Excellent 8.2
Based on 206 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 206 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Hengwa from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
not enough a/c in the public area, very hot
location, service, view
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Helena from Indonesia
Couple
Superior Ocean View Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Good experience ruined by lack of transport
spacious, view, private beach
As the title says, everything was great except when we tried to get a taxi to the airport. It is almost impossible to get a taxi and the bellboy who "assisted" us was practically not helpful AT ALL. he told us to wait for and we waited for 20 minutes and still nothing. This is after another person at the reception counter told us that there is a private car that can send us to the airport immediately. (The bellboy knew nothing about this and told us that we have to book it in one day). In the end, we managed to get into the private car which costas us 40 rmb. (it was suppose to be 30 but they told us that they have no change... yeah..)
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Nina from Finland
Family with young children
Superior Ocean View Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014
nice pool, awful breakfast area, bad dining option
pool, gardens, beach cafe
The pool and gardens and the beach cafe were nice. However, there are no dining options for the evening (except buffee) and the breakfast area was very unclean. The staff doesn't speak English. The spa was disappointing (the massager was great but the room and ssurrounding were smelly and like from the 60s). The location is far away from everything so they can charge 12 euros from the orange juice. Ok stay with the kids but I would not go again.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Rabi from India
Couple
Superior Ocean View Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Comfortable
Already mentioned above. Why to repeat again
It was ok but not so great. Hotel was good, quite a big area, all shorts of facilities. Front desk does not understand English at all, very difficult to communicate. Also even after booking through agoda, they were asking security money for deposit, this was disgusting. How come, a tourist, who does not have enough currencies will arrange for this suddenly. Agoda should better check for this. Room was ok and comfortable, sea view. Food was ok. Breakfast had many options. But the breakfast dining hall was small, very crowded during peak time.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

YEWMENG from Singapore
Couple
Superior Ocean View Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Convenient to the seaside.
Location, all in one hotel and good services.
Quite a pleasant hotel, staffs are friendly but not efficient. Had to wait sometime for the lift to come. Too many guest during the weekends even have to Quene for breakfast, All in one hotel. Private beach within walking distance. Enjoy the balcony where the bathtub is located but curtain is not working well. Good for couples"
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Min from United States
Couple
Superior Ocean View Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Not a bad place to stay for your money
Buffet, pool, large room
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Janel from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Great for some R&R
breakfast, pool, comfy bed
I traveled to Sanya from Shanghai for Christmas break. The hotel was very relaxing and I spent a great deal of time by the pool. There are two pools at the hotel, one with a lot of families and another that was quieter. The staff were very friendly and the fireworks over the beach are super fun. If you're staying at this hotel definitely get the breakfast included! The buffet is excellent and all the breakfast items are delicious. Food at other times of day was good too but breakfast is the standout. The bar is lacking though. I had trouble ordering drinks that were on the menu and they never made a cocktail the same way twice. The only problem I ran into at the hotel was checking in I had to put a deposit on the room. They wanted RMB4000 but don't accept foreign credit cards! I ended up putting down a RMB500 deposit because that was all the cash I had on me (though it was no big deal because I didn't use the minibar or anything like that anyways). It should be more clear that the hotel doesn't accept foreign cards, I had to pay for everything at the hotel in cash. Luckily there is an ATM on site.
Reviewed January 05, 2014

Kew from Australia
Couple
Superior Ocean View Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Typical big local hotel with good customer service
Customer service, views, variety in breakfast buffet
Reviewed December 31, 2013

David from France
Couple
Superior Ocean View Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013
Nice Hotel, terrible service, incompetent staff
Good location, easy access to the beach and simple facilities
Taking apart that the hotel is nice located and have good facilities, the service and staff attitude is not client oriented. If you intend arrive after 6 PM there will be nobody able to speak English and also during the day, only few foreigners local employed staff can assist. Luckily I speck Chinese so this was not a problem for me, but it is for the 99% of everybody else. The Hotel is NOT customer oriented, service is poor and they have no elegant way of "welcoming" people as they classify them as a 5 stars Hotel... uppss, no more that 4! Very bad experience for us arriving late evening, they lost our booking done via Agoda and basically left us in the lobby as no more rooms where available, and as we were not willing to pay again for the already paid room! It took more than two hours to finally get in, paying an additional deposit until everything is clarified - money that I still didn't get back after check-out! Breakfast is a mess, a battle field and get ready to fight to get some food... don't expect a good coffee! The room is comfortable, big and ice view. Location is convenient to access the airport, city centre and move around easily - public buses only if you read Chinese! Summarizing my stay there in Sanya Sonic Hotel, I had more troubles that enjoying my time so no more!
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Seonpyo from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ocean View Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
It was great hotel except deposit problem
accessbility, convinient, great pool
The hotel facility was great and other hotel workers are very kind and nice. However receptionist requested 3000 RMB for deposit and they couldn't make temporary transaction with my international VISA/Master card. Since receptionist couldn't understand English, I got in trouble when i was check-in. This was the only problem what I've had. All other things was nice enough.
Reviewed December 17, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: