or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Yeng Keng Hotel Penang

362, Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia 10200 (Show on map)

Book now!

Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Mansion Double Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Mansion Superior Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Courtyard Twin Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Courtyard Twin Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Courtyard Double Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Family(Triple) Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Chulia Suite Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Yeng Keng Suite Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Level 1 Area Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Upper Lobby Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Reading Area Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Corridor Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Lobby Area Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Hotel Interior Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Lobby Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Reading Area
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Yeng Keng Hotel Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Hotel Interior Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Drinking / reading area by the pool Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Cafe Bar Exterior Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Cafe Bar Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Buffet Breakfast Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Cafe Bar Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Courtyard Area Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Exterior Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Hotel Exterior - Night View Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Function Room Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Function Room - Classroom Style
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.8

based on
585 reviews

Value for Money
8.3
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.3
Room Comfort/Standard
9.1
Food/Dining
8.1
All reviews (585)
Sort by:
Caroline C. Families with older children France, November 2, 2014
Very Nice hotel and agréable stay

Nice house well rearranged as an hotel, well located
9
Only point the bedrooms are a bit small
Frances L. Solo travelers Australia, October 26, 2014
Fabulous Yeng Keng Hotel

The Staff, The Room and The Location!
10
The staff at the Yeng Keng make you feel very welcome and can give you all sorts of information about the sights to see and how to get there by bus or taxi. The rooms are beautifully appointed / furnished and have life-saving air conditioning and ceiling fans (which you can control!) You can relax in the front courtyard of the hotel with a cold beer and iced gin and tonic pretty much any time of the day but the evening is best. The central location on Chulia Street means that you can explore the heritage town of Georgetown on foot easily, go on a hunt for the famous street art dotted throughout the city and visit other tourist sights like Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si by catching the local bus. There are an abundance of local restaurants, including the Yeng Keng Cafe and the Red Garden (especially the Egg Bryani!) which all serve beautifully fresh and aromatic food.
Antony B. Couples India, October 20, 2014
Unkept promises

The suite is just a regular room, nothing special in size, wifi is weak, breakfast spread was name sake , overall Ok, nothing great
6
Gillian B. Couples United Kingdom, October 14, 2014
A calm oasis of a heritage hotel

Location, decoration, ambience
9.7
Love the heritage style of this hotel which is a calm oasis on busy Chulia Street, a great central location. Very friendly staff, peaceful small pool area, adequate breakfast served in adjacent cafe/bar. We stayed in the Garden Suite, first floor room which was very pleasant.
Tammy L. Families with young children Singapore, September 28, 2014
excellent, will be back!

very good location, within walking distance to good food n the staff were extremely helpful, recommending places to visit.
9.3
Yoshio T. Groups Japan, September 15, 2014
Really good hotel with great staff service

Very attentive staff + Authentic but well-maintained premise + Good price.
9
Even before you enter the hotel, the look of outside hotel will tell you its culturally rich, great authenticity of the hotel in the world heritage town, completely different from those big, standardised hotel chains around. The hotel commands beautifully maintained, fewer number of rooms (altogether 20?) which come with "good old time", perfectly functional furniture. Room amenities are minimum essential, bathroom was perfect without any water leakage etc, very comfortable stay in fact. Also the staff service at the reception counter was always good no matter who it was. Only thing though, is that we stayed in a courtyard room but the the bed might be smaller than the standard single bed, I thought. Also the swimming pool which was good enough for a little splash but the water seemed to contain excessive chlorine to the extent that the eyes hurt pretty quickly. Breakfast came in a excellent variety and enjoyed it a lot. Overall, a fantastic stay I would recommend to all.
Peter R. Couples Australia, September 8, 2014
OUR FAVOURITE HOTEL

Staff, management and ambience
9
This was our third visit to Yeng Keng. We know all the staff by name and the welcome back is heart-warming. Nothing is too much trouble; just ask. Highly recommended for anyone that wants to stay in the heritage district. For first-timers, Yeng Keng staff will not allow you to be ripped off by taxis, tours, etc. For some, the rooms may be a bit on the small side, but one only sleeps in a room, and the service, cleanliness and ambiance far outweigh room size. We stay in the Garden View Suite and the cost is minimal in comparison to some other places. We would not recommend Yeng Keng for young parents with children - it doesn't have the resort attractions. However, for couples wanting to experience what Georgetown has to offer, have a swim and a few drinks after trekking around, and then have a lovely dinner before retiring, nothing beats Yeng Keng. If you go, you must order Chef Tan's Bombe Alaska for desert. He personally blasts it at the table with his 'flame-thrower' and it's the best we've ever tasted. So much so that last time people on accompanying tables said 'can we have one of those too!' Chef Tan also buys his ingredients fresh from the markets every morning with his wife. The food is superb! As regards the personal, I had an email from the manager (Jacky Chung) before we arrived this time. He asked if there was anything we needed. Well, my wife doesn't always travel well, loves her tea with skim-milk - but the full cream variety doesn't always agree. Jacky said that they had Liptons, normally had full-cream, but they'd get whatever we wanted. We are not those pesky, finicky types, but since Jacky asked I emailed him back that Twinings English Breakfast would be good, plus fresh skim for my wife. When we arrived all I wanted was a beer. One of the staff members came over, gave me a Tiger and said 'Mrs Christine, we have your English Breakfast Tea and cold skim-milk; coming now, lah!' Unfortunately, Agoda only has 1-5. We'd give Yeng Keng a 10!
Pasutida T. Couples Thailand, August 31, 2014
excellent location

location, decor and comfort
8
Comfortable stay with great location
Josephine R. Couples Australia, August 24, 2014
Stylish Stay in Georgetown Penang

Location, Staff, Breakfast
9.7
Our stay was wonderful at Yeng Keng Hotel from the day we checked in with the welcoming greeting at reception from a very friendly and helpful young lady named "Yenti" (apologies if I have misspelt the name)to the last day. After 4 nights at this hotel we were very relaxed and happy for the choice we made to stay here. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Yeewing B. Couples Hong Kong, August 19, 2014
One of a kind hotel

Staff are friendly & helpful. Give you good advice on what to see, where to eat. A quaint, elegant hotel full of oriental decor. Location is excellent. Major attractions are within walking distances.
9.7
Very enjoyable

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Yeng Keng Hotel Penang PenangYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Mansion DoubleYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Mansion SuperiorYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Courtyard TwinYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Courtyard TwinYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Courtyard DoubleYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Family(Triple)Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Chulia SuiteYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Yeng Keng SuiteYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Level 1 AreaYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Upper LobbyYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Reading AreaYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Corridor Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Lobby AreaYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Hotel InteriorYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - LobbyYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Reading AreaYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Yeng Keng HotelYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Hotel InteriorYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Drinking / reading area by the poolYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Cafe Bar ExteriorYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Cafe BarYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Buffet BreakfastYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Cafe Bar Yeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Courtyard AreaYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - ExteriorYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Hotel Exterior - Night ViewYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Function RoomYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Function Room - Classroom StyleYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Function Room - Theater StyleYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - ExteriorYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Guest RoomYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Guest RoomYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Guest RoomYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Swimming PoolYeng Keng Hotel Penang Penang - Interior

Customer Reviews - Yeng Keng Hotel Penang, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3A02