Book Now: Artisan Lakeview Hotel

Excellent
From 437 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
86% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (437)
8.4
Excellent
From 437 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities7.3
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.9
Value for money8.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
日本語
Tiếng Việt
more
Room type
Superior
Deluxe City View
Deluxe Lake View
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 364 verified guest comments
8.8
Mattias from Sweden
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Perfect location, very helpful staff
Great location on a quiet side street. Decent breakfast across the street. Not to be mixed up with sister Artisan Botique Hotel next door. Very helpful and sweet staff. We would stay here again next time in Hanoi!
Reviewed November 24, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Juli from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017
Helpful staff but rundown hotel
Location is central, just a few steps from Hoang Kiem lake where most of the action is happening. Rooms are regularly cleaned but rundown. Room I stayed at has a view of the lake, big window. But everything else in the room/hotel is old. There are ants on dresser. Breakfast is meh, chicken pho super salty.
Reviewed November 21, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Sherri from United States
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Great stay, great location
This hotel had a perfect location close to the lake and an easy walk to everything. The staff went above and beyond with giving us tips on where to eat as well as booking our trips to Ha Long Bay. I did compare prices and they were close to most people. Always negotiate though. The safe was not really useable in the fact it wasn't screwed down onto anything. Their free breakfast was right across the street on the second floor. The food was okay but we loved sitting on the balcony the best. Very pleased with the hotel for the price and location and the staff.
Reviewed November 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.4
QUOC from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good location but not so clean
Not all rooms have balcony, bad odour sometimes
Reviewed November 10, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Lien from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Just Perfect
Love everything about this hotel. Nice breakfast, big room, shower very good and clean
Reviewed October 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Jagadish from Taiwan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
It's not a hotel with lakeside view
Don't get mistaken with the name of hotel. This hotel is not closer, only the top floor have lakeside view. However it's still a good one with clean rooms and toilet. Also the breakfast served in the morning is very delicious with many options. We stayed here for 3 days and had spent a good time in Hanoi, as this place is in the next street of the lake and also very close to the shopping.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
Miaw from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
not professional in handling customer booking
Already booked and make full payment in July, but when we arrived they told us is not enough room and move us to other hotel. If not enough room, why the hotel still take booking? Ridiculous !
Reviewed October 05, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Ayson from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Rooms with balconies
Love sitting on the balcony to watch the world go by. Basic rooms, but excellent value when you look at the price. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed October 01, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
lior from Israel
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
The staff -10 helpful
Stayed 3 nights, clean room, great staff very helpful. We were in a hurry, the staff encouraged us to eat breakfast before we go. The hotel charged us for 18$ Taxi from airport. Tour agency offered us 11$ we accepted without bargaining I would recommend my friend to stay in that hotel
Reviewed September 26, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Trevor from United States
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Artisan Lakeview Hotel is fantastic!
We really enjoyed our stay at the Artisan Lakeview Hotel. The staff were attentive and courteous. Our room was very nice on the fourth floor and we very much enjoyed the balcony for our morning coffee! The location was on a quiet street near the old quarter and very close to everything in the center of the city.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Haera from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
all the steps are sweeet.
this cozy hotel is located in the center among the nice tour attractions and nice restaurants. the lake is quite close. the steps working there are very sweeet and always smile ,,, i think it is the biggest reason makes me visit again. Thanks Artisan!
Reviewed August 09, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
6.8
John from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Lake View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Not a great lakeview
Don't let the name confuse you, there is not much of a lake view. The first night, they double booked my lake-view room and I had a street view. Then when they moved me the next day... the view was more focused on the neighboring buildings with the lake in the background.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
8.4
Tay from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Great Value
Went here with my parents, great location and reasonable price. Recommended
Reviewed June 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 6 nights in May 2017
Excellent
Great location very caring staff and excellent value for money
Reviewed June 02, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Faye from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Great hotel in the centre of Hanoi
We loved it here! After using Hanoi as a base to hop around north Vietnam we stayed in a few different hotels in Hanoi but the Lakeside and Artisan Boutique were our favourites. The boutique hotel is a little more expensive which you can tell but this is also a great place to stay. Nice size room with a balcony, comfy bed, great location and the staff were very friendly. The restaurant is opposite where there do great breakfasts and room service! I wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend this hotel
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Noel from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Highly recommended !
Staff are absolutely fantastic. Three lovely Vietnamese served us well during our 2 day stay. Extremely friendly atttitude. We got our bargain trip for Halong Bay from the as well, and get hold of a lot of useful information such as local delights recommended by them. They provide many services such as Halong Bay cruise, sapa trip, just to name a few. Pretty much most of the tourist information can get from them. Later that Me and my Friend moved to a 4 start hotel (Boss Legend Hotel), their services are absolutely negative. Regretted to move out from this hotel during my last day of stay. In summary, highly recommended.
Reviewed May 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Nam from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
The staff are very helpful.
Location is good. Breakfast can be improved. Room is a bit small. Overall it's pleasant stay.
Reviewed May 03, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
igor from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Great location but rooms little dated
Pros: location, staff, clean rooms Cons: bathroom needs remodeling
Reviewed April 30, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Catherine from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in April 2017
Disappointing Hotel in Great Location
I booked this hotel as it was in the same road as the Hanoi Imperial Hotel I stayed in last year and was very happy with. They were full as was Sunline but I booked the Artisan Lakeview expecting a not disimilar hotel although it was slightly less expensive. For the difference in price there was a big difference in the quality of the hotel. When I arrived I was offered a small rather tired room but the main problem was that it had a large window a few feet from the ground looking out onto a balcony that the next room was using. There were 3 men's shirts drying there. As a lone female I was distinctly uncomfortable about the fact that unless I kept the curtains closed at all times my room would be totally visible to whoever was on the balcony immediately outside. I was then shown another similar room without the balcony but this one reeked of cigarettes and I had requested a non smoking room. The third room was much better. It was larger and in better condition than the other two eg walls were not grubby, paintwork not scraped, hotel folder not greasy and dirty etc. The bathroom was rather tired with mildew round bath and on tiles and the grout on floor tiles had many brownis stains. The hotel itself did seem like a typical backpackers hotel and is probably ideal for this. I also found the breakfast to be poor. Orange squash that was overly sweet and jam that was incredibly sweet coloured jelly that had never seen any fruit. As I am diabetic I found these not to my taste. One very positive thing about the hotel was the quality of the reception staff. They were all extremely helpful and pleasant and deserved top marks. The hotel is ideally situated at the top of the lake and the edge of the old town and if looking for a fairly basic and reasonably inexpensive hotel would be fine. Unfortunately I had been spoiled by the eight other really excellent hotels stayed in in Vietnam.
Reviewed April 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
CHERLYN from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Good
Booked for Lakeview Boutique Hotel x 3 rooms for three nights. Had chosen Boutique over Lakeview. At check in they could only give one room in Boutique and two rooms across the road in Lakeview. Lakeview Room very small and smelly. Would not book there again.
Reviewed April 03, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
9.6
Laura from Germany
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Great, calm and friendly location
We stayed just one night in Hanoi before leaving Vietnam. The Hotel was an excellent choice for discovering Hanoi in just one day. It´s located very close to the old city and is additionally very calm. The staff was very friendly, helpful and polite. Breakfast was very tasty and diverse. Our room was clean and very cosy, everything you need is there!
Reviewed March 31, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
byoungeun from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Lake View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
nice
nice
Reviewed March 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
JOHN from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 5 nights in February 2017
Very helpful and friendly staff
Very good location very near lake, note that only most expensive rooms have distant view of lake. Lake side can be much quieter than street side as when bars empty late at night lots of noisy drunks on the street bellowing at the top of their lungs. Had both balcony street side and lakeside. Staff is excellent, breakfast better than average.
Reviewed February 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Rita from Portugal
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
Professional staff
Nice place with professional staff, complete breakfast and good location!
Reviewed February 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Maria from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Helpful, reliable staff; affordable
Same post as I made two bookings with them :) I wasn't able to go with my parents to this trip but I heard that the staff at Artisan Lakeview Hotel are incredibly kind, hospitable, and reliable. This was my parents first time to travel by themselves so I made sure to contact Artisan Lakeview and tell them to check on my parents every time they get a chance. And they did! After their tour on the first day, my father got a flu and one of the staff members brought them to a pharmacy. It was really nice of them. When my mother incessantly asked for shops where she could buy the souvenirs she was looking for, another staff member came with her. I really appreciate all their help. My parents' tour was made sweeter because of all the help they got from the guys at Artisan. The rooms were clean and the rates were affordable too.
Reviewed February 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Maria from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Absolutely incredible staff
I wasn't able to go with my parents to this trip but I heard that the staff at Artisan Lakeview Hotel are incredibly kind, hospitable, and reliable. This was my parents first time to travel by themselves so I made sure to contact Artisan Lakeview and tell them to check on my parents every time they get a chance. And they did! After their tour on the first day, my father got a flu and one of the staff members brought them to a pharmacy. It was really nice of them. When my mother incessantly asked for shops where she could buy the souvenirs she was looking for, another staff member came with her. I really appreciate all their help. My parents' tour was made sweeter because of all the help they got from the guys at Artisan. The rooms were clean and the rates were affordable too.
Reviewed February 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Richard from United States
Couple
Deluxe Lake View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Loved staying here
The staff was friendly and the location is excellent! :)
Reviewed February 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
cecil from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
GOOD VALUE
Room was spacious, it wasn't excellent but it was value for money. Nice location... a few minutes walk away from the lake, restos, convenience stores, shops, etc. Breakfast was good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Strong wifi signal.
Reviewed February 01, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Maria from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 7 nights in December 2016
Centrally Located No-Frills Hotel
Stayed for 7 days here. Although we had to cross over for breakfast to their restaurant, we love the balcony where you can watch the street below while enjoying breakfast. The staff were Excellent! Speaks good English, very friendly and helpful. We booked Ha Long Bay tour and cabs from/to airport through hotel too. Everything went smoothly. Staying for 7 days in Hanoi was just right for us to have a deeper insight into Vietnam. The hotel is at the tourist center itself, right at the Old Quarter and very near Hoan Kiem Lake. We explored the streets of the Old Quarter and strolled along the lake. We booked the City Tour and Perfume Pagoda Tour thru APT Travel. Both tours highly recommended. Dont miss bun cha, bah mi, and barbeque at Ma May street.
Reviewed January 10, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
carlo from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Lake View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
great staff, dirty
improve housekeeping.... horrible breakfast
Reviewed January 08, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Soek from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Lake View
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great location
Nice place to stay, choose the room facing lakeview to avoid the noise from the street. Staff are friendly and willing to help on our questions.
Reviewed December 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Soek from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Lake View
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good location
Overall the stay in Artisan Lakeview is good, friendly staff and great location. Pick-up and drop-off airport service was good too.
Reviewed December 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.2
MERVYN from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
One night stay
stop over stay for the night
Reviewed December 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Jeremy from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Vietnam holiday
The day we arrived the lifts were being serviced so had to use the stairwell. Unfortunately not a good start. Overall we had a lovely stay and the lift was back in action the next day. Staff could be a little more friendly. Breakfast good and close to the lake. Shopping and sightseeing great.
Reviewed December 17, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Rajasingham from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
The hotel is fairly central to the old part of Hanoi. They were efficient from the moment they picked us up at the airport to arranging our tour to Halong Bay and Sapa village.
The staff are friendly and my thanks should go to Ms Jenny. She spoke to us, listened to us before arranging our tour. In fact she saved us a lot of time and waiting, due to her efficient arragement, we had extra time to see more and spend more time in Hanoi. Please try this hotel, as for your tour package, please talk to Ms Jenny, she is really good and professional in a job.
