or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

YMCA Salisbury Hotel

41 Salisbury Road, Kowloon, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Surroundings YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Reception YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Interior YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Interior YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Ballroom YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Premium Room YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Premium Family Suite Living Room YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Family Suite YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Premium Harbour View Suite YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior
YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Premium Partial Harbour View Room YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Premium Partial Harbour View Room
Area: Tsim Sha Tsui Number of Rooms: 363
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
2589 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
9.5
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (2589)
Sort by:
Paul M. Solo travelers Ireland, May 16, 2009
Excellent as always.I stayed in April and May 2009

Christian Based Ethos. Family Friendly. Extremely helpful and friendly staff, thank you guys and girls! Nice bowl of fruit gree gratis. Also you can, if you book the right room get a great view of the nightly light show across Victoria Harbour at 8pm.
9.3
I was so tempted to book the Peninsula next door as cost wasn't an issue this time. I decided against it and decided to give the Salisbury a try out.So good I returned a few weeks later. Whilst it doesn't have the luxury of the Pen it is certainly more than adequate. There are many facilities to avail yourself of, from a swimming pool, gym and a climbing wall to Sunday morning Church services for you. A very nice book and gift shop down stairs and a good restaurant. I fully recommend this hotel. It is so close to the Star ferry piers, bus and taxi terminus points (2 to 3 minutes of a walk so you could be on Hong Kong Island in fifteen minutes or so), good shopping arcades, MTR stations, museums and concert hall. There is a bit of road works going on at the momemt(until 2010) around these two hotels that means minor inconvenience for pedestrians. This is now my hotel of choice and I feel fully secure and comfortable here. I will be back!!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: You are so close to the harbour attractions, Nathan Road is a few minutes walk, all the bright lights you could want, and cultural things to do as well.
Robert S. Couples United States of America, May 15, 2009
Great hotel

Location, staff, price
8.7
Wife and I stayed here on our way through Hong Kong to China. It's a nice hotel for a good price with nice staff. This is the first place I'll check next time.
Michael D. Couples United States of America, May 2, 2009
Confusion

Clean and good location
7.3
Confusion at check in. The YMCA did not have our reservation and had to contact Agoda. Had to wait at least 15 minutes for the matter to be cleared. Once issue was resolved the Y upgraded our room.
Paul M. Solo travelers Ireland, April 27, 2009
So Good I returned!

Very courteous helpful and friendly.
9.3
I was so impressed with this Hotel I returned a few weeks later and was equally happy with with my stay. Sometimes hotels are different the second time around. Consistency or even better is the name of the game. The Salisbury wins on all counts. For a fuller reiew see my review for May 09. God Bless You All
Shopping Tip: Things aren't as cheap to buy in Hong Kong as they used to be. There aren't too many bargains but the barterring is still fun!!
Jeff W. Business travelers United States of America, April 23, 2009
Hong Kong YMCA is a good value

Location, soft bed, clean rooms, great price, nice and helpful staff.
9
I would most certainly recommend this hotel to someone who has a short stay in Hong Kong and wants to be central to all the main action of shopping and tourism. The location is outstanding, close to the Star Ferry and right in the heart of Nathan Road shopping. Great rates compared to other high end hotels on the same block. The room was clean, bed was soft and everything worked great.
Ian R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 23, 2009
What does the Y stand for again?

Fantastic location, views, amenities....
9.7
The YMCA-Salisbury Hotel could not be further from my preconceived image of a Young Man's Cristian Association hostel. Also known as the Salisbury Hotel, the late art deco building stands on one of the most valuable pieces of real estate, a couple of hundred meters from the famous Star Ferry terminal, even less to the nearest MTR subway station and within easy walking of lots of shops and restaurants. Some rooms have views or partial views of the famous harbour and you can even watch the nightly light show whilst listening to the synchronized music on your hotel radio. By either ferry or subway you can be on Hong Kong Island in a few minutes so there is not downside to locating on the Kowloon side rather than Hong Kong proper. Rooms and bathrooms immaculately clean with snacks and drinks (even beer) in the mini bar and the TV had good sports and news channels in many languages. Discount vouchers are given for the famous restaurant and carvery and also for the very nice coffee shop breakfast bar on the ground floor. I didn't use the pool although there was one. I could not recommend the Salisbury enough, if there was one point of criticism it was that there was nowhere to smoke throughout the whole place - definitely not in the rooms, but I suppose to most people this is another plus.
Nightlife Tip: Go to Ned Kelley's Last Stand bar and jazz venue (200m). Good food, friendly staff and great jazz entertainment every night from around 9:30pm. Unmissable!
Syed A. Business travelers India, April 22, 2009
a good location and a comortable hotel

good location,courteous staff,neat and clean rooms.
8
I stayed for one night only but was satisfied with the hotel.Good location for shopping and business as hotel is in shopping area and business area is just across.Star ferry and MTR are next door.My room was upgraded to partial harbour view upon my request.
Loi H. Groups United States of America, April 16, 2009
YMCA Salisbury Hotel

The hotel is nicely situated in the port of Kowloon. Great location to go shopping and restaurants are closed by. Street vendors are readily available. The Macau/China ferry and other public transportation are close by. Hotel staff are friendly and very pleasant.
7.7
The location of the hotel is nice. Close walk to the harbor and the light shows start at 8 pm. Great place, close to public transportation and shops. Staff members at the hotel are very helpful. Good value for the money if you are on a budget trip. If you plan to take Taxi, most Taxi will know the YMCA. Most likely everything is in walking distance. The rooms are small but very clean.
Kittisak P. Families with older children Thailand, April 15, 2009
Good Location

Cleaness
9
good for budget traveller
Niwat A. Groups Thailand, April 15, 2009
Best Hotel for SOL

1.SOL can be seen right from the hotel window. 2.Good location , near train station
7.3
This hotel is situated near the Avenue of Star in which we can see the SOL right from the room window. The room is clean but quite small (depending on the type of room chosen). The location is great as well and near train station. You can easily go both Kowloon or Hong Kong side. And there is bus stop to and from the airport just a few minute walk from the hotel. Staff has been giving standard services.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

YMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong KongYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - SurroundingsYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - ReceptionYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - BallroomYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Premium RoomYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Premium Family Suite Living RoomYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Family SuiteYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Premium Harbour View SuiteYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Premium Partial Harbour View RoomYMCA Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong - Premium Partial Harbour View Room

Customer Reviews - YMCA Salisbury Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3A03