Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 261 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 5.5

Ban A. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Near to riverside....
Ok...........la.....!
No room service.....even not thoroughly cleaned when I checked in....!
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Zabarie T. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed one night in April 2013
Good enough for solo travelers
Good Location
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nicholas H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2013
Dissapointing
The staff, the exit
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nicholas H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
A short stay to plan for Sarawak.
Location, staff assistance
The hostel is above a nightclub/karaoke lounge, enough said. Only use as a short stop over.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Wei M. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
simple and affordable stay
decent environment, friendly and helpful staff, many local eating places within walking distance
Woodpecker lodge's location is fairy great for me. It's walking distance to the "cat statues", main bazaar, water front and some malls. It's really near the famous local cafe, chong choon that serve amazing food, great place for breakfast. Downstairs of the lodge is a bar which is quite noisy at night, however surprisingly we were not disturbed when we were in room. im not sure we were just lucky or they have good sound proof.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Tonny L. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
No satisfy
Cannot figure out any best thing about this hotel.
No satisfy due to the poor room condition, especially the ceiling of room need so renovation otherwise it look horrible. It has a narrow spaces bathroom for a families with young children traveler but if you are looking for the budget or backpacker hotel, this probably is the one you may consider.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Koh Y. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Comfortable stay at great location
Clean room, good location, helpful owner
Reviewed March 23, 2013

B C. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013
Bearable
friendly staff, location, view of the river from the bathroom
There was a karaoke bar beneath the hotel so was rather noisy in the evening. Whole environment did not have a "clean" feeling.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Kevin B. from Ireland
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Good Value Budget Hotel
Value, Location, Staff
I enjoyed my stay here. Good value budget hotel. 26r taxi from airport and hotel arranged taxi back for same price. Staff very helpful. Ok internet connection but often stopped working. Tell staff and they will get it back on. Above nightclub so noisy till 2 am. Room design is bad with glazed glass wall to wc/shower. Ok for single occupancy. 3 flights of steps to the rooms so unsuitable for disabled. 5 minute walk to waterfront. Nearby English bar ' Cock & Bull ' has great food and free pool table. 24 hour burger joint around corner.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Rohani J. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Nice hotel
Clean
The hotel is very near to waterfront, just working distance. Very easy to get local transport and food stall. Downstairs is karaoke lounge, but it's ok for me. The Hotel provide small room nice, clean and comfort but no breakfast provided. Overall nice hotel to stay for single or double travelers.
Reviewed March 10, 2013