Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1900 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food and dining 7.1
Sort by

Derek from Macau
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Location good
Nice
Reviewed March 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Corey from United States
Business traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Great location with quiet nights
location, convenience, great rooms
Shanghai is known for its non-stop car honking on streets, but this hotel is situated at a great location that is close to Shanghai Train Station, which makes it quiet and easy to get around (exit 5 from subway stn). Though our booking didn't include breakfast, but there are McDonalds right around the corner. It is also close to Xintiandi and Renmingguangchang, I would recommend it to both business travelers and tourists.
Reviewed March 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

LOURDES from Philippines
Business traveler
Classic Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Excellent
Staff Performace and cleanliness
Very comfortable.
Reviewed March 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Ryan from Singapore
Business traveler
Classic Room
Stayed one night in February 2015
a stay worth of the money spent
location near railway and food ; staff ; cleaniness
Reviewed March 15, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

AMPAWAN from Thailand
Business traveler
Classic Room
Stayed one night in March 2015
Good hotel, great location
good location, nice staff, big room
Reviewed March 15, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

john from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Classic Room
Stayed one night in March 2015
good quality hotel
location quality price
The Grand Mercure is in a lightly run down part of Shanghai near the main railway station but there are other 4 or 5 star hotels in the area such as the InterContinental and the Marriott and the Holiday Inn so clearly the proximity to the station helps. The Grand Mercure is a very comfortable hotel probably more 4 star than 5 but good value for money. Large comfortable room with all facilities, excellent buffet breakfast, check in and out reasonably easy and you can get to any where in the city from the metro stop next door to the hotel.
Reviewed March 12, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Very good as always
room comfort, check in staff, housekeeping
I stay in the Grand Mercure very often and it is my choice for hotel in Shanghai, mainly because of the location, next to the train station and on top of a metro. The down side is that it is a little farther away from some of the livelier areas that you may want to visit, but the taxis all know the train station so there is little confusion. Check in was smooth as always, but i noticed a girl who was being trained at the same time, which wasn't a bother, but she was left pretty much alone to check me out a few days later and messed up the bill, not her fault she should have been more closely supervised. The room size is very good, though the classic is a little small and some rooms don't have windows, so i don't think they should be selling those at all if the consider themselves a 5 star hotel, but we were given an upgrade, so mustn't grumble. The room comfort is excellent and it has everything you could wish for, housekeeping have obviously worked hard. I haven't tried the spa or gym so cant comment but breakfasts are very nice. The only downside i would have is getting a taxi, depending on who is working it seems service can differ. With 3 doormen standing outside at one stage none of them wanted to help us to get a taxi, again with 5 star rating comes 5 star expectations. though on previous attempts i have seen one doorman go the extra mile to ensure we got a taxi in the cold and wet. So i suppose it depends on who is working. Finally, they seemed to have increased their prices on Agoda, there was a sudden jump in price of about 20 per cent on average a few months ago, but nothing has changed in the hotel. This has left me looking at other hotels a bit more closely when booking now. Even though it looks like a negative review, it is only a couple of staff issues that i feel need bringing up.
Reviewed March 09, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Khang from Malaysia
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed one night in February 2015
Good choice in Shanghai
Location, Spacious Room, Good Service
Reviewed March 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Khang from Malaysia
Business traveler
Classic Room
Stayed one night in December 2014
Spacious Room
Room, Location, Service
Reviewed March 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Laurens from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Good option near train station
Location, design of the hotel, clean
Nice hotel, rooms are quite new. Location is convenient next to subway and train station. Not much to do in the area after dark.
Reviewed March 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: