Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Woodpecker Lodge

No. 264, 2nd & 3rd Floors, Jalan Chn Chin Ann, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.1

based on
76 reviews

191 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.2
Location
7.3
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
5.9
Couples (76)
Sort by:
Muhammad D. Couples Malaysia, October 13, 2015
Nothing

Nothing
6
Report this review
Chia S. Couples Malaysia, April 5, 2015
Small room, friendly staff

friendly staff, location
6.7
Staff was friendly and attentive, but the room was small and it looked pretty old
Report this review
S R. Couples Malaysia, December 24, 2014
Cheap & Clean

Rate & Location
6.7
Booking - easy peasy via Agoda.com Location - depends on how you look at it. I'll elaborate later Dining - not available in the hotel but there's a restaurant on the ground floor and plenty of other eateries and shopping complexes nearby. Service - Front desk nice & friendly. No one tidy the bed on second day. Overall 3 of 5 Let me start with THE ROOM IS SMALL. But it's reasonable. It is situated in a shop lot. With a karaoke/club/bar join on the 1st floor. So yes, you gotta climb lots of stairs as there's no elevator. And yes, it will be noisy till late at night even on weekdays. Front-desk guy was accommodating, friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was cozy. There's even a TV. And despite the noise that went on till VERY late, which personally didn't disturb me much (perhaps because I was tired from all the activities), the hotel is situated within walking distance to a couple of malls and even the waterfront. Consider this place if: - you aren't a light-sleeper/claustrophobic - looking for a cheap and clean place to rest
Report this review
Kuangsiang S. Couples Malaysia, May 4, 2014
nothing special and normal budget hotel

cheap, friendly staff and good location
6.3
Report this review
Charles Y. Couples Malaysia, January 18, 2014
Lodge, bad sound proof, I heard what next room!

Bed,pillow,aircon
3.3
I check out early , which I usually check out late... What do u think ? No smoking signs everywhere , that's not my preference , even when I was asked to sign the receipt and that no smoking rules are in it , and my room!
Report this review
Florance U. Couples Malaysia, January 16, 2014
nice easy and comfort

clean,near town,easy to find food
7.3
I am happy bcoz its clean,near town,many coffee shop,many banks around.very friendly staff.just a little bit noise comes from the pub at 2nd floor.need to improve the internet.
Report this review
Michelle S. Couples Malaysia, December 2, 2013
clean , simple and neat

cheap, clean, convenient
6
It was a pleasant stay, the lodge suitable for travelers who travel with their partners or friends. Should not expect more as the lodge do only comfy for sleep or rest as it quiet clean and tidy .It does not offer many television channels .Hence they only things that you can do in the lodge is rest after whole day of walking and shopping. The location is very convenient as it can reach some of the location(shopping mall) by walking distance. There are also some eatery ( i can remember there is a japanese restaurant opposite the lodge). There is also a night club in the second floor near the lodge. Overall, it is a decent stay for those who does not want to spend more for the staying as the price is quiet cheap. The service also good as the person in charge will entertain for your request (I request for iron board , and taxi service).
Report this review
Ser N. Couples Malaysia, November 5, 2013
Very small room area but nice.

Good water pressure for showers, good air-con and good internet speed.
6.3
Nice stay but room is very small. Can't move around comfortably. No table and wardboard.Other than these, location is very good at city centre by the iconic river of Kuching.Good car park spaces available. Need to pay for parking.
Report this review
Chia S. Couples Malaysia, October 28, 2013
ok. convenient to access city area

convenient, enter of the town
7.3
ok. it is satisfy. The hotel near to the kuching waterfront river. It also near to the top spot seafood food court. Beside, it just a stone throw awhile to access the travillion mall. (Nightlife)
Report this review
Annie L. Couples Malaysia, September 16, 2013
centrally located hotel

easy access to major tourist attractions, clean room, free wifi
9
On the positive side, we experienced fast check in; the room was clean with basic facilities-they provided towels, soap, toilet paper & complimentary drinking water;bed was comfortable; wifi & air-conditioning were also working well. On the negative side, tv was not clear & with limited channels; water heater shower was not functioning. From our room we can hear loud music from pub downstairs, however we were able to tolerate as we went back late & were tired after the whole day exploring the town. Overall, this hotel is absolutely great for short stay & those who are concern about budget.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 247 reviews Next page
Woodpecker Lodge Kuching - Main EntranceWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Double Air ConditioningWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - DecorationWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Triple Air ConditioningWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Bedroom Washroom ViewWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Bedroom Washroom ViewWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - BathroomWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - InteriorWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - The Lobby Public  Area for Free WiFi Online and DiscussionWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - ReceptionWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - SurroundingsWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Stainless Steel towel rackWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - En Suite bathroomWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Hot shower - super clean bathroomWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Sarawak riverWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - HallwayWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Night view from roof topWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - View of the Sarawak RiverWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - BathroomWoodpecker Lodge Kuching - Bathroom


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C07