Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

YMCA Hostel

Cnr Pitt St & Greys Ave, Auckland City Center, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.6

based on 150 reviews

93 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.0
All reviews (150)
Sort by:
Mohammed A. Solo travelers New Zealand, May 7, 2016
Value for money
5
It was a short stay but i had a good experience overall. The place is not a happening one but it is good.
Takaya N. Solo travelers Japan, May 4, 2016
Good!
6.7
YMCA Hostel is many country people. So, I lealned many things!
Bhummibhat B. Solo travelers Thailand, April 24, 2016
Ok
5.3
Ok good
Sachiyo H. Families with young children Malaysia, April 20, 2016
Stressed and disappointed.
4
I choose this place because of location. But I won't go this place again. I and toddler daughter stayed here for a week. I told shower at our floor was out of service at our check in. So we had to go another floor to use shower. It seems they fixed the problem but we never get informed. Wall between each shower have big space at bottom. When we tried to dry ourselves often got splash from next door and kid's towel got wet from it. Room has no space to hang towel with spread condition,(They have towel hanger at very low position.) Linen change was only once in a week at Monday only. For only one towel, one pillow case and bedding. Kitchen for guests were very small and always got people. Dining space is not next to kitchen. Fridge is at each room. We had to make many move from here to there just to eat. It was so difficult for me since I had to make these moves with 2year old daughter. boiled water is available at kitchen but it's close at 10:30pm. Most disappointing incident was cleaner make mistake and tried to clean our room one day earlier from our departure. We came back to room at the night and saw all our our cloth was in garbage plastic on bed. Had to find things from garbage bag when little one was sleepy. Mistake could be happen. But before throw things into plastic, they should do double check. Receptionist said because of system down, they couldn't do double check. Feel so stressed and disappointed.
Ermeey A. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 8, 2016
Sound Proofing
4.3
The management needs to do sound proofing for all rooms. Due the location close to the main road.
Kun-Tu L. Solo travelers Taiwan, February 11, 2016
Just all right for the price!

Bed clean. Bath room clean. Toilet clean.
5.7
Not bad
David L. Solo travelers New Zealand, January 15, 2016
Clean, brilliant location, backpacker

location is brilliant. staff very friendly. and so super clean especially shared bathrooms.
8
Value for money, this place ia brilliant. Shared facilities are so super clean and location is fantastic. It is a bavkpackers type place but a really good one.
Wai Y. Groups Hong Kong, December 26, 2015
The cleanliness impressed me

Cleanliness, 24-Hour reception, Room Comfort
8.3
It offers 24-Hour reception which is convenient to the late arrivers. Stayed in the triple room (with shared bathroom). Room had desk, fridge, heater and a closet. The room was comfortable and tidy. The shared bathrooms were extremely clean! Can't imagine cleaner bathrooms in a budget-level dorm setting. 10-15 mins walk to Auckland CBD.
Mahesh S. Business travelers India, December 1, 2015
The best place to stay long and make friends

Staff, Location, Events and opportunities to meet People
8.7
Very comfortable
Sam W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 24, 2015
Great homely place

Quiet, staff, price
9.3
Real good quiet place to stay. Single room was great for the price (weekly) included a fridge and desk. Plenty of things to do included pool and tv. Great staff
1 - 10 of 93 reviews Next page
YMCA Hostel Auckland - YMCA BuildingYMCA Hostel Auckland - Hostel GardenYMCA Hostel Auckland - ReceptionYMCA Hostel Auckland - ToiletYMCA Hostel Auckland - ToiletYMCA Hostel Auckland - ShowerYMCA Hostel Auckland - Hand BasinYMCA Hostel Auckland - Dining RoomYMCA Hostel Auckland - Information PointYMCA Hostel Auckland - Internet KioskYMCA Hostel Auckland - Pool TableYMCA Hostel Auckland - LaundryYMCA Hostel Auckland - LaundryYMCA Hostel Auckland - FacilitiesYMCA Hostel Auckland - ExteriorYMCA Hostel Auckland - ExteriorYMCA Hostel Auckland - KitchenYMCA Hostel Auckland - KitchenYMCA Hostel Auckland - KitchenYMCA Hostel Auckland - ExteriorYMCA Hostel Auckland - Recreational FacilitiesYMCA Hostel Auckland - ReceptionYMCA Hostel Auckland - InteriorYMCA Hostel Auckland - InteriorYMCA Hostel Auckland - InteriorYMCA Hostel Auckland - InteriorYMCA Hostel Auckland - InteriorYMCA Hostel Auckland - View


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C05