Arena Black Lion
HD Image
Family Room with Private Bathroom Arena Black Lion
Exterior view Arena Black Lion
Exterior view Arena Black Lion
See all 30 photos
Removed from saved list
7.4
Very good
/10
(44 reviews)See what guests said
See map
8.5
Excellent
Location rating score
Excellent location - 420 meters from city center
  • Manchester Cathedral Summer Concerts300 m
  • Waterstone's320 m
  • Harvey Nichols340 m
  • The Shambles360 m
  • Old Wellington Inn370 m
  • Jenny Jones Jewellery370 m
  • Marks & Spencer380 m
  • John Rylands Library380 m
  • HMV Manchester400 m
  • Salford Central Train Station400 m
  • Free Wi-Fi

    Arena Black Lion

    65 Chapel Street, Manchester City Center, Manchester, United Kingdom, M3 5BZ - See map

    This property is in high demand!

    Last booked 5 hours ago

    "Unlike what the other reviews say I found this place to be very clean, comfortable, and a great value for the money."
    Avery - May 18, 2018
    Excellent service
    8.3 rating for service
    Good cleanliness
    6.7 rating for cleanliness
    • 400 meters to public transportation

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Daily housekeeping

    • Bar

    • Laundry service

    Property ranking|Compared to 1,582 Manchester properties
    See all rankings
    Review score - United States
    8.8/10
    Location score
    8.5/10
    Service score
    8.3/10
    Value for money score
    7.5/10
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Manchester properties
    Better than
    97
    %
    of Manchester properties
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Manchester properties
    Better than
    95
    %
    of Manchester properties
    Value for money7.5
    Location rating8.5
    Nearest airportManchester Airport (MAN)
    Distance to airport13.8 km

    Rooms available at Arena Black Lion

    Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - No Window
    Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - No Window
    ...
    • Shared bathroom
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Single with Shared Bathroom
    Standard Single with Shared Bathroom
    ...
    • Shared bathroom
    • 1 single bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    ...
    • Shared bathroom
    • 4 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    ...
    • Shared bathroom
    • 3 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Twin with Shared Bathroom
    Standard Twin with Shared Bathroom
    ...
    • Shared bathroom
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Family Room with Private Bathroom
    Family Room with Private Bathroom
    ...
    • Shower
    • 1 single bed and 1 double b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    ...
    • Shared bathroom
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    2 Single Beds with No Windows, No Smoking
    2 Single Beds with No Windows, No Smoking
    ...
    • No Windows view
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Room with Private Bathroom
    Double Room with Private Bathroom
    ...
    • Shower
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Arena Black Lion

    More about Arena Black Lion

    An overview

    Show less

    Most talked about facilities

    Breakfast
    1 mention
    Internet
    1 mention

    What they offer

    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less
    Most recent reviews for Arena Black Lion
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 1 night in August 2019
    Standard Single with Shared Bathroom
    Review score5.2
    Pub bedsThis is a pub sich beds/ More than 30£ is overpriced!
    reinhardfrom United KingdomReviewed August 15, 2019
    Group
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2019
    2 Single Beds with No Windows, No Smoking
    Excellent8.0
    Rooms with no windows- never again The staff is absolutely brilliant and the location is spot on, although the hotel itself needs a good refurb. Beds really comfy, TV signal was cutting off, the heating in the bathroom and our room was on, even though it was absolutely boiling outside. First night felt like we were in sauna, so we had to check out earlier. Maybe other rooms are ok, but room 7 is definitely not the best.
    Agnieszkafrom United KingdomReviewed July 02, 2019
    Business traveler
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019
    Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    Very good7.6
    Very goodGood
    Muhammadfrom PakistanReviewed July 01, 2019
    Couple
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2019
    Family Room with Private Bathroom
    Exceptional9.6
    Cheap and centralPros central location. Cons rooms need up dating. The pub is very nicely decorated. The staff were very helpful and friendly
    PALMINDERfrom United KingdomReviewed June 09, 2019
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019
    Standard Single with Shared Bathroom
    Excellent8.8
    Very friendly, and in good location.Dave, and his team were very friendly, and helped made my stay that little bit better !!
    Davidfrom United KingdomReviewed May 08, 2019

    Reviews of Arena Black Lion from real guests

    Overall rating
    6.7
    Good
    From 1306 reviews
    Provided by verified guests of
    Agoda Reviews (44)Booking.com Reviews (1262)
    Rating via Agoda7.4
    /
    10
    Very good
    Cleanliness6.7
    Facilities6.1
    Location8.5
    Service8.3
    Value for money7.5
    High score for Manchester
    Rating
    9+ Exceptional (1)
    8-9 Excellent (2)
    7-8 Very Good (5)
    6-7 Good (3)
    <6 Below Expectation (7)
    Time of the year
    Mar - May (7)
    Jun - Aug (7)
    Sep - Nov (3)
    Dec - Feb (1)
    All guests (44)
    All room types
    All languages
    Showing 18 verified guest comments
    5.2
    reinhard from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Standard Single with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in August 2019

    Pub beds”

    This is a pub sich beds/ More than 30£ is overpriced!

