Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 131 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

natasha from South Africa
Business travelers
Superior Single
Stayed one night in November 2012
Good location but small and out-dated rooms
Good reception and bar/lounge area
Good location in the heart of the city but the room was small and grey(Room 612). The TV was old, the mattress not very good )I think it wa foam) and the bedding had stains on it. The lobby just outside the room/lift (6th floor)was dirty and the whole atmosphere felt like a cheap hotel. There was not enough lighting on the sixth floor and i didnt feel safe as the room door has no card system but a manual lock that looks easy to break and the door had a gap between it and the floor...so if you looked under the door, you could see into the room! The coffee/tea making facilities was inadequate as it was just a kettle and two cups with coffee/tea on a shelf in the wall..no table to make the coffee/tea. Definitely wont stay there again as it was not value for money and i could have stayed in a better larger chain of hotels for less money but more value. I checked out at 10pm and went to stay at another hotel and at reception no-one even questioned why i was checking out early!
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rodney from Australia
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 6 nights in October 2012
a good basic tourist hotel ver centrally located
location, good bed, friendly service. wi-fi in room
The rooms were a good size with a comfortable bed. All rooms have free wi-fi. The breakfast was adequate with a good variety available to suit all nationalities. The safe in our room needed replacing and this took awhile but was done after a couple of calls. The location is just accross the road from the main railway station and bus terminal. The Red Tourist bus passes by and it is a short walk to the nearest stop (pity it is not at railwat station opposite).
Reviewed November 08, 2012

Peter from Malaysia
Business travelers
Superior Double
Stayed 7 nights in September 2012
Clean and Service Staff Excellent
Service Staff
After reading a few negative reviews about the hotel before we arrived we were pleasantly surprise that none of the reviews were right. We found a hotel that was clean and the service staff was excellent on all counts. The Doorman - Thys was especially special and a real asset to the hotel. A wonderful stay.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Noor from Malaysia
Couples
Superior Single
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012
Great location but quite a small room.
Within walking distance to the city center.
The hotel provided with very basic toiletteris - only body wash was provided. The management should look into this.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

J from Philippines
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Awesome stay, good location
Very accomodating, upgraded our room
-Nice location, city center -Accessible to taxi cab -Rooms are small -Breakfast must be improve -Walking distance to Afred & Victoria Wharf, good for shopping and dining -We are fortunate they upgraded our room to a better room and new hotel. Sister company hotel name is Strands Hotel
Reviewed May 06, 2012

REGINA from United States
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 6 nights in March 2012
Great location and friendly employees
Employees went out of their way to help in any way possible and were always available
i had asked for a high floor with lots of sunlight and a view of signal hill or table mtn. we check in and the room had a cubbyhole of a window, a view of an unattractive commercial building and was dark. i was too tired the first night but the next day i explained the situation and that afternoon we had a sunny room with a view of signal hill. a few days later we had a problem with the lock on our room door. they then transferred us to a major upgrade which was a studio suite with terrace,great view on a higher floor. all in all for the price this was a great deal. they also upgraded us to the breakfast buffet (which was quite good)
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Bonita from South Africa
Groups
Superior Single
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Excellent location for Cape Argus Cycle tour
water fountain
i think the rooms need a bot of an upgrade. The staff seem a bit miserable- especially the dining room staff
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Silvia from Mozambique
Couples
Superior Single
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Centrum of town, nice breakfast
It was a lovely stay, just think some of the rooms needs renovation as they start to look quite old
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Jair from South Africa
Couples
Superior Single
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Great Location, friendly staff
Great Location, good breakfast and is included in room price, very friendly and helpful staff.
hotel was a little dated. bed sheets were too small for the bed, and came off during the night. bathroom window had a light curtain, on a large window, which allow people from outside to see through at night, so when showering we were unable to keep the lights on in the bathroom. staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was more than adequate, and location is great. overall a very nice place.
Reviewed January 07, 2012

Zukiswa from South Africa
Couples
Superior Single
Stayed 4 nights in September 2011
well located,beautiful hotel
big rooms, friendly staff
i enjoyed my stay, the hotel is beautiful and the staff was always smiling, i would not mind staying there again.
Reviewed November 18, 2011


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: