Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Wrest Point

410 Sandy Bay Road, Tasmania, Sandy Bay, Hobart, Australia 7005

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.1

based on 17 reviews

231 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.9
Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.5
Food/Dining
7.9
Families with older children (17)
Sort by:
Judith M. Families with older children Australia, March 15, 2016
Good Choice
5.7
All good. A shuttle bus to city seems sadly lacking. Too far to walk and costly to constantly take taxis. Also a fair walk to Sandy Bay Shops. Great staff, good accommodation, pool, mini golf and buffet for kids (although a bit expensive and only option for eating with children)
Report this review
Hoi S. Families with older children Malaysia, February 16, 2016
Friendly staffs.

Casino, food.
7.3
Fantastic .
Report this review
Rene K. Families with older children Australia, July 12, 2015
Great visit!

Cocktail lounge in revolving restaurant, view from our room, wonderful accommodating staff.
8.3
Our stay was fantastic, the venue had great facilities, was clean and we were always greeted by wonderful accommodating staff.
Report this review
Helena L. Families with older children Indonesia, February 21, 2015
Great view but location off the city centre

View, Comfort, Entertainment
8.3
When we arrived at wrest point, we were not aware that there will be a Casino below the hotel, which some people might not like. It is not so close to the city centre so not recommended if you do not drive, (or youwill have to take the bus.
Report this review
Heather S. Families with older children United States of America, January 22, 2015
Great spot in Hobart

view, comfort of beds, location
10
We ended up getting a room in a wing off the side of the hotel and not in the tower. The view was great, beds super comfy, but the bathroom was small and a bit awkward to maneouver in. There was a bit of a walk from the wing our rooms were in to get to the main hotel, but that was ok as it helped to work off all the food we ate. The hotel's location is good to a lot of places in Hobart. Can reach many by foot or car from the hotel.
Report this review
Michael T. Families with older children Hong Kong, November 16, 2013
Comfortable, convenient located.

convenient located, big rooms, good internet
7.3
Report this review
Edward H. Families with older children New Zealand, January 6, 2013
Great location with view

nice view
7.7
We only stayed that hotel one night. The room was very clean and service was good. but restraunt is close early evening. So we have to go somewhere else to dine out. The was only a problem we had there. I would like to stay there again.
Report this review
Yuen W. Families with older children Hong Kong, December 20, 2012
Modern hotel with views and choices of restaurants

A few minutes drive from the city centre; ample parking spaces that are free to the guests; the rooms are spacious and clean; as there are no tall buildings close to the hotel, every room of the hotels, with its large windows, can offer a sea view, a harbour view, a mountain view or a mixture of them; close to a small harbour where you can take a short stroll; the hotel offers choices of restaurants that you can still order food after 20:30; the room has an electric kettle and a toaster for preparing simple breakfast; the hotel is well equipped to provide the necessary convenience including free wi-fi.
7.7
We booked into one harbour view room and one mountain view room so that our group could see both types of views. We were assigned with the rooms on the 6th floor, which is already high enough for enjoying an unblocked view from the windows. The view from the mountain view room was just picturesque. That room was perhaps at the line demarcating mountain view rooms from harbour view rooms. Although the harbour view room was more expensive than the mountain view one, the view from the latter was much better and more interesting as we could see the stunning view of the harbour, the mountain, Hobart city at a distance, the roads and the houses built on the slopes of the mountain. The view from a harbour view room, from which a harbour could barely be seen, was in fact a view of a very wide river estuary (or the sea) and distant houses on the opposite shore, which was comparatively plain. Wrest Point Hotel is a good choice if you are looking for an exquisite view from your room, convenient parking, good restaurants near the hotel and some nightlife in a casino. A great shame was that the windows of the rooms were not very clean.
Travel tip: The mountain view room may be a choice better than a harbour view room as the former is cheaper yet it offers a view which would be more interesting than that offered by the latter. Request for a mountain view room that can also see the harbour when booking and checking in. Free toiletries are provided in the room but like most of the hotels in Tasmania, no body lotion is provided. The weather in Tasmania is quite dry even in summer. You may need to bring your own body lotion to avoid having chapped and itchy skins. Mount Wellington, from the peak of which you can see panoramic views of Hobart city, is a must-go. Bring some warm clothes as the temperature at the peak is much cooler. And don’t allow drizzle and/or mist to deter you from driving up to the peak as they usually come and go a few times in an hour. If you are planning to stay also in Launceston and don’t know whether you should stay longer in Hobart or in Launceston, My advice would be to spend more time in Hobart as the city itself and the landscape in its outskirts are more beautiful and Hobart has more attractions that are worth visiting.
Report this review
Yuen W. Families with older children Hong Kong, December 20, 2012
Modern hotel with views and choices of restaurants

Convenient for guests who drive there, ample parking spaces, on waterfront, great views from rooms, spacious and clean rooms, choices of restaurants, casinos.
9
We booked into one harbour view room and one mountain view room so that our group could see both types of views. We were assigned with the rooms on the 6th floor, which is already high enough for enjoying an unblocked view from the windows. The view from the mountain view room was just picturesque. That room was perhaps at the line demarcating mountain view rooms from harbour view rooms. Although the harbour view room was more expensive than the mountain view one, the view from the latter was much better and more interesting as we could see the stunning view of the harbour, the mountain, Hobart city at a distance, the roads and the houses built on the slopes of the mountain. The view from a harbour view room, from which a harbour could barely be seen, was in fact a view of a very wide river estuary (or the sea) and distant houses on the opposite shore, which was comparatively plain. Wrest Point Hotel is a good choice if you are looking for an exquisite view from your room, convenient parking, good restaurants near the hotel and some nightlife in a casino. A great shame was that the windows of the rooms were not very clean.
Report this review
Li C. Families with older children China, December 12, 2012
beautiful view

good envournment
7.7
you can enjoy the beautiful natural environment in hotel. you can see not only the monents but also bay and ocean. you can also watch the sun rise and sun set in the hotel room. it is very beautiful.
Restaurant Tip: the city centre is 10 minents walk from the city and you can find whole rang of different food such as noodle, western food, asia food and ect.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 239 reviews Next page
Wrest Point HobartWrest Point Hobart - Waters Edge TwinWrest Point Hobart - Waters Edge KingWrest Point Hobart - Waters Edge KingWrest Point Hobart - Executive Harbour ViewWrest Point Hobart - Harbour View RoomWrest Point Hobart - ExteriorWrest Point Hobart - ExteriorWrest Point Hobart - Pier DiningWrest Point Hobart - Pier DiningWrest Point Hobart - Loft RestaurantWrest Point Hobart - Onyx BarWrest Point Hobart - Restaurant DiningWrest Point Hobart - Loft RestaurantWrest Point Hobart - Pier One RestaurantWrest Point Hobart - Onyx BarWrest Point Hobart - ExteriorWrest Point Hobart - The Point RestaurantWrest Point Hobart - Swimming PoolWrest Point Hobart - Swimming PoolWrest Point Hobart - Guest RoomWrest Point Hobart - Guest RoomWrest Point Hobart - RestaurantWrest Point Hobart - Guest RoomWrest Point Hobart - Guest RoomWrest Point Hobart - Guest RoomWrest Point Hobart - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07