Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 526 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

Delores from United States
Couples
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Great hotel for us...
Every time in China or I Shanghai we stay at City Hotel. It is in a perfect location for us and we like to go to this familiar hotel each year or each time in Shanghai...it is like a second home to us!
Reviewed August 05, 2016

Michael from Canada
Solo travelers
Executive Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
A good stay in Shanghai
I was living in China and went to Shanghai many times and tried different places. I searched on Agoda and found the City Hotel. I would have preferred to stay closer to a subway station and almost didn't book this one because it was a little further from a station that I usually like. I am glad I booked it though as it was a great 5 nights. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. I booked a non smoking room and floor and that was good for most of the time. There were still people smoking in the hallways and the area by the elevators with many no smoking signs around. Most of the front desk staff were good and the people at the concierge were very helpful. The pool was actually run by another company where the hotel guests were able to use but you need to bring a room towel. The area around the hotel was nice and not too crowded. It was between West Nanjing area and the Middle Huaihai Area both were a little walk but easily accessible. I would definitely stay there again.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Christopher from Germany
Couples
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Good location but dirty old room
Dirty rooms. Pee on toilet seat, mold in bathroom, foot nails on the floor. Got new room but also in very bad condition. Good customer service from agoda after hotel refused refund.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Akinori from Japan
Couples
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Good location, reasonable price.
Room is nice and comfortable. Facility is not great but ok. Location is the biggest positive factor. One problem is no WiFi. Everything else if good!
Reviewed June 30, 2016

Stefan from Germany
Couples
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
dont get the booked room
for 12 Years I am guest of this hotel. This time I booked deluxe room, but get only the standard room. I stayed before in both kinds of room, so I know the difference. Complaining directly after check_ in doesnt work, so stayed 3 days in a smelly small standard room.....never again
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Ian from United Kingdom
Couples
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Paid for wifi
This place was fine for its purpose of someonewhere to stay near to where we needed to be. You had to pay for wifi by the 24 hour period and from memory it was per device not per room
Reviewed June 02, 2016

felix from Indonesia
Business travelers
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
near shanghai exhibition expo
The reception make us change room 3 times because they said our booking is different.. and the english is hard to understand. A lot of food near here. Near IPAM mall , walking distance to mall around 15 minutes
Reviewed May 22, 2016

YIJOU from Taiwan
Business travelers
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Location
Nice and location is convient.
Reviewed May 07, 2016

Leow from Malaysia
Business travelers
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
Clean and near to the Exhibition Center
Walking distance to the Shanghai Exhibition Center.
Reviewed April 23, 2016

Trishanna from United States
Couples
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
When in Rome behave like Romans
This hotel was good, but expect to have some language barriers. As tourists, many locals cannot speak or understand English. We stayed on a high floor room and the view was really nice, although the room was not even close to the picture provided on Agoda. The only concern I had was the air conditioner because we were not able to adjust the room temperature. Just to let you know, breakfast included is for ONLY ONE PERSON (you must pay extra), but definitely worth paying for.
Reviewed April 07, 2016


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: