Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Woodpecker Lodge

No. 264, 2nd & 3rd Floors, Jalan Chn Chin Ann, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Single Air Conditioning Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Double Air Conditioning Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Triple Air Conditioning Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Triple Air Conditioning Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Bedroom Washroom View Type 1 Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Frosted Glass Covered Washroom - Type 2 Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Bedroom Washroom View Type 2 Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Bathroom Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Interior Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Interior Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Decoration Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Interior Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Interior Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Interior Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Lobby Public  Area for Free WiFi Online and Discussion Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Check in Waiting Area
Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Reception Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Lobby interior Garden Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Surroundings
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 34

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.1

based on
227 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
5.5
All reviews (227)
Sort by:
Zul M. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 18, 2012
Great location, excellent host, but slightly small

Cleanliness, Friendly staff
9
I stayed in this Hotel as I need easy access to city center and the location is excellent. Kuching Waterfront is just a short walk away. The hotel itself is located above a karaoke pub and the insulation is not that great but it is no issue for me as I can sleep in most extreme noise. But maybe for the future, they might want to invest into better insulation. In terms of eating, there is a chinese restaurant just beside the hotel with fastfood such as KFC, Pizza Hut and McDonalds around the corner should anyone with fussy kids are wondering. The room is small (single) but clean with air conditioning and flat screen LCD tv. For anyone who doesnt mind the noisy condition, I would recommend this hotel but its certainly not for light sleepers.
Shopping Tip: Take the boat (cost 50 cents) across to Kampung Boyan for authentic kek lapis(layered cake) and terubuk masin (salted chinese herring)
Nurfaizal W. Business travelers Malaysia, November 3, 2012
Best bang for the buck!

You just cant find any hotel cheaper than this, with great location, great facilities and great staffs! Located at Kuching city centre, the location is near to shopping malls, waterfront, banks and fast food restaurant (KFC,Pizza Hut, McDonalds)
9.7
The room is just nice. Nice bed thus guarantee a good night sleep. The room is very clean.
Nightlife Tip: Live band at Curve is the best!
Wong Y. Groups Singapore, October 30, 2012
Great location and good hosptiality

location
7
I enjoyed my stay in Woodpecker. Room was not that spacious, but enough amenities to meet our needs. My parents find climbing the stairs to be tiring. There's a karaoke lounge on level 2, so we can only have a good sleep after 2am.
Travel tip: Top Spot Seafood is just a 5-7 min walk. Just cut through Tun Jugah Mall and cross the road and you'll reach the multistorey carpk.Go patronise Stall 25, cheap seafood and delicious 'hao jian'.
Joyce Z. Groups Philippines, October 29, 2012
clean room, friendly owner

clean room, friendly owner
7.7
Stayed here for 3 nights. The lady who runs it (together with her kids) is very helpful and friendly. Although the room that we stayed in is small, it was enough for me and my friend as the room is very clean (which is what is important to me). Location is near waterfront and the iconic statue of cats is also a 5-minute walk from the place. Also nearby is an eatery where you can have the tasty Kolok Mee for only 3 ringgit. As mentioned by other reviewers, the downside about the lodge is the club downstairs which is open in the evening until 2am. However, if you are not fussy about that, the place is value for money. Regardless of the noise from the club, I was able to have a good sleep.
Yuvarajan D. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 28, 2012
Comfortable accomadation with low cost

Nearby to the Waterfront and other attractions
9.7
I feel confortable and relaxed during my stay. The air cond is cool at night makes me sleep well. Just by opening the window, i can see the beauty of Sungai Sarawak.
Nightlife Tip: Nearby Indian restaurants are Maharaja restaurant and Tandoori Palace.
Ryan T. Solo travelers Indonesia, October 22, 2012
Good location but to noisy at the night

Average speed wofi connection in the room.
5.7
There is good room n wifi in the room, but is too noisy at the night because there is night clubs at downstairs. You will charged rm for airport transfer.
Lindy L. Couples Malaysia, October 19, 2012
great location. near amenities

bright and clean.
5.3
Very convenient as near all the places that i want to go. Waterfront is lovely. A little noisy at nite due to a pub nearby.
Suppiramaniam N. Couples Malaysia, October 16, 2012
Lovely Waterfront Lodge

Location
8
The hotel is strategically located near the waterfront and city centre.So all it takes is short walk to most of the interesting and tourist spots.Just around the lodge one can find diverse eating restaurants, stalls and seafood centres.The hotel staff are friendly and helpful.One drawback of the lodge is that the rooms are extremely small and compact.
Sally G. Solo travelers Australia, October 12, 2012
Clean, great air-conditioning but no lift

Good location.
7
The room was small but it's only for sleeping in so that's not an issue really. Most importantly it was clean, the bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked a treat! The location is pretty good too. On the negative side, there is no lift and I had to walk up the 59 steps (yes I counted them) to my room. Not a problem for many people but I am overweight and asthmatic so in hindsight for me I should have stayed somewhere more expensive with a lift. The other negative as mentioned in other reviews is the night club next door. I travel with earplugs so coupled with the hum of the air conditioner, the rain on the roof and the earplugs, I slept well. The land lady is lovely and very helpful and they offer airport transfer for slightly less than the taxi service.
Restaurant Tip: Chong Choon cafe which is located just around the corner is perfect for a breakfast of laksa or kolok mee. Top Spot food court is only a couple of blocks away and has lovely fresh seafood.
Ryan C. Business travelers Malaysia, October 8, 2012
Simple room, worth for money

Clean, worth for money, friendly stuff.
6
good location, clean n simple room. Wifi is stable.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Main EntranceWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Single Air ConditioningWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Double Air ConditioningWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Triple Air ConditioningWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Triple Air ConditioningWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Bedroom Washroom View Type 1Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Frosted Glass Covered Washroom - Type 2 Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Bedroom Washroom View Type 2Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - BathroomWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - DecorationWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Lobby Public  Area for Free WiFi Online and DiscussionWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Check in Waiting AreaWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - ReceptionWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Lobby interior GardenWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Surroundings


AS-AGWEB-3A07