dorm rooms, twins, doubles, and a family room. The staff are friendly, and readily give directions to the local sights. If anything in the Lodge needs tending (fresh toilet paper, burned light bulb), the staff do respond in a timely manner. I recommend Wo Jia Lodge to fellow budget travelers.
Report this review
Jenny K. Solo travelers Malaysia, July 27, 2015
A lot of mosquitoes and easily hear next door move
3.3
Bad
Report this review
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, July 23, 2015
A little effort goes a long way !

lCleanliness, Location, Staff Friendliness
8
I am a repeat guest at Wo Jia Lodge -- because it has a fantastic location, it is clean, and the staff are friendly, courteous, and helpful. If there is anything amiss--from needed toilet paper, to a missing light bulb, or a leaky faucet--one of the staff, a great maintenance guy, will attend to it right away! The staff are always ready to help with directions, to recommend a place to eat, which National Park to go to, or help with transportation questions. The Tourism and National Parks office are close-by, as is the newest shopping mall, the Post Office, and the Textile Museum. The Riverfront Esplanade, almost a kilometer long, is just across the street of Main Bazaar--which is a stretch of friendly, colorful, active convenience stores, a couple hotel and guesthouses, souvenirs, a bank, and local handicraft shops. There are many cafes, bars, restaurants, and food vendors in the area. I definitely recommend Wo Jia lodge to budget travelers in Kuching!
Report this review
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, July 15, 2015
View Riverfront Esplanade from chill Lounge Area

Location, Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms
7.7
Wo Jia Lodge is a friendly, relaxed guesthouse located opposite Kuching's Riverfront Esplanade, on Main Bazaar. The three staff guys are all friendly, and keep the place clean, and maintained. They are familiar with local sites, places to eat, and the National Parks, and do provide assistance in getting information regarding sightseeing or travel plans. There is a variety of rooms available: dorm, twin bed rooms, queen bed rooms, and family-size rooms-- there is a choice of fan or AC. On each the three floors there is a toilet and one or two showers available. Access to a kitchen for personal meal preparation, with refrigerator space, is available as well. There are many cafes, restaurants, convenience stores, food and souvenirs vendors--as well as a modern shopping mall and a city-wide bus terminal within close walking distance. Also near-by are Museums, Temples, the main Post Office, and the Offices of Tourism and of the National Parks. The mattresses are comfortable and the AC works well. One downfall is that the walls between the rooms are "paper-thin." Bring earplugs : )
Report this review
1 - 10 of 69 reviews Next page
Wo Jia Lodge KuchingWo Jia Lodge Kuching - QueenWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Double or TwinWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Double or TwinWo Jia Lodge Kuching - FamilyWo Jia Lodge Kuching - FamilyWo Jia Lodge Kuching - DormitoryWo Jia Lodge Kuching - DormitoryWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Bathroom Wo Jia Lodge Kuching - Guest LoungeWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Guest Lounge Overlooking WaterfrontWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Guest Lounge Overlooking WaterfrontWo Jia Lodge Kuching - InteriorWo Jia Lodge Kuching - InteriorWo Jia Lodge Kuching - InteriorWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Breakfast & Dining AreaWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Breakfast & Dining AreaWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Smoking Zone Balcony at 1st FloorWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Smoking Zone Balcony at 1st FloorWo Jia Lodge Kuching - 2nd Floor Balcony & Air WellWo Jia Lodge Kuching - Kitchen


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A04