arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 82 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 82 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Staff Performance 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.0

8.3 keith L.
United Kingdom
July 24, 2015
Good location and service in upmarket Youth hostel
location, staff, quiet rooms
Be aware that most rooms have outside shared bathrooms, but otherwise basic, quietish, and good value for Wellington. Not quite a hotel, nice travel atmosphere and vibe.

7.3 Eric S.
Australia
May 31, 2015
Well well well Wellington
Location to grocery. Bathroom. Friendly staff.
It was good except that the nights are cold and the heater only works at interval period.

7.7 Edith B.
Ireland
March 19, 2015
Irish eyes are smiling!
Helpful staff; cleanliness; organisation.
Great! So good we booked an extra 2 days and this room was even better than first which had been a little cramped, but acceptable

8 davide G.
Italy
January 11, 2015
Good stay
Location, bettere than other hostel in Wellington

5.7 Carlos C.
United States
January 08, 2015
Stayed here twice on our way in and out of Welling
Clean, close to attractions, and easy airport access
Stayed here twice on our way in and out of Wellington. When we checked in late at night the room key making machine was broken so we were unable to get a room key (night attendant was able to let us in with the master key) so my husband and I had to wait for each other to use the restroom and facilities which was rather inconvenient (the next morning it was fixed and we got keys). The rooms were minimal (bed, nightstands, desk, mirror) but are clean and comfortable on the 5th floor; however our second room was significantly smaller than the first. We never use their kitchen or living area facilities but the bathrooms were always kept very clean. The showers were small and the water pressure was low. The coffee shop in the front had good coffee but the cup sizes were tiny.

5.7 Carlos C.
United States
January 08, 2015
Stayed here twice on our way in and out of Welling
Clean, close to attractions, and easy airport access
Stayed here twice on our way in and out of Wellington. When we checked in late at night the room key making machine was broken so we were unable to get a room key (night attendant was able to let us in with the master key) so my husband and I had to wait for each other to use the restroom and facilities which was rather inconvenient (the next morning it was fixed and we got keys). The rooms were minimal (bed, nightstands, desk, mirror) but are clean and comfortable on the 5th floor; however our second room was significantly smaller than the first. We never use their kitchen or living area facilities but the bathrooms were always kept very clean. The showers were small and the water pressure was low. The coffee shop in the front had good coffee but the cup sizes were tiny.

9 Aviram V.
India
December 31, 2014
Well run setup great location
Location, room, fellow travellers
Pleasant stay, easily the best YHA we've stayed at in NZ. Beds were comfortable. The 4 bed dorm had an ensuite, which was clean and well presented. It was lively environment with lots of fellow travellers. Highly recommended.

4.3 Edward C.
Australia
December 15, 2014
Don't stay here if you're on an early flight out
The short stay
We were in bed early as we were leaving on an early flight in the morning. Way too much noise from adjoining rooms and people holding loud conversations in the hallway. Loud refrains of "Happy Birthday" at 1:30am in the morning? You've got to be kidding! Then there was the intoxicated couple sitting on the hallway floor outside my door having a deep and meaningful at 2:30am in the morning - oh joy oh joy! You would only stay here if you don't want any sleep. But then if that was the case why would you book a room anyway? First and last time at this place.

9.3 kirsty G.
United Kingdom
November 20, 2014
yha Wellington city
Spacious clean rooms, location, environmentally friendly
Great stay, friendly staff, clean hostel, highly environmentally friendly. Free use of hairdryer and straighteners. Quiet hostel so got a good sleep, beds were comfortable and didn't squeak!! Bad points were there were not enough power points in the room (only 2 and they were in the cupboard) also the shower temperature was very temperamental.

8.7 CHIEN E.
Malaysia
November 06, 2014
Great
Location, Friendly Staff, Fast wifi
Great location, New world (supermarket) is just opposite YHA. Clean, comfort room as well as friendly and energetic staff. About 5-7 mins walking distance to bus station. Will definitely stay here again for my next visit.