    Reviewed August 15, 2019
    8.0
    Excellent
    Agnieszka from United Kingdom
    Group
    2 Single Beds with No Windows, No Smoking
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

    Rooms with no windows- never again ”

    The staff is absolutely brilliant and the location is spot on, although the hotel itself needs a good refurb. Beds really comfy, TV signal was cutting off, the heating in the bathroom and our room was on, even though it was absolutely boiling outside. First night felt like we were in sauna, so we had to check out earlier. Maybe other rooms are ok, but room 7 is definitely not the best.

    Reviewed July 02, 2019

    Good evening to you, Thank you for your review of the Arena Black Lion hotel. We want to apologise that you did not enjoy stay in room 7. This room is a room without a window and when it gets hot, the room can get quite stuffy. We do provide fans and if we ever have a room to move you too then we will also assist you where we can. Our location is ideal for anything you wish to do in Manchester so we are glad you enjoyed this part of your stay. We do apologise that you felt you had to check out early and thank you again for your feedback. Please do return, Best wishes Amy

    Responded August 14, 2019
    Arena Black Lion
    7.6
    Very good
    Muhammad from Pakistan
    Business traveler
    Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    Very good”

    Good

    Reviewed July 01, 2019

    Hi Muhammed, Thank you for leaving your comments. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay! Best wishes Amy

    Responded August 14, 2019
    Arena Black Lion
    9.6
    Exceptional
    PALMINDER from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Family Room with Private Bathroom
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

    Cheap and central”

    Pros central location. Cons rooms need up dating. The pub is very nicely decorated. The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Reviewed June 09, 2019

    Good afternoon to you, Thank you for taking the time to review the Arena Black Lion hotel. We are really pleased with your comments and I will be sure to pass this on to the Black Lion staff. Our facilities are being renovated at the moment and we are doing some refurbishments. We do hope that this has not detered you from staying again and we would love for you to visit us again! Best wishes, Amy

    Responded August 14, 2019
    Arena Black Lion
    8.8
    Excellent
    David from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Standard Single with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Very friendly, and in good location.”

    Dave, and his team were very friendly, and helped made my stay that little bit better !!

    Reviewed May 08, 2019

    Good evening, Thank you for leaving your feedback. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team and please do stop by again! Best wishes, Amy

    Responded August 15, 2019
    Arena Black Lion
    6.0
    Vasant
    Business traveler
    Family Room with Private Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in April 2019

    Very noisy from loud fan, building work next door, guests coming and going right through night ”

    Requires sound proofing and complete renovation very noisy due to house like set up guests moving about keeps awake and here guests came at all. Hours

    Reviewed April 14, 2019
    2.4
    Folayele
    Family with young children
    Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    Provided a room that did not match what was ppsted online and agreed in the booking.”

    The didn't provide the required room for my family and we couldn't sleep there.It was dirty,a bar with heavy smoking at the lobby not children friendly,the room does not have toilet and bathroom.They knew their services were very poor hence they took out money from my account before arrival which is not pro per.Other hotels usually ta kik e out money just when you check in. We couldn't stay at the hotel as it didn't provide the number of required besd,due to health and safety reasons,security,lack of private toilet and bathroom and no parking.it was also not children friendly. The description of the hotel online is significantly terrbly different from the reality.I am demanding a full refund of my money as we couldn't stay there for all thr highlighted reasons.The stsff were mot courteous.

    Reviewed March 25, 2019
    3.6
    David
    Business traveler
    Standard Single with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    Worst hotel experience I've ever had, stay away”

    Not sure where to start. The room I was given was pretty much inhabitable. The mattress was so old and warn down that the springs were non-existent; the bed stand was also caved, making the bed have a huge dip in the middle, which has given me a bad lower back. The mattress was also covered in what looked urine stains. There was also no hot water in the room, the security latch to the door was practically holding on by a thread, so did not feel particularly secure, and the free wifi provided continuously cut out. And to top it off, there was loud music played from 10.30pm onwards from the bar downstairs, which I was not pre warned about - this music, coupled with the bed situation, basically made sleeping impossible. Overall, it genuinely was the worst hotel experience I have ever had, and I am not someone who likes to complain. My advice: stay away.

    Reviewed March 03, 2019
    5.6
    Monjurul from Maldives
    Solo traveler
    Standard Single with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018

    Great value for money ”

    Nice, clean room. A bit too small as i got the single room. The wifi was there but apparently not in my room. Asked the staffs but they said there’s nothing they can do about it. The free breakfast is a very simple continental one. But it’s a great value for money. Very close to central area.

    Reviewed November 17, 2018

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your review of the Arena Black Lion. We are thankful for your kind comments and positive comments of the hotel. We are sorry you felt the room was tiny and if you were to stay again in the future, we would ensure that we put you in a bigger room. Overall, we hope you had a pleasant stay. We are deeply sorry about the wifi - we do have regular checks that the connection is working in each and every part of the hotel including all rooms so I will take a further look into this to ensure that this does not happen again. Thank you again for your feedback and best wishes, Arena Black Lion Management

    Responded November 25, 2018
    Arena Black Lion
    8.0
    Excellent
    Eduard from United Kingdom
    Business traveler
    Standard Twin with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in September 2018

    Hygiene level need to improve . There no private bath ”

    And heating it was so poor. But anyway for that money is not bad at all. I will recommend to friends .

    Reviewed September 30, 2018

    Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us. We do have cleaners and house keeping on hand everyday, we do have room's with private bathrooms however these have to be selected specifically during the booking process. We are pleased that you found the hotel good value for money and would recommend this friends, we do hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Katie

    Responded October 30, 2018
    Arena Black Lion
    8.8
    Excellent
    Avery from United States
    Solo traveler
    Standard Single with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in May 2018

    Beware the other guests ”

    Unlike what the other reviews say I found this place to be very clean, comfortable, and a great value for the money. The noise was not an issue as it was not a match day. However as I tried to leave in the morning I was detained and harassed by a drunken guest who accused me of stealing from them. It was a bit scary as there was nothing stopping them from entering my room and causing damage. So, uh, feel free to stay here if you like adventure, but be careful!

    Reviewed May 18, 2018

    Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us. We are very sorry that you are only just receiving a response, we are under new management and we are trying our utmost to ensure that we are responding to everyone who may have been missed. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable however we are very sorry to learn about your experience with other guest's. We now have added security at night and do not leave until members of staff arrive. We do hope, despite this that you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Katie

    Responded October 30, 2018
    Arena Black Lion
    4.8
    mehmet from Turkey
    Group
    Family Room with Private Bathroom
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

    Acceptable”

    It is central but the hotel stinks and there was no warm water in the private bathroom so we had to use the shared bathroom.

    Reviewed May 13, 2018

    Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us, we are very sorry that you have waited so long for a reply to your review. We are now under new management are doing our utmost to update the hotel for the better. The hotel has recently undergone some changed to the hotel and despite your negative experience we do hope that you return in the future to give us the opportunity to turn your experience around, If you would like to discuss anything else, please do not hesitate to contact us direct, Kind Regards Katie

    Responded October 30, 2018
    Arena Black Lion
    6.4
    Good
    Felipe from Chile
    Solo traveler
    Double Room with Private Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    No para todos los gustos.”

    Creo que el alojamiento estaba bien para estudiantes o chicos universitarios. Personalmente no me gusto, lo encontré viejo y muy mal cuidado.

    Reviewed June 03, 2019

    Learn to pronounce Hola, Gracias por dejar tu comentario sobre el hotel Arena Black Lion. Realmente lamentamos que no haya disfrutado su estadía en general y nos gustaría agradecerle por dejar sus comentarios, ya que todos los comentarios nos permiten mejorar nuestras instalaciones y servicios. Visítanos nuevamente y estaremos más que felices de cambiar tu opinión sobre Arena Black Lion. Gracias Amy

    Responded August 15, 2019
    Arena Black Lion
    7.2
    Very good
    JORDI from Spain
    Solo traveler
    Standard Single with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

    Correcto Calidad/Precio y buena ubicación”

    El hotel esta situado a unos 5-6 minutos andando aprox del centro turístico de Manchester y cerca de la catedral (3 minutos) y del centro comercial Arnalde. Los trabajadores son muy amables y atentos. El desayuno correcto con tostadas, zumos,.. La habitación suficiente, es un poquito antiguo y sencillo pero si tienes en cuenta el precio, y buscar un lugar para dormir después de todo el día visitando la ciudad, es adecuado y encima estas a nada del centro turístico.

    Reviewed August 09, 2018

    Buenas tardes, Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para revisar su estancia aquí con nosotros, realmente valoramos sus comentarios. Estamos muy contentos de que el hotel tenga una buena relación calidad-precio y esté cerca de todas las comodidades y lugares locales que necesite. Nos complace que el personal también haya sido útil durante su visita. Esperamos verte de nuevo en el futuro. Saludos cordiales Katie

    Responded October 30, 2018
    Arena Black Lion
    4.0
    Emeric from France
    Couple
    Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

    Rien à voir avec les photos et bruyant”

    L'hôtel n’a rien à voir avec les photos. La bâtisse est splendide et le pub est sympa mais l’étage avec les chambres ne correspond en rien aux photos. La chambre était toute petite et ancienne avec des trous partout dans les murs et des fils qui traînent (je le répète : rien à voir avec les photos qui montre des chambres rénovées !). La fenêtre en simple vitrage ne filtre absolument pas les bruits et le rideau pourrait tout aussi bien ne pas exister (nous avons dû dormir avec un masque et des bouchons d’oreille). Les murs sont trop fins et nous avons vécus avec nos voisins pourtant pas si bruyants mais une télé ou un éclat de rire suffisait à nous réveiller. La salle de bain, bien qu’entretenue, était utilisée par beaucoup trop de monde ce qui contrebalance l’entretien. Nous avons été réellement déçus de notre séjour malgré le bon emplacement de cet hôtel et le personnel charmant (beaucoup d’autres hôtels dans la zone pour les mêmes tarifs). Je ne recommande vraiment pas le Black Lion.

    Reviewed July 14, 2018

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your review of the Arena Black. We do sincerely apologise that you felt your stay did not match up to your expectations. We truly are sorry that this was the case and we hope that this has not put you off staying again in the future. Our rooms are going through renovation such as double glazing windows and general maintenance of the hotel and we hope that coming back in the near future we can change your view of the Arena Black Lion. We do hope you enjoyed your stay in Manchester and got to see everything you came to see. Furthermore, if you have any questions or queries in the future please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly and we will be more than happy to assist. Kind regards Arena Black Lion Management

    Responded November 25, 2018
    Arena Black Lion
    6.8
    Good
    Arthur from Netherlands
    Couple
    2 Single Beds with No Windows, No Smoking
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2019

    Gehorig (geluid van de kroeg onder het hotel), maar prima slaapplek”

    Faciliteiten zijn voldoende. Relatief goedkoop voor ligging. Inbegrepen ontbijt was prima

    Reviewed October 22, 2019
    7.2
    Very good
    GYEONGMYEONG from South Korea
    Solo traveler
    Standard Twin with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

    화장실이 매우 불편”

    역시 화장실은 방 안에 있어야.... 청결 상태는 그저 그랬다. 시내랑 매우 가까움.

    Reviewed April 30, 2018

    안녕하세요, 시간을내어 여기에 머무는 동안 시간을내어 주셔서 감사합니다. 우리는 당신이 너무 오랫동안 응답을 기다렸던 것에 대해 매우 유감스럽게 생각합니다. 우리는 이제 새로운 관리하에 있으며 우리는 손님을 위해 할 수있는 모든 일을하려고 노력하고 있습니다. 우리는 기쁘게 생각합니다 체류를 즐겁게, 우리는 개인 욕실 룸을 가지고 있지만 예약 할 때 특별히 이것을 선택해야합니다. 우리가 도와 드릴 수있는 다른 것이 있으면 주저하지 말고 저희에게 연락하십시오. 킹 감사합니다 케이티 annyeonghaseyo, sigan-eulnaeeo yeogie meomuneun dong-an sigan-eulnaeeo jusyeoseo gamsahabnida. ulineun dangsin-i neomu olaesdong-an eungdab-eul gidalyeossdeon geos-e daehae maeu yugamseuleobge saeng-gaghabnida. ulineun ije saeloun gwanliha-e iss-eumyeo ulineun sonnim-eul wihae hal su-issneun modeun il-eulhalyeogo nolyeoghago issseubnida. ulineun gippeuge saeng-gaghabnida chelyuleul jeulgeobge, ulineun gaein yogsil lum-eul gajigo issjiman yeyag hal ttae teugbyeolhi igeos-eul seontaeghaeyahabnida. uliga dowa deulil su-issneun daleun geos-i iss-eumyeon jujeohaji malgo jeohuiege yeonlaghasibsio. king gamsahabnida keiti

    Responded October 30, 2018
    Arena Black Lion
    6.4
    Good
    Hiệp from Vietnam
    Group
    Family Room with Private Bathroom
    Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

    Ko có thang máy”

    Gần trung tâm nhưng khách sạn không có thang máy nên bê đồ khá khổ

    Reviewed December 24, 2018

    Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us. We are pleased that the location was great for your stay. We are sorry that we do not have a lift as we are a listed building we are not permitted to install one on the premesis. We do hope that dispite this you visit us again. Kind Regards Katie

    Responded January 17, 2019
    Arena Black Lion
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Arena Black Lion
    |Very good 7.4
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • John Rylands Library
    • Salford Central Train Station is within 0.4 km