Very good 8.0
Based on 167 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 167 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

Angela from Brazil
Couple
Standard Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Lovely hotel in a great location
location, decor, comfy bed
Very quaint building in a great location. Service was good and the place was clean (unlike what I expected given a few bad reviews from other travelers). Perhaps the only thing that needs improvement is the breakfast spread: toast, cake and a beverage just doesn't make anyone go wow.
Reviewed January 04, 2016

Wenkang from China
Couple
Standard Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Traditional Chinese style
The hotel is in a ancient building with traditional Chinese style furniture and decoration. The first floor is a restaurant, a little bit noisy. The room is not big, but it's clean.
Not as good as expected.
Reviewed December 31, 2015

Goh from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Breakfast very poor
Toilet window
Not really keen to stay/relax in the room
Reviewed December 29, 2015

CHING from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Great stay
Large room, Friendly staffs, Convenient spot in town
Went there for a short holiday, only for a night. Love the concept and the overall ambiance of the hotel. Friendly staff who introduced us where to visit and the eateries around that area. The down point will be: 1. there is no parking lot for hotel, you will need to look for your own parking, and park at your own risk. 2. If you are traveling with old folks who are unable to climb up the stairs, it will be inconvenient as they do not have elevator. 3. Found earthworms in my bathtub while happily soaking myself inside and ended up with scream (haha)! 4. There are 2 airconds in our room but one of it malfunctioning and have water dripping onto the bed. 5. They only served cold nasi lemak, bread & banana cake with Orange juice, coffee & tea for breakfast. Which probably incompatible with the price we paid. Other than that, it was indeed a good stay!
Reviewed December 29, 2015

Hong from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Great and comfy hotel
Friendly staff, good location and large rooms
Reviewed December 29, 2015

KIN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
The most dirty & unhygenic hotel stay !
If compare with my previous stay in 3years back,this heritage hotel started run down and not focus to serving guest with Hitel basic needs anymore and guess only just wanted to keeping their property in investment purposed.Anyway,this was my most unforgettable stay among my traveling trip,the bed sheet was full of dust and death insects(seems this room has empty for long time but staff still telling the unsure response by saying if not mistaken it been used in 4days back but definitely impossible!Phoris had been taken and 100% you will agreed and will frighten you to run away but I didn't Coz it's already 12mid night upon I checked in).Anothet surprised was the tower is absolutely dirty and that's non of towel able to change due housekeeping was closed during mid night,ridiculous right ?Although my room is deluxe room by told but can't find any kettle & coffee tea facilities like what I had during my previous stay and at last I found the other standard room is with all this basic facilities,mean they never keeping their standard service or overlook and although room fuxed a nice Bose speaker by paying their oldies Chinese song to matching the heritage feel stay but it's totally not function at all like previous stay and yet just for display! Overall,this definitely will be my last booking on this dirty heritage hotel,you may try and you will get what I had ,good luck ! P/S: Pls aware every corner even bathroom with nest with spider !
Reviewed December 14, 2015

Simon from Malaysia
Family with older children
Deluxe Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
1881 Chong Tian Hotel
Location to food stalls, bars and restaurants
Got to find on street parking yourself but the hotel manage your parking ticket. Too much noise from street below till 5 am. Cars, motorbikes, music and patrons of prostitutes right below outside our room. Windows were half glazed with slats letting noise in. We were in family room on first floor above restaurant. Breakfast was mange with cold tea and coffee and uncooked eggs. Had to request for eggs and fruits. You don't ask, you don't get. Asked for fresh tea and fresh pot was made with water that had already gone cold from the kettle it was in. Staff poor understanding of English and just ignore or walk away if they do not understand what you are saying. On a positive note, some staff were excellent, the beds were comfortable and room spacious with lots of tea/coffee and toiletry supplies. The charm of the room would suit foreign visitors better?
Reviewed September 01, 2015

How from Singapore
Family with older children
Deluxe Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
A very good boutique hotel
Good Location, Very Large and Well Renovated Room, Very courteous and helpful staff
It's just our luck that there were road work being carried out the first night after check-in, which disturb our sleep throughout the night as our room is facing the road. When we brought up to the staff during breakfast and requested to change room, the staff immediately agreed and in fact upgraded our room.
Reviewed August 21, 2015

Sheena from Singapore
Family with older children
Deluxe Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Small and cozy boutique hotel, with friendly staff
The interior decor, the friendly staff, the central location
I was very impressed by the interior decor; the owner had clearly put a fair bit of thought into collecting antique furniture and trappings for the hotel. Unlike many other hotels, the room was spacious and didn't feel at all claustrophobic. More importantly, the staff were very friendly and eager to help, providing prompt assistance whenever possible. I really liked that the hotel was very centrally located, being barely 15 minutes away from some of the best food and tourist attractions in Georgetown. Even more impressive was the in-house restaurant - I had a Peranakan dinner there and it was absolutely delicious (and cheap to boot!). However, I did feel that the amenities/toiletries could be improved on. Late one night, I requested an extra towel which took about half an hour to be delivered. Turns out that the staff had to run elsewhere to buy a brand-new towel. Props for the willingness to do so but it also felt weird that a hotel would run out of fresh towels. The selection of TV programmes can also be improved on. All in all, this is definitely a place I would return to if I do visit Penang again.
Reviewed August 12, 2015

Chiew from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Unique Experience
Location, Antique Design & Spacious Room
overally okay, dislike the breakfast selection and taste and one of the staff not warm and welcoming.
Reviewed July 23, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: