Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 58 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Room comfort and quality 7.1
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 6.8
  • Food and dining 6.5
Sort by

fadi from Jordan
Business travelers
Standard
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
It’s about the average
The staff are helpful, the location is quit and close to the subway.
The AC is working ineffectively, the furniture the room is very old
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Emily from Canada
Business travelers
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Comfortable and quiet
scenic, comfortable rooms, great decor, large bathtub, huge pool, close to the metro
I stayed four nights and might return if I wanted a quiet place close to Renmin University. For visiting Renmin U, it's a great place. The links to other districts are convenient. Disadvantages are that the neighbourhood is ugly beyond the hotel grounds, especially in winter. I also found the service attitude lacking in courtesy. The staff are not trained well as they are in international chain hotels. I didn't even get a thank you or goodbye when I checked out, and this was a general shortcoming. More than one staff person had the chance to look me in the eye and say thank you or goodbye but instead they treated me like I was serving them. For this reason I am unlikely to stay again. It's too insulting. However I might visit just to use the pool. To my surprise, I had to pay 90 percent of the outsider's fee for using the pool even though I was staying at the hotel (not in the VIP building). I have never had to pay to use a pool while staying at a hotel before. Another annoyance, though small, is that the toilet paper is very poor quality. I don't mind coarse paper but paper that won't tear off into squares is troublesome. Also, the in-rrom safe was difficult to operate and should be better in a four-star hotel. On the plus side, the hotel has its own drinking water and it was nice not to have to worry about that (I drink a lot of water).
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Curt from Norway
Business travelers
Standard
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
OK hotel
The locationw as perfect for me
the location of the hotel was perfect for me, right next to where i needed to go. i would not choose the hotel because for the hotel quality though. the staff was friendly, and the food was ok, but nothing fancy. would not necessarily choose the hotel again, only if i needed to go to that area.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

LI from China
Business travelers
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Wonderful price
reasonable price
It is a wonderful place to invite friends. I recommend you to come again and again
Reviewed December 11, 2012

LI from China
Business travelers
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
good place to go
very convenient to the stores
I would like to come again and enjoy the shopping around this area
Reviewed December 11, 2012

paul from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Traditional buildings and friendly staff
Well organized staff, self sufficient complex and traditional buildings.
Suite provides excellent accommodation . Location a few minutes from Renmin subway just a few stops to the Summer Palace. Hotel offers many amenities within its unique complex. The staff are friendly and helpful with several speaking very good English. Be careful walking round the site at nightfall as the pavements have intermittent raised steps.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Jane from United States
Solo travelers
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
clean, helpful employees who spoke english, nice grocery store, well kept grounds.
I felt very safe at this hotel traveling solo as a woman. Everyone was very kind and courteous to me.
Reviewed November 01, 2012

LIU from Hong Kong
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
large , clean and tidy
15 mins walk to train station
it takes about 15 mins walking distation to train station....the room is large and clean....however , it is a little bit expensive....
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Andrew from United States
Solo travelers
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Good location - generally poor service.
Close to Haidian and universities; quirky reminder of 1950s China
The hotel's location -- in a gated compound of apartments, research institutes, etc. -- evokes pre-perestroika USSR, or Cultural Revolution era China, in a number of ways. The hotel itself is enormous, spread over several buildings, and in mostly good repair. Rooms are smallish, but basically clean and serviceable. The supermarket in the basement of building 2 is worth a short trip. You can imagine foreign experts and Party apparatchiks buying Bulgarian butter and other items unavailable to the masses. I think the Bulgarian butter's still there, actually. Staff are almost uniformly unhelpful, and certainly uninterested in making the visitor's stay a pleasant one. Questions regarding the surrounding area (recommended restaurants, directions to local venues) were typically met with a disinterested shrug. Issues with access to breakfast took several long trudges back and forth between the restaurant and the front desk. At least I worked up an appetite. Probably the poorest service I've experienced in Asia, but this might be typical for China, as I'm a first-time visitor there. Dining room service at breakfast consisted of whisking half-finished plates from the table when I went back to the buffet for coffee. Must've gone through three place settings one morning ...
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Noam from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012
Great hotel for business travel
Clean, Friendly, central and quiet
Really enjoyed my stay, staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good english. The room was comfortable and quiet and the location was good. I would stay here again
Reviewed October 03, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: