Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 51 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 51 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.6
Sort by

Steef B. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2010
Feeling at home in the centre of Chicago
- Location is unbelievable perfect for visiting Chicago, First class view over Chicago river at day and night time. - Large, clean rooms. - Easy reachable by metro straight from O'Hara airport. - Many, good restaurants (breakfast, lunch, diner) in the direct surrounding of the hotel
- None
Reviewed May 07, 2010

Marika V. from Finland
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in January 2010
Good value for money
excellent location, friendly staff, spacious & nice rooms
No restaurant nor actual breakfast room in the hotel. In the corner however, a nice cafeteria made this up.
Hotel 71 was extremely well located: beautiful view to the river & the Trump building + other sky scrapers. (Well worth paying the extra few bucks for the view) One block away from the theatre district & close to Tourist information for example. Bus lines to every direction running right in front of the hotel/around the corner. I was very pleased with the hotel, and can recommend it to others as well.
Reviewed February 01, 2010

Doron T. from Israel
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2010
nice hotel - great location
great location, large rooms, free wifi.
it seems like it's days of glory were a while ago
over all this is a good deal. i got the hotel at a very low rate here so all things considered i was satisfied. i think the hotel does need some work done, perhaps new carpets, there is an "old" odder in both the hallways and the room.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

jovy B. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009
Stay away from Hotel 71
Location
Dirty hallway
The hallway smells like smoke, so you have to cover your nose before entering your room. The room is big but it needs to be renovated. The staff are not that helpful, they did not even return my call since i was requesting for an upgrade. I booked myself in this hotel for two nights because of the positive reviews that i have seen in agoda. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Nothing more nothing less.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Rodante L. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2009
great place to stay
great price and location was close to many points of interest.
none.
hotel concierge and reception greeted me with courtesy and professionalism. the check in was supposed to be at 1pm, but i was allowed to check in my room by 10am which made it more convenient for me. the room is clean and nice without any smell of mildew, smoke or any unpleasant smell. it was pretty fresh in my opinion. room service is prompt and food came very hot with complete setup. it was made to order and satisfying to say the least. my satisfactory experience will be shared with friends and family. obviously, it will highly recommended to my peers and colleagues for future use. as for me, i will definitely use it again if i ever get to chicago again. their limousine service, a limited black navigator, was made my stay even more special. the charge was reasonable considering it's only 8-10 bucks more than a regular taxi. with that very little difference, you get to ride back to the airport in style.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Amrih W. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2009
Great location, great staff, will come back!
Great location, spacious room, free fast internet, nice and very helpful staff.
Alley to rooms is rather gloomy and carpet looks old.
Very close to Blue Line CTA from O'Hare airport (5 minute walk from Lake/Clark station), check-in was quick, staff was very helpful in providing me with information about best way to go to places and where to eat, you can leave your luggage with consierge after you check-out. One block from Michigan Ave.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Michael L. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in August 2009
Good deal in good location
Great location Nice and clean Business center
Not really any
Hotel 71 is located right between The Loop and the Miracle Mile. That means there is a lot within walking distance plus basically all subway lines stop nearby. The servivce was great, the lobby and rooms were clean. Our room was large though it didn't have a fridge. Their business center had computers with free internet and printing, perfect for printing boarding passes. All this and a good deal through Agoda.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

George H. from United States
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in August 2009
Hotel 71
You absolutely cannot beat this location. Fifty steps from the Magnificent Mile, right in the heart of town, directly on the Chicago river. There's no end to the attractions you can visit on foot from this hotel, and the closest El stop in the loop, State & Lake, is a block and a half away. The staff is extremely courteous, the rooms are quite spacious, the beds are comfortable and the linens fresh. The views from the expansive windows are breathtaking, even from the rooms that don't face the river.
Our room initially smelled like smoke (the hotel used to allow tobacco), but the front desk clerk had an oxidizer sent to the room and it cleared up the odor. There's a spot for a refrigerator under the television, but no fridge in sight. No microwave either. There is no pool, but there is a fitness center.
If you're looking for a luxe boutique hotel in the absolute heart of Chicago that won't cost an arm and a leg, look no further. Location is everything, and you simply cannot get closer to the action than Hotel 71. With a courteous and attentive staff and magnificent views, you'll be glad you chose this hip high-rise.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Heather S. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in July 2009
All you could want, in a perfect location!
Safe and clean, helpful staff, spacious & comfortable room, HDTV with DVD player, huge tiled shower, evening cocktails in the elegant lobby, Location Location Location!
One day of malfunctioning elevator with no sign on it - causing confusion and delay.
Traveling alone, I indulged a bit in booking this place and it was tremendously worth it. First I was upgraded to a premiere king room at check-in, so I had a gorgeous newly remodeled room featuring a huge tiled shower with rain-style head. There are so many pros to this hotel but location is at the top of the list. From its front steps, you can see the Wrigley Building, Tribune Tower, Trump Tower, and my personal favorite, the Marina City Towers, all nestled along the scenic Chicago River. Plus it's a mere block from the House of Blues, the train, and the shopping wonderland of Michigan Avenue. A couple more blocks brings you to Millenium Park and the Art Institute. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Sydney T. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in July 2009
Hotel 71
Big, comfortable bed!
The room was laid out a little strange, but it was big!
My stay at Hotel 71 was very nice. It was in a great location, close to everything. The workout room was nice and bed was very comfortable. The complementary toiletries were also of good quality, which was great. The staff was kind, however I didn't have any problems so I didn't have a lot of contact with them. I would recommend hotel 71 when in Chicago.
Reviewed July 17, 2009