Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Woodpecker Lodge

No. 264, 2nd & 3rd Floors, Jalan Chn Chin Ann, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.1

based on
247 reviews

191 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
5.5
All reviews (247)
Sort by:
Samuel F. Couples Australia, January 15, 2013
excellent value for money

good wifi, newish rooms, friendly staff
9.7
great little family run lodge right downtown. rooms are quite new and everything works as described. staff are very nice and happy to answer any questions you may have about the area. plenty of good food nearby, very close to the waterfront. you do get a little noise from the bars downstairs but wasn't too bad. excellent value for money, would stay again.
Report this review
Ka Y. Groups Malaysia, January 14, 2013
Good budget hotel

Short walk to the waterfront
7.7
Going to be awkward if you're staying with your friends or family members. Why? The shower.
Report this review
Siow F. Business travelers Malaysia, January 3, 2013
Friendly service and Clean room

comfortable
9.3
very clean and comfortable room, basic room with reasonable price. easy access to convenience shop, food and city centre. for twin sharing, the bathroom is not transparent as shown on agoda picture, don't worry, u still have your privacy when using the bathroom. below the lodge is a night club, music blast till 2am, all right for us, as the music wasn't too loud for us. other than this, everything is perfect.
Report this review
Chien L. Couples Malaysia, December 31, 2012
Small room but great location

Exactly in the city centre
5.3
Room was small and noise at night due to the karaoke downstairs, even when the room was on "high floors". The bathroom and toilet is not completely walled up. The wall is just 3/4 of the height of the room. This makes the room rather wet when you shower with hot water as water vapor will get over from the bathroom to the bedroom. There is no one manning the reception between 9pm and 8am. Early check out or very late check in will have to be prior informed so that they will have someone standing by.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The lodge is right smack in the centre of the city. Shopping centres and access to all the touristic locations are easily made as there are many travel agencies just a stone throw away to assist and organize the activities. The lodge itself organizes some activities to the outskirts of Kuching but I didn't check out the activities.
Report this review
James O. Couples Singapore, December 27, 2012
Nice and friendly staff but a tad noisy at night

Nice and friendly staff
7
Room was clean enough but there is one thing to note, the shower, toilet and the bed are separated with a wall of glass which is partially frosted. This might be an issue if you're 2 persons. The hotel is also located on top of a nightclub which makes it a little noisy during the night. This would be a problem if you're a light sleeper. In the middle of the night, I had a problem with my AC and I couldn't find help to fix it. Without the AC, the room becomes unbearably hot and stuffy as there is only a small window. The hot shower also comes in varying strength of water flow... alternating between strong and weak flow of water. Best thing about this hotel was definitely the friendly lady, who was running the hotel. She had a lot of good tips on local food and was very helpful.
Report this review
Niklas R. Solo travelers Finland, December 23, 2012
Good sevice

Nice and friendly staff
5.3
I extended my stay in this hotel, because I was too lazy to move on and staying here was nice and comfortable for me. I liked the staff, had some nice discussions with the lady running the place, and she was very helpful in every ways. Hotel was clean enough for me, didn't very much like the neighbourhood though.
Report this review
Chee C. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 22, 2012
Impressive Service.

Low price, Warm and friendly services.
8
Although the hotel was located on top of a KTV lounge which makes it a little noisy during the night, however, the room was really comfy and with the most friendly services you could get in town, i can say you can just ignore the noise and sleep and soundly. The hotel was managed by a family, there's more improvement to the hotel too.
Report this review
Niklas R. Solo travelers Finland, December 21, 2012
Very friendly service

Very friendly service
5.7
I had a small singleroom, which was enough for me. The room was tidy, AC worked allright, shower had warm water. The room had sort of a view to the river, which was also ok. The noice from the karaokebar downstairs was really loud, so people who can't sleep in noice, should avoid this place, luckily I have no problems with that. The area is a bit worn out, but there are lot's of places to eat and shop in the neighbourhood. It's a short 10 minute walk to the citycenter. Best thing about this hotel was definitely the friendly lady, who was running the hotel. She had a lot of good tips and was always prepared to help organize everything.
Report this review
Joseph E. Couples Malaysia, December 16, 2012
Nice hotel at this price!

Small room
6
it's a good hotel for budget traveller. room is clean. the staff are very friendly. the room provide with hot shower. very good indeed. provide with cable tv. so, 2 thumbs for budget hotel in this area.
Report this review
Qian H. Families with older children Malaysia, December 9, 2012
Simple, cozy but noisy environment.

Good location, near the main attractions
5.3
The room is simple, cozy and comfortable. Bathroom separator is in half translucent so it does create awkward moment for siblings in opposite sex like us. The hotel owner is very friendly that provide us quite a lot of help. The only problem with it is that there is a pub in the same building that can be intolerable for certain individuals. We family of four survive with our ear plugs.
Hotel Feature Tip: Can request for a higher floor if worry about the noise
Report this review
Previous page 111 - 120 of 191 reviews Next page
Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Main EntranceWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Double Air ConditioningWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - DecorationWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Triple Air ConditioningWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Bedroom Washroom ViewWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Bedroom Washroom ViewWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - BathroomWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Lobby Public  Area for Free WiFi Online and DiscussionWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - ReceptionWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - SurroundingsWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Stainless Steel towel rackWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - En Suite bathroomWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Hot shower - super clean bathroomWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Sarawak riverWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - HallwayWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Night view from roof topWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - View of the Sarawak RiverWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - BathroomWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Bathroom


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A06