Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel
Free Wi-Fi

Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel

T2-8, Thazin Plaza (2), Pearl St., Bet.31st & 32nd St., Bet. 77th & 78th St., Mandalay, Myanmar, Central Mandalay, Mandalay, Myanmar
- View on map
 Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel
    Removed from saved list
    Lobby Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel
    Lobby Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel
    Interior view Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel
    8 Share En-Suite Dormitory Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel
    See all 45 photos
    Lobby Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel

    Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel Reviews

    8.6
    Excellent
    /10
    (402 reviews)See what guests said
    9.2
    Exceptional

    "I met amazing people at the hostel, also the staff were kind..."

    Pascal

    -

    September 6, 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional service
    Recommended by 88% of guests

    Things you’ll love about Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel

    Things you'll love

    • 340 meters to public transportation

    • Airport transfer

    • Currency exchange

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    Excellent
    Location
    8.7
    See map
    Excellent location - Inside city center
    Nearby
    Popular
  • Royal Rose Hospital50 m
  • Sun Far Travels & Tours310 m
  • Mandalay Central Railway Station320 m
  • Mandalay Railway Station340 m
  • Diamond Plaza Mandalay340 m
  • United Vision Mandalay360 m
  • University of Medicine460 m
  • Kyae-Mhon Computer Effect Clinic470 m
  • Mandalay General Hospital470 m
  • St. Joseph's Church (Mandalay)710 m
  • Value for money8.6
    Location rating8.7
    Nearest airportMandalay International Airport (MDL)
    Distance to airport32.3 km

    Rooms available at Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel

    8.5
    Excellent
    Room comfort & quality
    Standard 10-Bed Male Dorm Room
    Standard 10-Bed Male Dorm Room
    ...
    • Room size: 26 m²/280 ft²
    • Shower
    • 10 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 34 m²/366 ft²
    • Balcony/terrace
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    10-Bed Dormitory (Mixed)
    10-Bed Dormitory (Mixed)
    ...
    • Room size: 32 m²/344 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    10 Bed Male Dormitory Room
    10 Bed Male Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    10 Bed Female Dormitory Room
    10 Bed Female Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    8 Share En-Suite Dormitory
    8 Share En-Suite Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard 10- Bed Female Dorm Room
    Standard 10- Bed Female Dorm Room
    ...
    • Room size: 21 m²/226 ft²
    • Shower
    • 12 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 35 m²/377 ft²
    • Balcony/terrace
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel?

    What people love about Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel

    • 9.6
      Exceptional

      "The breakfast was awesome every day."

      Kelly

      |

      June 26, 2017

    • 9.2
      Exceptional

      "The rooms and the toilets were clean and well maintained."

      Pascal

      |

      September 6, 2018

    • 9.2
      Exceptional

      "Overall it was a fun experience staying at Ace Star and would highly recommend anyone planning to travel to Mandalay."

      Pascal

      |

      September 6, 2018

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel

    More about Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel

    9.2
    Exceptional

    "Great Location, friendly & helpful staff, nice breakfast Goo..."

    Tan

    |

    July 13, 2016

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    8.0
    Very good

    "Friendly staffs, and recommend for us some day tour and very..."

    Son

    |

    December 7, 2017

    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel from real guests

    Agoda Reviews (401)Booking.com Reviews (353)
    8.6
    /
    10
    Cleanliness8.4
    Facilities8.1
    Location8.7
    Room comfort and quality8.5
    Service9.2
    Value for money8.6
    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    All languages
    All guests (401)
    All room types

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 336 verified guest comments
    12345
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Clau from Spain
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

    Friendly staff”

    Really friendly stand with a big smile on their faces.The room was clean, hot shower and very good breakfast( they change every day the menu) and provide drinking cold water on each floor.

    Reviewed March 04, 2019
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Lenka
    Group
    Standard 10- Bed Female Dorm Room
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

    Exceptional”

    💯🔝👌🏻Ace star hostel is amazing! ❤️We stayed nearly 2 weeks and had great time. All staff is so sweet helpfull and friendly-they made our stay even more beautiful! Highly recommended to everyone who want to have lovely 🆒 stay in Mandalay! Miss you all from Ace star hostel and hopefully we will come to visit you and see you again in future❤️❤️❤️

    Reviewed October 30, 2018
    6.8
    Good
    Dave from Philippines
    Business traveler
    10 Bed Male Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in January 2019

    Good facilities, but staff are STUPID.”

    Staff did things like: 1. Cram 8 people into one room, using one toilet, while other rooms were EMPTY. 2. Doing so resulted in me having to use TOP bunk, even though I told them that my health prevented me from climbing the bunk beds. 3. I asked to go to Moustache Brothers. They sent me in tuk-tuk to Marionettes instead. Their English is AWFUL. Unintelligible.

