Book Now: Amba Taipei Ximending

Excellent
From 3850 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
/
10
Recommended by 97% of guests

Reviews of Amba Taipei Ximending Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (3850)Booking.com Reviews (272)
8.4
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities8.1
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.6
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (3850)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 2892 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Tin from Hong Kong
Group
Medium Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Great”

This is my second time staying at Amba Taipei Ximending, last time was 2014. The place is still in very good condition and the staffs are still very friendly and helpful. I booked a 2-bed twin room, the room is spacious enough, all the facilities are great, if I have to be picky then would be the pillows are too soft if you like hard pillows. Location is great, lots of great food and shopping around the area especially it is connected to the Eslite Mall. Would stay here again for sure.

Reviewed May 14, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Lim from Singapore
Solo traveler
Smart Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

Good location ”

Nothing bad I could add on. Could only say the best hotel in the area.

Reviewed May 20, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Lim from Singapore
Solo traveler
Medium King
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Good service and nice location”

A nice and clean hotel. Room is spacious. Location is near to the train station and you won’t get hungry at any timing. Thou price is slightly costly but I could say is the best hotel in xmd

Reviewed May 19, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Shi from Singapore
Group
Smart Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2019

Clean rooms ”

Located in Ximending, rooms were clean. Will recommend friends to stay.

Reviewed May 17, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Sherry from United States
Business traveler
Medium King
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Unique boutique hotel ”

Amba is in the middle of Ximending - the shopping / hangout area for young people. The hotel of Amba is just above of a department store which is super convenient. I've stayed here in a multiple occasions and it won't be the last.

Reviewed April 07, 2019
8.0
Excellent
maureen from Singapore
Solo traveler
Extra Large Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Short Stay”

The location of Amba Hotel is fantastic! It's right in the center of the bustling Xinmending. If I ever book Amba again, it will be for its location. They have helpful and friendly staff. That's another plus point. As for room, it's pretty basic nothing to WOW about. I booked their extra large room. Comfortable for a short stay.

Reviewed March 30, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Marlene from Philippines
Group
Medium King
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

Location a big plus”

Being on a pedestrian street shopping is so convenient esp for our group who are out on day tours daily. All we have to do is freshen up at day’s end, dine out and get into a shopping frenzy. Shops close really late around 10pm or so on weekends. The hotel itself is from 5th floor up, check in and check out is a breeze even for 15 pax. Staff are efficient and friendly, even reminded us to use their umbrellas during wet nights. Hotel rooms are new and sized well, separation of toilet and shower area a really good idea. But I could have been happier with a bidet in toilet. The lower floors are occupied by a not so exciting department store though. Breakfast is sufficient enough to see you through lunch. I will not hesitate recommending this hotel to friends n family.

Reviewed March 28, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
wei from Malaysia
Couple
Medium Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Strategic location, Excellent Services ”

Situated right inside the Ximending area which is very convenient for the leisure traveler. Thumb up to their excellent service; when we check out they thoughtfully arrange the airport transport to reach on time, furthermore help us to bring all our luggage to the vehicle. Aside from that, we are grateful that the reception was generously extend 1 hour late check out for us when I mentioned to them that not feeling well. Definitely this always will be my first choice hotel to stay when I travel to Taipei.

Reviewed March 28, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
KOH from Singapore
Couple
Large King
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Best Hotel of my Trip”

Best hotel among the ones i stayed for my trip. Staff are extremely polite and service is very good! Both my husband and i enjoyed our stay there and will definitely come back if we were travelling to taiwan again. Strongly Recommended!

Reviewed March 11, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Vivian from Hong Kong
Group
Extra Large King
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

Exceptional”

Staffs are extremely helpful and friendly. Phoebe even went out all the way at 6 in the morning to catch a cab for us. Room is spacious, cozy and clean. Door of the shower room is semi-transparent though.

Reviewed March 10, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Diana from Philippines
Couple
Extra Large King
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Perfect Location & Great Service”

One thing I noticed, there is no bidet. We were not happy with the furnishings like the sofa seat and tables. I guess maybe because the hotel is promoting recycled products. They used drums as tables. But the bed was comfortable and so were the pillows and blanket. I did not like the layout. Like the kitchen sink was in between the toilet and shower area. I got an extra king size bed so I was pretty happy with the size of the room. But the great service and perfect location compensated it. Plus the place is basically clean.

Reviewed May 03, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Chuw from Malaysia
Couple
Large King
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Hotel with good location and decent room”

Hotel with good location is on the famous Ximending street. The room is open concept with decent supplies and very clean. Staff is nice as well. The hotel comes with free laundry and it is an extra value, although we have to queue for it, but it's free service, what do you expect.

Reviewed April 25, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Jiahui from Singapore
Family with young children
Medium King
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

Good for family with young kids”

Amba is about 5mins walking distance to the main walking street of Ximending, which in my opinion, is good as it wont be too noisy or rowdy at night for sleeping. The room is also spacious and comes with a big table, good for family with young kids to place milk bottles, utensils etc. As the hotel forbids cooking in room with portable cooker, they kindly provide us with porridge every morning free for our baby. Thank you for the kind gesture! Room is clean, water pressure is good for bathing, drainage system is good, towels are white (not yellowish). Nothing more to ask for!

Reviewed January 03, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Reynante from Philippines
Family with teens
Large King
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Great location, spacious room”

Location is great, in the middle of Ximending area and the cinema street. Food restaurants, cinemas and other stores are just outside. Lobby is located at the 5th floor of a department store. Rooms are spacious, included breakfast is good for the money, there is also a laundry area at the 6th floor should you need it. I would say the rooms are accessible for elderly. Street outside is closed to vehicle traffic at night and weekends, something to take note of when leaving or arriving via taxi.

Reviewed December 26, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Gilson from United States
Couple
Large King
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Excellent”

this is very good location ximending. the breakfast pretty good not as many choices but still clean n fresh. the rooms are very modern. the staff speaks english very well. they have free laundry. the only complain little far to the subway.

Reviewed December 21, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Julie from Singapore
Couple
Smart Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Convenient shopping location; walking distance to MTR”

Had a "Smart" room. Toilet and bathroom separated and open concept wash basin were all boon and bane. And the TV mounted on a side wall of the bed risks getting hit on the head as you get out of bed. Position for watching TV was also restrictive. But ample number of TV channels compensated for this. Buffet breakfast was not wide spread but sufficient to start your day. Traffic closure at certain times can disrupt your transport plans so need to take note. The best advantage is the proximity to Ximending shopping and eateries. Only if the stores open earlier than 11

Reviewed December 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Pui from Hong Kong
Couple
Smart Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Good and comfortable hotel”

Conveniently located and the room is clean. Staff are polite and helpful. Breakfast offers many choices with slightly changes everyday.

Reviewed May 07, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
lister from Singapore
Group
Medium Twin
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

Heart of xmd”

Super location! Downstairs u have everything! Shopping, food, bubble tea.... 10walk to mrt through xmd

Reviewed May 06, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Wing from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Large Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Excellent location with good room condition”

The location is unbeatable, and the room is in a great condition, they provide reusable slippers and love their environmental actions, will stay again if come to Taipei again

Reviewed May 01, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Wan from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Large King
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Highly recommend ”

Friendly helpful staff, clean and spacious room, would stay again

Reviewed April 29, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Karen from Singapore
Solo traveler
Medium Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Excellent”

Located at the heart of XMD, easy access to shopping street. But it's a bit pricey for solo traveler. Good breakfast spread and staff are friendly.

Reviewed April 28, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Ching from Singapore
Group
Medium Twin
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

Exceptional”

Great location , room was spacious and beds were very comfortable. Slept very well each night. The breakfast was delicious and there was a great variety of western and asian choices, as well as coffee and tea. I will definitely want to come back to amba soo !

Reviewed April 08, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Michelle from Singapore
Couple
Large King
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Wonderful stay here!”

Prior to our trip, we have read many positive reviews about this hotel and decided to stay here. We booked a large king room and the hotel upgraded us for free to an extra large king room. These are the reasons for staying here: - A pretty new hotel - Excellent service provided by the staff who speak good English - An easy 5-minute walk from Ximen Station - So many good eats and bubble tea stores nearby - Linked to a departmental store that sells L'herboflore products (a popular Taiwanese beauty brand) - Very clean rooms - Spacious rooms - Wide spread of delicious food (local and western cuisines) served at daily buffet breakfast - Love the idea of having a separate toilet and a shower room, which helps us to get ready faster in the mornings - Slippers and bathrobes provided in the room - Widescreen TV on a swivel screen with a wide variety of TV shows screened - Super comfortable bed and pillows (We had such a sleep during the nights!) Only negative point: - The main controls for the lights include the lights at the toilet area and the sleeping area. When I woke up earlier to get ready, I disturbed the sleep of my partner as the lights at the sleeping area were also turned on when I used the toilet/shower area. Thank you for the wonderful experience! We will definitely choose to stay at this hotel again when we revisit Taipei.

Reviewed March 31, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Marcus from United States
Couple
Large Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Chic hotel right in Ximending with great buffet breakfast”

We accidentally discovered this hotel four years ago when looking up breakfast places in Taipei. Then we just fell in love with its Taiwanese and Western style buffet breakfast in a fashionable bookstore-style space on the 5th floor. Four years later, we decided to stay here for the first time. Our "extra-large twin room" is on the top (10th) floor. It's spacious, quiet, and clean (no sewage smell!). Though the window has only a limited courtyard view, we had a comfortable stay. There's enough counter space -- a long table, round dining table, two chairs, and one leather reading chair. I especially enjoyed the high-quality shampoo/conditioner, tea bags which you can also buy, and complimentary water bottles (in a mini fridge) which are supplemented every day. Brandnew designer flipflops (you can take home) are a plus. The bed and linen are very comfortable. All staff is courteous. It'd be perfect, though, if there were a bidet in the toilet and place to hang towels.

Reviewed March 01, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Alex from Singapore
Couple
Large King
Stayed 5 nights in October 2018

Stay to understand how good it is”

*location is right smack middle of Ximending *hotel is just above Eslite shopping mall *24hr convenience stores just 5mins away *booked the Large room, just nice for a couple as room is large enough for 2 large luggages to be opened up on floor *room has a big table as well for food bought up to eat as supper *toilet is clean, bed linen fresh as well *staff are very friendly and helpful *definitely will stay here again

Reviewed November 04, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Ahmad from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Medium King
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Convenient and Great Place for Muslim Travellers ”

The staff are super friendly, breakfast for Muslim guests are prepared separately... a great effort by Amba Hotel to cater for different needs of their guests. Interesting decor throughout the hotel and most importantly it is in the middle of most happening place in Taipei

Reviewed September 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Bee from Singapore
Group
Large Twin Room
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018

Clean Spacious and worth the money”

I travelled to Taipei and stayed in Amba Taipei Ximending for 5 night. We book the large twin room. My mother and I love the room, we stayed at lvl 9, it is clean, quiet with simple decoration. We love the size of the room, with large twin bed (basically 2 double bed) it was very comfortable. The wash room and shower room are separated which we love! Love the wooden flooring, so much cleaner than carpet!!! Mosaic tiles the moment you entered the room, so are the toilet and shower room. We love how the room is designed. Clean, simple without large bulky furnitures. The hotel is right at the center of Ximending, making your shopping trip so much convenient. You dont even have to worry about easting and shopping because they are all within 5 minutes walking distance. Hotel breakfast is delicious, but 5 days with same kind of food can be a little boring, hopefully Amba will consider more varieties, otherwise we have no complaint about the food. LOVE IT and WILL STAY AGAIN!!!

Reviewed September 08, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Paul from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Smart Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Nice Hotel”

Great location in Ximending - will definitely go there again. One thing to note, car can not pull up to the hotel. You need to walk in a pedestrianised zone in the evening to get there, but just around the corner. Not so convenient if it is raining!

Reviewed September 02, 2018
8.4
Excellent
wei from Malaysia
Couple
Large Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Execellent location, Good vibes hotel ”

My friend do stay here before and strongly recommend me to stay at this hotel. Turn out the whole stay is quite pleasant..... like the location right at the ximending. Hotel is trendy, convenient, Eco-friendly as well as helpful staff.

Reviewed August 27, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Serena from Singapore
Couple
Smart Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Excellent”

Location was perfect. Really enjoyed our stay. Especially liked that the room was very well lit rather than dim so it wasn't eerie. Love the layout of the room. Super cosy. Only downside was that there was no gym within the hotel.

Reviewed June 29, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Chee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Medium King
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Located right in the center of Ximending”

The hotel is surrounded by shopping mall, restaurant, pub, gay sauna, gay gym (Taipei's famous gay gym "World Gym" is just opposite the building. This hotel is definitely for you if you are a nightlife animal.

Reviewed June 04, 2018
7.6
Very good
Tai from China
Group
Large Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

J from Hong Kong”

This is my second time to stay in the hotel which is young and modern in style. The location is convenient and surrounded by all sorts of shops and restaurants. Staff are nice and helpful too. We much enjoyed our 4-day trip in Taipei.

Reviewed April 29, 2019
8.8
Excellent
MARIA from Philippines
Family with teens
Large Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019

Excellent”

Place is easy to find. In a very busy area. Great for shopping and eating good food.

Reviewed May 15, 2019
8.4
Excellent
주영 from South Korea
Solo traveler
Medium Twin
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Best hotel in my travel history”

Every famous food&drinks were avilable within walking distance! The transportation was sooooooo convinient. This place is placed in heart of ximending! The only downside is not many faculty within hotel&the gowns weren’t replaced daily. But the location/kindness of staffs covers it all! Hope u get to stay here too!

Reviewed January 11, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
LI from Singapore
Business traveler
Smart Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019

Smart room”

Excellent location, the hotel is located in the heart of Ximending about 5 to 8 mins walk to Ximen station. The smart room was clean, cozy and comfortable. The staffs are friendly and approachable too. If you are a solo traveler (holiday or business trip) and don't like big hotel rooms. The Amba smart room is perfect for you! I enjoyed my stay and will definitely come back to Amba again.

Reviewed January 06, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Chua from Singapore
Family with teens
Medium Twin
Stayed 6 nights in November 2018

Located at movie street ”

Simple room with all the necessary stuff needed. The aircon could be adjusted, unlike some hotels they locked it to a standard temperature. Flip Flops are given and free to take home ! Bath, toilet and sink are seperated, need not wait for friend/family to come out of the bathroom before you could wash up. Hope that the spotlights could be switch off individually, as there is only a master button beside the bed to off all.

Reviewed November 28, 2018
8.0
Excellent
SWEE from Singapore
Couple
Smart Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Very good location”

The hotel is just located at the centre of Ximending shopping area.. the room is spacious and clean

Reviewed April 23, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Caitlin from Singapore
Couple
Medium King
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Clean and Accessible ”

Great location , convenient location and helpful staff .

Reviewed April 22, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Fong from Singapore
Group
Medium Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Short stay ”

The staff upgraded our room for our stay and we were happy with the upgrade. The staff are very helpful and they made us feel so welcome. Love their bed and it's very comfy.

Reviewed April 10, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Mary from Malaysia
Couple
Medium King
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Good experience!”

Good location & service. Definitely 1 of our comfortable stay here. Near to many shops & Starbucks just below.

Reviewed March 31, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Sian from Malaysia
Family with young children
Large King
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

I like it much”

The room overall is comfortable, with all basic amenities. Staff is very friendly, location is easy access.

Reviewed March 26, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Sian from Malaysia
Family with young children
Medium King
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Superb Stay”

The room overall is comfortable, with all basic amenities. Staff is very friendly, location is easy access.

Reviewed March 26, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
YVONNE
Couple
Large King
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Excellent”

Staff are friendly Good location 5 mins away from train station only

Reviewed March 18, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Jeff from United Kingdom
Couple
Medium King
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Impressed, very good value for money, good location and can’t fault the service ”

Recommended!

Reviewed March 09, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Genevieve from Singapore
Family with teens
Loft Twin
Stayed 6 nights in April 2018

Fantastic location, great service!! ”

Travelled with my teenage girl, we shared a Twin Loft which as spacious for the two of us. The hotel staff were great! Thank you very much for the awesome service! Location is right in the heart of Ximending and the train station is within walking distance. We'll be back soon!!

Reviewed April 08, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Julie from Philippines
Couple
Medium King
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

Exceptional”

What I really loved about it was the location. I wish they had more vegan breakfast options. Adding a soy milk (or any plant-based milk) option to cereal or oatmeal perhaps? All we had were fruits and bread.

Reviewed April 05, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Chan from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Smart Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

A caring hotel”

I am a frequent visitor to Taiwan. What impressed me so much is the hospitality of the hotel. The management team always remembers my favorite room type, even though I do not any request for every visit. And special surprises will be given in each of my visit. It is a heartwarming experience for visitors.

Reviewed April 01, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Jennifer from Philippines
Family with teens
Extra Large King
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

Very accessible”

This hotel is very accessible to MRT station. Very conveneint when you want to go to conveneint stores, coffee shop, shopping areas or even ride a taxi. The hotel is very clean and the staffs are very warm and accommodating

Reviewed March 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Margarita from Philippines
Couple
Medium King
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

I love amba!”

It was our first time in Taipei. This hotel was recommended to us by our friend and we have nothing but praises to share! It is quite different, in a positive way! - very hip - interiors were well thought off and executed - location is at its best! Ximending area has great food and shopping areas - a bit of a walk to train station but we didnt mind it all! 5 mins if you dont stop but we get distracted by the surroundings - very friendly staff We loved it so much that we have booked our next trip already!

Reviewed January 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Pei from Singapore
Family with teens
Smart Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018

Great hotel”

Great location at Ximending. I was really impressed with the design and facilities of the room. Staffs are helpful as well. Especially I have requested their help to receive my Mayday concert tickets. Great hotel to stay for your vacation if you're looking for the most happening and shopping district! Good job Amba!

Reviewed January 07, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Aloysius from Singapore
Couple
Medium King
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Return stay was comfortable as before”

This has been my favourite location to stay at for Ximending area but was slightly disappointed by the inconvenience brought about by the surrounding road works. Otherwise I am happy to review that the service was spot on as usual as advance requests to arrange for a single room for 4 days in a row were met ahead of time even though separate bookings were made for different rooms due to high occupancy rates. This is not extremely near the MTR station but a ten minute walk through the busy and happening Ximending square will bring your through a lively scene as well as food stalls :) will return for the value-for-money accommodation where it permits for off peak periods.

Reviewed December 11, 2017
8.4
Excellent
WAN from Singapore
Family with young children
Medium King
Stayed 7 nights in October 2017

Great stay @ convenient location”

The baby cot and bathtub were all ready for us when we entered the room. I love the location right smack in XMD where we can have food/drinks/shopping till late hours! Love the free self service laundry facility too!!

Reviewed November 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Leticia from Singapore
Group
Medium King
Stayed 5 nights in February 2017

Funky hotel right in the mix ”

I love this place. I am going to return to Amba everytime I come back to Taipei. It's a funky boutique hotel with all the right facilities and it's so clean. Service was also great. Location was beyond compare.

Reviewed September 26, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Elaine from Afghanistan
Couple
Smart Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2017

Great location ”

A modern hotel that's right in Ximending. The location is really great. Our room was very clean but of an odd shape. However that's not an issue at all. We will recommend it to everyone who wants to stay in Taipei.

Reviewed September 25, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Siow from Singapore
Family with young children
Medium King
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017

Cosy environment”

Slightly further off ximen station, about 5-10mins walk. Love the environment and cleanliness of the hotel and its room. Back many times. Feel secure with the hotel when staying with my kids. And they love the place. Will be back for sure.

Reviewed May 13, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Tai from Singapore
Couple
Medium King
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

The great location for shopping.”

I like the location of the hotel, the hotel design as well. The breakfast spread is good. Staff is friendly and approachable. The little disappointment is on my last day, i was hoping the hotel will extend my check out time for 1 or 2 hours due to my flight timing, but was rejected. Other than that, it is good. The overall, the hotel's public area is a bit empty, perhaps can add something along the walkway or the common area.

Reviewed April 07, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Yeon from South Korea
Family with teens
Medium King
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Good location with great staff and facility”

It was about 7 mins walk from Ximen station to the hotel, but pretty easy to find the way. The room was clean with a view. There was no heater in the room, so they provided a portable heater. Staffs were very friendly and they kept my bags after checkout. I would definitely visit here again if I visit Taipei again.

Reviewed April 04, 2017
8.4
Excellent
chien from Singapore
Solo traveler
Medium Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Good hotel”

This is a very young hip hotel right in the middle of ximending with excellent friendly young staff. Room is basic but sufficient with a comfortable bed. MRT is not right at the door step but the 10mins walk through the busy streets lined with shops and crowd makes it very bearable. The only thing to note is that the Main Street in front of the hotel main entrance lift is closed to vehicles for a certain period of time at night. But it's still easy and convenient for car drop off in the main road. I will definitely consider this hotel again when I visit taiwan

Reviewed January 15, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Michelle from Singapore
Group
Loft Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016

Location is perfect”

The location is perfect. You will not starve if you stay at Amba. Everything is within walking distance. This includes popular restaurants and shops that you must try when you are visiting Taipei. Room and beds are great. Only issue is that they have a very tiny window in my room, which is not very good for someone who is claustrophobic like me. But who stays in the room when you are on holiday.

Reviewed January 09, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
William from United Kingdom
Couple
Medium King
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

Love this place ”

Been coming to Taipei and staying there. +Great staff and breakfast but also many awesome restaurants nearby. +Conveniently located in Ximen and 5 mins from Red Theater, one of the gay neighborhood. +++Free laundry.

Reviewed December 17, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Nelson from Singapore
Family with young children
Large Twin Room
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016

Amba Hotel”

Stay was very good at the Amba Hotel. Provides free washing machine for washing laundary so need not do washing after returning to my country. Location was good but only booking does not comes with breakfast.

Reviewed December 13, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Rachel from Singapore
Couple
Extra Large King
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016

Central location at Ximending ”

The location is right smack in the middle of ximending shopping area. However we took some time to locate this hotel as it not extremely near the train stn and given that Ximending shopping area has so many lanes it made it even more confusing. The overall stay was pleasent and comfortable and the staffs are friendly. I stayed in the Extra Large room so the room was pretty big for a hotel in Ximending Area i must say! Would come back again :)

Reviewed November 29, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Lai from Singapore
Family with young children
Loft Twin
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016

Good location ”

Right in the bustling ximending area with no lack of food variety and shopping. 5 minute walk to ximen metro station exit 6. Convenient and value for money. The extra big room was great for a family of 4.

Reviewed September 09, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Chan from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Large Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016

A Hotel at the Heart of Ximengding”

Ximengding is one of the busiest areas in Taipei, and it is also a fascinating place for holiday makers. I was amused by the lively scence on the streets which were full of hawkers selling local products and food. After a long period of sightseeing, it was perfect to take a break in one of the bars located in the Red Theatre. At the end of the day, I felt completely happy that I could spend only few minutes for going back to my hotel with tranquility.

Reviewed July 26, 2016
8.0
Excellent
WONG from Singapore
Couple
Medium King
Stayed 5 nights in July 2016

Location is very good, service is good and honest”

Room is simple more like apartment and to mrt require about 10 min walk but u can shop around while walking to mrt station also a good experience. I would wish to compliment the house keeping staff,they are so honest. My gf left her diamond ring and her clothes in the hotel after we check out as we forget to do a check before hand. We put our baggage at the lobby before we go for our final round of shopping before we go back to our country,when we return back to our hotel to collect the baggage,they hand us a plastic bag containing the thing that we left in the room. Deeply appreciate and thank you so much.

Reviewed July 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
LINCOLN from Singapore
Family with teens
Loft Twin
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Fantastic location and near to Metro station ”

Enjoyed the stay at the hotel. Fantastic location right at the heart of Ximen din. Right on top of a small shopping Centre with a brand new games arcade at basement where my kids really enjoyed. Shops are just round the corner with many nice food outlets and we are spoilt for choices. There are many cinemas along the streets and shops open late even up to 11pm you will see the shops closed but the push carts comes out selling goods along the streets. Interesting stay here. Stayed in the loft and the room is large enough for 4 adults. Hotel is clean and breakfast spread is better than in the smaller hotels. Highly recommended for family stay.

Reviewed June 15, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Chwee from Singapore
Family with teens
Loft Twin
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Great location hotel with distinct character ”

Hotel is located right at the heart of Ximending. It's under the brand name of Taiwan famous bookshop 诚品书局 The interior design of the room is neat and simple. We stayed in a loft room for 3 persons. The room size is big. The only thing that I am not used to is the toilet and bathroom doors are facing the sleeping area directly. However, I was very impressed by the creative use of the Chinese language in the signage like the door key card 开吧, room slippers 逛吧,走吧,The light switch card, 亮吧the notepad写吧the restaurant 吃吧

Reviewed June 14, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Gregory from Australia
Solo traveler
Extra Large King
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016

Recommended and would return”

Roo size, a bit funky and efficient staff

Overall, I'm pretty happy with the Amba. I think the location was good and the overall fit out of the room was nice. For me, one thing lacking was natural light, with only a small window opening into an atrium area. For a hotel that prides itself on environmental credentials, I was surprised that every day when I returned every single light in the room would be turned on - this is after I had turned everything off to leave for the day....

Reviewed January 12, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Shuhui from Singapore
Solo traveler
Large Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Great comfy place for busy taipei! ”

Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff

Returned to Amba after touring Tainan, and I am glad I made the decision to return to Amba Ximending for my return stay. The staff was really helpful and answered all my queries, helped to collect all my orders and parcels etc. Had a great stay in Amba!

Reviewed December 15, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Shuhui from Singapore
Solo traveler
Medium Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Comfy modern touch in busy Ximending”

Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Great location. Nice rooms!

The stay was perfect! For the first two nights, they upgraded my room to a extra large room and we had a living room with sofa too. I love the addition, which gave the room a soho feel, perfect for gathering with friends too if one wants to meet up with some friends in Taipei. The bed was comfortable, just that the pillows were a little too low. They provided some made in taiwan soap and shampoo products which were all made from ginger. Great product! Overall the stay was really good!

Reviewed December 15, 2015