Book Now: Acqua Dive Resort

Exceptional
From 227 reviewsSee what guests said
9.2
/
10
Recommended by 89% of guests

Reviews of Acqua Dive Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (227)Booking.com Reviews (103)
9.2
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.6
Facilities9.2
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality9.5
Service9.5
Value for money9.2
All languages
All guests (227)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 165 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
ian from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in January 2019

Quiet, pleasant, luxury.”

Very nice accommodation. We were in the bungalow (turtle). It would seem that the maximum guests at the complex is about 20. As many of them are out doing activities during the day, it is really peaceful around the pool and gardens during the day! We were there 8 nights, we did 3 trips to Apo. The boat guys are very helpful, the trips were great. The local market is on Wednesday, well worth a visit (just 10 minutes along the beach). Walk up to the main road and you should be able to get a tricycle (tuktuk) to Dumaguette for 300pesos. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, including Sean the owner. The only "negative" for us was that we didn't like the restaurant setting. The food and price was fine, it was just the ambience. We ended up eating in the restaurant resort next door, which was less claustraphobic and a bit more airy. That said I believe you can eat out on the garden itself at Acqua. Acqua is a nicer resort overall though compared to next door!

Reviewed February 12, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Charles from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

3 night trip”

Very good staff and very friendly. The room is really large with lots of storage space. The food was good and the dive master and boat crew are excellent. You can get the beers really cold in your room fridge. You can arrange to have a rental scooter brought to the hotel for 24 hours for 600K or about $12. They are about 450K in Dumaguete. It is much cheaper and easy to take the yellow bus and get off at Aqua Dive resort. It is just a short walk off the main highway and you can go back to Dumaguete the same way. Just walk to the road and flag the next yellow bus down. There is a shady place to wait and they come by about every 10 minutes. It cost like 35 pesos for the bus to and from Dumaguete instead of 1000 pesos each way you will pay for the private van. In Dumaguete you can catch a trike from any hotel to Robinsons Mall to catch the bus out and the trike ride is very cheap as well, just over 30 pesos or so and they will take you. This hotel is kinda isolated but good

Reviewed April 18, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Gerard from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Dumaguete's Secret Gem - Best resort by far”

Ladies and Gents, if I can give a rating above 10, this resort - which lies outside the bustling city is worth to receive it. I was pleasantly surprised when I checked Agoda - The Rating is 9.3/10 and still has a vacant room - like OMG. This is it. Booked. Done. Close App. (Dab pose) Seriously, I loved every aspect of this resort, from the facilities, the ambiance, the staff, the Apo Island day tour experience, and especially the bed - It’s like the mattresses of 5-star hotels in the Metro. The only thing which can be crucial to backpack travelers, is accessibility to public transportation. The resort offers pick-up service but we opted to travel by public transportation to achieve the overall experience. It will take a 10-12 minute walk from Malatapay Market (drop off from either public bus or jeepney) to reach the resort. My travel buddy and I also loved the food from their restaurant, Finally, they are hospitable and accommodating to all our requests and questions. Two thumbs up!

Reviewed September 16, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Tao from China
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Exceptional”

the property is owned by an austrilia and a korean. its super clean and all the guests are requsted to be barefoot when go inside. the staffs there are very helpful and accomdating. the hotel is a perfect choice for diving and snokelling lover . its very near from apo island and the hotel can provide boat with this destination. the room is spacious and has bacolony. they have air con and fan. i will back there again.

Reviewed July 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Michaela from United States
Family with young children
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 8 nights in June 2018

We love staying in Acqua Dive. Service is great. Sean, Mark and Charlie are just amazing.”

Acqua Dive was our 4th resort in the Philippines and it was our favorite. It’s very quite and comfortable. Charlie was my husband’s and son’s diving instructor and they love him. Sean and Mark are really nice. Sean even offered to allow me to warm my Filipino foods that were given by my aunt but since were always out, I didn’t really have a chance to do it. We really appreciate all the effort to make our stay comfortable and we feel like home. When my husband went back to the states and my son and I moved to Sierra hotel in downtown to be closer with my family, my son kept on Begging to go back to Acqua Dive. We would love to stay there again in the future. Highly recommended!

Reviewed June 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
cole from United Kingdom
Couple
Pool Side Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

relaxing 2 nights”

we booked a trip to apo island and decided to stay 2 nights at Aqua dive resort. the accommodation is perfect amazing double bed with nice pillows and duvet. amazing food and choice what more could you want for chilled 2 days.

Reviewed January 27, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Bezaleel from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

i would recommend the place for travelers who wants to relax and planning texplore apo island nearby”

Pros- excellent food, nice pool, relaxing, peaceful place, nice massage services offered, ideal place and boat accomodation to apo island, very good diving, snorkling equipments Cons- additional comfortable, portable chairs inside the room,

Reviewed May 22, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Shuri from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Great Stay For Apo Island”

Was a super short stay here. Right after arriving from Siquijor super early in the AM, the hotel shuttle picked me up for a fee at the port. Once arriving, had to get ready for the Apo Island tour which was amazing. I panicked during the trip when the waves were strong and I was not wearing a life vest. The tour guide helped save me thank goodness. Very organized tour and I highly recommend using the tour from this hotel. The room was nice and relaxing which faced the pool. The pool is a good one as well. For food, their burger was pretty delicious. Wish I had time to stay at least 1 more night!!

Reviewed May 19, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Kwong from Canada
Couple
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018

A relaxing resort & well equipped dive center”

The place is good and super clean in the room. All the staff, and the owners, Sean & Chae are so friendly and helpful. Location is not our concern even a bit far away from the city. It's still convenience by tricycle, 15 mins (P300) to a small town, Daurin for a beer or 40 mins(P500) to downtown. I preferred to stay somewhere away from the crowd. Professional dive shop and equipment are new. The dive team - Sean, Thomas, Esmael, Arniel are so experienced and the boat crews are super helpful as well. We enjoyed the dives at APO island. We definitely come back next time and highly recommended to you

Reviewed May 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Johannes from Germany
Couple
Pool Side Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

UNFORGETABLE”

DIFFERENT ! only 7 rooms - great staff. Take a room to the pool, that the better options. Maybe if you book for a longer time - the menu will be limited, but I'm sure you can talk with the owners to cook something special and other food too. And you can eat near to the ocean on the grass in the garden too ! New and modern facilities on the pool, in the garden and in our room - GREAT. thanks a lot, will see you again.

Reviewed May 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Dulce from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

highly recommended”

i love how welcoming and friendly the staffs are. the rooms are clean and has a very modern feel, i specifically like how big the bathroom is. 5 stars for the design and interior of the room. great value for money. unlimited serving of coffee, tea and water. they also provide Apo island tour 👍🏻

Reviewed May 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Damian from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Perfect”

Just in the middle of nowhere there is this little paradise. The resort is flawless and the staff is amazing. They helped us with everything. Starting with a nice explanation of how to get there. We had a really good time. Be it just on the pool or diving. The dive guides were really caring. The girls in the kitchen and around did a good job too:) the food is a little pricey but considering the location it’s reasonable for what you get! We would stay there again anytime.

Reviewed March 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Simon from Switzerland
Couple
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

Great resort, great food, great staff, great diving”

We stayed 4 nights in this resort and did 9 dives. Because we had seen every possible site at Apo, Acqua divers organized a trip to Dauin and the house reef just for the two of us! The dive centre is very well organized and the equipment was in a good condition. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the staff was friendly and very forthcoming. The food was good because they cook everything fresh, with a lot of greens. They have a good choice in the menu, especially the brakefast was fabulous. We loved our stay there, it was our best experience in Philippines so far.

Reviewed February 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Frank from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017

Best hotel I stayed in during my 1 month trip of the Philippines ”

Me and my partner loved our stay here and would have loved to have stayed longer It is run to western standards and everything was great from the diving,,dive team,room and staff Apo Island is a must if you are a diver as the coral around the island is still in great shape and the turtles are friendly and actually swim up to you The resort provides Full dive bottles upto 230 bar which allows for 1 hour dives easily and the dive boat is good with oxygen in case of emergency This is the first time I have ever seen this in the Philippines and I dive there a lot I will surely return here for sure Keep up the good work guys

Reviewed November 20, 2017
8.8
Excellent
JengYi
Group
Deluxe Triple Room with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017

Nice resort to dive~”

Food: is good to eat, the price is a little bit higher. Location: is a little bit far away from Dumaguete downtown, roughly need 45 min to reach there. Fortunately, the resort can book a van, each way costs 1000 peso. Room: is very comfortable, large space, great balcony can dry every thing, especially for dive equipments. Owner & Staff: are accommodating and nice, help us a lot even before we reach there by e-mail. Dive: very near Apo island & Duain, just on board at back door, is very convenient. Nice crew and diving master. Highly recommended, if you like to dive.

Reviewed November 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
LEI from Taiwan
Couple
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

The (palace / paradise) for the person who knows how to enjoy life.”

It's my second time stay in here. Food is great / Very positive service / Only booking the transfer then driver will pick you up from airport. / no hidden price. If you also diver, you cannot miss here. Just booking this awesome resort.

Reviewed October 05, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Chi from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

Service, Food, Relax, Good Good Good”

We regret sooooooo much that we ONLY stayed here for 2 nights. Believe me, you won't want to leave! The resort is small yet private. The room is spacious. We are in a group of 3 but we chose the Barracuda room which accommodates 4 persons. Barracuda is the best of the best rooms here, it is located in the second floor of the main building, got an almost 180 degress seaview with pool view as well. The room is facing the East, because of the nice view, we woke up at 5am in the morning just to watch the sunrise. I have to give a huge compliment to their kitchen! We had 6 meals in totally including breakfast lunch and dinner. We did not repeat our choices not because the food we ordered was not nice, but because of the food is too nice that we have no choice but to explore other choices. Food is reasonably priced and give you an at least 4-5 stars hotel food. Finally, the staff are super friendly. The Korean lady (I think she is the owner) was also friendly. On the last day we had a slight mistake on the transfer arrangement, but she sorted it out timely. A 10 points experience!

Reviewed May 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Michelle from Philippines
Group
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Great experience!”

The couple Chay and Sean Stone were very helpful and friendly. I believe that is also the reason why the entire staff was hospitable. The kindness of everyone was much appreciated. The food was superb but pricey. The poolside room we got was one of the best we've stayed at. Very spacious, separate toilet and bath, cozy mattress and linens. The lightbulb was not working near the sink and there was no bidet in the toliet too, but that's nothing that can't be improved. I have to mention that the garden had the best furniture too with cozy droplights if you want to watch the stars at night. Though I wasn't able to do my open water diving, the master scuba instructor anna madrugo was very accomodating despite her busy schedule. All in all, 5 stars! Thanks again and I'm sure we will be back.

Reviewed March 09, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Diana from Philippines
Group
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017

Super nice hotel”

Place is great, homey and peaceful. Location is good for divers. Rooms are well-cleaned and staff are very responsive and helpful. Cons are weak wifi and a bit pricey breakfast which are very minor.

Reviewed February 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Eunice from Singapore
Couple
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016

Excellent dive resort facing Apo Island”

Acqua Dive is a great base for water activities at Apo island. We did 2 days of diving & snorkelling with the resort as it has its own dive centre & boat. Anna, the resort's dive master, and all the boat crew took very good care of us. We didn't have to worry whether the diving is on or not as the resort will still take us out even when there is only one diver. Snorkellers are guided by one of the boat crew and they know exactly where to take you for the best corals and the large green turtle before other snorkellers got there. We enjoyed all our meals prepared by the resort's kitchen staff - very well presented and delectable. Our spacious and well-maintained room with a balcony faces Apo Island. We highly recommend to stay at Acqua Dive if you are looking for a more personal and safety-conscious dive & water activity centre.

Reviewed October 21, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Ondrej from Czech Republic
Couple
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

Perfect relax”

clean rooms, the garden and pool area are great

Whole accommodation were simply great. The bungalow was very comfortable and the evenings by the pool were wonderful. The owner was really helpful with organizing the trip to Apo island and to Oslob. The only disadvantage is lower food quality, for breakfast overpriced for what you get and the offer of the mixed drinks should be larger.

Reviewed March 03, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Wai from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 6 nights in September 2015

A picture perfect place to relax and recharge!”

Setting, Size, and Service... and much more

I chose Acqua Dive because of the reviews and I was pleasantly surprised that the resort does look exactly look like the pictures online. Very picturesque with a garden that you wish you could take home with you. You will not be disappointed booking here. Now the garden will take your breath away (Did I mention that already?). The horizon and Apo Island just beyond the white picket fence. You could spend your whole stay just lounging around, reading and drinking your favourite tipple (which I did do!). The pool is a perfect place to take a dip to refresh should you find yourself dozing off. I successfully completed my Open Water Padi at Acqua Dive. I was particularly happy that because Sean had already began the course with another group of divers earlier in the day, he did not put into the group of divers but arranged for me to have another instructor so that I would not be rushed. The staff were always attentive and did their best to make the stay as comfortable as possible. It was great chatting with the owners and staff throughout my stay, including the Sunday night poolside when we were astounded to discover Top Gun was made in 1986 whilst watching the lightening show in the distance. If there was a minor improvement for Acqua Dive, I would say it is for them to do their best in keeping the serene environment in which they have put so much hard work to establish. One way is to ask other visitors to respectfully keep the noise pollution down (either on checking in or signage). I think many people who choose Acqua Dive will not be disappointed in escaping to this oasis. It would be a shame if the tranquil surroundings was to change into other resorts where you can't enjoy the silence of the night and nature's sounds filling the air. One last thank you for my stay. I had a wonderful stay at Acqua Dive. You guys were awesome!

Reviewed October 12, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
LEI from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

That's good enough”

Relax, Diving, Upgrade my soul

1. The owner and all of employer so nice and kindly (5 stars). Any question they always can help. 2. Before coming here, the email reply so fast also can let me understand what's the real situation right there. 3. Resort is so beautiful actual you don't need use professional camera you still can take awesome picture in this resort. 4. Nice restaurant with romantic atmosphere. Nice breakfast and dinner even Tuna brief boat lunch still taste so good. 5. Nice swimming pool it also can training diver. very clear and very new. There have couple relax chair sofa around the pool. 6. This time I booking the room near the pool. All resort just like ur own villa. 7. The location is very good for APO island diving. Coral, Marco thing, Big fish, sunrise, swimming pool, beer, blue sky, lots stars, anything else ? I think that's good enough.

Reviewed April 07, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
wanda from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015

lovely host, great food and good diving”

food were delicious, the owner Chae and Sean are very helpful and friendly, it is so close to Apo Island which make it the place to stay for diving

Me and my friend had a great stay at Aqua Dive Resort. We did 9 dives and saw lots of sea turtles and other lovely fishes and beautiful coral. Chae's cooking is the best and they provide free dinner cocktail is you order before 4:30pm. The dive guide are professional, my friend has problem equalizing and they are very patient. They try to satisfy everyone's need.

Reviewed February 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Siew from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Well run resort with my attentive staff”

A well run small resort that has just the right touch to feel welcome, secure and attended to. Things like bed, toilet, garden and pool are very well maintained. I love the fish and chip too. Chae modeled the way as a good host, and made effort to greet and interact with guest. Staff offered their help without asking. A gem, if you are looking for a comfortable place to dive and chill out.

Reviewed August 16, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Ke from China
Solo traveler
Pool Side Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018

Best Decision I'd Made!”

I'm so glad that I chose to stay here for almost a week for my OW and AOW certification. Environment: It was well planned and organized: a hilarious garden, dedicated smoking area (nice for people like me who is allergic to the smokes), very clean floor so you can walk on your bear feet everywhere feeling natural. The whole place was simple, quiet, peaceful and relaxed. Room: I liked my room very much. It's nice and compact with a big table so I can continue my work at night after diving for the whole day. Though the internet speed was not fast, it was steady at least. Air conditioning worked well, though I didn't need air-conditioning most of the time unless I had to shut the glass door. Staff and Service: Sean and Chae were the owners. They were fast responding and helpful. So do their staffs. They were all super nice, makes your journey home-coming. Special thank to my PADI Instructor Mark who was patient, helpful and knowledgable, and walked me thru the entire training.

Reviewed July 22, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jose from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Dive ”

Wonderful place to stay if on Apo Dive and Snorkeling trip. Most environment-friendly place we have been, bar none. Everything is reusable, even shampoo and shower gel are in refillable containers. Every place especially Boracay and Palawan should be like this. Not one bottled water seen during our stay. No bringing of food policy so does No-Smoking. plus the limited rooms adds to the cleanliness, peaceful and relaxing place to enjoy. View of Apo Island Is amazing. Dive shop is excellent, gears, boat, and first DM I have seen to really check on divers bouyancy that tends to touch the corals.👌 Other review notes the price of food served. But selection was just about right and the quality is excellent. We were down on a road trip from Cebu so the location did not matter to us unlike other guests that expects proximity to lots of shops and restos. Dumaguete is more than 30Km away. Very hospitable host/owner. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewed May 28, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Dang from Philippines
Couple
Pool Side Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Lovely Resort ”

Service was excellent, rooms are well designed with a fantastic shower. It is secluded and dining options are limited but very serene and well kept. I would definitely come back!

Reviewed November 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Dennis from Canada
Group
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 7 nights in May 2018

Exceptional”

This was our 2nd time staying at Acqua. One noticeable improvement from a year and a half ago was the availability of the wifi, which you could get from the room and poolside. Overall a great stay, the staff were quite pleasant, and the room was large and clean. The hotel also setup and delivered a snorkeling excursion for a very large group of people to Apo - they made the whole process very stress free for us and we enjoyed seeing beautiful marine life and lots of large turtles. Highly recommend staying here.

Reviewed May 21, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Pool Side Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Great Location - Lovely food”

We stayed here for 2 nights with the main aim to go to Apo Islamd to see the turtles. The trips can be arranged by the resort and and very reasonable. Cost is approx £20 per person and this gets you half day on the boat and 3 dives (we snorkeled) and lunch, tea and coffee. Boat staff really look after you and helped us find the turtles! Room we had was very clean and had a fridge and excellent air con. Staff here are very friendly and helpful. Food is excellent - we had 2 fantastic meals and the portions are good too. Would highly recommend Aqua Dive to stay

Reviewed April 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Brendan from Ireland
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Superb!”

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff are really excellent. And owners Chae and Sean are very helpful and kind; they went to huge trouble to organise further stays for us - after leaving their resort. The diving/snorkelling trip to Apo Island are also excellent - perhaps the best snorkelling we have ever experienced. Just go there!

Reviewed April 07, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
JEFFERY from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018

It's is a great place to stay. Sean and Chae along with staff were very accommodating. ”

We stayed 5 nights Pros, Sean and Chae were very accommodating. Their staff are friendly with greetings from them everyday. The boat crew was very helpful and knowledgeable of the area where I dove. The cleaning staff along with kitchen staff were excellent. The food is great. The resort is directly across from App island. As short ride and your there. Cons, location to other activities. It's 45 minutes to Dumeguete. Unless you have your own vehicle you are at the mercy of Tricyles buses and a van than can be booked through the hotel. This resort will be seeing us again for sure.

Reviewed April 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jan from Czech Republic
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Great place to stay near to pier to Apo island”

Especially for divers it has to be great place. We stayed only for one night before our trip to Apo island (pier is cca 10 minus by walk over the beach) and it was great experience. Staff were really awesome and local cuisine as well. Bit more pricey but worth it.

Reviewed February 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
cal from United States
Couple
Pool Side Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

Best place I've ever stayed”

Pros: location is great, room and facilities are wonderful, the food was excellent and a good value, but the biggest thing was the staff. Service in the Philippines is awful, everywhere in the Philippines except at Acqua. The service there was friendly and fast and exceptional. Cons: we had to leave.

Reviewed January 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Lenny from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Relaxing stay and awesome snorkeling experience.”

I liked the homey ambience, the overall cleanliness of the place, the friendly smiles and warmth from the staff, the playful dog and the laid-back cat. It was like a home away from home. The snorkeling experience was great! Thank you, Acqua Dive! until next time.

Reviewed November 28, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Catherine from Philippines
Group
Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017

Perfect Ambiance, Very Accommodating Staff and Management”

I love the place in general. It's very relaxing and perfect for vacation. I love the food especially the Baconator for breakfast. The pool, the garden and the the rooms (everything actually) are remarkably clean. The rooms are spacious and has good lighting. I would definitely book Acqua Dive again for my next Dumaguete-Apo Island vacation.

Reviewed September 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
sameena from India
Group
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017

Amazing!!!”

Stayed here for three nights with a group of friends - the location is perfect, especially for day trips to Apo Island. The staff were perfect in every way - friendly, helpful, going out of their way to cater to all our requests. The Dive team - Anna, Pauline, Esmael and Arniell (as well as the boat crew) were brilliant. The rooms are clean and well-equipped with the basics. We stayed in Seahorse and it was great! Casa Stone, which is where we ate our meals, was lovely too - the food choices are quite diverse and everything we ate was cooked to order using fresh, local ingredients. I will be returning and looking forward to spending more time at this beautiful spot.

Reviewed July 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
YAN from China
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017

Clean Place, Suitable for Divers”

The guestroom is quite clean--you can say it is as clean as a five-star hotel. The food there is also good. Inside the resort there is a dive center, not big, but you can find any equipment you might need. The location is perfect for diving at Apo Island, since it only takes around 20 mins to get there. During our stay we also went diving at Oslo and Sumilan. It took us 2 hours to get to Oslo, but the views were totally worth it. In Oslo we saw many whale sharks and numerous fishes underwater.

Reviewed May 08, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ma from United States
Couple
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Awesome stay”

We had an awesome stay in this hotel. The owners are sociable. The staff was awesome. The kimchi rice is a must try. Very clean environment. I recommend this place specially if you are looking for some quiet and serene time. Just enjoy the good breeze the sounds of the waves and The birds chirping. Nobody sells you anything and the locals around it are very nice and helpful. The beds are comfy the surrounding is safe. Good neighborhood and good staff. I just hope they add more to the menu to choose from other than that good food good time good dive. Definitely a 10!

Reviewed March 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jonathan from Israel
Couple
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Great resort!”

This boutique resort has only 7 rooms, so you really get a lot of attention from the extremely helpful staff. We did our first dive here, at Apo, and everything about it was excellent-especially our teacher Anna.

Reviewed February 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Rachel from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

A retreat place worthy of a 5 star thumbs-up.. Just fronting Apo Island.............................”

Our family deluxe room is so wide, my 3rd girl had fun running around the room without stepping on bags and stuffs.. Bedroom and the big bathroom are clean. I could not ask for more. Their kitchen staffs are excellent. Yummy pasta. Tried most of what's in their menu. We loved it. Except the pancakes. The Discover Scuba Diving (DSD) course was a boost to our experience. Father n 2 girls tried and it's a feat that they'll never forget! We've been to a lot of places and resorts that offer diving lessons but I think it's by divine providence that we chose to give it a try at Acqua. Anna and Li, you're the best instructors!!! And ohh!! With all the nice facilities and good food, nothing can beat the warm treatment we got from all the staff and the owners. Sean/Shaun?,even drove us to the highway to wait for a ride (we wanted to try the Ceres bus to Dumaguete).They even drove to the place where hubby got off the bus just to bring my girl's phone which she left at the resort. Hats off!

Reviewed January 15, 2017
9.7
Exceptional
Francis from Belgium
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Best price value in wonderful private scenery !”

Top beachfront location 33 km from Dumaguete but right in front.of diveparadise Apo island. Small size (6 rooms) and luxerious stay with beautiful equiped (furniture & pool) garden.

This was definitely my loveliest stay as a budget/middle class traveller during my holidays in the Philipines. The ultimate experience of private feeling with excellent cooking ( the best mango shake ever and free sunset drink!) and very professional diving facilities ( +/- 20 minutes by nice own boat to welknown Apo Island). The garden is perfectly mainframes and has all kind of most luxerious furniture (incl. double hammock) around the pool. The owners Sean and Shae are most friendly and able to think out of the box to customize your stay and future travels or activities. Their local staff deserve also all my appreciation for the perfect & customer friendly service at autisme. Funny girls too! Although it`s quite remote (extra transportation cost one way = 400 PHP tricycle or 1000 PHP Van hire) from Dumaguete village, this is certainly a place to return to when I shall revisit Negros Island.

Reviewed December 15, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Brigette from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Almost like your own private villa”

friendly staff and owners lush garden and furniture for relaxing

Although only there for snorkeling Apo Island we had a wonderful time thanks to really nice staff. Shaun and Che where wonderful hosts giving us advice on what to do and where to go. They helped us to organise a trip to Apo Island and to Oslob to swim with the Whale Sharks. Staff packed us lunches, and the food was amazing. The Gardens and pool where lovely for relaxing. Shaun and Che went out of their way to ensure we were happy, they even lent us some equipment when some of our failed, helping us to make the most of our visit. Would thoroughly recommend Acqua Dive to anybody visiting the area and would love to return someday soon.

Reviewed December 13, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
YI from China
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

Nice boss and beatuiful resort”

The boss is very nice, resort is beatiful and clean, the employee are all very kind, they care your thought.

This is a villa which face the sea, it is beautiful and clean. The boss and his wife are all very nice, they free upgrade our room to a bigger one. So we don't need move from downstair to upstair's room. He helped us arrange our tour. In Oslob watching waleshark tour, he helped us arrange go to see waterfall as well, what a pleasant tour, there are 5 levels, and you can find new surprise in each level, we really enjoy it. And in APO snrokeling day tour. We saw turtle and many colorful corals, Those tour are all very good and reasonable price, thanks Sean. The only thing that I hope it can be improved is the light in the cafe, it should be more bright then we can see our BBQ food. Highly recommend this hotel. It is your chocie if you want a beatiful and quiet and warm place.

Reviewed September 07, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Kay from Philippines
Group
Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015

Amazing Dumaguete Experience”

Very accomodating hosts, breathtaking view from balcony, yummy food

We had a wonderful stay at the resort. The hosts, Chae and Sean, were very accomodating. They always asked us if we're good or if there's anything that we need. The resort itself had a very cozy feel, which made us all forget about work and just enjoy the vacation. The resort had big servings of food and it tastes divine, especially the messy burger and the French toast combined with ice cream...YUM! :) The resort's location is also great since it's just about 30 to 40 minutes ride from the airport and a boat ride away from Apo Island. The resort also offers exciting activities such as scuba diving and snorkeling in Apo Island and many more. We tried the Discover Scuba Diving and the experience was wonderful. Me and my friends will definitely go back to Acqua Dive to have a swim with the sea turtles. :)

Reviewed August 30, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Aleksi from Finland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

Perfect”

Staff and quality (in everything)

Just what I needed. Spotless high quality place in peaceful environment. Left there well fed and rested. Staff was very helpfull and everything worked perfectly. Trips and dives seemed also very nice though I didn't went. I recommend sincerely.

Reviewed April 18, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Railla from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

Beautiful resort!:)”

Location, rooms, friendly staff.

Our stay the resort was really great!:) We had a bit of trouble finding it at first because they have recently relaunched and changed the name of the resort so there are no road signs yet and the locals were not familiar with the new name. The owner was very easy to contact though, and she immediately sent someone to pick us up from where we were.:) We booked a Standard room but the owner upgraded us to the poolside room which was really nice and private. We were the only guests booked in the resort at the time but the staff was very attentive and helpful. The garden and the pool was very clean and well,kept. The food is a little expensive (Manila prices) but is very good. They use quality ingredients and the servings are big.:) When you stay here you will feel more like a house guest than a client, and I mean that in a good way! The owners are very friendly and nice.:) If Apo Island is your ultimate desination, it is better to book here than in the pricy hotels in Dauin. Its very close to Malatapay Market where the boats going to the Island are docked.

Reviewed June 11, 2014
8.4
Excellent
Lea
Couple
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Excellent”

We enjoyed our stay. Tipsy turtle serves really delicious and fresh food!

Reviewed February 18, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Jan from Philippines
Group
Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Exceptional”

perfect place. just need more exhaust so the smell from kitchen doesn't get into the rooms.

Reviewed May 09, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Levon from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018

Great Scuba Location”

If you want to relax and scuba this is the place top notch resort with the comforts of home and plus

Reviewed April 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
reyray from United States
Couple
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

Exceptional”

one of the great small hotel I been.Pool was awesome and the food.walking distance to the pier going to apo

Reviewed April 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
siqi from China
Group
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

wondeful”

like here very much and we will come back again 😊

Reviewed February 25, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
siqi from China
Group
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

wonderful”

like here very much~i will come back again~

Reviewed February 15, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Diana from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017

NICE DIVING PLACE, BUT A BIT FAR FROM RESTOS, STORE ETC. ”

Offers great food. Excellent place since most of us are divers, but so many hidden charges revealed only upon checkout

Reviewed February 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
lani from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017

excellent”

room - spacious toilet and bath - looks and smells clean pool and surroundings - relaxing staff - courteous, great customer service owner - very hands on. house dog - well trained and friendly.

Reviewed August 23, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Ricky from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple Room with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

Feel at home in this Hotel ”

Awesome place to Dive and snorkeling. Feel at home in this hotel clean great and satisfaction.

Reviewed September 10, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Primitivo from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Exceptional”

Very friendly and considerate staff. Location is good, not too far from dumaguete city proper and inclusions in the Snorkeling were worth the price with very friendly tour guides.

Reviewed November 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
HIU from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Deluxe Triple Room with Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Amazing place”

Helpful staff, fantastic building, clean floor, clear pool and big room! So miss that place and I much be back! Thank you for the helpful staff

Reviewed June 16, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Liona from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018

Nice place, I liked it. ”

Food I liked very much, the snorkelling tour and the staff in general is very helpful. The garden is beautiful.

Reviewed June 01, 2018
7.6
Very good
Stephen from United States
Couple
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

a bit of a hike”

The reminder email from Agoda asked if I agree with a property rating of Superb (9.3). While we liked our stay at the Acqua Dive Resort, I can't agree with the rating. For many, the main problem will be the location and its accessibility. It's a great place relative to getting a boat to Apo Island, but there's no convenient way to get to the resort: just a local bus or paying Php1000 for a van. The latter is wildly overpriced unless you are traveling in a group, but the other options are limited. The property is essentially a private home that has been converted into a small boutique(?) resort. Given this situation, it lacks local transport and other services you might expect from a full-service resort. Also, perhaps lacking economies of scale, Acqua is generally fairly pricey for both accommodation and food; only diving fees seemed to be the right ballpark. I can only recommend Acqua under a couple of circumstances: you want a place that is small, quiet and secluded OR you don't have much time and other options aren't available. Otherwise, I suggest taking a bit more time and staying at one of the resorts on Siquijor, perhaps near Paliton or Tubod beaches.

Reviewed August 05, 2016
7.7
Very good
RAY from Singapore
Couple
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

Truly one of the best ”

The room we had was facing Apo Island with a large balcony to sip some tea and enjoy the the sunrise. Room was very spacious and kept clean. Swimming pool was great if one needs to just cool off.

We made a last minute booking and we were not disappointed. Airport pick up was arranged for us at the Dumagete airport. Great dive shop if you are into scuba diving. The dive master Gibson is one you can trust if you have not been diving for a while. My wife did a refresher with Gibson and all went well. Sean, the owner, was absolutely friendly. On the day of our check out, there were some confusion over the charges. No fault of the resort though. After we paid up and left for the airport, I received an email from Sean to say that I was overcharged by PHP500 and he could make a refund or give me a credit note for my next trip. I was like "wow, awesome". I am not surprised to notice why the rooms are already filling for December. Keep it up Acqua!!!!

Reviewed September 07, 2015
6.8
Good
John from Philippines
Group
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

Friendly owner and staff”

Owner was very accomodating, staff was kind as well. Was able to cater to our requests

Reviewed May 19, 2017
7.6
Very good
lizhou from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in May 2015

Good”

Good service with best atmosphere near Apo

Reviewed April 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
peiying from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018

Exceptional”

It is a great place to stay

Reviewed April 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Zhiyong
Family with young children
Deluxe Triple Room with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

Exceptional”

it is very close to Apo island, 20 mins by boat. and very good price 12.

Reviewed February 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Charity from Philippines
Group
Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017

Awesome!”

Location is so near when you go apo island. Like 5mins walk. Room is so clean and spacious. Owner is so friendly and the dive master :) Highly recommended.

Reviewed September 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Edwin from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017

Near Apo Island. Easy to go there without waking up so early in the morning.”

Excellent hospitality

Reviewed July 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Joel from United States
Group
Deluxe Triple Room with Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017

Acqua Dive Resort”

Terrific Resort. Excellent managers run a great dive operation too. Helpful staff. Clean and safe location. Close to Apo Island and Dauin divesites.

Reviewed May 24, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Lea from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Twin Room with Garden View
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Highly recommended”

The foods are great!! Staffs are accomodating!!

Reviewed April 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Hua
Family with teens
Superior Triple Room with Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017

Exceptional”

Service is good, house is clean, just far away from city.

Reviewed February 25, 2017