Excellent 8.3
Based on 135 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 135 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 8.5
Sort by

Mareike from Australia
Couples
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed one night in December 2015
Sleepless night in a room next to generator
Kayaking,
First of all we were not really lucky with the weather and found the whole Halong Bay experience too touristy and overcrowded. That may affect our bad rating as well... Good was: - Tourguide tried really hard to make it a unique experience and already started in the bus to tell us a bit more about Vietnam. His English was good. - We enjoyed the kayaking in the bay a lot - the visit at the cave was nice, but we started the tour with about 300 other people from the other boats (general problem with guided tours in Vietnam) - the bus for transportation was new Bad was: - The ship and the rooms were not as good as expected. The whole ship needs a renovation, the rooms are not that clean. In the bathroom there was just a wooden window with blinds which you could not close. The shower was just a metal box with not enough hot water and the appliances were pretty old. - Just hot water and air-con between from 6pm-6am - We had the room next to the generator which ran the whole night -so no sleep - The indoor space on the ship with bar and dining-area lacked love and detail. The bar stools were not prepared (just stacked in a corner and we had to set up everything ourselves), the dining tables were not well positioned so that not everybody had a view on to the bay and there were just a tiny old couch to sit on in case of bad weather. - the supplied food was at most average and the drink prices were ridiculously high. - unmotivated staff on the boat including the manager (were just looking at his mobile phone and played very loud techno music) - on the way to and back from Halong Bay they stop at a big souvenir shop and justify it with a necessary stop for the driver and cleaning of the air-con - hahahahaha All in all I would not recommend this boat. If you really want to see Halong Bay and you do not mind visiting it with a million other people and boats at the same time, invest in a nice boat with great facilities.
Reviewed January 11, 2016

Balazs from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Good value, especially with good weather
Good food, numerous excursions, and very friendly staff
The stay with Alova Gold was really pleasant. It's not anything flashy, but the tour is a good value for the price paid. The best aspects included very friendly, professional, and trustworthy staff, including one of the guides named Hieu. The captain of the boat is also a well-dressed gentleman, somewhat unexpected. The food is really delicious, and if the weather weren't so cloudy/rainy (late December), then the kayaking and outdoor activities would have been much better. The tour does include pickup at your hotel in Hanoi (recommended), and the trip to Halong includes a couple of requisite stops at a souvenir tourist trap, but this seems to be standard with all operators, and there is no pressure to buy anything. It's best as a coffee/WC break. The three-day two-night excursion is worthwhile only if the weather is good; otherwise there is a lot of leisure time. Our tour included a hike up to Titop island (excellent 360-degree panoramas), a descent into an impressive but crowded cave ("Amazing Cave"), kayaking twice around some superb lagoons, and a stop at a pearl "museum" (again, a place to spend money if you wish, but there was no pressure to purchase). Again, this is a great, balanced trip if the weather is decent.
Reviewed January 06, 2016

Fara from United States
Solo travelers
Deluxe Twin 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed one night in December 2015
Cruise
Great staff, wonderful food and most importantly, Toni the tour guide
Usually I stay away from tours, to my very pleasant surprise, this was so much fun and very well organized. Very honest and accurate in their description of the tour with a wonderful, knowledgable, sweet and helpful tour guide. Thank you Tony
Reviewed December 04, 2015

Soh from Singapore
Solo travelers
Deluxe Twin 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed one night in October 2015
Good and pleasant experience
The staff, cleanliness of the boat, and meals.
I would rate it as 3 stars but not 4 stars.
Reviewed October 06, 2015

Patrick from United States
Solo travelers
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed one night in August 2015
Excellent service on a nice boat
Staff, food, activities
The food was absolutely delicious and I am a bit food obsessed. Staff was friendly and fun. The boat is in good shape and the rooms are very nice. Guide was great with activities and scheduling.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

remko from Netherlands
Couples
Deluxe Twin 3 Days 2 Nights Full Board
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Okish
Location, food,
Nice scenery, boat was outdated. Too many tourists!
Reviewed July 22, 2015

Anthony from Australia
Couples
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed one night in June 2015
Disappointing
Expensive. Treated like children. Would not recommend.
Reviewed July 14, 2015

Doss from United States
Groups
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed one night in July 2015
Ha Long Happenings!
Good food, cool rocks, getting drunk.
it would've been better if they'd included drinks in the total price instead of nickel and diming us with water and booze like some sleazy roadside hotel in the United States.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

Kah from Malaysia
Groups
Deluxe Twin 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed one night in February 2015
Travel with old folks
Foods is nice, Sunny tour guide is nice, kayaking
The boat seems abit old, but i think generally all cruise almost the same. Our toilet door locked by itself, luckily the technician managed to open it. Personally, need to improve the hygience of the boat. My parent and us enjoyed the food demo & they serve nice foods.
Reviewed July 09, 2015

Philip from United Kingdom
Couples
Deluxe Double 2 Days 1 Night Full Board
Stayed one night in March 2015
a misty trip into a beautiful bay.
staff- tour guide was very friendly and informative. food - yummy local cuisine cooked on the boat. view from our bedroom when we woke up.
The trip consisted of one night and two half days. The bus ride there was quite bumpy however sitting at back contributed to that. We started off with a trip to tip top mountain....steep climb to top.probably not achievable if you suffer from vertigo or have heart problems. We had food provided for us and happy hour on boat. Following day we visited a cave. Full of other tourists making same trip . The cruise was small compared to others. Good in some respects as staff were attentive however as there were only 13 of us at times the forced nature of the cruise was a little difficult. I guess what would have made it totally amazing was if we had a group that all jelled together. Perhaps if we had been there longer this may have been achieved. Tour guide was super lovely, smiley, and a very good tint keeper.
Reviewed March 14, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: