Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Youth Shack Backpackers

69 Mitchell Street, Darwin City, Darwin, Australia 0810 (Show on map)

Book now!

Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Swimming Pool Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Exterior Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Interior Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Exterior Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Twin Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Swimming Pool Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Shared Kitchen Facilities Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Shared Bathroom Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Double Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Exterior Youth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Dorm
Area: Darwin City Number of Rooms: 85

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
36 reviews

24 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (36)
Sort by:
Antonia L. Couples Australia, June 27, 2014
Excellent location. Great staff.

Location, staff and easy check in and check out.
It was great rooms were deceit, and staff were helpful. Really appreciated that I was able to check in and check out at anytime due to early morning flights.
Report this review
Julie W. Solo travelers Australia, June 10, 2014
Darwin is an interesting place!

location, pool area, reception and travel info
Youth Shack was an interesting place. Very noisy, party place for young people obviously as the name suggests. Great location. They couldnt provide me with a quieter room on the opposite side of the party area even though I asked for it months before when I booked. This was a little disappointing. Kitchen area was not equipped and not really clean so I didnt attempt to use it. Bathrooms got a bit grubby as the day went on and hotel is in need of a bit of repair. Great location though.
Report this review
Claire W. Solo travelers China, May 23, 2014
This customer has only rated this hotel and has not submitted any comments.
Report this review
Andre W. Solo travelers Australia, May 21, 2014
Expensive noisy with poor shower facilities

Centrally located
The biggest single problem is the noisy, drunken behaviour of guests during the night - shouting, screaming and banging on doors in the corridors is a regular occurrence and there were fights some nights. Be advised: some male guests sneak females inside in the 4 bed dorm rooms or as some do leave the room sometimes at 2 or 3 am. Not good.
Report this review
Jester Q. Solo travelers Australia, May 16, 2014
Aircon available only from 7.30pm to 9am.

1. Location 2. Easy check in 3. Own sink in bedroom
It was alright. Other occupants didn't bother me too much
Report this review
Shohei M. Solo travelers Japan, May 12, 2014

Near Central city, many cafes around, walkable to see the sea
Laid-back, very good and will come back when I go to Darwin
Report this review
Steve H. Groups Australia, May 1, 2014
Affordable and friendly in a prime location

Price, atmosphere, location
Staff were very friendly and helpful, live band was playing in the outdoor/ bar area when we arrived and the atmosphere was great. Bedding was ok, adequate for the price. Fast check out, and in walking distance from many bars and resturants.
Report this review
Ned B. Solo travelers Australia, April 30, 2014
Noisy but reasonable

Location, access to airport, access to activities
Lots of very young, very drunk and very noisy travellers at this hotel. Not recommended if you are looking for somewhere quiet to stay but great location and facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool area is nice during the day until people get home from work and after they've all passed out drunk at night. If you are a young party animal this is the place for you!
Report this review
B S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 30, 2014

just location
It's the worst hostel I have been in the world. rude staff, dirty kitchen, small room and poor bed. The only good thing is the location. However there a few hostel nearby. Definitely not recommend.
Report this review
Monika R. Solo travelers Australia, March 6, 2014
Great location, helpful staff

Friendly staff, great location, excellent pool
Had a great stay at the Youth Shack - staff were fantastic, kitchen was huge and there is a great lounge area near the pool. Certainly stay here again!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 24 reviews Next page

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Youth Shack Backpackers DarwinYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Swimming PoolYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - ExteriorYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - InteriorYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - ExteriorYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - TwinYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Swimming PoolYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Shared Kitchen FacilitiesYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Shared BathroomYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - DoubleYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - ExteriorYouth Shack Backpackers Darwin - Dorm

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.