Book Now: Ancient Town Hotel

Excellent
From 1004 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
Recommended by 85% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1004)Booking.com Reviews (107)
8.3
Excellent
From 1004 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities7.3
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.4
Value for money8.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
Tiếng Việt
日本語
more
Room type
Superior
Deluxe No View
Deluxe City View
Suite
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 780 verified guest comments
7.6
Very good
Kenny from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Book 2 N But Managed to stay 1 N”
I book 2 nite, but the other nite when I back from Sapa, they told me no room, When i ask why, they said room got problem, may be over book issues, is ok. luckily hotel staff bring me to another hotel walking distance about 9min, Then we have to request for pick up for the next day schedule to Halong Bay instead pick up at Romance hotel as we already inform Klook early. Over is over. Recently I just book few hotels with aAgoda for my Tokyo and kyoto trip,. Please help me to arrange properly without overbook by others. thank you
Reviewed January 25, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Kenny from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
holiday”
no bad location and staff good
Reviewed January 23, 2018
7.6
Very good
priscilla from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
value for money”
the only downside is the location. It's located in the alley way.
Reviewed January 22, 2018
5.2
Mohit from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe No View
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Gave us”
The staff here were liars. They gave us a twin room instead of a double room even though there were clearly double rooms available right next to us. They also lied about availability of the rooms on different dates so they didn't have to move me to a different room on the next day. Also, I lived in 4 different hotels during my stay in long visit to Hanoi and this one was the least value for money.
Reviewed January 21, 2018
5.6
neil from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Above average”
The Room on Agoda said 22 meters the room I got was around 14 meters, I brought this to thier attention and they tranfered me to Room would be about 20 meters, also the Room was Cold they had central heat so no excuse for that! At Breakfast some male staff member working with Breakfast kept picking his Nose, heceould dig out his little treasures and eat them while it would seem he was assisting the female staff! Big turnoff! Breakfast was weak!
Reviewed January 14, 2018
8.0
Excellent
IRENCEVA from Indonesia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Great value and great location”
Room is good and the location is very near with night market and also easy to find mini market near the hotel..
Reviewed January 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Tzu-Hsiang from Taiwan
Couple
Suite
Stayed 7 nights in December 2017
Location is good, Relatively quiet, Excellent service.”
The Romance hotel is very close to the Hoan-Kiem lake and old streets. Room and restaurant are quite clean, which will definitely make you feel comfortable in Hanoi city. Comparing to the local travel agencies, which are mostly un-trustful, hotel has offer some good tours for guests and is able to help guest 24hrs while facing problems. Breakfast is simple but they change food everyday, so that you won't be tired of their breakfast. Strongly suggest to have the suite room because the size make me feel like in my home.
Reviewed December 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
ANTHONY from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Clean quiet comfortable”
Refubished inside so new and clean. Most rooms dont have a view so nice and quiet ideal for sleeping. Rooms bit small but i think they all are in hanoi as the hotels are mostly refurbished colonial buildings but big enough i guess. Good location for the lake and night life. Bfast was good; tasty and cooked. Staff nice which always makes a huge difference. I tried 3 hotels in hanoi that week and this was by far the best of the three so my first choice next time
Reviewed December 23, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
huynh from Vietnam
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
nice location ”
nice location , near everything , i will come back again
Reviewed December 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
JUYEONG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
staffs were very kind”
Staffs were very kind and location is good! Beer street and night market is very close!
Reviewed December 18, 2017
6.8
Good
Belinda from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Moved to a nearby hotel”
Due to unexpected repairs, we were moved to a different hotel upon check-in because our reserved room was unavailable. However, the staff were very apologetic about it, and the hotel we were moved to was of a similar rate and caliber. This review is primarily for the staff at Hanoi Romance Hotel.
Reviewed December 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jonathan from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Exceptional”
Friendly helpful staff, quiet but great location, comfortable room made up every day, ensuite with plenty of hot water, great breakfast... what more could you ask?
Reviewed December 03, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Steven from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Exceptional”
Great location in the center of everything water Pressure and Hot Water great wifi was good would stay here again
Reviewed November 26, 2017
4.0
Miriam from Australia
Couple
Deluxe No View
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Not good value for money”
Staff inattentive. They 'upgraded' us to a room with a view and a double bed even though we booked a twin. Organised an airport transfer that was 20mins late picking us up. Can't close the bathroom window. Room was very light at night abd noisy.
Reviewed November 25, 2017
5.2
Cheong from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Free & Easy”
Packed in between alley. Location good for browsing around.
Reviewed November 21, 2017
5.2
Cheong from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Happy wanderer”
Good location but at the alley. Getting car means have to walk to main road.
Reviewed November 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jeff from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe No View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Affordable, Convenient, Awesome!”
It is so convenient - just a few steps away from good food within the same alley. Night market is just in the next street. Easy for pick up (if you're traveling by Grab/Uber). Accommodation's essentials are available. The staff are great! Offer to even help to do booking for travel and entertainment. Couldn't ask for more!
Reviewed November 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jeff from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Affordable, Convenient, Awesome!”
It is so convenient - just a few steps away from good food within the same alley. Night market is just in the next street. Easy for pick up (if you're traveling by Grab/Uber). Accommodation's essentials are available. The staff are great! Offer to even help to do booking for travel and entertainment. Couldn't ask for more!
Reviewed November 12, 2017
8.8
Excellent
pratchaya from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Excellent”
good location , sweet staff , nothing to complain about.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Nguyễn from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Exceptional”
I arived at around 1 am and 2 staffs are waiting me at reception. The quick check in and I can go to my room - very clean and tidy. The staffs are so nice and especially for room service - when i went back to hotel soon and they were cleaning my room and they did quickly to avoid disturbing me but everything is clean and i satisfied about this. This hotel stayed in the old quater just takes around some minutes to go to Hoan Kiem Lake and have a lot of delicious restaurant next to.
Reviewed November 07, 2017
6.0
Eliot from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Very pushy and unhelpful staff”
Nice room and great location, BUT...... Staff wants to sell you tours and private car trips at very inflated prices otherwise their attitude is you can go f... yourself. Buffet breakfast very weak. WiFi in room and refrigerator did not work.
Reviewed November 02, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
koji from Japan
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Great value for money!”
The room was clean and smelt nice. In spite of the hustle and bustle outside the hotel was reasonably quiet inside. Be aware that a shutter will close down at night for those arriving late at night with no internet connection. Besides that it was a great experience. I would go back here again.
Reviewed November 02, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Christie from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
Hard to find, the alley entrance is deceiving though, this is a very nice modern hotel, very comfortable
Reviewed November 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Giancarlo from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Great hotel for the price”
Good location in the heart of the old quarter and clean nice rooms for the price. Staff was helpful, breakfast wasn't too bad and rooms were mostly quiet. Would stay again.
Reviewed October 30, 2017
6.8
Good
LAN from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Good”
There was no courtesy early check in, even I had sent a request. They had room but I had to pay extra. We had to walk around from 1000 am to 0100pm. Disappointed. Two young ladies at breakfast buffet we’re very nice. Thank you.
Reviewed October 27, 2017
7.2
Very good
woeiling from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
good location. very near to lake and outside hotel have alots famous local food.”
receptionist very friendly and good service. although we booking the cheapest room, room abit small.
Reviewed October 26, 2017
6.0
Gemma from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe No View
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Forget about having breakfast”
Good value for money, right in the middle of the craziness of old quarter. Breakfast....bad bad bad, I only ended up eating fruits and coffee.....I tried bit of everything and no way I could finish it. I am a good eater...so believe me, if you stay here forget about breakfast!
Reviewed October 25, 2017
6.0
Phuc from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Wifi not usable in my room”
After letting them know, I had to remind them a few times before they sent some guy to reset the router. They went up, checked and confirmed wifi is down but took no action until I forced them to fix.
Reviewed October 23, 2017
7.2
Very good
Phuc from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Some rooms have no wifi”
They transfer us to another room near the router, but they let us move our stuff ourselves without sending anyone to help. Staff are not so friendly.
Reviewed October 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Rodney from United States
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
This was the second stay of my trip, so see my review from my 02 October to 08 October stay. Excellent
Reviewed October 23, 2017
6.8
Good
DOMINIC from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Good”
Food location drinking
Reviewed October 19, 2017
6.8
Good
Abdul from India
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Need improvement ”
Cleanliness can be improved along with break fast. staff are supportive but charge double the rate of market.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
6.4
Good
Leanne from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Good”
A hotel that is close to the lake. Easy to find and all you need for a stop gap. Staff were welcoming and the room was comfortable. A few down sides to the hotel were that breakfast was simple with not many choices for western quests as welll as limited wifi access that would only work well in the lobby.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
6.8
Good
from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Good”
The staff friendly , near city centre .
Reviewed October 12, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Rodney from United States
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 6 nights in October 2017
Great Hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi”
I've visited Vietnam many times, but this was the first in Hanoi, I enjoy the small hotels tucked away in the alleys as they are quieter and more enjoyable to stay in. The Hanoi Romance Hotel is just this and an excellent value for the money. My room was really nice, one of their suites with bedroom and sitting area. Comfortable bed, never an issue with hot water, house keeping always prompt in the morning, lots of storage for luggage and well equipped. Their restaurant in the 1st floor lobby was awesome to say the least. There were more than 20 items and they varied day by day. It was the second best breakfast buffet I have had in Southeast Asia. Negative: Only one item, a very severe lack of power outlets. Everyone in the room is in use, so I had to unplug the hot water pot and a bedside lamp to charge my phone. Suggestion to Management: Hanoi is the gateway to Sapa, a fabulous resort town in the northwest Vietnam mountains. The primary way to get there is by overnight train which leaves around 10:00 pm. The hotel needs to offer 1/2 day rates for its guests if they have vacant rooms. Current policy is No.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
8.0
Excellent
HOCK from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Excellent”
spacious room, clean, very good breakfast. definitely be back to stay again. but staff not so helpful. only disadvantage was situated at back lane. taxi cant go in.
Reviewed October 09, 2017
5.6
Minh from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Staffs not friendly”
Only a key for room with 2 persons. Want one more key but staff say NO.
Reviewed October 09, 2017
6.8
Good
Hooi from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Good location”
We stayed in a superior room. Room was clean, but we found it noisy as our room was close to the lift and stairs. Valued for money paid. Staff were helpful.
Reviewed October 08, 2017
8.4
Excellent
GIRI from India
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Excellent”
Good location,staff,& Breakfast...
Reviewed October 02, 2017
6.8
Good
Gregory from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Decent hotel”
Seemingly a nice location on a small side street. But, with the front room it was loud starting around 4:00 with a makeshift butcher shop. Smallish closet type rooms typical of Vietnam. Clean rooms and nice staff.
Reviewed September 28, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Kin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe No View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Exceptional”
Walking distance to beer street, Lake, Dong Xuan Night Market, Egg Coffee! Staff helpful...Excellent spot at Old Quarter..
Reviewed September 10, 2017
7.6
Very good
Cho from Myanmar
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Value for money”
Location is great. It is just 5 - 10 mins walking distance to the night market, beer & bars. Taxi can't go in as the hotel is located in the small alley. But it is about 1-2 mins walking distance only to the street to access the taxi. Since the hotel is located in a small alley, it is quiet and good for rest. Breakfast is ok for us and the staffs are helpful. You can rent the auto-motorbike for one whole day with 250.000 vnd from the hotel. Depends on the type of motorbike, the price will be vary. Will choose again if we happen to go Hanoi again.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Dear Mr Choo, Thank you so much for your review. Please come back our Hanoi Romance Hotel for next time visit Hanoi .
Responded August 14, 2017
Ancient Town Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Ahtisham from Pakistan
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Central location, well behaved and groomed staff always ready to help you”
Best value for money, nice cosy rooms with all the imaginable facilities and room service . Friendly staff which can go all out to help you. Nice location just few hundered metres away from all the happening places old quarter, Don xuan market, puppet theatre, night market and hoan kiem lake etc. we enjoyed our stay a lot. Breakfast includes a nice combo of vietnamese and western mix. Highly recommended place to stay long or short duration.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Dear sir/madam Ahtisham, Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back at our Hanoi Romance Hotel.
Responded August 04, 2017
Ancient Town Hotel
8.8
Excellent
choo from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe No View
Stayed 5 nights in July 2017
Friendly staff and central location ”
Friendly staff, cleanliness room,located in small alley ,central location easy access to night market just 5min walk, anyway value for money.
Reviewed July 20, 2017
7.6
Very good
MOHAMMED from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Good for 1 night stay”
Just a basic hotel, not too impress, day time staffs are nicer, night time staffs are not. But pay what you get.
Reviewed June 29, 2017
Dear Mr Mohammed, Thank you so much for your review. We will check our hotel night receptionist and we are very sorry for that . Hanoi Romance Hotel look forward to welcoming you as soon as possible .
Responded July 17, 2017
Ancient Town Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Vi from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
nice hotel, good location”
I stayed here several times when i visited Ha Noi. Hotel is located at a small alley which is closed to everything. The staff is very helpful. My room was quite nice
Reviewed June 29, 2017
Dear chị Vi , Cảm ơn chị đã chọn Hanoi Romance Hotel và đáng giá khách sạn tốt. Hanoi Romance Hotel rất mong muốn được tiếp đón các anh/chị trong thời gian sớm nhất.
Responded July 17, 2017
Ancient Town Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Tony from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Best Value in Hanoi”
This hotel has become my default hotel in Hanoi and will be the only hotel I stay at when I visit Hanoi. It is in a ideal location in Hanoi's "Old Quarter" down a small quiet laneway. The staff are excellent and Will at reception is extra helpful.
Reviewed June 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Marcus from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe No View
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Great stay at Hanoi Romance Hotel”
I travelled to Hanoi in June and stayed at the Hanoi Romance Hotel, which turned out to be a really good choice. Very good value for money, the staff is super friendly, breakfast is good, and the location couldn't be any more perfect. Smack bang in the middle of the Old Quarter, yet in a quieter side street. I can recommend the rooms that do not look out to street as they are whisper quiet.
Reviewed June 24, 2017
6.0
Sophie from Australia
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Very basic ”
Good for a brief stop over. Great location.
Reviewed June 23, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Tony from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Best Value in Hanoi”
I believe this hotel is the best value in Hanoi. When the location, quality, price is considered I do not believe there could be better value. This is my second stay and I have already booked two more stays.
Reviewed June 21, 2017