Book Now: Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Reviews

Excellent
From 372 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
/
10
Recommended by 85% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (372)Booking.com Reviews (298)
8.5
/
10
Excellent
From 372 reviews
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities8.2
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service8.6
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (372)
All room types
Showing 342 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Robert from United States
Couple
Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Very good, not super”
This was our first time at this Anantara however, we've stayed next door at Hansar on other occasions. I have mixed feelings but overall, would probably choose to stay here again based on pricing. The staff is excellent however the check in process, as noted in other reviews, is a bit slow and cumbersome. Breakfast selections and service were very good however, this was low season and morning time was harried and congested. I can't imagine this place being enjoyable during high season. Rooms are decent however smaller than Hansar. The pool was crowed and pool service, not really up to par with other comparable resort properties in Thailand. The close proximity to Fisherman's village and airport is a plus but again, Hansar, next door might be a better overall choice. I am not opposed to children however, during high season, numerous families would make this place a bad choice. Get a good rate, enjoy the service and figure it is a coin flip with Hansar.
Reviewed May 25, 2018
Dear Robert, Thank you for staying with Anantara for your stay on Bophut Beach! We’re pleased to see you’ve had a positive stay with us albeit you did have some mixed feelings. Your comments have been well noted and we’ll address these with the team to continue our efforts to deliver the best possible service. It would be great to see you with us again With kind regards, Lutz Mueller
Responded June 02, 2018
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
9.0
Exceptional
Ho from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Great resort!”
Location, staff, food
we had a pleasant stay. Beautiful beach and water as well as the pool. The location is good and only few minutes walking distance to the fisherman village. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Good cook by the chef from all their restaurants. They have good spa with nice ambience and the therapists are experienced. Will definitely come back next time.
Reviewed January 08, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Abdulla from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Anantara Beachfront Pool Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
nice hotel”
room location, spa and the kids club
the hotel is nicely designed specially the spa, I had the best massage treatment there. my kid enjoined the kids club and it's safe to keep them there as they have someone to look after them and teach them new things. the food in the fishermen village is very nice and spicy. the only thing was not as expected is the beach as its brown and not soft like other places in samui
Reviewed September 02, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Audun from Norway
Couple
Premier Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
FANTASTIC”
Relaxing, romantic and good food
In many words a fantastic stay. We had a very romantic stay, relaxing at the pool. The staff is very friendly and speak good english. The Italian restaurant, Full Moon is a must to dine at, FANTASTIC :-) Shuting down for renovating May to October 2013, don't understand why. but for sure will return :-)
Reviewed April 20, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Teddy from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Tropical Garden Hotel with excellent service”
Very close to the Fisherman Village
Reached Koh Samui in morning flight and checked in to hotel at 10 AM. We will be given early check-in and check-in was fast and efficient. The room is very clean, quite spacious with the unique design of bathroom with the huge bath tub. There is a terrace in front of the room as we stayed on the ground floor. Having dinner buffet in the hotel with plent of choices of Thai food. Food is delicious, but the chef has customized it to the westerners as it is not so spicy. To us from South East Asia, we prefer spicy food. Breakfast was great, with variety of choics of food and fresh juices. Plenty of choices whether are Thai Local food or Western Breakfast. The hotel location is near the fisherman village, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It is a good spot to visit, as there are many restaurants, hawkers, souvenirs shops and also massages. The hotel is surrounded by tropical garden, with lot of trees which give lot of shade from the sun. The beach is just behind the hotel and water sports are available there. Just one of the comment of the hotel is that, as there are lot of trees, there are lot of mosquitos in the hotel area. You are advised to bring mosquitoes repellant when staying in this hotel. The rooms are ok, just do not leave the door open during evening time. Overall the hotel has an excellent services staffs and great surrounding areas.
Reviewed September 26, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Brett from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Amazingly romantic hotel.”
Beautiful setting, great service, amazing pool.
we had a bad first experience at this hotel. when checking in they wanted to charge us over for the new years eve gala. i outright refused and told them that the reason why we chose that hotel was due to not having to pay that crazy new years eve gala price that all the other hotels were charging. we did not plan to even attend. the problem was rectified and we received a phonecall from the hotel manager to personally apologise for the mishap. the setting is beautiful there and the pool is amazing. it is right on a nice beach that was not too busy. they have a dvd collection that anyone could rent (free) and the room we stayed in was exquisite! we were on the third floor and the view from the balcony was just spectacular. there was a huge comfortable bath and we felt very comfortable there. the hotel is situated next to the fishermans village which has great restaurants and places to go out drinking. there is a great reggae bar there which i highly recommend though can not remember the name. all in all it was an amazing stay. it was by far the most expensive hotel we stayed at in thailand but looking at the settings and service it was well worth it!
Reviewed January 15, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Nanako from Japan
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011
Lovely and cozy hotel in a quiet location”
Beautiful landscape and friendly staff, quiet and secluded environment
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, always greeting with smile. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was nice, not a huge selection but very good quality. The swimming pool was too deep for a short person like me, let alone my 5-year-old son.
Reviewed July 19, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Zehra from Pakistan
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2011
Amazing!”
Great pool, great food and on the beach.
Anantara was absolutely amazing. Managed to get a one room private pool villa for the same price as the deluxe room on agoda. The room was massive and very clean. The private pool was great. The food and drinks were very good. Check-in takes a while since guest only check out by 12 you're better off checking in at 2. The best hotel I stayed at in koh samui. The area itself is fairly boring with very few restaurants so if you're looking for a bit more of a street life I would recommend going to chaweng or lamai.
Reviewed July 13, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Amelia from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2011
Highly Recommended. Beautiful hotel.”
The staff, the beautiful architecture, the pool and clean beach
a beautiful hotel located next to the fisherman's village on bophut beach. the hotel itself, is gorgeous especially the floating lobby. the pool is huge and the beach front is clean and not too crowded. the rooms are spacious with the most comfortable bed i have ever slept on. each bathroom opens up and has a massive 2 person bath with really lovely gels and hair products. we spent a lot of time in the eclipse bar. the bartender max was really nice and tried to teach us how to speak thai.
Reviewed February 21, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Liang from China
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Fantastic hotel service”
Hotel service is very good.
Not too much diversity of the breakfast
the hotel is very famous in koh samui with pick-up service at the airport, hotel service is very good, all staff we met are very nice. the swimming pool is beautiful. our 2 year old daughter enjoyed very much in the swimming pool and beach. there was plenty activities organized by hotel for children during year end, many are very interesting.
Reviewed January 15, 2011
9.2
Exceptional
Prashant from Malaysia
Group
Junior Garden View Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Excellent service and location”
This was our second time at this hotel. Our first experience last year was of disinterested staff and lackadaisical service. This time around there has been a huge improvement in service and staff standards and we would now highly recommend this hotel As always, location is very close (5 mins walk) to the Fisherman's Village with its excellent range of restaurants, bars, spas, shops and beach.
Reviewed February 13, 2018
Dear Prashant, Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to share your excellent experience. I am very happy to read that you had a great vacation and our team took very good care of you. We surely look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Andrea Orru’ Resort Manager
Responded February 14, 2018
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.2
Very good
Angela from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018
Overall Experience ”
Good location and great views and nice grounds Much nicer area than Chewang Felt the Spa needed updating /refurbishing, not luxurious enough for the pricing and sound from other clients ad rooms could be clearly heard - disturbing It was difficult to communicate with some of the staff as English was challenging, this should be easy for a 5 Star resort. Everyone was very pleasant and and atentative The pool maintenance - chlorine was very strong and the smell was held in the swimwear I was also surprised on every bill there was a 10% service charge - this should be optional for the customer.
Reviewed September 13, 2018
Dear Angela, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort and taking the time to share your experiences. I am glad you enjoyed the location, views, and overall services and preferred this area to Chaweng. Your comments on the Spa, overall pricing, noise disturbance, pool maintenance and lack of communication skills from some of our team members have all been noted and will be addressed for future enhancements whenever possible. Chlorine levels in the pool are carefully monitored and checked regularly and show no signs of overuse, however the team is looking into it again to ensure all is in order. Adding 10% service charge on anything consumed in the hotel is common in all 5 star hotels throughout Thailand, however your feedback has been noted. I would like to reiterate my apologies, that some of your experiences left you feeling disappointed of what should have been a more memorable stay with us. Nevertheless, we hope to have the pleasure of
Show more
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Punnapa from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
nice hotel good service ”
it has the personal beach , good location , delicious food , good service and not far from samui airport and pier to Koh Tao
Reviewed April 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
monica from Spain
Couple
Premier Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Perfect as usual”
An other visit to Anantara in Bohput. Fantastic again with great attention to detail, fantastic breakfast and service. Going again next year.
Reviewed March 16, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Daphnie from Hong Kong
Couple
Garden View Suite
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
Another lovely stay at Anantara”
My husband and I came here for the first time 11 years ago exactly - it was for his birthday then and we came here again 11 years later for his birthday again. The resort has been kept in good condition and is still as stunning as ever. This time we stayed in a Garden View Suite which had 2 balconies and a massive bathtub as well as a spacious lounge area and a very comfy bed. The staff were so gracious and attentive to every detail. I especially love the towel monkey the housekeeping staff made for us as a welcome on arrival: very creative and inviting! I later emailed the team about my husbands birthday and arranging a private beach dinner as well as a birthday cake for him. The team went over and above to make his day extra special - we came back from our day out to a clean tidy room and the housekeeping staff, this time, had left a Happy Birthday message on the mirror, a cake and also a birthday cake towel design with rose petals. Dinner was set up privately on the beach in a tent with a chef and a lovely waitress to attend to us for the entire night with candles and a special message in the sand. They also made the most beautiful fruit basket to end the evening. The Anantara Spa is also a must visit during the stay...both my husband and I had a neck, shoulder and head massage with 2 very experienced and well trained staff. I also had a facial myself the next day which was just heavenly. Breakfast is very well presented with a lot of choices. The only thing I would say is the pool does get quite busy very early in the day so we ended up at the beach where seats, towels, attendents from Anantara were available as well. Overall I would highly recommend Anantara Bophut to anybody wishing to visit Koh Samui.
Reviewed June 18, 2017
Dear Daphnie, Thank you for returning at our resort! We could not be any happier after reading yours and I am glad the team have made such a special occasion so memorable. Thank you for your kinds words and compliments on our team members, the true asset of the resort, as well as on our facilities from your suite, breakfast to your private dining on the beach. During high occupancy, around the pool there might not be enough space for everyone, however we do have extra beam bags on the ocean deck as well as enough sunbeds with umbrella on the beach, all taken care by our Pool / Beach team. Thank you for recommending our resort to family and friends and we all look forward to your next visit, do not make us wait 11 years again :-). Best regards from Koh Samui, Andrea Orru', Resort Manager
Show more
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Murray from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Excellent resort in great location”
Pool, Location, Staff
After traveling to other parts of Koh Samui, Koh Tao and Koh Phangan we spent 3 nights here (but should have spent more. This resort provides great value for money and I would recommend it anyone coming to Koh Samui. We hope to get back there.
Reviewed September 27, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
CHOOI from Malaysia
Family with teens
Junior Garden View Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Anantara never fails me”
Beautiful lush greenery, comfortable and luxurious suites, friendly staffs
Anantara never fails to excite us with their wonderful decor, landscape and friendly staffs. The suites are luxurious and I'd say though the price is high, it value for money because of what they offer you back. Highly recommended to stay in all Anantara resorts.
Reviewed September 08, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Thorsten from Germany
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 6 nights in April 2015
Relaxing in a good area on Samui”
Great location, nice and attentive staff, nice breakfast
It was a very nice stay, great breakfast. Unfortunately no real options on vegetarian food for lunch and dinner - therefore lower rating (since we don't eat meat we had no chance to dine in, only if we would have eaten Pizza....). Plenty of options around though.
Reviewed May 07, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
May from Malaysia
Family with young children
Premier Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
one word to comment over the Anantara "GREAT"”
1) Public Swimming Pool, 2) Private beach, 3) Relax resort environment
- It was our great stay resort so far with 1 of the best swimming pool we ever been with great service as we arrived at the resort early in the morning at about 10am and the staffs helped us to arrange for early checked-in rooms so we can have good rest after the early morning flight. Only 1 issue we encountered that was no lift where we would have to walk stairs up & down to get to our Premier Garden Room where it is not so convenient for the old folks. Other than that, the resort was 90% perfect with great staff service, great environment and food was good in the resort.
Reviewed October 27, 2014
6.3
Good
Yuen from Macau
Solo traveler
Royal Sea View Suite
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
Poor service”
comfortable hotel, nice swimming pool, good location
Poor service, the marketing staff showed long face when we refused to buy the hotel package after their 3 hours presentation. No welcome from the spa receptionist on our arrival and departure. The front desk lady did not listen to us when we found the bill was charged incorrectly but kept arguing with us that they made no mistake.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Rafael from Brazil
Couple
Premier Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Fantastic and romantic stay”
Room, bathroom and pool
Samui is not the most breathtaking and must-do destination if you're coming to Thailand but definitely Anantara Bophut is located at the most interesting beach and is one of the best options in Samui!! Room and bathroom are incredibly comfortable, modern, clean, spacious and romantic. The staff is ver, very well trained and cordial, leaving you notes during your stay, setting your bed to sleep at the middle of afternoon, etc, etc. Spa, pool and bars are soooo nice! Restaurants and food approved!! I strongly recommend this hotel if Samui is your destination, no matter if you're couple or big family. Fantastic hotel experience!!!
Reviewed June 01, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Filippo from Austria
Couple
Premier Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014
A beautiful place for a relaxing holiday”
outstanding staff, perfect breakfast, beautiful gardens
The hotel has been renovated last year, the rooms are really beautiful and comfy. The beautiful gardens and the pool area is amazing and your are just right in front of the beach. The breakfast is incredible - quality and choice is perfect. The restaurants and the various organized events are outstanding. However, the free internet in the lobby only is really outdated for a 5-star hotel in 2014.
Reviewed May 15, 2014
8.0
Excellent
sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
great location”
Great breakfast, lovely staff and comfy bed.
We stayed three nights and were very impressed by how comfortable the bed was, this is not usual in Thailand. Really good shower but tended to flood the bathroom but all in all can't really complain about the room. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the beach bar, it was like an afterthought, badly designed and weren't too impressed with the barmen. I would be happy to stay there again.
Reviewed March 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Viviane from France
Solo traveler
Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Lovely hotel but food average.”
The entrance and garden. Public spaces very beautiful but bedroom and bathroom on the small side.
Very good service and beautiful looking spa. However my oil massage was too vigorous and triggered a painful sciatica for which I am now receiving ongoing osteopathic treatment in London! The breakfast buffet was excellent but the supper I ordered as room service as well as the lunch by the pool were both very disappointing and not worthy of a five star hotel. The yoga session on Thursday morning was really very bad. A well trained professional yoga teacher knows to always start a lesson by asking the participants whether they suffer from any injuries and also takes care to adjust their positions if not correctly aligned. This young man did neither and I felt worse rather than better after the session.
Reviewed January 22, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from United States
Couple
Anantara Beachfront Pool Suite
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
Great Hotel”
Very clean with exceptional service.
Our stay here at this hotel was top notch. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The room was very spacious and very beautiful with its decor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Koh Samui.
Reviewed January 07, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
David from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 10 nights in September 2012
The hotel was excellent all you could ask for ”
Pool , Breakfast, Room type
The hotel was excellent all you could ask for would definately go back to this hotel, nice restaurants 2 minutes walk to fishermans village where there are plenty bars restaurants tried several never a bad meal in any. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, all the usual plus some nice different health juices. The staff were efficient and attentive if you needed anything. The grounds are very nice with plenty of mature palms and lots of greenery. A lovely sight when leaving the lobby is the lily pond, it is stunning especially when the torches are lit at dusk. The pool is fantastic, the staff bring fresh fruit on skewers as you sunbathe and someone comes around offering you complimentary suntan cream. All in all we would stay there again ( this was our second stay ) Its a great location only 2 mins walk from Fishermans Village. One gripe is only 30 mins Internet access free per day. Thai restaurants in area have free wifi whilst there.
Reviewed October 15, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
David from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 9 nights in September 2012
Great Hotel”
Great location close to Fisherman's Village
We arrived at the Anantara having cut short our stay in Phuket as the hotel did not meet our expectations. The Anantara was a delight, great friendly staff, great location overall great value for money.
Reviewed October 01, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Andreas from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
stylish hotel ”
nice rooms, lovely garden an pool
the staff of the hotel is very helpful in every situation. The rooms are well maintened and a good size. The location is excellent. 15 Min. from the airport (no noise from landing or starting planes), 2 min. walk from fishermen village (with a lot of restaurants, bars, shops). Excellent for a relaxing holiday. Probably less interesting for party people
Reviewed October 01, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Adam from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Amazing Spa Resort with only but the best service.”
Amazing service, memorable experience, fantastic views of the resort
my partner and i had never been to thailand and we had the most beautiful experience at anantara. the people that worked there were so kind, caring and hospitable and went out of their way all the time. we felt like royalty and i for sure did not want to leave - ever! the most amazing place i have been to and i would go back there in a heart beat.
Reviewed September 27, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Stephen from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
Great ambiance and beautiful spaces”
Great setting, good Thai buffet
We definitely enjoyed our stay at the Anantara Bophut Resort and Spa. My wife, infant daughter and I stayed there for four nights. The staff was very helpful, often helping offering to help carry our stroller up/down stairs (tip: If you have an infant request a ground-level floor--there are NO ELEVATORS). The pool was fantastic and we spent hours there. I've been to better beaches though. Not sure if all of Samui is the same, but the sand at Bophut was very coarse. Though with an infant the pool was easier anyway. The staff was friendly and responsive. And they gave you a LOT of free bottled water in your room (though they did charge for the same water if you ordered it in a restaurant).
Reviewed September 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Michael from United States
Couple
Royal Sea View Suite
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
Idyllic spot for romance and relaxation”
Lovely setting; nice private beach; wonderful food.
restaurants and spa were great -- albeit pricey. guest services was also helpful -- after 3 phone calls. upon arrival, we noted our room smelled of fresh paint from recent remodeling. my girlfriend is very sensitive to such things and complained it was giving her a headache, so i requested to be moved. it took several calls before getting through to someone who could actually do anything, but we were finally relocated to an identical room (without the smell!) -- and the rest of our stay was perfect...
Reviewed September 09, 2012
7.3
Very good
KIAN from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Lovely hotel with Great greenery”
Plenty sun bedding by the beach. Lovely beach next to famous Fishermen Village
We booked 2 rooms celebrating special family occasions. Were received with hotel special brewed drinks, little local cakes which were just lovely after long journey in a sunny afternoon. We caught by surprise that our rooms were specially decorated, kudos to the hotel manager. Breakfast was nice with variety, coffee latte is a must try. Hotel beach is lovely with plenty sun bedding sofa available, one could read while enjoying couple of drinks overlooking at some expensive yatchs berthing. Bathroom painting appears a bit old may consider refurbish but overall a nice hotel to stay. One should try dine at "The Happy Elephant "at the Fishermen Village food is nice with reasonable price. There is a Family Mart & 7-11 convenient store outside the hotel within walking distance .
Reviewed September 01, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Michelle from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012
Living the Koh Samui Dream at Anantara”
Location at Bophut, Beautiful Gardens, Very Special Spa
After flying through the night from Australia, we received a very warm welcome from the staff and Manager at Anantara. Although our plunge pool villa was not available, the situation was handled very professionally and were offered 2 options to choose from, one of which included an upgrade to the Pool Villa. This was the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in and had fantastic facilities both inside the room and the attached very private pool and courtyard area. I cannot recommend these rooms enough for those looking for a special private experience. The food at Anantara is very good quality, and the crab rissoto at Full Moon is an absolute favourite. The spa is sensational and very well run. I also enjoyed the Yoga classes under the trees. The location in Bophut is fantastic, with great choices of restaurants within walking distance to suit all budgets. This is a very well run property. My husband and I would definitely consider a return trip when next we visit Koh Samui.
Reviewed June 11, 2012
8.3
Excellent
KUAN from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Great location and good service with a smile.”
good place to relax..ideally for newly wed couple. Visited the hotel's villa with 2 rooms and private pool, will sure bring my family in the next visit.
Friedly hotel staff, we are greeted by a female Manager from Taiwan, she is extremely friendly and gave us a few tips on the hot places to eat and visit. Location is great and it is very near to Fisherman village that we can enjoy shopping and food.
Reviewed June 10, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Petra
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 6 nights in May 2012
Fantastic Resort with Outstanding Staff”
Staff are very friendly and accomodating; the ground and resort were beyondanything we could imagine, immaculate.
The staff at the Ananatara were fabulous. Everyone was friendly and accomodating. We were made to feel valued and that nothing was an issue. The small touches made us feel special, for example the messages on the leaves and turn down service at night - amazing. The resort grounds are stunning including the pool area and Full Moon Restuarant. The resort has 3 different main eating options which we took advantage of. The food was delicious and had a great variety. The beach area is awesome with the deck charis and bean bags and the water right at your doorstep. Our room was beautiful.I especially loved to daybed on the veranda. The spa facilities are again amazinf with a variety of treaments and personal rooms. Thank you Anantara for making our holiday so special and unforgettable.
Reviewed June 05, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Douglas from Australia
Couple
Premier Garden View
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Fantastic ”
beatiful garden
great service fantastic pool loved the privacy and the beach far enough away from the village toi enjoy the quiet life but close enough to get amoungest it. took an early morning stroll up the beach with the sun rising over the mountains which was beatiful. the only problem i found was they charged me me later dollar for unknown peoblem on my credit card
Reviewed May 27, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Marco from Portugal
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
Nice hotel”
Good swimming pool and beach
we had a great time during our stay in anantara. great swimming pool and very nice (and clean) beach. good hotel to enjoy and relax. definitely to repeat again. the only thing that was not so good was that we were staying on the 2nd floor and we had no ramps to walk with the baby stroller. with two little daughters was a little tricky. but besides that, everything went very well.
Reviewed April 23, 2012
7.3
Very good
Sirisak from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Nice facility and attentive staff”
Bed and the garden.
we arrived with curiosity about the room and beach. they put us on the second floor right above the bar but surprisingly we didn't hear any noice from the bar below. the bed is soft and really comfortable. the bath tub is spacious for two although the partition was a bit disgusting at the bottom part where it attached to the tub using silicon that is a material that easily warn out over times. the breakfast was good but i got bored after two days of eating same stuffs.
Reviewed April 22, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Jonathan from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Royal Sea View Suite
Stayed 6 nights in April 2012
Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff”
Pool villas are great, lots of space and of course, your own pool.
Overall, this is a very nice place to stay. The staff were very friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. To be critical, the hotel is quite dark and the grounds, whilst beautifully maintained, tended to cramp you in a bit. The main pool is not ideal for kids and if you have a push chair or stroller, be warned that you will need to carry it about 10m over the sand to get to the Fisherman's Village. You can go out the road way but it's not as nice a quite a bit further. Also, be aware that Bophut beach is not clear water. There is nothing wrong with it but don't expect to be snorkelling off the beach, it is quite murky, fine for swimming but you aren't going to see anything.
Reviewed April 19, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Kok from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Romantic and relaxing feel hotel ”
Room setting, especial the bathroom and a super king size bed
A very relaxing stay with dinner set up facing the sea, with great view but just a little upset with the barbecue cooking almost tasteless to be eaten. Also, a little upset due to a recent incident that we were rushing our way home due to a distant traveling by sea and land back to the airport, we needed to checkout as early as 5:45am and due to that rush we had left our beloved clothing behind. As, when we finally realized when we were back home we quickly emailed to the hotel to check whether it can be arranged to be delivered back to us via courier where all costs of courier will be cost to us however till up to date we have yet received any news from the hotel.
Reviewed April 16, 2012
7.3
Very good
Eric from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Poor beach locatioin but nice services”
Great Services
The service at the hotel were superb. Everyone was very nice and always smile. The rooms were okay for a 5 star, it could be better. The bathroom seems dated. Great breakfast, beautiful garden, and nice pool. The beach front, terrible.
Reviewed March 30, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Alexander from Norway
Couple
Premier Garden View
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
Fantastic hotel”
Beautiful hotel,great service
The hotel was beautiful in modern mixed with traditional thai style. It has an amazing garden with lovley cabanas to relax in. The pool area is fantastic overlooking the beach with great service from the pool bar.The resturants at the hotel served great food at decent prices. Located near the fishermans village,withc has many resturants and bars with a lovley atmosphere. We were in Thailand for 2 weeks and stayed at 5 different resorts, this is the hotel we enjoyed the most!Great value for money!
Reviewed March 10, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Katy from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 5 nights in February 2012
Lovely hotel in lush surroundings, great location”
Setting, service, staff and small touches made it a notch above other hotels I've stayed on in Samui.
Staff and service was exemplary. Setting is lovely and lush and much more intimate than the nearby Hansar Resort. Breakfasts were very good and we received a free upgrade on arrival (we asked for a room on the upper floor with a sea view - can heartily recommend asking for a room on the upper floors that come with balconies). Rooms are super and lots of lovely little touches throughout the hotel and in our rooms.
Reviewed March 05, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Robert from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Great Hotel, very spacious suite room”
Location on the edge of the Bophut fishing village
this was our fourth visit to the anantara, the hotel has a special feel to it, the staff are attentive and very helpful. the suite rooms are quite spacious and and well decorated. the location is excellent and on the egde of the fishing village where there are a great number of restaurants to choose from. the pool is good and on the edge of the beach. the beach however is very coarse sand and the sea shelves quite quickly so is not so children friendly. there is a pool bar but no actual beach bar which is always a nice place to relax at the end of the day. all in all however i would still choose the anaantara next time i visit koh samui
Reviewed March 03, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Jane from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Sea View Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
Great times and great staffs”
Great staffs, resort's group activities and relaxed atmosphere
Travelling alone in Thailand, I found this place to be my favourite. The day I arrived, it was pouring rain and I was frustrated by how long it had taken me to get there by bus and boat. Luckily, the staffs were quick on their feet to show me my room, and later showed me their public computers so that I would not have to endure the same transportation and could book a flight instead. Being alone at this place was not a problem, as the atmosphere was relaxed and during the time I went (late January) there were few people around. The restaurants at the resort are amazing, with dishes that looked fantastic and tasted great. Furthermore, you could participate in group activities such as Thai boxing and Thai language classes for free. Highly recommend to solo travellers as you will always find something to do at a positive atmosphere.
Reviewed February 14, 2012
8.7
Excellent
STEFANO from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 5 nights in January 2012
Good services, nice resort”
nice location, good services, very natural setting
i got a deluxe room, and i was expecting something better. nothing bad, but not at the level of a 5 star resort. the spa is one of the best of the island, but pretty pricey. i tried the minor restaurant, and it serves good thai food.
Reviewed February 06, 2012
8.7
Excellent
COLIN from United Kingdom
Couple
Premier Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Quality hotel”
Location in Bo Phut was excellent, quiet setting away from the town but within walking distance.
Excellent hotel with good facilities. Located by the beach. Service was good and efficient. Staff and management are very friendly. We were slightly disappointed by the standard of food at the Full Moon (Italian) restaurant, which rather pompously offers a choice of 4 different salts with your food (surely, the chef should be seasoning correctly himself?). Food ordered poolside was very nice and breakfast was good too. Would stay here again.
Reviewed January 28, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Richard from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 7 nights in December 2011
Lovely hotel and friendly staff”
Nice pool, close to the beach, friendly staff, stylish rooms,
We stayed for 9 nights for our honeymoon at Anantara. We are very happy that we chose this resort. The resort is beautiful, the room is nice and tidy, staff are friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a nice and relaxing holiday, this is the perfect place to stay. The room we stayed in had a balcony which can over look the pool and the sea. It is a beautiful resort, we can not wait to go back for our next holiday in Samui.
Reviewed January 26, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Stanislav from Slovakia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
5stars hotel”
Hotel garden
one of the anantara network hotel.worth for 5 stars.very nice surrounding,garden is beatiful.beach is nice,clean with sunbeds and umbrelas.water in sea its not crystal clear :-( next to hotel is "fishermans village" where you can find lot of restaurants and a few shops. food in restaurant is not bad but overpriced.(same quality you can get in fish.village for half the price.
Reviewed January 25, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Hanna from Finland
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
Exotix luxury in peaceful area”
Atmosphere, hotel garden
we had a pleasant stay in our deluxe room. room is not quite 5 star, little bit old and not very big. and if you really need privacy, glass-walled bathroom may not be your choice :) everything else in the hotel is 5 stars, and the location is good near bophut village and by the beach. the hotel garden looks just as magical in the real life as it does in the pictures, especially in the evening.
Reviewed November 19, 2011
8.3
Excellent
w.a. from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
lovely hotel great service”
great pool, service, breakfast
Great hotel, amazing gardens and attentive staff. Would recommend the hotel to anyone. All drinks and food will be subjective to additional tax and service charge, around 20%. (upto +400% for wine!) This doesn't take away from the quality and standard.
Reviewed October 30, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Kelsey from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Pretty hotel with most stunning grounds”
Fav part was the pool and grounds area.
we were most impressed with the overall look and exterior of the hotel as it was massive with so much greenery and lushness. the pool is great (with drinks that were pricey, boo) and really was a breathtaking view to just relax at. although, when it came to the deluxe room itself, it wasn't as spectacular as we hoped like the photos online which really showed the suites, villas, etc. if you are willing to spend a hefty fee to upgrade, it's for sure worth it as we toured many other rooms that were spectacular. the breakfast was phenomenal with espressos and hot/cold food. the only downside to this large property, was the feel that we were swallowed up in a large hotel. and it took forever to walk to and from our room on the third floor. my husband and i chose to stay a few nights here and then upgrade to another next door that had more of a boutique feel with the same associates working similar shifts and were use to seeing our face. also, the fact that we had to pay for internet was extremely discouraging as it really should be included in your room. most other hotels gave a code for the customers that lasted for the trip and not just 30 minutes. super annoying. overall, we would stay at this place again as the customer service was really nice and hotel was beautiful, but we personally recommend bophut resort and spa in a heartbeat (two hotels down) and were much more pleased with out stay there. plus, it was booked to the max in low season, which speaks for the satisfaction of it!
Reviewed October 17, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
anna from United Kingdom
Couple
Premier Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in September 2011
A stunning hotel, very peaceful, beautiful”
Wonderful location 5 min walk from fishermans village, hotel is stunning
My partner and i had such an amazing stay at the Anantara hotel. Everything was stunning, we loved the location a 5 minute walk from the fishermans village. The restaurant at the hotel Full Moon was wonderful and very romantic. We found the staff to be very helpful they all spoke great english. We stayed in the Deluxe Terrace room which was gorgeous, there are lots of restaurants and great bars in the fishermans village. Our friends stayed at another hotel in Koi Samui but liked our hotel so much they actually came to spend the last few days of there holiday at the Anantara. I can highly recommend this hotel for a lovely romantic stay.
Reviewed October 17, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Chan from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Great location”
Great location, just next to fisherman village
nice lobby, great beach, nice swimming pools. the pool has some shady area for ppl who prefer to avoid direct sunlight. the breakfast has varieties of bread and cereal, but the hot selection is limited. the room is clean, as well as the hotel surroundings. great location, if you prefer less crowded beach, bophut is better than chaweng. however, chaweng has more shopping, restaurant and nightlife. mcd, starbucks etc is at chaweng.
Reviewed October 15, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
George from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011
Great beach and pool, good breakfast and staff”
Pool area and beach, no free wi-fi as advertised
Staff was great, I took a Muy Thai class and the instructor was awesome. The pool was good and the proximity to the beach was good. The room was clean and an okay size. The website mentioned free wi-fi, but it was not free anywhere on the property, it was pay per use. There is a library with two computers, good luck not having to wait for a computer though.
Reviewed October 13, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Suzanne from Ireland
Family with young children
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
Beautiful hotel. 5stars”
Lovely beach, lilypond garden is lovely and infinity pool is great.
We stayed here for 4nights and had our Wedding here in Aug '11. The wedding was perfect, Air is the event coordinator and she could not have done more for us..She kept us all calm, especially when it started to rain she had brollys in place for the guests and the Ballroom set up for our reception straight away even though reception was supposed to be on beach. Air still managed to time the break in the showers perfectly so that we stil had our ceremony on beach as planned. The honeymoon suite with private pool was fantastic! The hotel was gorgeous, 5star appearance and service. I will say however that the deluxe room was a little small, but that the giant bath was great with the 5star rose-pettles detail to make up for it. Hotel spa is fab also. The breakfast buffet was very good , chef cooking fresh eggs to order and lovely fruit display and great choices. The offer private dining for 2 in their lilygarden salas or on beach but very pricey. Would definitely stay here again. It is always busy and some of our guests had not booked in advance and were turned down when they tried to get a room on the day so I advise to prebook.
Reviewed October 02, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Tamas from Hungary
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 7 nights in August 2011
The best hotel where I have ever been.”
Everything was really perfect
The hotel is absolutely amaizing. The hotel is built in thai style. The room are nice and clean, with a small balkon. The breakfast palce is amazing and the food is very good. The staff is amaizing, they always nice and helpfull. The beach is very nice, but best is the pool directly on the beach.
Reviewed September 23, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Rossana from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
Beautiful and romantic in a nice location”
Wonderful spa and yoga course, great location, lovely people, nice breakfast
Beautiful hotel, big rooms with wonderful bathroom, great location and nice breakfast. The hotel has a wonderful spa and amazing yoga courses. Beautiful beach and lovely service. Free WiFi is available just in the hall of the hotel, you have to pay to much for internet in the room.
Reviewed September 20, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Christine from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011
Beautiful hotel”
Quiet location, beautiful pool, delicious breakfast. Friendly and welcoming staff. comfotable room and bed. nice bathroom.
Welcoming staff right from the start. Nice room with comfortable bed and very nice bathroom. Beautiful hotel pool and nice beach. Quiet location and close walk to fisherman's village. Delicious breakfast.
Reviewed September 14, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Christine from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Beautiful hotel”
beautiful pool, excellent service, quiet location, delicious breakfast
We were first greeted with refreshing towel and welcome juice and a quick tour of the grounds. Beautiful hotel and pool. Room was very nice and comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast. Easy walk to fisherman's village and some shops and restaurants but definately in a quieter area of Koh Samui. A large wedding was going on the last couple days of our stay so I think the staff were a little overwhelmed, but the otherwise the service was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to any couple or family looking for some relaxation.
Reviewed September 11, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Stephen
Couple
Royal Sea View Suite
Stayed 5 nights in August 2011
Anantara Bliss”
Anantara Royal Suite, Anantara Spa, Full Moon Restaurant and the efficient and friendly staff
you will love staying at this hotel. it is intimate and beautifully designed with lotus pools, lush vegetation and tropical gardens. my husband and i stayed for 5 days in the royal suite which had a private pool. it was extremely private and luxurious with a little kitchen/laundry, outdoor and indoor shower, i-pod dock, etc - all the comforts. we had a great day snorkelling which included 3 sites. i recommend a special dinner at the full moon restaurant.
Reviewed August 26, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Dimitri from Russia
Couple
Premier Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in August 2011
Amazing lush hotel on a beautiful beach”
Full of vegetation, comfortable, impeccable service and great facilities
our stay was simply amazing. the welcoming in reception was great. the room was very good. clean and cozy. the pool was also very well taken care of. one of the jaguzzis though didn't work. breakfast was amazing. there was a great variety of asian, as well as western food. the food in the restaurants however, was well overpriced.
Reviewed August 24, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Bas from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2011
Small luxury hotel with intimacy and great views”
Entrance, design, spot on the beach, swimming pool, multiple restaurants within walking distance
This hotel truly is worth the money. The design of the hotel is still fabulous. The whole area is lit with candles at night, which makes it even more romantic. The food is very good and reasonably priced. Good alternatives are within walking distance in Fisherman's village. The beach is good for swimming. The pool overlooks the beach and has great views over Ko Phangan. Service is good. Rooms are a bit small, but very good, even though some areas might need little refurbishing. Also the spa is very relaxing. All in all: top spot
Reviewed August 21, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Luan from South Africa
Couple
Premier Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in July 2011
The only place to stay in Koh Samui”
Service, food, stunning resort
The only place to stay in Koh Samui. The Anantara is a superb resort with great staff and service. My fiance and I got engaged at the resort and the staff went to extra mile in making it a memorable occasion as well as stay. No doubt, we will be back again and I highly recommend this resort. It will exceed your expectations!
Reviewed August 18, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Christoph from Germany
Couple
Garden View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Everything perfect”
Pool, location
everything was very nice. the location is great and it is not in the very touristic part of koh samui. the proximity to the fishermen village is also great. only one complaint: some of the pool staff are very unfriendly and rude.
Reviewed August 15, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Bonita from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 10 nights in July 2011
Blissful luxury in a wonderful setting”
beautiful grounds, attentive staff, good choice of local restaurants
We just returned from a 10 night stay at Anantara, the hotel is wonderful and far exceeded our expectations. I don't think the photos on the website accurately reflect how luxurious it is. The gardens, pool, spa and rooms are beautiful. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly. We debated whether to book here as initially wanted to be closer to chaweng (actually only 15 min in a cab) but on reflection this was a good choice as chaweng can be a bit tacky and the fishermans village next to the hotel has a great selection of bars and restaurants. In particular we'd recommend il salotto for excellent Italian food. All in all a brilliant holiday and we hope to be back soon!
Reviewed August 08, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Audrey from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2011
Escape from reality, close to fisherman's village ”
Close to fishermans village, beach and great vibe
We stayed for 4 nights a Anantara, and for the 4 nights we had a fab time. Breakfast was definitely looked forward to, great range of food. Nights were warm to wander down the beach onto Fisherman;s village where there is a cool outdoor bar. Shisha, drinks, bean bags by the beach, what more could you want? Staff were very friendly and always eager to please. Overall a fantastic relaxing trip
Reviewed July 18, 2011
8.0
Excellent
joe from United States
Family with young children
Royal Sea View Suite
Stayed 5 nights in June 2011
nice hotel. cozy and familiar.”
service was fantastic. room was nice and clean. daily activities kept us busy. kids club. nice
we travelled with 2 small children (4 and 16 months) and the ocean villa was spacious and very clean. the staff was very supportive, warm, and friendly. lots of restaurants within walking distance. i was not really impressed with the beach though. water not up to samui standard... brownish.
Reviewed July 13, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Amarjot from India
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 6 nights in June 2011
Great Great Hotel, highly recommend”
location, exclusivity, luxurious, great pool , very nice restaurants, wonderful rooms
what can i say, after our stay here no hotel seems the same. great points, 1. its beautiful 2. location just far enough from all the noise and still close enough to it. 3. you dont need to leave the hotel for daysss 4. the italian restaurant as well as the thai restaurant serves great food and at reasonable prices. 5. unlike other properties, it has no puiblic road running near it, making the pool private. 6. infinity pool which was really nice. 7. breath taking view 8. cozy for couples and thought great for families too. 9. lots of extra curricular activities to do if one wants to. 10. rooms were really really nice, although too much glass in the loo. 11. my cousin even decided to stay on for an extra 7 days ... but they did upgrader them to thier private villas. 12. the staff and the current gm excellent very helpful and genuine advice. we have been missing the place and hope to go again and stay there. thanks anantara.
Reviewed June 30, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Khai from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011
Aspiring to be 5-star but coming up a short”
Great facilities
for a hotel part of the small luxury hotel group, wishing to compete with the otehr big 5-star hotels, i think it came up a little short. facilities overall are excellent with a beautiful pool, beachside front and spacious and comfortable rooms. buffet breakfast was very good as were the other in-hotel restaurants. but it was the staff service that that we found disappointing - we arrived to find a twin bed instead of a double; this we were not fussed about, but when our receptionist said they would correct it at turn down service, we expected as much. so, after being out all evening on a nice romantic dinner, it was very disappointing to return and still find twin beds. unacceptable that a couple looking for romance have to sleep separately, even more unacceptable for the hotel to not deliver on its promise.
Reviewed June 12, 2011