    Reviewed January 20, 2019
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Jacky from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    Standard 10- Bed Female Dorm Room
    Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

    limited access to AC ”

    everything is good except for the limited access to AC in dorm rooms during daytime. AC is only switched on between 7PM to 7AM. Management informs guests about this policy beforehand but I hope they do something about it especially during summer / very hot days

    Reviewed June 30, 2018
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Matthias from Switzerland
    Solo traveler
    Standard 10-Bed Male Dorm Room
    Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

    Best staff in Myanmar”

    The staff here is always friendly and willing to help you with everything. The rooms are kept clean as well.

    Reviewed January 24, 2019
    9.6
    Exceptional
    andrew from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

    Exceptional”

    Quiet when i was there, so place was very clean, recent refurbishment of lobby. Nice view from rooftop where you have a decent breakfast. Fantastic staff, even if one did call me Mr.Bean:) Makings of the best hostel in Mandalay

    Reviewed January 15, 2018
    9.2
    Exceptional
    chun from Hong Kong
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Male Dormitory Room
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

    lovely hostel”

    I checked in on the Christmas Eve, they had a surprised Christmas party for everyone, and each of us has a gift too. it is so kind of the host. the hostel is very clean and staff very friendly and helpful

    Reviewed January 03, 2018
    10.0
    Exceptional
    John from United States
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Male Dormitory Room
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

    Great Location Near Train Station+Helpful/Friendly Staff”

    The location is perfect for early arrivals/departures as the train station is a short walk. The staff also tried to be as helpful as possible – especially when I messaged on Facebook to plan my trip, albeit some staff have better English skills than others (Most were local university students). They were remodeling the GF into a future coffee shop or wine bar when I stayed there + See Zar Bistro half a block away has an English menu w/ the most popular Burmese dish being “sorry, not available” (the usual pan Asian fare was available). There is an Ocean’s hypermart nearby as well. The place is clean & the Internet mostly worked. The roof has a nice view w/ tea/coffee/breakfast in the morning + free water. Plan to also do laundry here as this is the cheapest place you will find to do it in Myanmar. Only complaints: There are several flights of stairs to the rooms/roof area+the hot water is one of those big water tank setups w/ a switch by the light – meaning it never got hot.

    Reviewed December 26, 2017
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Jessica from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

    Best hostel I have found in Myanmar ”

    I cannot fault this hostel! It was a great price, in a central location just a couple of minutes walk to the train station. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The staff offered a lot of information and even came with me to the train station to buy my ticket. They offered a take away breakfast as I was checking out early. Rooms are clean and tidy with hot showers, lockers and a washing machine for self service laundry. This is the best hostel I have found in Myanmar. I also booked the 3 ancient cities tours through the hostel which was great (although not for the price advertised so enquirer before you book).

    Reviewed December 10, 2017
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Lisa from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in November 2017

    5*”

    This hostel was so good. The staff were amazing. We bombarded one of the guys with about 20 questions and he knew everything, so helpful. Cheep too rent a bicycle close too attractions and a good breakfast. Would totally recommend.

    Reviewed November 29, 2017
    8.8
    Excellent
    samantha from Canada
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in November 2017

    Great Stay!”

    The staff are so helpful! I have stayed here many times and I love it. However, this time there were very few guests. I hope that more people realize what a nice hostel this is and will begin to fill it up!

    Reviewed November 15, 2017
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Chan from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Male Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in July 2017

    Not a Hostel, but a FAMILY ! YOU WILL LOVE HERE! ”

    Staff in Ace Star definitely the reason I love Myanmar. They wow us for the 2 days 1 night of stay 1. we arrived from Ngwesaung beach > Mandalay , allowed us to check in early (7am) in a rainy day , served with a breakfast of omelette and toast + hot coffee/tea (this already enough to warm my heart) 2. Lady staff named Man san der know our stomach not feeling well,(probably the food and environment is dirty in Yangon a day before). she help us bought a medicine , which help us relief our stomachache 3. Gentleman staff named Moon Shine , chit chat with me at their rooftop while serving us meal. He told me why he like this job , because he feel like a FAMILY when meeting new tourist everyday. When I heard this, I already give this hotel 10/10 score. ATTITUDE DETERMINE EVERYTHING YOU DO. this is why I got the family feel during the stay 4. Before we leave the hostel, the shuttle bus that should arrived at hotel late. we are worried. Gentleman name Phoy, take the initiative to call the bus operator before we even ask him to call. I believe he saw our worried-face in the lobby. His call give us the relief. And we are really sad to leave Mandalay. 10/10 score. P/s: to the owner / management , you need to invest a better horse power A/C, as the 10 bed dorm room is big, 1 A/C will feel not cold. Anyhow I'm okay with the stay. Definitely the reason I would comeback to this town and will ask my friend who going Myanmar next month to stay here.

    Reviewed July 23, 2017

    Dear Chan, Thank you so much for your 10/10 score review for our hostel and I am so pleased to hear that you appraised to my staff for warmly and hospitability . They did their job with heart . We will try to set up the big horse power A/C as soon as possible .Thanks again for your deeply comments to us .

    Responded August 13, 2017
    Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel
    8.0
    Excellent
    Lisa from Germany
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

    Helpful staff when you got ill”

    Booked just 2 nights in a female 10 bed dorm, but stayed for 4 nights, because I got ill. They gave me a free upgrade to a 8 bed mixed dorm and took really good care of me. The rooms are nice and clean.

    Reviewed February 12, 2017
    8.4
    Excellent
    Bette from United States
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Stayed 4 nights in November 2016

    Wonderful staff, comfy beds, good location”

    As always, it's the wonderful staff (thank you Moonshine and Miss Nan) who make all the difference. They were so patient, genuinely warm and helpful. They helped find a good, patient and reliable motorbike driver (BB) who took me around all day in Mandalay for a very reasonable price. Also, the 3 ancient city tour was fabulous, with the most wonderful driver (sorry I forgot his name). They made it easy to overlook the old showers/bathrooms with doors that can't lock; so-so breakfast was minimal, and pretty much the same staff everyday. And I wish the lockers were inside the rooms instead of outside in the hallway, where anyone could have access.

    Reviewed December 21, 2016
    8.4
    Excellent
    SHIRNIE from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in November 2016

    Location!!!”

    Value for money and good location. Walking distance to Diamond Plaza Mandalay, Chinatown, Railway Station & local product (Mandalay Special Fruits Cream Butter Cake). From hostel to Zegyo Market & Jade Market is only 10 minute by Motorbike. Cost 1000-1500 Kyat Others sight-seeing can share taxi with hostel guest if you are lucky. You can always check with hostel staff, they willing to assist you always. Airport bus can be booked from hostel and provide pick-up. Cost 5000 Kyat.

    Reviewed November 08, 2016
    8.4
    Excellent
    SHIRNIE from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Female Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in November 2016

    Location!!!”

    I decided to book Ace Star is because near railway station. Is easy for me to walk to railway station at 3.30 in the morning to catch my train to Hsipaw. Staff is really friendly although they can't really speak good English but you can feel their effort. Just curious is that from the previous guest review mentioned free laundry & the check-in staff (is a young guys) told me is free laundry as well, but what happened to me is the staff collect 1000 kyat from me. Due to I was rushing for sightseeing so I just paid for it.

    Reviewed November 08, 2016
    8.0
    Excellent
    Stephanie from United States
    Solo traveler
    10-Bed Dormitory (Mixed)
    Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

    Good place, good breakfasts, great staff”

    Clean, comfortable, with nice rooftop for nice breakfasts that change day to day and kind, helpful staff. They also organize great day trips to nearby cities, I highly recommend the ancient cities tour to Amarapura, Innwa & Sagaing. Thanks for everything Ace Star!

    Reviewed October 23, 2016
    10.0
    Exceptional
    PO from Taiwan
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Male Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2016

    Kind, Warm, Clean, Cheap....Super awesome!”

    Their staffs are super nice and kind! If you have any question about your transportation arrangement, they will kindly provide suggestions to you! And the breakfast on the roof is so nice~A good day should start from a nice breakfast :) The price is very affordable, and they provide high quality experience. I definitely will stay here if I visit Mandalay again:)

    Reviewed June 01, 2016
    8.0
    Excellent
    Daphne from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    10 Bed Male Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in February 2016

    cheap and nice”

    Hotel is safe and the staff are friendly. when I left early at 5am the hostel gave me 2 bread and a can coffee for breakfast. Hotel is located near Diamond shopping mall with a supermarket that u can buy cheap beers. the hostel do not sell beer so u have to buy from either the supermarket or nearby restaurant. The hostel has a rooftop area that u can hangout and meet other Travellers

    Reviewed March 21, 2016
    9.0
    Exceptional
    Shardul from India
    Solo traveler
    8 Share En-Suite Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in September 2015

    Perfect for backpackers”

    affordable, clean, washing machine

    Location: Next to Mandalay railway station, very near to the old town (walkable), various food joints in the next street. Service: Excellent staff, good English, hot water, AC, clean beds, good light in all rooms, Breakfast on terrace, Wifi, washing machine.

    Reviewed January 28, 2016
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Ace Star BnB Backpacker Hostel
    |Excellent 8.6
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Mandalay Palace
    • Mandalay Railway Station is within 0.34 km