Reviewed December 14, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Dennis from Australia
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
excellent
Would totally recommend this lovely hotel. Great location, staff so helpful & Jenny upgraded us to a room with lake views just the best way to top off our 4 week stay in Vietnam. The restaurant also serves excellent food. Thankyou.
Reviewed November 30, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Shawn from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Lake View
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Staying in Hanoi
Very nice hotel very friendly not quite the lake view I expected for the price
Reviewed November 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Martin from Indonesia
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Great! But need improvement
The location of Artisan Lakeview is on a road that is less crowded than other hotels in Hanoi Old Quarter, but yet very accessible, which i think is very important whule staying in Hanoi. The breakfast was superb and the staff helped us alot when we asked about recommendations for food and attractions. The down parts are that the shower was leaking and wet the bathroom alot. On the first night, we were moved to their sister hotel nearby unnoticed because the rooms were full and the hotel was horrible. Overall, i would recommend Artisan Lakeview to people who are short of budget
Reviewed November 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Anwari from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Everything here is just awesome
The staff were all very friendly, polite and helpful. My room was very cozy, facing an alley but that is good as it is away from all the traffic noise. Nearby are all the souvenir shops, the famous water puppet theater and the very beautiful Hoan Kiem lake.
Reviewed November 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Magnus from Denmark
Couple
Deluxe Lake View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Fantastisk hotel - Good value
Goodt
Reviewed October 17, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
LI from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Awesome place
Was here for a night. Will totally recommend this hotel and is worth the money. Got the balcony room. The view was superb. - Friendly English speaking staff - a street away from the busy night life. - early morning , morning market along the road. - Super near to the lake and the centre. - peaceful at night. - clean bed.
Reviewed October 08, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Donald from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Well worth it !
This hotel is situated perfectly in a quiet road but right near to the lake in the centre of town, so walking distance to all the tourist sights ,some lovely restaurants and friendly cafes/bars also on this road. Excellent helpful staff with good Enlish.The room furnishings are a little tired but kept very clean. Very nice place to stay
Reviewed September 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Hnin from Myanmar
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Very nice and helpful staff
Staff are very nice and helpful. Room is clean. Breakfast is good. Location is very convenient to go for shopping, night market, food street and beer street. We are unlucky that lift is under maintenance during our visit and our room is at fifth floor. We tired to climb up the staircase after shopping and come back to our room. Overall, we satisfied to stay in this hotel.
Reviewed September 13, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Itty from India
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Exceptional
The room was really small, i was upgraded to a lake view room. But otherwise very comfortable stay. Location is great. Breakfast was decent.
Reviewed September 11, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Rui from Vietnam
Business traveler
Deluxe Lake View
Stayed 6 nights in August 2016
Excellent
I love it! Great personnel
Reviewed September 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Wooi from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Good Location and value for money
Artisan is located near to the lake which is provides good access to the night market and walking streets. The rooms are a little old but adequate enough and provides sufficient value for money.
Reviewed August 17, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Chiung-Hui from Taiwan
Group
Deluxe Lake View
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Okay
The air-conditioner was not even work in hot summer! :( Lake-view was nice only during the night time (before 23:00). Nice breakfast balcony view. The Location is very convenient as well.
Reviewed June 22, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
TSUNG from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
good
good
Reviewed May 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Lisa from Germany
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Great location, nice breakfast café
The location was perfect, old center reachable by feet. Room with balcony to the street perfect for a little rest while watching the street. Not to noisy during the night. The breakfast across the street was great, while sitting in the first Floor balcony.
Reviewed May 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Suzanne from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Perfect Boutique Hotel in Tree-lined Perfect Location!!
Get the Lakeview room. It's worth the extra $10.00. The location is perfect!!! My Halong Bay cruise was canceled due to monsoon and they found at their Boutique hotel across the street and upgraded me to suite with balcony because this happened then I returned to Lakeview the next night. The staff especially Jenny and the time are so great. Trust me as I travel the world and this is perfect place in Old Town Hanoi.
Reviewed April 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|