Book Now: Alona Kew White Beach Resort

Alona Kew White Beach Resort Reviews

Good
From 684 reviewsSee what guests said
6.7

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (684)
6.7
Good
From 684 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness6.6
Facilities6.2
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality6.8
Service6.6
Value for money6.0
Food and dining5.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
한국어
more
Room type
Superior
Suite
Executive
Executive Suite Beach Front
more
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 604 verified guest comments
4.0
steven from Australia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 7 nights in December 2017
In need of update 20 years ago
Not surprisingly they are building a new hotel on the beach front; the hotel is in great need of a complete gutting and renovation! Leaking windows, no hot water, no WiFi so be wary as this is far from the claims made on the various hotel websites.
Reviewed January 04, 2018
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Nishe from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Very good
We had a great stay in the resort. We actually booked a superior room but we were designated to their suite room wherein we enjoyed our stay.. Their rooms are clean coz of their daily room service.. We'll just be surprised coz our room is already clean once we get back and that proves how trustworthy their staffs were.. Cons --- their extra pax is quite expensive.. (1,100php/night) for just a single matress and free breakfast. All in all it's a great resort to stay
Reviewed January 03, 2018
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.2
Rex from Philippines
Couple
Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
far from beach front
ongoing renovations. far from beach
Reviewed January 01, 2018
Did you find this review helpful?|
2.4
Marvin from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
No direct access to the beach.
No Access to the beach. Staff didn't not give heads-up on the dangerous walk outside their resort just to go to the beach. Very dangerous for kids. The rooms are old and dirty. I ended up booking another resort very close to the beach in the end. I highly recommend to stay away from this place and book other resorts very close to the wonderful beach of Alona.
Reviewed December 31, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
2.8
Martin from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Worst room I've ever been in. NOT beachfront property due to constructions.
Worst decision I made in Bohol. First, they will not inform you before you pay and confirm your booking that their access to the beachfront is CLOSED for now due to renovations and construction. You will need to go all the way around the road just to go to the beach front and would not have sun beds for you to lounge by the beach. Their beachfront property is completely inaccessible and this makes the stay very much of an inconvenience. Thus, they are falsely advertising the resort as a beachfront property. Second, their room is the worst. Badly lighted, the bed sheets are very cheap sockets don't work properly. The bathroom is the worst I've ever seen in a hotel. Even a hostel bathroom is cleaner than theirs. The tiles are so filthy that you just avoid to get close to it. The water pressure from the shower is similar to a drizzle of rain. Would never stay here again and I don't recommend you to waste your money here. Find better places by the beachfront at similar rates.
Reviewed December 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
2.0
RAMANAN from Philippines
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Horrible stay in a suite
One night stay in a suite. Toilet stinks, bathroom tub couldn’t flush, no hot water, no clean towels, access to swimming pool is not convenient. You have to walk on the street to reach the beach. No access to the beach. Not worth staying here.
Reviewed December 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
Junnel from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
DO NOT BOOK UNTIL SUMMER2018. CONSTRUCTION ON GOING NO DIRECT ACCESS TO BEACH
Alona Kew should have advise their guests on the website that there is an ongoing construction and no access to beach. and provide value add by giving discount with their rooms by 50%. we were disappointed. it takes around 10min to walk around to get a common access to the beach.
Reviewed November 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
John from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Very friendly hotel with a good central setting to amenities.
Only downfall during our visit was the access to the beach due to building alterations & additions to the hotel beach area. Even this did not stop the short walk to the clean white sand beach. Boats for tours & diving caused some areas of the beach to be difficult to use & had no consideration for swimmers.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
10.0
jose from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
excellent and very nice hotel
We should enjoy more in staying but due to 2 typhones and too much rain we stayed for 2 nights only
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
2.8
Josephine from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017
They should really fix their bathroom before they let customers check-in.
Please make sure your bathroom fixtures are working good before letting customers use the rooms and clean or maybe fumigate before they accept clients. There were big cockroaches in the room while we were sleeping 😳😱😔 it was definitely not worth the money we paid for. I will upload the photos if there was an option for posting photos here. It was a nightmare!
Reviewed September 22, 2017
3 travelers found this review helpful. Did you?|
7.2
Theresa from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
you get what you pay for!
Well I cant give so good review in this place since it was on renovation when i stayed there.. the beach is not accessible due to renovation.. pool is ok and good for kids.. food is ok.. but i only pay cheap but i get more than what i paid..
Reviewed September 15, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Anthony from Australia
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
It was quite nice. The place is surrounded with restaurants
The only problem when we were there is the terrible noise from the bar as they are having a concert which right in front of our room. They should have a time limit for their noise pollution so the guest form Alona Kew can sleep peacefully
Reviewed September 04, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
sir from Philippines
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
everything is near perfect except the front desk staff who are not corteous and just stares at you.
all other staff are near excellent including maintenance because they will greet you but the front desk are not corteous.
Reviewed June 26, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
ayla from Philippines
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Exceptional
Loved evrything about the hotel and the place
Reviewed June 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Jeff from United States
Couple
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Overall Alona Kew is a great place to stay.
Pros Great location Great beach Spacious room (I had a suite) Refrigerator Water heater for snacks and drinks Friendly professional staff Nice swimming pool Sufficient breakfast Many shops and restaurants in walking distance Cons The bathtub in the shower/tub combination is somewhat of a hazard. It is very tall therfore a shorter or disabled person may have a problem with entering and exiting. Also the tub is cast for sitting so it has a curved bottom. Standing in it to take a shower may be a challenge to some people. This is compounded by not having a slip resistant surface. The hotel should replace these with a safer tub or just a stand-up shower stall. The faucets in the bathroom are old and don't work as well as expected for this caliber of a hotel. They should be replaced with modern and better working fixtures. I would also recommend housekeeping leave two rolls of toilet paper in the bathrooms instead of one. Toilet paper rolls are flimsy and small in the Philippines.
Reviewed May 20, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
8.8
Angelito from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
Good Location
Good location.....
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Edwin from Philippines
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
Satisfactory
Lots of mosquitoes at lounge area at entrance to the lobby. Cockroach in our room. A snob behind the front desk.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Moonyeel from Philippines
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
The pool has no life guard
The room is clean and the staff are friendly
Reviewed April 15, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Christian from Singapore
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
BEST LOCATION
best location of all. party.people.beach all in one place.
Reviewed April 08, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.8
Katherine from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Not worth the Price
The staff are polite. However, the requested items I indicated on my booking were not granted (like the hairdryer and 3rd towel for my kid). I had to call the reception for the towel but I did not bother requesting for the dryer. The bed seems like a double bed instead of a queen sized. The room is not well cleaned. The room is too dim. I wonder how older people could see clearly with that kind of lighting. The airconditioner is quite old. The heater is grounded. There's a tingling sensation everytime I hold the shower head. The heater is not installed properly. The most irritating of all is that the amount of water coming out of the shower is too little. It's really hard to shower when in a hurry especially for me, who has long and thick mane. This hotel is overpriced!
Reviewed March 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.0
Kari from Sweden
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Not to recommend
I had booked a room with garden view and balcony. The room given was a room without balcony and no garden view. They gave me 3 rooms at the beginning which all were already occupied. Extremely unprofessional staff in the reception. Shower didn't work properly and water leaked out on the floor. TV didn't work well. No WiFi in the room. No saftey box in the room. Don't expect too much from the breakfast Good thing was, though, the size of the room and the location (close to the beach and many restaurants). Hotel room was also pretty quiet, which was good. Comfortable beds. For almost the same price you could get a 5 star hotel next to this hotel, but it was unfortunately already fully booked.
Reviewed March 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.2
Eberhard from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Over priced
Location is on beach, noisy, but cottages are old and could use overhaul.
Reviewed March 04, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
5.6
Kyaw from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Great location but service & facility is so so
Location is great. Cleanliness is just okay. Breakfast is not good. Staff are not very helpful but okay. Water supply stopped during shower. Price is considered not cheap for room conditions.
Reviewed February 16, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Maria from Philippines
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Cleanliness of room
Cleanliness of room.
Reviewed January 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
Ran from Israel
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Only the location is good! room doesn't looks good or clean
Overpriced, not clean. the bedsheets and towels needs to be renew. they didn't clean my room or made the bed on the next day... very disappointing
Reviewed January 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Elizabeth from United States
Group
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Overall it's a good place to stay I recommend the suite room.
I like Alone Kew cause it's in the center of everything. What I don't like is the wifi. You can only use them when your in the lobby or at the beach front.
Reviewed January 26, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Ross from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Not worth the money. There are better deals on the beach. The room is not very nice.
No internet except in lobby. Room not good. Location is good. Restaurant is not bad.
Reviewed January 19, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Patrick from Australia
Family with teens
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Value for money
Central and close to the beach
Reviewed January 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
Marie from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Staffs are friendly but good for 3days stay, shouldnt have stayed more.
Staffs are friendly the room was ok.
Reviewed January 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.4
David from Hong Kong
Couple
Executive Suite Beach Front
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
good stay, good location
breakfast buffet was a bit dissapointing, but overall a good choice of hotel
Reviewed January 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Ali from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Not worth the price but staff was wonderful
The staff was very kind and helpful and they serve breakfast on the beach which was nice. Wish there were more vegan/vegetarian options. I found it wasn't worth the price.
Reviewed January 08, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Margarette from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Memorable post Christmas Vacay at Alona Kew
My family and I had a wonderful 2-night stay at the hotel. The ambiance, pool, staff and breakfast were amazing. The location itself is a plus since it is located at the beachfront. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.
Reviewed January 05, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Hazel
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 8 nights in December 2016
Need of maintenance
Nice personell but would need restauration, at least the rooms/huts close to the beach. Might be better in the main building.
Reviewed December 31, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
3.2
HOSSEIN from Australia
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Awful place very dated and its not good value for money
did not really enjoy my stay
Reviewed December 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.4
Matthew from Singapore
Group
Suite
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
Very Expensive for a Basic Hotel with No Wi-fi
This is a basic hotel that happens to be located right on the beach. So if the location is your priority you may not mind paying so much. The pool is also basic, but nice. The only wi-fi is at the bar or in the lobby and it is problematic. The breakfast is really not good. Just eggs, hot dogs and toast that is pre-cooked, kept in a warmer and served upon order with powdered juice, and bad coffee. There is not even fresh milk for the coffee, only powdered creamer. Our room was big, but very basic with old furnishings and not even a hair dryer until requested. The staff we interacted at were very nice, polite and as accommodating as the facilities allowed. We really enjoyed the bar staff. They are all quite charming and fun. I will say that the house cleaners could clean a bit better. I saw them sweeping, but since the hotel is on the beach the floors could get quite gritty with sand and sea. They really should mop a bit. They also left dirty cups and glasses daily rather than swapping them out.
Reviewed December 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.2
Sze from Malaysia
Group
Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Meet some expectation of hotel.
At first our rooom's air cond is not functioning, then we have to shift to another room. The floor is a bit sticky; no lift to second floor. Near jetty to island hoping.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Maureen from Philippines
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
affordable and clean accomodation in Alona beach
the room we booked was spacious and clean..there were cabinets for our clothes, side table, tv, fridge..it's pretty comfy..and you just have to walk a few meters to go to the beachfront area...there are many choices for food outside the resort as well..i wish their rates are cheaper though...but i guess accomodations within alona beach are quite expensive compared to other areas..i also wish that the staff are as accomodating to local guests as they are to foreign tourists...
Reviewed November 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Florendo from Philippines
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Great Place in the Heart of Alona Beach
If your here to enjoy company of other people, this place is for you. Place is at the heart of Alona Beach where all night life is centered. Food is just 4/5 in terms of variety. I don't recommend eating at their restaurant for your lunch/dinner, but their breakfast buffet is the cheapest along side the beach. Tip, always pick your bookings with free breakfast to save you the hassle of searching for a place to have breakfast.
Reviewed November 05, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
5.2
Ruel from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Not so good overall
The food, location, and ambiance are good enough, but not the room facility - it totally sucks.
Reviewed September 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
vered from Israel
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
basic
facility is very basic
Reviewed August 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
FELY from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
GREAT LOCATION
its solemn, clean and staff is great. and its cheaper
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Jocelyn from Philippines
Group
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Front desk Needs work on customer service
Basic no nonsense hotel. One of the staff at the front desk needs plenty of training on customer service. She was always on her mobile phone and looks annoyed whenever we ask questions. They also need to learn how to respond timely to customer queries sent via email. I sent several requests to arrange for transfers to the hotel but sadly did not receive any reply from them. The waiting staff at the restaurant by the beach were very attentive and courteous though.
Reviewed August 07, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Marissa from Philippines
Couple
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Suite Room
Their suite room should not be classified as a suite as it doesn't seem to meet the standard of a Suite Room. When we arrived amenities are not complete. Shower holder is broken, toilet is not flushing and fridge is full of rust, qualities of towels need to change. Staff at reception are helpful but not smiling. Overall they need to upgrade the suite room.
Reviewed August 02, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Albert from Australia
Couple
Executive Suite Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Well positioned
The positioning was good on the beachfront but that is about all that is good. The breakfast was cold and disappointing, there is no in room safe (you can use theirs at the front office for 100pesos) and my impression was that it was all too big to provide a good quality of service.
Reviewed August 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Andrew from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
All about location!
Don't focus on the outdated room, this place is all about location (right on the beach) and the great staff!! They could improve the breakfast. We would stay there again!! Be sure to go off-season, which means July & August, cause Alona Beach will be jammed during Filipino summer, April til mid-June.
Reviewed July 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.4
drina from Indonesia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
zzz
zzz
Reviewed July 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Greg from United States
Family with teens
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Overpriced for what you get
Very slow service for breakfast. Nothing special about meals. Room was ok but the first thing I saw in the restroom was a dead cockroach. Location is fine if you want to be hustled all day by vendors and dirty kids with toy guitars.
Reviewed July 07, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Jonah from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Holiday well spent
Alona Kew definitely lived up to it's name and reviews. Very scenic, spacious, and relaxing. Panglao is definitely one of my top holiday spots.
Reviewed May 18, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.4
Emmanuel from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Horrible hotel! Stay away
We stayed there for just a night. The hotel staff could not even assist us in getting a transfer from the hotel to the port. All they could say is 600 pesos but you can find it outside . They didn't even bother helping us find our own transportation so despite the heat we have to look for our transportation. Complimentary breakfast was a joke! Canned corned beef and hotdogs and eggs and 3 in 1 coffee. The bathroom does not flush properly. The hotel is old and definitely needs uprgrading! I would not recommend this hotel! Horrible horrible experience!
Reviewed April 18, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
jared from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
The place was ok and clean except for the CR
The place was ok and clean except for the CR
Reviewed April 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|