Book Now: Aquarius Grand Hotel

Excellent
From 1254 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
Recommended by 95% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1254)Booking.com Reviews (150)
8.4
Excellent
From 1254 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities7.7
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.6
Value for money8.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
ภาษาไทย
Tiếng Việt
more
Room type
Superior
Deluxe
Family Suite 4 person
Deluxe Triple
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1180 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Josephine from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Very good”
Staff are polite and helpful.
Reviewed November 08, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Voradeth
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Good hotel in good location”
Good hotel in good location. Staff friendly but only receptionist can understand some english. Pick up was not really smooth. You have to wait around 45 min before the driver come to meet you.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
5.2
Samir from Egypt
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 15 nights in August 2017
It is a just 3 stars hotel not more ”
It is a just 3 stars hotel not more.. I recommend this hotel only for short stay !!!
Reviewed October 27, 2017
3.2
Lim from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017
Poor customer service from hotel staff”
keeping the rooms tidy daily. In term of arrival & checkin, perhaps Aquarius Hotel may want to improve like: -Welcome drinks -short advisory chat with guests like be careful when crossing the road, try not to bargain if you are the first morning customers, etc. -advise guests places of interest in Hanoi city -promote Vietnam & tours that the hotel may offer. The hotel may want to do this cross selling rather guests to enquire Secondly for friendliness, from a scale of 1-10 (10 being the excellent) from the welcoming hotel man and lady who deserve a 9 rate. Both are polite and never forget to greet us and asking how's our day when we met. Both are also apologetic even when we complained about the unbearable loud banging & renovation for the entire stays (which is unfortunate but at least the hotel should inform/offer to let its guests know earlier during booking so that we may make arrangment to spend afew days in Sapa or Halong and resume our in Aquarius). Sad to say about the other young man in white who knows nothing about manners and courteous. We wish to express dissatisfaction on him which we will not repeat our stay in your hotel because of his poor manners and attitude. We won't recommend to friends and will share our comments to Agoda and Booking.com. He never greets guests. A simple good morning or good night is polite. Our impression/view on him is very poor which regretable does not augurs well on the hotel. Breakfast starts late and not open timely i.e. past 7:10 am. This is most inconvenient as Hanoi's daylight is early & when we need to leave early for our tours. We saw hotel guests were loitering at lobby to wait for the said restaurant to open. Your same young hotel guest staff (100% lacking service tact) as usual never greets Good Morning but chase guests away from the restaurant, saying 'restaurant not open, restaurant not open!!!'. Should guests be treated that? I remembered a couple from HK saying in chinese "Goodness..only guests say '
Reviewed October 27, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Siew from Malaysia
Group
Family Suite 4 person
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
worth the money”
We booked the family suite which is very spacious. We were welcome warmly by the staff and drink. Check in was smooth. Delicious breakfast and many choices. Located near the lake and famous egg coffee Giang Cafe We will definitely choose aquarius grand hptel again when we come to hanoi.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
sean from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Great hotel with friendly staff”
Had triple room which was spacious and clean. Staff very accommodating & always willing to help.
Reviewed October 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
sean from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Very good and helpful staff rooms very clean and well maintained. Will use again”
Staff exceptionally welcoming and helpful throughout stay
Reviewed October 08, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Shaw from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Suite 4 person
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Good Hotel”
Good hotel
Reviewed October 05, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Kent from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
A good choice with friendly staff”
Although this room isn't large, it's clean.It's about 5' to Hoan Kiem Lake. The staff is so friendly and helpful, they're always ready to help you even without your requirement. It's enough for me even there are no more choice for breakfast.
Reviewed October 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Tuyet from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Exceptional”
Actually I stayed here with my Dad. - I was so impressed with the hotel's services. - On the date we arrived and left, the bellman supported us to move luggage in and out of the hotel & room. - The room was not too large but it was ok for my Dad & me. Room & bathroom were very clean and tidy. The bed was spacious so that i can sleep well. - I requested the Manager to check out late as i needed more time for package and he was so nice to accept to delay check-out time an hour. :) - The lady at reception table helped me to pack my carton box before i left Hanoi. - Hotel location was convenient to visit Ho Guom, Dong Xuan market, .... some coffee shops & shopping stores were very closed to the hotel.
Reviewed October 01, 2017
7.6
Very good
Cynthia from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Great Location and Value ”
Staff were very friendly and helpful. We used laundry service, money exchange and asked for nice sights to visit. Breakfast is simple but the pho is delicious and a great way to start the day.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Manh from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Good management!”
Good location, good room, good breakfast!
Reviewed September 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Phuong from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Great!”
Nice and clean room, perfect location, good breakfast! Staffs are the best team ever!
Reviewed September 16, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Nur from Malaysia
Group
Family Suite 4 person
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Very pleasant stay”
This hotel was just renovated recently. The staff was very friendly and willing to help us on anything. They provide complimentary coffee/tea during check in. The room was clean and cozy. they clean the room and change towel everyday. Breakfast was simple, but fulfilling. They prepared the menu upon request, and there are bread, fresh fruits buffet as well. The hotel is walking distance to Hoan Kiem Lake, ThangLong water puppet and night market. For Muslim traveller, there are "Little Indian" restaurant served halal menu about 5mins walk.
Reviewed September 14, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Kin from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Great Location ”
Newly renovated . Facilities are new. Helpful and understanding staff. Good location .
Reviewed September 10, 2017
6.8
Good
Danielle from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Nice location”
Hotel is very near to a lot of restaurants, stores and night market. Breakfast is just okay. You only have a choice one meal - either a noodle soup or bread with egg,but the fruits are plenty though.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
New Facilities, great location and super staffs!”
They've just renovated hotel, our room is nice and clean. It has a small window and quiet. Breakfast is the best one we've tried at some similar 3 star hotels. Location is great, in central of The Old Quarter, lots of coffee shops and restaurants nearby. The staffs are super!!!
Reviewed August 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Lisa from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Great all around hotel”
We loved this hotel. It's location is perfect...in a cleaner part of the old quarter a few blocks from Hoan Kiem Lake and walking streets. The spacious room was clean and bright with simple modern decor. They put a few rose petals on the bed as a nice touch. Larger flat screen TV. Clean and new bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful. My daughter is vegetarian and they made her a special breakfast. We left our bags there all day because we had a night train booked to Sapa not leaving until 9pm; they let us hang out in their lobby until we got picked up. We would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Firdaus from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Newly renovated hotel.”
Everything is new and clean, however mattress a lil bit hard. Probably need a break in.
Reviewed August 09, 2017
6.4
Good
Lara from Philippines
Group
Family Suite 4 person
Stayed 5 nights in June 2015
Good stay”
We stayed 4 days in this hotel. It was quite a good experience. Our room was clean, and spacious. The hotel had good location. Very near to all markets (pratanum market) and malls (platinum mall). Walking distance to and from Central World. You can also buy food nearby for lunch and dinner.
Reviewed August 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
ANGELICA from Australia
Family with teens
Family Suite 4 person
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Couldn't have asked for better everything. ”
Location location and yup location. We asked for the back room for quiet. Staff so gracious, books our tours no hassle and gave us hope that not all Vietnames are aggressive :) since we had some pretty tough ones in Dalat. Will definitely come back. Highly recommended esp their memory foam beds. Newly renovated rooms. Opp a great seafood rest also serving seafood noodles. Like Singapore noodle and pad Thai in one :)
Reviewed July 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Cheryl from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Suite 4 person
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
the staff is very helpful and the location is very good. ”
we stayed there with our elderly parents for 4 nights and we have no complain with any thing. the staff were very helpful. they clean room and change the towels very day. they served tasty breakfast. they treated our parents us their family too, thats our parents were very greatful to all of them. i high recomend this hotel for a budget friendly and comfortable stay.
Reviewed July 20, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Paul from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Comfortable environment, great customer service”
I only stayed a few hours (checked in late in the evening and out early the next morning due to itinerary), but I left the hotel with a pleasant feeling. Traces of their effort to make you feel welcome were evident, from the neatly-folded elephant-shaped towels greeting you from the bed when you first step into the room, to rose-petals delicately placed on the sheets. Buffet-style breakfast is served and you could get the ready-to-eat fare from their counters or order something from their breakfast menu. The staff would also prepare any special orders as best as they could. Located a little off-centered from the middle of the district, getting around was convenient.
Reviewed July 17, 2017
6.0
Shirley from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Above average”
Air con not cold
Reviewed June 01, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Rencana from Indonesia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Very good”
Old building, worth for money, and have a good breakfast
Reviewed May 16, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
woo from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
friendly staff”
Happy stay
Reviewed May 07, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
woo from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
great friendly staff”
Happy stay
Reviewed May 07, 2017
8.0
Excellent
SL from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Very friendly staffs. ”
Good place..Big room.nice helpful staff
Reviewed April 28, 2017
2.0
Harriette from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Scammed - paid in advance and switched to a horrible hotel upon arrival”
We booked and paid in advance following a recommendation, yet upon arrival we were told there was no room since a guest's son had become ill and the family had to stay an extra day (we found online that this excuse has been used before - the staff admitted later on it wasn't true). We were told a room had been allocated at Crystal Hotel across the road which was apparently under the same management and a similar standard. The room they gave us was horrific (not sure I can upload pics here?) - mouldy and dirty bathroom, dank dingy bedroom with a terrible mattress with springs sticking out, no window to outside, etc. Given it was late we had limited options plus we had paid in advance and we were not allowed a refund. We were told we could return to the Aquarius Legend the next day and get an upgrade which did come through - but we did not enjoy our stay as we felt cheated and no discount was offered for the first night despite asking a lot. Do not risk this happening!
Reviewed April 27, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ming from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
The staffs are very friendly ”
The hotel is pretty old actually, the facilities are not brand new, please do not have high expectation. But the staffs are very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great right at the border of the old quater, less noisy comparing to inside old quater. The lake is just 2 minutes walk away.
Reviewed April 26, 2017
7.2
Very good
Chan from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Nice services and location!”
Nice services and facilities, delicious breakfast as well !!
Reviewed April 21, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Christopher from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Excellent”
Nice location,helpful staff but the hotel has a tendency of changing booking accommodation at the last minute.
Reviewed April 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Katherine from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Great hotel, great locaation”
The hotel was just excellent. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was good (and included!) and it's right in the heart of the Old Quarter.
Reviewed April 09, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Gemma from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Exceptional”
Fantastic
Reviewed April 07, 2017
6.0
Vidhi from India
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
In desperate need of renovation ”
This hotel is situated in the heart of the old quarter and only a few minutes from the Hoan Kiem lake. I only stayed there for one night after having stayed at another hotel down the road. My experience was marred by the fact that the night staff at the reception desk seemed highly unprofessional and unwilling to help. We were immediately told that we had booked "the smallest room" in the hotel- which I thought was unnecessary given that we were only staying there for a night and regardless, since the staff didn't know we had stayed in a suite in the previous hotel, I don't understand why such comments were warranted. The room itself was of adequate size and the amenities were alright but it was extremely poorly lit and all the furniture was old and the bed springs were creaking. Breakfast was alright in the morning with plentiful fruit and the morning staff seemed pleasant. We were allowed to keep our luggage stored till later in the evening as our flight was late at night. However again, the check out process was marred by being hassled time and again by the staff about exactly when we would be collecting out bags to check out. They needn't have asked since many other people had left their luggage as well! Staying here, please be advised that you get what you pay for. It's passable for one night but definitely not for a longer stay.
Reviewed April 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Yuen from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Very good”
Hotel is near the Hoan Kiem Lake and there are lots of eateries around. Staff were helpful and nice. Booked airport transfer for us at USD15 and sheltered us with umbrellas as it was raining on the day we left. Thank you!
Reviewed April 02, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Chaivaree from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Comfortable room clean bathroom helpful and friendly staff”
Breakfast choices could be improve with variety of selections
Reviewed March 26, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Molly from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Lovely place!”
Great location, rooms, and staff! The hotel is lovely, breakfast was delicious, and we were treated so well. Awesome location in the old quarter. I got really sick and the staff was not only helpful for finding an English speaking doctor, they also remembered and checked in that I was feeling okay. We got a free upgrade to a family room, so we had tons of space. Everything seemed nice, an older building but with good upkeep, it gave it a nice feel. Sound traveled a bit through the walls, by it was plenty quiet at night still. I would definitely recommend this hotel!
Reviewed March 09, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Ralph from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
When visiting Hanoi I always stay here.”
Staff, location, great breakfast with a variety of fruits and value for the price.
Reviewed March 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Dao from Canada
Family with young children
Deluxe Triple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Amazing staff!!”
Front staff are amazing!! Great location in the Old Quarter.
Reviewed February 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Shayne from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Amazing Hotel in Hanoi! ”
I read the reviews of the Aquarius Legend and decided to book for 2 days and couldn't be more happier that I did! They arraigned an airport pickup for us when we landed and had us at the hotel in no time. Rooms are big, clean and exactly what you need on the road. The location is excellent right in the old quarter, walking distance to sights, food and drinks. Biggest thing about this hotel is staff! The staff there is just amazing. Nam helped us book our Halong Bay cruise and train tickets to the next stop. Even let us use a shower when we got back from Halong Bay even tho we had checked out. This trip I'm travelling with my Dad and it's his first trip anywhere. We're now way further down the coast of Vietnam and he is still raving about how good the Aquarius Legend is and everyone that works there. He wants to go back to Hanoi on another trip to stay there. If I'm back through Hanoi it'll be my choice too.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Paul from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Very good value for money”
Very good value for money....staff were very helpful. Great breakfast and good location only walking distance from good markets and shopping.
Reviewed February 17, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
James from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Exceptional”
Great place and location. Staff was the best we have ever had. They go out of their way to do anything for you.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Roslyn from Australia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
We will come back again!”
After a delayed pickup at the airport due to changed flight times we were delighted to be welcomed so warmly upon arrival that the Aquarius Hotel. A refreshing cup of tea while our paperwork was processed.. We loved the beautiful touches in the (ultra clean) rooms with petals and towels!! Your breakfast staff are to be commended for the freshness and variety offered. We also found ourselves back at the Aquarius Hotel & using their airport shuttle 3 days later, even tho we were not even booked in at the hotel at the time!! Very friendly reception staff who speak excellent English and love to have a laugh & conversation with you... We very highly recommend!!!
Reviewed January 20, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
hau from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Warm feelings during my stay”
The service is 5 stars , breakfasts are with fresh and tasty choices of fruits, pho noodles soup , eggs cooked to your choices , staffs are attentive to a fault . I can't wait to return as it s always the hotel of my preference in Hanoi , the feelings of home away from home . Thank you to all of you again : Giang & Diep ( chefs) Huan ( nighttime manager) Yen & Phuong And Nam , daytime operational management team . My sincerest appreciation of your greatest services ;-)))
Reviewed January 20, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
hau from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Great service , staffs are super friendly, ”
Huan , daytime manager went all his way to help me set up my new phone , Giang , the chef is always gracious serving me good breakfast . Room is clean , I have nothing to complain about this place ! This was my second visit and stayed here . I will return here anytime when I visit Hà Nội again .
Reviewed January 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
wanwisa from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Nice place for traveller”
I was there around second week of Jan 17. Very nice receptionist both of day and night shift. Breakfast and room is valuable also the location is close to the lake and night marker
Reviewed January 16, 2017
4.0
Duc from Vietnam
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
What a horrible hotel”
Even though the staff were great, it did not cover the fact that this hotel was a old one, with a horrible smell. Everything was old, rusty and mouldy. We will not stay here again
Reviewed January 11, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Mohd from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
Great value for money”
Located right next to a Halal restaurant. Should have booked this hotel a few days earlier.
Reviewed January 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Michael from Germany
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
So friendly staff!”
...
Reviewed December 30, 2016